bio_rs
Muscatine County and Vicinity
Biographical Sketches
Surnames R-S
RANN, Fritz: A valuable farm of two hundred and ten acres in Cleona township still pays tribute to Fritz Rann, although he has put aside the active work of the fields and is now living retired in Davenport. He was for many years busily engaged in tilling the soil and his labors brought him the success which enables him now to rest from further effort. He was born in Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, September 6, 1844, and is a son of Frederick and Louisa Rann. The father was a laborer there and remained in his native country until 1872, when he and his wife came to America, joining their son Fritz, who had some time before crossed the Atlantic. They both died in Davenport, the father when eighty-seven years of age, the mother when about fifty-five years of age. In their family were three children: Fritz; Peter, who is a retired farmer living in Muscatine, Iowa; and Henry, whose home is in Omaha.

Fritz Rann attended school in Germany and afterward learned the cooper's trade, but followed farming in Germany until he came to the United States. In 1870 he landed at New York and made his way direct to Davenport. Soon he secured employment as a farm hand in Scott county and worked inthat way for about five years, after which he went to Nebraska, where he rented a farm. Two years later, however, he lost all of his money and returned to Scott county. Here he again worked as a farm hand in Cleona township and they lived thereon for about two years, after which they removed to Davenport, where Mr. Rann has since made his home.

Mr. Rann has been married twice. In 1880 he wedded Miss Minnie Rusch, who died in 1895. In the fall of the same year he wedded Louisa Stearhmann and unto them was born one child, who died in infancy. Mr. Rann now rents his farm and from it derives a good income, so that he does not have to resort to active labor for a livelihood. He is a member of the Claus Grothe Gilde and is well known among the German-American citizens of the county. All entertain fro him confidence and good will.

Source: History of Davenport and Scott County Vol. II; Harry E. Downer-S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. 1910 Chicago.
Transcribed by Elaine Rathmann of the Scott Co IAGenWeb Project
To view the picture of Mr. and Mrs. Fritz Rann that accompanies this biography, please go to the main Scott
county, Iowa page at: http://www.celticcousins.net/scott/ and click on Pictures/ Documents section.



RANNE, Henry, stock dealer, P.O. Malvern; was born in Baltimore, Maryland, in March 1819. At an early age he was taken to Pennsylvania, remaining five years, and thence to Stark county, Ohio. In 1837 he went to Pike county in the last named state, and in October, 1844, came to Muscatine, Iowa.

In 1855 he became a resident of Harrison county, Missouri, and in 1864 of this county, where he purchased his present farm. He moved to it in 1869. The farm contains 618 acres, and is a model one in arrangement and care. In May, 1842, he married Miss Margaret Brown, of Piketon, Ohio; born in 1818. They have ten children, six living; William, Catharine, Ella, Jasper, Henry and Alice. He has been identified with the interests of the county ever since coming here.

Source: History of Mills Co IA 1881, p. 600/601 Center Township



RAUB, W. H. farmer and dealer in stock, Sec. 35; P.O. Melpine; born in Warren Co., N.J., May 1, 1826; removed to Muscatine Co. in 1855.  Married Mrs. Sarah Keen, formerly Miss Sarah Martin, March 13, 1856; she was a native of Warren, N.J., born May 2, 1824; they have two sons--Arthur B. and Orrin H., and one deceased--John W.  Mrs. Raub has one son and one daughter by her former husband--Mary E. and B. E., and two deceased--George and Sylvester.  Mr. Raub owns 416 acres of a fine farm; he has made most of the improvements.  He and wife are united with the M.E. Church; Mr. R. is a radical Republican.

Source: 1879 History of Muscatine Co IA p. 638



RAYNOR, John,  farmer and dairyman, Sec. 3; O. O. Wilton; born in Maidstone, England, Jan. 9, 1813; when 4 years of age, his parents emigrated to America, settling in Newton, N. J., where his father engaged in the undertaking business; he assisted his father in his business. At 21 years of age, he married Miss Mary Ryerson, who was born in Newton Tp.,     Sussex Co., N. J., in 1815; was 18 years of age at the date of her marriage; they engaged in farming near Newton until fall of 1856, when they came to this county and settled where they now reside, and own 160 acres of land, valued at $35 per acre; they have eight children, five sons and three daughters, all of whom were born in New Jersey, but all married and settled in Iowa; William was born March 28, 1835; Thomas, born Nov. 26, 1836; George, July 26, 1838; Emma E., Dec. 24, 1840; Theodore,  March 22, 1843; Wesley, June 16, 1844; Sarah F., Aug. 28, 1846, and Harriet E., May 26, 1852. Republican.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
                Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



