Owyhee County IDGenWeb Index

ISU Owyhee Co. map

neighbors -
Owyhee Co & neighbors Canyon County
Ada County
Elmore County
Twin Falls County
Elko County, NV
Malheur County, Oregon


This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in becoming the County Coordinator for

Owyhee County

or any other Idaho county. Contact the State Coordinator.

Or visit our "Volunteer" page for detailed information on how to become a County Coordinator.

Welcome to Owyhee County!

The county seat is Murphy.
other communities include Bruneau, Givens Hot Springs, Grand View, Grasmere, Homedale, Marsing, Murphy, Oreana, Reynolds, Riddle, Silver City, and the Duck Valley Indian Reservation.

Owyhee County Places

Established December 31, 1863 with its county seat at Ruby City. This was the first county to be established by the first territorial legislature. In 1867 the county seat was moved to Silver City and in 1934 to Murphy. Named for the river, mountains and mining area explored by Hawaiian fur trappers in 1819-1820. Hawaii and Owyhee are different spellings of the same word. Gold was discovered on Jordan Creek in 1863, and millions of dollars of gold and silver were taken from Silver City region until the industry declined in the early 1900s.

* * *Updated 5 November 2012 * * *

We would like to thank Jimmy Parker, Charlotte Slater and Kathy Dusek for all the work they did on this site.

Idaho GenWeb Home  |  Rootsweb Owyhee Co. messageboard  |  GenWeb Archives  |  US GenWeb Home

© 2011 Owyhee County Temporary Coordinator Sharon McConnel . All Rights Reserved.