Legislature, Comanche County, Kansas Hosted by RootsWeb, the oldest & largest FREE genealogical site. Click here to visit RootsWeb.
Bibliography     Biography     Cemeteries     Churches    Cities & Towns     Clubs     Contributors     Diamond Jubilee    Events     FAQ     Genealogy     Guest Book - Sign     Guest Book - View     History     Links     Maps     News Articles     Newspapers     Opry     Photos     Poetry     Queries     Records     Resources    Satellite Images     Schools     Search     Veterans     HOME

The Western Star, January 7, 1927.


A Few Facts About the men Who Have Represented This County in Topeka.

Comanche-co. has been organized for nearly 42 years, and during that time this county had had fourteen different representatives in the State Legislature. Of that number, ten were Republicans, three Democrats and one Farmers Alliance. Two of the republicans each served two terms, and one - our present representative, Hon. W. V. Jackson, will have served six terms when he completes the term for which he was elected last November. We give below a few facts, concerning each election, also facts in regard to the various representatives who have served this county in the Legislature. Originally, this county was a part of the Barber-co. district, but when Comanche-co. was organized it was made the 94th district, and has remained so ever since.

At the first election held in the county, on April 21, 1885, no representative was elected, but at the general election in the following November, there were three candidates - C. S. Graham, C. L. Dunn and W. T. Willis. Graham was elected, the vote being Graham, 608, Dunn 441, and Willis, 373. Graham served but one term. He did not continue to make his home in this county many years after his term of office expired. Where he located is not known to the Star.

At the general election in 1886, there were two candidates for the Legislature - E. S. West, republican, and A. K. Cook, democrat. West was elected by a vote of 572 to 461. Both men left Comanche-co. during the later 80s.

Three candidates were voted for at the November election in 1888. They were: John M. Cannon, republican, who received 513 votes; J. H. Hudson, democrat, 384, and P. J. Pinkston, Union Labor, 65. Cannon served but one term, and he and also Mr. Pinkston moved from the county during the early 90s. Mr. Hudson continued to make his home here for a number of years, moving from this county to Alva, Okla., where he died on June 30, 1919.

The Farmers Alliance elected their candidate for the Legislature at the general election in 1890. There were two candidates - Frank J. Saunders, republican, who received 261 votes, and Geo. W. Hollenback, 297. Mr. Hollenback served one term, and continued to make this county his home for several years afterward. He now lives near Bethel in Wyandotte-co., Kansas. Mr. Saunders went to the new Oklahoma country during the early 90s.

At the general election in November, 1892, Mr. Hollenback was a candidate for re-election, but was defeated by Thos. G. Chambers, democrat, by a vote of 347 to 217. Mr. Chambers moved to Oklahoma during the early 90s, and still lives in Oklahoma City.

Dr. John S. Halliday DR. J. S. HALLIDAY
There were two candidates for the Legislature at the general election in this county in 1894, and it proved to be a very close vote. Dr. J. S. Halliday, republican, defeated W. M. Cash, democrat, by one vote, or by a vote of 158 to 157. Dr. Halliday has been living in Muskogee, Okla., since leaving Coldwater 18 years ago. Mr. Cash died in Oklahoma about 25 years ago.

In the general election of 1896, S. M. Jackson, republican, defeated J. D. Bell, Peoples Party and Democrat, by 13 votes, the vote being 163 to 150. Mr. Jackson died in this city on December 2, 1903. Mr. Bell is still a resident of Powell-tp., this county.

C.F. Biddle C. F. BIDDLE
C. F. Biddle, republican, was the successful candidate at the November, 1898, election. He received 231 votes and his democratic opponent R. H. Estill, 111 votes. Mr. Biddle was re-elected in 1900, defeating J. J. Overstreet, Fusion, by a vote of 257 to 180. Mr. Biddle has made his home in Wichita for several years. Mr. Overstreet still makes his home here a part of the time, and the remainder of the time in California. Mr. Estill died on July 12, 1899.

Davis T. McIntire D. T. McINTIRE
D. T. McIntire, democrat, won in the election in 1902, defeating Chas. W. Sherman by a vote of 206 to 187. Both Mr. McIntire and Mr. Sherman are still residents of this county.

(He also served as a Sheriff in Comanche County.)

At the November, 1904 election, T. J. Curran, republican won over J. E. Harbaugh, democrat, by a vote of 248 to 186. Mr. Curran was re-elected two years later, defeating D. T. McIntire by a vote of 256 to 251. Mr. Curran died in this city on September 13, 1925. Mr. Harbaugh has made his home on his ranch near Hooker, Okla., for a number of years.

William V. Jackson W. V. JACKSON
W. V. Jackson, who on next Tuesday, will enter upon his fifth term as Comanche-co's. representative in the Legislature, was first elected to that position at the general election in 1908, defeating J. P. Caudill, democrat, by a vote of 129 to 120. Two years later, Mr. Jackson was re-elected, defeating W. T. Holland, socialist. In 1922 he was again elected, defeating A. L. Beeley, democrat, by a vote of 982 to 738. In 1924, and again in 1926, he was re-elected without opposition. (He also served as Comanche County Treasurer.)

In the campaign of 1912, Geo. H. Helton, republican, was the successful candidate, defeating C. N. Tharp, socialist, by a vote of 587 to 190. Two years later, Mr. Helton was re-elected, the vote that year being, Helton, 717, J. P. Caudill, democrat, 691, and C. N. Tharp, socialist, 83.

The democrats were successful in the 1916 campaign. The candidates were: J. P. Caudill, 1183; E. D. Bard, republican, 493, and Frank Anderson, socialist, 112.

Mr. Caudill was a candidate for re-election in 1918, but was defeated by W. P. Sanders, republican, the vote being, Sanders, 777, Caudill, 763. In the election of 1920, Mr. Sanders was re-elected defeating Mr. Caudill by a vote of 962 to 793. Mr. Caudill died about three years ago at his home near Protection. Mr. Sanders still lives in Protection-tp.

(He also served as a Sheriff in Comanche County.)

Also see:

Kansas Legislators Past and Present   A page from the Kansas State Library Information Desk.

About Comanche-co.'s Twelve Sheriffs
The Western Star, March 4, 1927.

Comanche-co's Eleven County Treasurers
The Western Star, February 4, 1927.

Comanche County Officers, 1885 - 2007

Thanks to Shirley Brier for finding, transcribing and contributing the above news article to this web site!

This RootsWeb website is being created by HTML Guy Jerry Ferrin with the able assistance of many Contributors. Your comments, suggestions and contributions of historical information and photographs to this site are welcome. Please sign the Guest Book. This page was last updated 12 June 2005.