• Climbing Hill School


    Woodbury County, Iowa, USA. Click here for the HOME page.


    In 1915, directors met and discussed the possibility of building a new school. It took several meetings to get the ball rolling. The bricks were hauled from Hornick by team, and the project was completed in 1917.

    Isaac Nachtigall was the first superintendent. The firs directors were Floyd Steinhauer, president; J Johndreau, Platt Vermilyea, William Goodrich, and Malcom. Malcom resigned and was replaced by Mr Strong.

    The school had five teachers its first year. The teachers were Miss F Malcom, Mrs Herman Christensen, Cora Andersen, Miss Sulsberger, and Miss I Reed.

    The first graduating class was in 1918 with only one student, Goldie Baxley Goodrich. There were none in 1919.Ruth Goodrich Spangler graduated in 1920, and the 1921 graduates were Minnie Mulfinger and Alice Lohse Paulsen.

    In 1922 they were Irma Baxley McDonough, Adolph Lohse, and Harriet Lowry Sulsberger.

    In 1923, they were Lucy Sulsberger Smith, Minnie Lohse, Helen Harderson, Thelma Dragoo Miller, Ella Lohrman Hageman, Wayne Strong, and Edna McPherson.

    The school was reorganized into Woodbury Central Community School, which includes Climbing Hill and Moville. The first community graduation was in 1963. The Climbing Hill School still stands and is used to house the fifth through eighth grades, with Robert Jensen as principal.

    Ernest Christensen from Sioux City retired about three years ago after many years as custodian at Climbing Hill. Donna Christopherson was his helper and has continued to be a helper to Dan Brosamle.

    Teachers in the 1983-4 school year are: Jannelle Fisher, Linda Carr, Lisa Parsons, Dorothy De Groot, Donald Grohs, Kirk Kirsten, Carolyn Michener, Lois Cooper, and Tom Chartier. Mary Cannaday started out the year as fifth grade teacher, but finally succumbed to illness. She is one of those teachers who will be sorely missed by students, teachers, and friends.
    There is still a very active alumni group. They hold an all school reunion every year in the summer.

    The first meeting of the Climbing Hill PTA was held on October 18, 1939. Superintendent Evans acted as chairman. The first officers were Mrs Chris Nystrup, president; Mrs Eli Waddell, vice president, and Alcesta Larson, treasurer.

    Other persons to have served as president until about 1951 are Mrs Herman Christiansen, Mrs Vic Rasmussen, Mrs Leonard Francis, Mrs Howard Smith, Mrs Bob Nicholas, Mrs Elzie Michener, Mrs Henry Schwarz, and Mrs Arthur Kohlhoff.

    Charter members of Climbing Hill PTA were Mrs Eli Waddell, Mrs Leonard Francis, Mrs Emmett Smith, Mrs Paul Fish, Mrs Chris Nystrup, Mrs Ted Ficken, Mrs Herman Christiansen, Mr and Mrs Ora Smith, Mr and Mrs Clarence Cooch, Mrs Henry Schwarz, Mr and Mrs W E Schwarz, Vesta Gifford, Veda Weaver, Alcesta Larson, Mrs and Mrs Andrew Lohse, Mrs W F McCoy, James Kendall, Mr and Mrs Neal Niceswanger, Mr and Mrs Clifford Evans, Vic Rasmussen, Mrs Elcy Ford, Beulah Johnson, Helen Popchuck, Mrs C M Mills, Mrs A H Larson, Mrs J P Clark, and Adah Lyons.

    Hot lunches were first served in the 1941-42 school year. Mrs Herman Christiansen was the first supervisor and Mrs Argie Morrison was the first cook.
    Until 1951 these are the following who have served as cooks: Mrs Argie Morrison, Annie Christiansen, Mrs Paul Jones, Mrs Delia Rasmussen, Mrs Kenneth McGraw, Mrs Emmett Smith, Mrs Irene Ficken, Mrs Charles Mulfinger, Mrs Henry Thompson, and Mrs Herman Christiansen.
    Today’s cooks at the Climbing Hill School are Sharon Lloyd and Joann Marten.


    If you know of any corrections or missing information please contact me.

    Woodbury County Coordinator

    [E-Mail Icon]

    A Special Thanks to Rootsweb for Hosting this Site.

    © Copyright  1997- 2011. All Rights Reserved.

    TERMS, CONDITIONS, DISCLAIMERS                              Copyright Fundamentals for Genealogy

    Woodbury County, Iowa, USA. Click here for the Home page. 

    You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive]visitor since 05-Feb-2011

              This Page Last Updated 05 April, 2014