Cloud County, Kansas--Trails to the Past

Welcome to Cloud County

Trails to the Past

Cloud County is located in the north-central part of Kansas. Its county seat and largest city in the county is Concordia. Originally called Shirley County, it was renamed to Cloud County in honor of Colonel William F. Cloud of the Second Regiment, Kansas Volunteers. Cloud's adjacent neighbors include Republic and Washington Counties (to the north and northeast, respectively), Clay County to the east, Ottawa County to the south, and Mitchell and Jewell Counties (west and northwest). Cloud County is also known as the "Stained Glass Capital of Kansas."

We will be building this web site over time to include information and records to assist you as you research your Cloud County families. Below, you will note a table which includes the types of documents and information we hope to have available for you as quickly as we can. Should you have any information that you wish to include here, please contact me at [email protected] and let me know. Copy and paste my email address into your email template.

What's New

  • Biography of Martin Alexander Stockton - See Biographies Link. Added 10/28/2010
  • Bible Records Biographies Cemeteries Census
    Church Records Families History Land Records
    Letters & Diaries Military Records Newspapers Obituaries
    Pensions Tax Records Vital Records Wills and Probate
    Photos Schools -- --

    Cloud County Links

    Return to Kansas Main Page

    Copyright 2010 by Alice Allen. 28 October, 2010