READ, William Lewis, is one of the superior attorneys of the particularly strong Polk county bar. He was born in Harrison county, Ohio, May 15, 1851. His father, Ambrose Read, was a farmer all his life, first in Ohio, where he was born February 22, 1822, and afterwards in Iowa, where he died in the city of Des Moines in 1884. He came to Iowa in the fall of 1861, locating on a farm in Scott county. There he resided until 1867, when he moved to Polk county, near Altoona, where he spent the greater part of his after life, engaged in agricultural pursuits. He was a man of more than ordinary ability, a man of thought, who looked into all questions for himself and in his own way. He may not have always been right, but he was always honest. In fact his moral faculties were highly developed, and dominated all his actions and mental processes. In religion, as in everything, he was fearless, and as a result clashed with the conventional dogmas and creeds of his day, especially in the strict construction placed upon them in those early iron-clad days of orthodoxy. He was a liberal thinker, and therefore may be classed as a liberalist in religion. He was a writer as well as a thinker, and very frequently gave to the public his thoughts in newspaper articles. Politically he was a republican, and during the days of slavery and nullification, and finally rebellion, he was deeply imbued with the belief of the righteousness of the doctrines of his party, upon the great questions of freedom and national unity. When, however, these subjects were settled, his liberal disposition asserted itself, and led him into the Greeley  movement. From that time forward he was a liberalist in politics, adhering to Peter Cooper and other great liberal leaders.

W. L., as he is known in Des Moines, inherited his liberality, his keen sense of honor and strong mental faculties. From his mother, however, his inheritance was just as rich. Mary Ann Lewis represented, in both name and blood, the two notable families of Virginia, Morgan and Lewis, so well  known in colonial days. These two families were very famous as rugged pioneers, patriots and Indian fighters.

Mr. Read attended the village school at Hopedale, Ohio, till he was 10 years old, came to Scott  county, Iowa, in 1861, and went to country school, winter terms only, till 1867, when he came to Polk county, and during the years of 1867-68, attended high school in East Des Moines. During the years  1868-69-70 he attended school at Atalissa, Muscatine county, living with his uncle, during that time. In  1870-71 he attended high school at Davenport. During all this time he earned his expenses by work upon the farm, and by teaching. In 1873 he entered the academical department of the State university, changed to the law department in 1874, and graduated from that department in 1875. He then located  in Des Moines. An enviable success has crowned his efforts. He has the respect and confidence of the courts, and of the attorneys. In worldly goods he is well situated, with a lucrative practice, and ability for many years of hard work as a future endowment. He has for many years acted with the democratic party, and many times has had to decline the honor of nomination for office which the party would force upon him. He is a member of the Unitarian church, and the Masonic, Knights of Pythias and Elks organizations.  As a man he is courteous, popular and at all times a gentleman.

He was married to Miss Juliet E. McMurray, of Des Moines, in 1882. Two children have been born to them: Ralph L., 16 years old, and Helen, 14 years old. In polished manners, gentlemanly conduct and the natural gift of making the world seem bright to those around him, W. L. Read has no superior in the city of Des Moines.

Source:  Biographies and Portraits of the Progressive Men of Iowa. Gue, B.F. Des Moines:Conaway & Shaw Publishers, 1899.  p.530



REINHARDT, JACOB of the firm of Reinhardt & Son. dealer in general  merchandise, David City, came to Nebraska in 1869, and located in Lancaster County, in Centerville Precinct, on the old Mormon trail. Here he followed farming until 1877, when he moved to Butler County and located at David City, and went in partnership with J. C. Wunderlich in the meat market, which was the first in the town. This he ran in company with Mr. W., when he sold out and went in the general merchandise trade with F. W. Paddock, and continued with him until     January, 1880, when he sold out, and then in April, 1880 started up where he now is with his son John W. Jacob was born in Germany February 19, 1828. Emigrated to the United States in 1847. Was married at Muscatine, Iowa, to Miss Martha A.  Mark in June, 1850, who was also born in Germany, by whom he has seven  children, six sons and one daughter.

Source: The History of the State of Nebraska, 1882, Western Historical Company, A. T. Andreas, Proprietor, Chicago, IL.; Butler Co. 



RESLEY, Michael G.,  far., Sec. 8; P. O. Moscow; son of Henry and Esther Resley; owns 200 acres of land, valued at $40 per acre; born Feb. 27, 1827, in Knox Co., Ohio; in the fall of 1850, came, with parents to Muscatine Co., and on his present farm in the spring of 1851, where his father died, June 9, 1874, and mother Sept 9, 1857; served his country in the late rebellion in Co. I of 11th Iowa Inf, from May 28, 1864, to June 15, 1865, was with Sherman in his march to the sea. Was never married; his maiden sister, Esther A. keeps house for him. Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa,  Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



RESTARICK, Henry Bend, first American missionary bishop of Honolulu and 210th in succession in the American episcopate, was born in Somerset, England, Dec. 26, 1854; son of Edwin and Amelia Riall (Webb) Restarick. He attended King James Collegiate school, Bridgewater, Eng., and was graduated at Griswold college, Iowa, A.B., 1882. He was married, June 28, 1882, to May Lottie, daughter of Peter Baker of Council Bluffs, Iowa. He was ordained deacon at Council Bluffs, Iowa, 1881; priest at Davenport, Iowa, 1882; had charge of Trinity  church, Muscatine, Iowa, 1881–82, and was rector of St. Paul's church, San Diego, Cal.,  1882–1902. He was elected first bishop of the missionary district of Honolulu by the House of  Bishops assembled in special session at the parish house of Christ church, Cincinnati, April 17,  1902, and was consecrated, July 2, 1902, by Bishops Nichols, Kendrick and Johnson, assisted by Bishop Jagger, who preached the sermon. He is the author of: Lay Readers (1894); The Love of God, or Addresses on the Last Seven Words (1897), and various pamphlets and magazine rticles.

