Kansas History and Heritage Project-Anderson County Schools

Anderson County Schools
Teaching Certificates Issued August, 1892

Teachers' examinations were offered from one to four times a year. The certificates issued were valid from sixth months (with a "Third Grade" certification), to a year ("Second Grade") and two years for those who earned a "First Grade" certificate. Salaries were also determined by experience and the higher rated certificate, so the "First Grade" rating was sought by all who took the test.

Certification also determined which grades you could teach. A "First Grade" certificate allowed you to teach 1st-12th grade, a "Second Grade" from 7th grade down, and "Third Grade" recipients could only teach the primary grades.

"Summer Institutes" were held during the month of August, with experienced teachers conducting classes in curriculum, teaching methods and classroom management to those hoping to become teachers. Most counties required you to attend these institutes before taking your exam.

Lifetime certification could be earned at a university when the graduate demonstrated for three years that he/she was a successful teacher.
First Grade: Second Grade: Third Grade:
Oscar L. Hicks Will Craig Helen Hutt
Maud Young Winnie McCoy Hattie Osborne
Mattie Stillwell Emma M. Clark Louise Steele
P. M. Heltzel R. E. Camp Mary McMullen
Maggie Town Gertie Chandler Edith Hudson
Louella Sawhill Emma McLean Wilbert Randle
Elma Lowry Emma Selander W. L. Grove
V. M. Fetheringill Laura Porter Edtith Calvert
W. A. Kincheloe Hattie Cook May Showalter
N. A. Baker Clara Alexander Arthur Medaris
Frank Woods Kate Wolgamot Glovie Smyer
Loretta Sawhill C. A. Woodward Bell Smith
Mrs. Bertha Anderson Cora Laughlin Minda Sutton
Minnie Spencer Mamie Sargent
Anna Lincoln Rebecca McElroy
Mary Young Zella Randall
Mamie Oman Rosa Brennan
Josie Lombard Frank Greischar
Frankie Hooton Susie Taylor
Mrs. R. M. Howard Frank Setter
L. N. Judd Nora Hanby
Maggie Brown Anna McGuire
Charles Means Ida Lowry
Lulu Hickman Maud Miller
George Lawellin Minnie McLean
May Webber Lena Parks
Amy Griffith Effie Cox
Della McDowell Mrs. L. R. Mitchell
Laura Sutton Lallie Taylor
Emma McLean Cora Garrison
Mrs. Cora Upham W. E. Odell
Caddie Long Zella Pratt
Mamie Sybertz Etna Griffith
Mrs. Rachel Perry Myrtle Brown
Florence Aiken Dave Watson
Anna Kinsman
May Luther
Harry McNary
Emma Ontman
Louie Dickerson
Emma Robison
Cora Grove
Myrtle Bailey
Blanche Curry
Amos G. Brubaker
Cora Showalter
Bessie Duff
Jennie D. Smith
Cora Powell

Return to Anderson Co. KHHP

� 2011-2015 Kansas History and Heritage Project