Kansas History and Heritage Project-Anderson County Schools

Anderson County Schools
Teaching Certificates Issued August, 1889

Teachers' examinations were offered from one to four times a year. The certificates issued were valid from sixth months (with a "Third Grade" certification), to a year ("Second Grade") and two years for those who earned a "First Grade" certificate. Salaries were also determined by experience and the higher rated certificate, so the "First Grade" rating was sought by all who took the test.

Certification also determined which grades you could teach. A "First Grade" certificate allowed you to teach 1st-12th grade, a "Second Grade" from 7th grade down, and "Third Grade" recipients could only teach the primary grades.

"Summer Institutes" were held during the month of August, with experienced teachers conducting classes in curriculum, teaching methods and classroom management to those hoping to become teachers. Most counties required you to attend these institutes before taking your exam.

Lifetime certification could be earned at a university when the graduate demonstrated for three years that he/she was a successful teacher.

First Grade: Second Grade: Third Grade:
Mrs. Mattie Stilwell Lovan W. Stilwell W. H. Hopkins
Maggie Town J. B. Cox Otho Graham
Fannie McFadden Lizzie Kibbler R. S. Howard
H. G. Buxton Josie McCoole Eva V. Hamilton
W. H. Hudson Ava Messenger Lizzie Gregory
Emma Everline Myrtle Hopkins Bebe McCoy
Linda Clark George W. Depoe Fulvia Stokes
Hattie A. Rowe Lillian Blood Laura Sutton
F. M. Woods Laura Douglass Libbie Doolittle
George W. Reeder Lucy Farris Oscar L. Hicks
J. A. Ramsey Josie Mills James H. Paradise
L. F. McLallen Eva Smith Bertha Blood
Emma Young N. E. Swickard
Edith Wilson Minnie Hiser
Mrs. Rachel Perry Maggie McGregor
Grace White Eva Calvert
J. E. Kibbler Phoebe Pomeroy
Nathaniel Spriggs C. A. Budd
Mary Stockmyre F. A. Galley
Mollie Sutton Bessie Capper
Ethel Mae Potter Helen Hutt
S. S. Irwin Sadie Bacon
Flora F. Hedges Rhoda Banta
Carrie L. Crellin Gertie Chandler
Laura Stringham E. C. Oman
Belle Smith George H. Smith
Isabella Sutton E. E. Jones
Ruth Stokes Nellie Spriggs
Sophia H. Bobo Mary Post
Emma Smiley Laura Rogers
W. H. Buxton Lizzie Butterworth
H. B. Landis Emma Gorman
Hattie Ferguson
Loretta Sawhill
Fred Doolittle
William Garrison
May Mundell
May Webber
Nellie Grant
Mamie Sybertz
Irene Baird
Mamie Oman
W. A. Kincheloe
Luella Sawhill
Blanche Barber
Winnie McCoy
Lula Hopkins
Ella Rankin
Angie Stockmyre
Ollie Hiatt

Return to Anderson Co. KHHP

� 2011-2015 Kansas History and Heritage Project