Source:  The Twentieth Century Biographical Dictionary of Notable Americans: Volume IX,  page 70



REULING, J.A.,  dealer in all kinds of family groceries, Second street; Mr. R. is a native of Germany, born in 1824; emigrated to Burlington, Iowa, in 1838; came to Muscatine in 1848; his present wife was Louisa Schneir; their children are--Annie, James, Risley, George W., Louisa, John A., Nellie, Ella and Walter.  Members of the Lutheran Church; a member of the I.O.O.F. and the Knights of Honor; in the latter society he is one of he Trustees; has ever acted with the Democratic Party.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa,  Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879 



REYBURN, MRS. MARY, owns farm of 120 acres in Sec. 35; P.O. Letts; Mrs. Reyburn was born in Armstrong Co., Penn., in 1809.  She married in 1825 Collin Reyburn, who was born in Pennsylvania in 1803; they came to Cedar Tp. 1841; bought and settled on the farm where Mrs. Reyburn now lives in 1846; Mr. Reyburn died June 7, 1874; Mrs. Reyburn has had ten children, six still living---Sarah E, Mary J. (now Mrs. Henry Ferry, of Dakota), Samuel, James E., Hiram (married Florence White), and Janette (now Mrs. Martha Reyburn- sic), Maidson (sic) enlisted in the 11th I.V.I.; was killed in battle in 1862.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa,  Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879 Cedar Twp.
(note son's name was Madison, not Maidson as printed in article, and the marriage notations for Janette is very questionable)



RHODES, Jacob, a highly esteemed citizen of Bloomington township, who is now living retired upon his excellent farm in that township, was born February 11, 1836, in Highland county, Ohio, a son of Samuel and Catherine (Frump) Rhodes, natives respectively of Virginia and Delaware.  The former died many years ago and the latter on the 28th of November, 1897.  To their union were born the following children; Jacob, of this review, is the oldest of the family., Nancy passed away in Jackson county, Missouri.  John died in Pike county, Ohio, in 1903.  Harriet died in early womanhood.  Lewis is farming in Bloomington township, this county.  He enlisted in August, 1862, in Company G. Sixtieth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, and after being discharged at Camp Denison re enlisted in August, 1863, in Company G, Thirty-third Ohio Volunteer Infantry.  At the close of the war he was discharged at Camp Denison and remained there until 1871, when he came to Iowa.  Seven years later he located in this county, where he has since resided.  His political belief is that of the republican party.  Margaret is the widow of Wilson Keeler and resides in Ross county, Ohio.  Minerva, who is the widow of James Doran, is living at Beatrice, Nebraska.  Ellen died in Illinois about two decades ago.  Samuel lives in Ross county, Ohio.  Cary is a resident of Bloomington township, this county.

Jacob Rhodes removed to Decatur county, Iowa, with his family in 1880 and settled in Bloomington township, where he is still living.  He has devoted his time to farming and stock-raising and has gained a competence which now enables him to live retired.  While actively engaged in agricultural pursuits he was known as a progressive and energetic farmer and aided in raising the agricultural standards of his township.

Mr. Rhodes married Miss Jane Ellen Coder, of Highland county, Ohio, who, however, was born in Pike county, that state.  Her birth occurred November 28, 1842, and she was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. James K. Coder, representatives of old Ohio families who settled at Letts, Iowa, in 1864, where they spent the remainder of their lives.  Mrs. Rhodes was the second of nine children, six sons and three daughters, the others being; John, Newton, Thomas, Sarah, Frank, Lemuel, Allie and Charles.  Only five of the family are still living.  The demise of Mrs. Rhodes occurred in Decatur county, Iowa, in 1901.  She was a member of the Adventist church, to which her husband likewise belongs.  To their union were born three sons and four daughters, namely; Mrs. Maggie Fry, of Waterloo, Iowa; Rosa, who is at home with her father; Eva, who married W. W. Wiley, who is residing near Davis City; Charles T., a farmer of Bloomington township; William, who is living in Bloomington township; and who married Miss Helen Brown, a daughter of Clifton Brown, of Leon; and Iva and Frank, both deceased.

Mr. Rhodes is an active republican and has done much effective work in the party ranks.  During the Civil war he was a member of a company raised in Southern Ohio to oppose the advance of Morgan, the famous Confederate raider.  He has at all times cooperated willingly in movements seeking the public welfare and has many stanch friends in Bloomington township, where he has resided for many years.

