Dickinson County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Dickinson County

Trails to the Past

Dickinson County is located in the central part of the state, it is bordered by Clay and Ottawa counties (north and northwest); Saline County to the west; Marion and McPherson (south and southwest); and Geary and Morris (south and southeast). Organized in 1857, Dickinson County was named for Daniel S. Dickinson, a New York senator who introduced resolutions in the United States senate respecting territorial government and the doctrine of popular sovereignity, which was incorporated in the bill for the organization of Kansas Territory. Abiline is the largest city, and county seat of Dickinson County. More information on other cities in this county appear on the Cities page.

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Dickinson County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at allen.alice@gmail.com and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
Church Records Families History Land Records
Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
photos Schools Cities and Towns --

Links to Help You With Your Research

Return to Kansas Main Page

Copyright 2010-2012

20 May 2012