Kansas History and Heritage Project-Anderson County Schools

Anderson County Schools
Teaching Certificates Issued August, 1880

Teachers' examinations were offered from one to four times a year. The certificates issued were valid from sixth months (with a "Third Grade" certification), to a year ("Second Grade") and two years for those who earned a "First Grade" certificate. Salaries were also determined by experience and the higher rated certificate, so the "First Grade" rating was sought by all who took the test.

Certification also determined which grades you could teach. A "First Grade" certificate allowed you to teach 1st-12th grade, a "Second Grade" from 7th grade down, and "Third Grade" recipients could only teach the primary grades.

"Summer Institutes" were held during the month of August, with experienced teachers conducting classes in curriculum, teaching methods and classroom management to those hoping to become teachers. Most counties required you to attend these institutes before taking your exam.

Lifetime certification could be earned at a university when the graduate demonstrated for three years that he/she was a successful teacher.

First Grade: Second Grade: Third Grade:
J. B. Marshall Libbie Austin Hattie Norman
Charles W. Reynolds Elisha Hickok Mary Doolan
W. J. Brinkley jr. Charles Hickok Mollie Smith
E. M Marshall Clara Gamble Allie Parkhurst
A. L. Wilson Maggie Town Nellie Black
W. J. Brinkley, sr. Belle Judy Fred G. Ritchie
Allie Gregg Emma Everline Sadie Ewing
Ella Wagstaff Nettie Burr
Jennie McFadden C. W. Hopkins
Mattie Cunningham Ella Rooks
A. D. McFadden Anna Hobart
Mary Kelsey Maggie Peterson
Eli Febles Maria Redington
James Ferguson Lucia Drum
Fanny McFadden Cassie Blanchfield
Lizzie Warnock Lidia Allen
Emma Anno Howard Kidder
G. W. Patterson Lillie VanSickle
Rosa O'Neil Amy VanSickle
Mary Johnson James Glenn
Lucy Gardner
Grace M. Houston
Ella McClure
Maggie Dick
A. B. Gordon
D. B. Huggan
Fannie Mayou
William Hickok
M. F. King
John Efau
Callie Paine
Sophia H. Bobo
Emma Wagstaff
J. M. Berry
Mollie White
Flora Craig
Kate Anderson
Ellen B. Chamberlain
J. W. Clark
Rachel Spindler
Anna E. Brice
S. S. Wade
G. E. McFadden
Mary O'Neil
E. W. Anno
Mattie Forrest
I. N. Green
W. J. Marshall
Matie Barr
Z. E. Bennett
W. R. Woods
Jennie Hunter
Ida Turrell

Return to Anderson Co. KHHP

� 2011-2015 Kansas History and Heritage Project