Source; 1915 History of Decatur County, Iowa
Contributed by June Brewer Welsch
WHILE THIS BIO DOES NOT MENTION MUSCATINE CO, THE CODER FAMILY HAD TIES TO THE AREA
Catherine was born 1817 in Delaware.  In 1850 they were living in Twin Township Ross County Ohio.
1880 Census; Bloomington, Decatur County, Iowa, Page 287A
Jacob RHOADS, Self, 44 born OH, Farmer, Fa: VA, Mo: MD
Jane E. RHOADS, Wife, 38 born OH, Keeps House, Fa: OH,  Mo: OH
Rosie RHOADS, Dau, 16 born OH, At School, Fa: OH, Mo: OH
Eva RHOADS, Dau, 15 born IA, At School
Charlie RHOADS, Son, 12 born IA, At School
Willie RHOADS, Son, 7 born IA, At School
Iva RHOADS, Dau, 1 born IA



RICHARDSON, Joseph W. was born Sept. 10, 1808, in Frederick Co., Md; parents moved to Cayuga Co., N.Y., in 1809; he entered the land upon which he now lives from the Government in 1849.  He married Lucina Watson in Ohio, April 24, 1842; she was born Sept. 12, 1813, in Luzerne Co., Penn., and died Jan. 24, 1852; had two children--Mary and Isaac, now both deceased.  Republican.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
                Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879 page 687



RICHARDSON, William P., farmer, Sec. 5; P.O. West Liberty; is now living upon a farm of eighty acres owned by his brother, Joseph W. Richardson; owns a farm of 160 acres in Ringgold Co., ; born Feb. 20, 1816, in Cayuga Co., N.Y.; parents moved to Knox Co., Ohio, in 1818, and to this county in the fall of 1849; his father died July 21, 1854, and his mother in August, 1850.  Married Caroline Keyes, of this county, Feb. 17, 1853; she was born Oct. 13, 1830, in Monroe Co., N.Y.; her parents moved to Branch Co., Mich.,  in November, 1836, and to this county in 1848; have three children--John, Mary and Hugh.  Mr. R. moved to Grand Travers, Mich., in 1871, and returned in 1875, since which time he has lived on his brother's farm.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
             Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879 page 687



RICHMAN, Dewitt C., Judge of the Circuit Court of Scott and Muscatine Counties; is a native of Somerset, Perry Co., Ohio, and was born Sept. 1, 1826, and is the seventh child of Evert and Mary Scott Richman, natives of Pennsylvania; he was named after Gov. De Witt Clinton, an intimate friend of his father; his father was a Methodist minister and died when De Witt was only 3 years of age; leaving the care of a family of seven children upon his mother; her watchful care of her children was unceasing, and her widowed life was apparently planned and lived for the great purpose of so rearing her children that they might be prepared for honorable and useful lives; De Witt C. was educated in the public schools of Buck Co., Penn., to which place his mother removed soon after his father's death; he was very fond of books, particularly of history; from the age of 12 to 16 years, he worked on a farm in Bucks Co., except a short time in a store in Philadelphia; he also served one year as a clerk in a store in Trenton, N. J.; at the age 18, he came to Muscatine and entered the grocery store of his brother. John W. Richman, and remained two years, and returned to Trenton, N. J., and resumed his clerkship and remained there until 1853, when he returned to Muscatine to pursue the study of law in the office of his brother, J. Scott Richman, and was admitted to the bar the following year; he was subsequently admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of Iowa, and, in March, 1869 was admitted to the bar of the Supreme Court of the United States; in 1855, he became a partner of his brother, J. Scott Richman,  which continued until December, 1863, when the latter accepted  a seat on the Bench of the District Court, whereupon our subject formed a copartnership with Mr. J. Carskaddan, which continued until June 1, 1878, when he was appointed by the Governor Judge of the Circuit Court of Scott and Muscatine Counties, and to which position he was subsequently elected and still holds with honor of himself and his constituents; thoughnaturally averse to litigation, it has been his lot to be engaged in some of the most important and hotly contested suits arising in his district, among which may be mentioned the special railroad tax cases growing out of the special tax voted in aid of the Muscatine Western Railroad in 1871, the collection of which was strongly resisted by many taxpayers; the State vs. Mori, for the murder of Dr. C. Hershe in 1864; the State vs. Prosser, for the murder of Silas Ferry; Cole vs. Cole, a leading divorce suit; Arzt vs. Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific Railroad, an action for personal injuries; Musser vs. Hershey and Brewster vs. Hershey, concerning riparian rights, in the District and Circuit Courts of the State; Finlay vs. Brewster and cases of bonds of the City of Muscatine issued to the Mississippi & Missouri Railroad Co., in the United States Circuit and Supreme Courts. In politics our subject was raised a Whig, and, on the expiration of that party, he united with the Republican, to which he still adheres, though he has never sought office; during the war, he was among the stanchest supporters of the Government. While living in Trenton,  N. J., Judge Richman made the acquaintance of Miss Mary Berdine, and they were married in Brooklyn N. Y., on the 1st of September, 1855; she is a daughter of Jacob C. and Matilda Berdine, both natives of New Jersey and still living in Davenport, Iowa; they are of Revolutionary ancestry; they have had two children born to them--the eldest, Scott Clinton, born in 1856, lived but two weeks; the other, Irving Berdine, born on the 17th  of October, 1861, is quite a student, developing a taste for the profession of his father. Judge Richman and his wife are both consistent members of the Congregational Church; he is very active as a Sabbath-school worker and was for five years President of the Sabbath-School Association of the county, and was also President of the Young Men's Christian Association  and is actively identified with the best interests of the city and county in which he lives.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
             Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



