Custer County IDGenWeb


This county is available for adoption. If you are interested in becoming the County Coordinator for

Custer County

or any other Idaho county. Contact the State Coordinator.

Or visit our "Volunteer" page for detailed information on how to become a County Coordinator.

Welcome to Custer County!

The towns in this county are Challis (county seat),
Clayton, Lost River, Mackay and Stanley

The unincorporated communites are Bayhorse, Bonanza and Custer

Custer County was formed from Alturas and Lemhi counties January 8, 1881.

The county was named for the General Custer mine, which honored the ill-fated cavalry officer General George Custer who died at the Battle of Little Bighorn.

"The county lies almost in the center of the state. Fur traders with the Donald Mackenzie expedition were the first white men in the county in 1818 and Michael Bourdon discovered the Challis area in 1822. Mining became the county's chief industry in the late 1870's and 1880's with rich placer mines and silver-lead and silver-copper ores. Mackey was founded in 1901. After the mines played out, livestock raising and eventually tourism and recreation became the principal industries. Most of the Sawtooth National Recreation Area is within the county's boundaries." - The Idaho Almanac, 1977 Edition, published by the State of Idaho.

Custer County contains Mount Borah, the state's highest peak (12,668 feet) as well as portions of the Sawtooth, Salmon River, White Cloud, Pioneer, Lost River, and White Knob Mountains.

ISU Custer Co. map

neighbors -
Custer Co & neighbors
Lemhi County ~  Butte County ~  Blaine County ~  Elmore County ~  Boise County ~  Valley County ~  Idaho GenWeb Home

We would like to thank past county coordinators, Trinity Boss and Michael Shaw, for the work they did on this site.

updated January 19, 2014 by Sharon McConnel, Assistant State Coordinator