RICHMAN, Irving Berdine, historian, was born in Muscatine, Iowa, Oct. 27, 1861; son of Dewitt Clinton and Mary (Berdine) Richman; grandson of Evert and Mary (Scott) Richman, and  of Jacob Cook and Matilda (Hawk) Berdine, and a descendant of Holland ancestors on his father's side and of English on his mother's. He was graduated from the State University of Iowa in 1883, and engaged in the practice of law in Muscatine, Iowa, in 1885. He was married, June 8, 1887, to Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph Alexander and Cyrena (Bisbee) Green of Muscatine, Iowa. In 1889 he was elected a representative in the state legislature of Iowa, presided as       temporary chairman of the state convention that nominated Horace Boles for governor, and in 1891 was re-elected to the legislature. He was appointed by President Cleveland, U.S. consul-general at St. Gall, Switzerland, serving as such, 1893–98. After his return to the United States he began preparation for the writing of his notable history of Rhode Island, James Bryce,  M.P., having recommended this commonwealth as deserving of special study and philosophical  treatment. He is the author of: John Brown Among the Quakers and Other Sketches (1894 and 1896); Appenzell, A Swiss Study (London, 1895), and Rhode Island: Its Making and Its Meaning:—A Survey of the Annals of the Commonwealth from its Settlement to the Death  of Roger Williams, 1636–1683, with an introduction by James Bryce, M.P., D.C.L. (1902), and contributions to the Atlantic Monthly, Political Science Quarterly, Harvard Law Review, and other periodicals.

Source:  The Twentieth Century Biographical Dictionary of Notable Americans: Volume IX



RIFE, IRENE YEATER
IRENE YEATER RIFE, AGE 103, HAD MUSCATINE AND CLARENCE, IOWA ROOTS;
LIVED IN MECHANICSVILLE

Cousin Irene Yeater Rife was an interested and interesting woman with a wry sense of humor who enjoyed living on her own in Mechanicsville, Iowa just down the road from her sister. Until her recent brief illness, which preceded her death on November 26, 2000 at age 103, she led an active social and family life and her wry wit was appreciated. At a Yeater family reunion in Muscatine's Weed Park recently, in an address to the group she attributed her longevity to never having had a serious ailment and to staying away from hospitals and doctors.

On one occasion I visited Irene at her home in Mechanicsville during one of Iowa's snowstorms. She wanted to take me out to lunch so we went. She told me that she would take me to the best restaurant in town. When we got there it was the corner bar-restaurant with wooden booths, high ceiling and wonderful hamburgers and French fries. She informed me that not only was this the best restaurant in town, it was the only restaurant in town. (It wasn't the only place in town but Irene really liked this restaurant.) Irene was a wonderful cousin to spend time with. At that time I had given her an I'M A YEATER COUSIN T-shirt which had on the front a picture of her father and his siblings (there were ten originally; my grandfather John Wesley Yeater was the oldest -rjy) with the spouses on the back. Irene indicated to me that she very much liked what she saw but that her mother had not been part of the picture of the Yeater spouses. I subsequently had her mother's picture digitally added and presented her with that new T-shirt

This article includes information from notes that I have taken while spending time with Irene. Much of it is about her memories of life in Muscatine. Much of it is about her family of which she was proud to be a part. She had fond memories of Muscatine where she and my father attended McKinley School (899 Climer). Upon completion of the eighth grade Irene moved with her family to live on a farm near Clarence, Iowa. She would visit Muscatine on occasion for the Yeater family reunions but also to visit her parents gravesites in Greenwood Cemetery. Her parents were Samuel Willis Yeater and Margaret Salina Haigh. Three Yeater siblings had met and wed three Haigh siblings in Muscatine.

Irene enjoyed family events and was an unequaled source of family history. She told of her grandfather being in the Civil War and how her parents and her great-grandparents helped build the Dunkard Church at the Farmer's Grove Cemetery located not far from Mifflintown, Pennsylvania. Her grandfather died and was buried there, as were her great-grandparents and other family members. Her grandmother Elizabeth Geedy Yeater along with her ten children relocated to Flora, Indiana. Irene was born in November 1897 in Bringhurst, Indiana near Flora. In the 1890's Irene's father Sam and his brother John (my grandfather- rjy) and then some of the other Yeater siblings moved to the bustling river town of Muscatine, Iowa where woodworking was a thriving industry. The Yeater men were carpenters and that is what they did in addition to working at the always-busy Muscatine Sash and Door Company.

Initially Sam and John lived in houses on Lucas Street (called Lucas Grove Road at the time) until the other siblings arrived. At some point they started building houses on Bridgeman off of Fletcher and on Lowe off of Bridgeman and on Fletcher Avenue off of Lucas just west of Greenwood Cemetery. Lucas is the street in Muscatine that runs along the north side of Greenwood Cemetery. Irene's father Sam and mother Margaret built the first house at the far west end of Bridgeman on the left. Irene said that they lived in a woodshed nearby while her father Sam built a four-room house before winter set in. Uncle Cal built next to them (the third house built according to Irene). Uncle John built a house on Lowe next to Uncle Dave near Aunt Emma Pasdach whose house was and is located around the corner on a jut in the street that is Lowe. Uncle Dave later on moved to a house on Fletcher.  Aunt Hannah (Chauncy Haigh) had a home near McKinley school where Irene Yeater Rife stayed for a time. Irene's father Sam bought the house built by John Fisher on the other side of Bridgeman at the end on the right.

There was and still is woods west of these houses that go down to Houser Street below. (I received most of this history information from Cousin Irene Yeater Rife. I have confirmed much of the timing and addresses of my family beginnings in Muscatine by means of the yearly city directories from that era that were made available to me thanks to the Muscatine Public Library. rjy)

Aunt and Uncle (that's what everyone called those Yeater siblings and their spouses and still do); Uncle John and Aunt Stella (Girls), Uncle Sam and Aunt Margaret (Haigh), Aunt Emma (Yeater) Pasdach and Will Pasdach, Henry Calvin called Uncle Cal and Mary Jane (Haigh) , Uncle Dave and Mary Jane (Jenkins), Chauncy Haigh and Aunt Hannah (Yeater) Haigh. (Of the spouses Chauncy, Mary Jane and Margaret Haigh were born in Muscatine, Stella was born in Illinois and Mary Jane Jenkins was born in Cedar Rapids, Iowa but was from Muscatine when she married.) (Four Yeater siblings-Anna, Lewis, James Franklin called Frank, and Corabelle (Brock) remained in Indiana near Flora as did their mother Elizabeth. For years, the Muscatine Yeater siblings and their families would drive across Illinois to Flora, Indiana for their full family reunions. Mother Elizabeth Geedy Yeater (my great-grandmother; rjy) stayed with Aunt Emma Pasdach at 415 Lowe (changed to 415 Kemble) in Muscatine for a short time and died in September 1928 at her son Sam's home; in Irene Yeater Rife's parents home. An article on the front page of the Muscatine Journal at the time indicated that she was the head of a family of 103. Her body was taken back to Flora, Indiana for burial.

The Yeater families were of the Dunkard religion now known as the Church of the Brethren. When their houses were built, the families would meet at Sam and Margaret's (Irene's parents), home for services. They would place a wood plank over two nail barrels and have a cover over it for a pulpit. Uncle Dave was the leader for these Sunday sessions and would lead with bible readings and songs while the others would join in with whatever was the custom of the time. When the Yeater families in Muscatine were finished building their homes, they did what they had done before; they built a Dunkard Church. They bought a lot on Bridgeman and built this frame building. They would bring a Dunker minister down from Davenport, a town located some thirty-five miles up the Mississippi River north from Muscatine, to hold the services at a cost of some $25. Preacher Robinson was one such preacher. (This went on for a period of time until the Yeater families decided to leave Muscatine. They scattered in all directions seemingly in search of land for that is what they did. They went back to farming.) That frame building, that Dunkard Church, was then sold to the Rebecca Lodge and was moved across Lucas Street from the entrance to Fletcher Ave and across from Greenwood Cemetery. You can see it today for it is still there, rather ramshackle. Not many people know that this little Rebecca Lodge frame building which is seriously in need of paint and renovation was originally the Yeater-built Dunkard Church from the early 1900's in Muscatine.  Irene Yeater Rife told me about that church and the Yeater family history and kept that image alive.

Irene told me about Ella Royer who was the Dunker Sunday school teacher from Des Moines. Ella took Irene to downtown Muscatine in the early 1900's to see Billy Sunday preach. She said that it was a "big building" and she never forgot the visual and sound image of that occasion. Irene said that they went to town on the streetcar, which was in place on Lucas out past Fletcher. The streetcar would go out to the end and turn around and would travel back to Muscatine. It cost a nickel or a dime and had tracks and an overhead line.

When the Yeater families split up to search for land and opportunity, Irene went with her parents (Uncle Sam and Margaret) to Clarence, Iowa. My grandparents, Stella and Uncle John, along with my father Roy A. went to a farm in Drury Township in Illinois. Uncle Dave and Aunt Mary Jane headed toward Tipton (They are buried at Clarence Cemetery) and Uncle Cal went by way of Wisconsin to the Rock Island area where Chauncy and Hannah Yeater Haigh were. Aunt Emma and Will Pasdach were lifelong residents of Muscatine at 415 Lowe (or 415 Kemble). This family of Yeater's from Pennsylvania came to Muscatine by way of Flora, Indiana and spread out over the land. They and their ancestors and descendants are part of what we call The Yeater Cousins (Yeater's and their Kin).

Irene told me about her son Clarence M. (Buster) Rife who left home on December 2, 1943 for Camp Blanding army base in Florida. She said that the parents were assured at the time that their young sons would not go into the front lines. Irene's son Buster was killed August 8, 1944 at Normandy. They never heard from him again after he left the states. Irene said that the "'I'm sorry's" didn't help. That story struck a note with me since my brother Vaughn E.Yeater of Muscatine trained at Camp Blanding and left for Italy in January, 1944. Vaughn was killed some thirty miles south of Rome on May 31, 1944 during the breakout from the Anzio Beachhead toward the capture of Rome on June 6. Buster was killed on his 20th birthday. Vaughn had just reached his 19th birthday. As I already knew and from my talk with Irene, the grieving process lasts a lifetime.

I believe Irene would have enjoyed reading what I have written. She had good memories of her Muscatine beginnings. The rest of us have a better appreciation of our history because of her. Irene enjoyed family and that is what this is about.

Source: Written and contributed by Roy J. Yeater, Historian/Genealogist, The Yeater Cousins Association
(Roy J. Yeater MHS '54, USN 54-58, MJC&r'59, ISU BSEE '62, Mpls-Honeywell ,was originally from Muscatine, Iowa and now lives in New Hope, Minnesota)



RIGGS, John S.,  far., Sec.  4; P. O. Muscatine; was born in Montgomery Co., Ohio, in 1812; married, in 1835, Eliza      Longstreath; she was born in Virginia in 1814; Mr. Riggs' parents, John and Mary Riggs, removed from Kentucky to Ohio, and were among the earliest settlers of Montgomery Co.; Mrs. Riggs' parents were natives of Virginia, also early settlers of Montgomery Co.; Mr. Riggs came to Muscatine Co. in 1853, and located where he now lives in 1854; he owns 300 acres of land; has had nine children, only four of them now living--- Maria (married Mr. Jacob Caisbeer ), John W.; William M.; and Dayton M. Mr. Riggs was Justice of the Peace for 1868; has been Township Trustee and County Superintendent. Members of the U. B. Church.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
             Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879 Seventy Six Twp



ROBB, J.E., farmer, Sec. 29; P.O. Pleasant Prairie; son of Robert and Ann Robb; was born in Rush Co., Ind. June 20, 1829.  Married Miss Elmira Freeman Dec. 2, 1849; daughter of Benjamin and Mary Freeman; born in Marion Co., Ind., October 18, 1829.  Mr. R. came to Muscatine Co. in June, 1850; has four children--Hattie, Mary, Wilson and Elmer.  Mr. R. has served on the Board of County Supervisors twelve years and has held most all the offices of the township.  Served in the rebellion, in the 14th I.V.I., Co. C, and is a stanch Republican.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
             Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879 Fulton Twp



ROBBINS, Rev Alden B.,  Pastor of the First Congregational Church, Muscatine; the subject of this sketch is a native of Salem, Essex Co., Mass., and was born Feb. 18, 1817; when 12 years of age, his parents removed to the city of New York, where he remained for several years; after attending school in various places, he returned to Salem to prepare for college under Col. Henry C. Oliver, a prominent man and distinguished as a teacher; he completed his preparatory studies and entered Amherst College and graduated in 1839 in the same class with Rev. R. S. Storrs and Bishop Huntington of the city of New York; after graduating, he was a tutor in Hopkins Academy, at Hadley, Mass., then entered the Theological Seminary at Andover, where he spent two years, and, afterward, spent one year in Union Theological Seminary, in the city of New York; he came to Iowa in 1843 with a band of twelve young men, arriving here in November of that year, and, since that time, he has served as Pastor of the First Congregational Church, and shortly afterward entered upon his duties as pastor of the church of Muscatine, Iowa, where he has now remained for over forty-five years. In 1843 he also received his degree of D. D. from Amherst College. Just a week after his ordination Dr. Robbins was united in marriage, in Canterbury, Conn., with Miss Eliza, a daughter of Samuel L Hough, of that city. She shared with her husband his labors in his new field until 1850, when she became a victim of the cholera, which was then raging so firecely through this country, hundreds dying every day. The following children were born of their union : Dana H., who was born July 2, 1844, was married, Nov. 17. 1874, to Alice E. Owens, daughter of John Owens, one of the early settlers of Cincinnati, Ohio, and on the 14th of July, 1881, his death occurred, leaving a widow and one daughter, who reside in Muscatine; Anna Margarette, born July 21, 1848, at Ashford, Conn., is the wife of Rev. S. DeForest, who was pastor of the Congregational Church at Des Moines, Council Bluffs and Waterloo, Iowa, was President of the Talladega College in Alabama, and still resides in Talladega.   On the 20th of September, 1851, Dr. Robbins was again married, his second union being with Miss Mary S. Arnold, a daughter of Ebenezer Arnold, of Bath, Me. Several children were born unto them, but only two are now living : Esther B., a member of the ladies course in Iowa College, and John, at home.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
             Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



ROBERTS, D.W., far., Sec. 6; P.O. Muscatine; was born in Strafford Co., N.H., Jan. 19, 1842; came to Muscatine Co. with his paarents in 1853.  He married Miss Lou Atwood March 1, 1866, born in Ohio Jan. 8, 1842; have four children, three sons and one daughter--Gilbert J., John C., Winfred and Carrie M., and two deceased--Arthur H. and Adeline M.  Mr. and Mrs. Roberts are members of the Friends' Church; Mr. R. is a Republican.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
             Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



ROBERTS, H.  Postmaster, at Chester P. O., and farmer, Section 23. This gentleman came to Kansas in 1863, settling in Sarcoxie Township, where he was identified as a farmer until 1869, when he located where he now resides.  In 1870 he was engaged in contracting in the southern part of the State, furnishing railroad ties. The autumn of that year was appointed Postmaster for the Chester office, which he has since held. He has also been Justice of the Peace two terms, and identified with the school interests of his district. During the war was in the State militia and participated in the Price Raid. Mr. R. is a native of New Hampshire, and was born in Strafford County, December 8, 1828; was there educated and reared. In 1856 emigrated to Muscatine County, Iowa, where he resided until coming to Kansas. He has been twice married, first to Miss S. J. Blaisdall, now deceased, of York County, Me. By this union had three children - Ida, Francicene, and Milton. His second wife was Mrs. Jane G. Good; her maiden name was Hill. By this marriage they have one daughter - Sarah. Mr. Roberts belongs to the Grange.

Source: History of the State of Kansas by William G. Cutler, Sarcoxie Twp, Jefferson Co



ROBERTSON, William Stephenson M. D., Professor of theory and practice of medicine and chemical medicine in the Iowa State University, was born at Georgetown, Lancaster Co., Pa., June 5, 1831; son of James M. Robertson and Maria nee Armstrong, the former of Scotch and the latter of English ancestry; his juvenile education was obtained in the common schools of the country, and his more advanced studies were pursued in the preparatory department and Freshman Class of Knox College, Illinois; being an ardent student, he applied himself his studies with such diligence as seriously to affect his health, so that in the third term of his Freshman year, he was obliged to discontinue his studies and spent a year at home in recuperation after which, he returned to college; but six months incessant mental application brought him down again, and he was compelled to return to his home a second time; this terminated college course.

In 1852, having recovered his health, he entered the office of his father as a medical student; in the autumn of 1854, attended his first course of lectures in Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia; the ensuing summer was spent in his father's office in assisting him in his practice. In September, 1855, returned to Jefferson College, and graduated from that institution on the 8th of March,1856; in the same year, he located at Columbus City, Iowa, his old home, where he entered upon his career as a physician; his studies had led him to cultivate a fondness for surgery, and while attending to the duties of a general business with fidelity, he was especially careful to treat all the surgical cases that came legitimately within the scope of his practice.

His senior professional friends, seeing his inclination in this direction, sent him many interesting and important cases; he remained at Columbus City for a period of twelve years, enjoying a large general and surgical practice; he spent the winter of 1868--69 in the hospitals of New York City, under the special direction of Prof. Frank H. Hamilton, M. D., in the spring of 1869, he sold his property at Columbus City and moved to Muscatine, Iowa; at the opening of the medical department of the Iowa State University, he was offered the chair of theory and practice of medicine and clinical medicine, which he accepted, and was commissioned accordingly on the 22d of December, 1869.

At the outbreak of the Rebellion in 1861, he raised the first company of volunteers that was recruited in the State, and tendered them to the Governor; but for some reason, which has never been made public, they were not accepted. On the 13th of June, 1861, he was mustered into the army as Major of the 5th I. V. I., being  present at and participating in every march and siege, skirmish and battle of that gallant regiment, till the 23d of July, 1862; in a night attack in front of New Madrid, on the 4th of March, 1862, and in an afternoon skirmish on the 6th of March, he was made the special target of the enemy's sharpshooters, and had five minie balls through his coat, his horse shot down, and the hair shaved off both sides of his head at once by bullets; near Rienzi, Miss., on the 10th of March, in the same year, in company with his servant and six cavalrymen, he was cut off from camp while out on a tour of inspection as a picket officer, and hewed his way with his saber through two line of rebel infantry, reaching his camp in safety, with the loss of two men; he had also the honor of commanding the left skirmish line of the army of the Mississippi, in front of Corinth, at the time that stronghold was evacuated by Beauregard. On the 22d of May, 1862, the gallant commander of the regiment, Col. W. H. Worthington, was killed, and at a meeting of the officers of the regiment, called to nominate his successor, an informal ballot gave Maj. Robertson every vote for the vacancy, and he was accordingly nominated by acclamation; duly appreciating this expression of confidence from his fellow-officers, he resolved to accept the position to which he had been so flatteringly nominated, and desiring to arrange his affairs at home, he applied for a thirty-days leave of absence, which, however, he was refused in consequence of orders issued from department headquarters, detaining all officers able for duty in the field; having some important business imperatively demanding his presence at home, by the advice of Gen. Halleck, and with the district understanding that he would rejoin his command on receipt of his commission as Colonel, his resignation as Major was tendered, and accepted 23d of July, 1862; notwithstanding the fact that the officers of the regiment, when asked by the Governor why they did not recommend promotion in their regiment according to seniority of rank, reiterated their demand for this appointment by a unanimous vote, giving good and sufficient reasons therefor, and without making any charge against the gallant Lieutenant Colonel of the regiment except his lack of familiarity with our language and the system of tactics and regulations of our service, for some reason still unexplained, his commission as Colonel was withheld, and he did not again enter the military service, though he was repeatedly importuned to do so. In politics, the Doctor has always been recognized as of the radical Republican type.

He was one of the original stockholders and a member of the first Board of Directors of the Muscatine Water Works Company. In 1873, while acting as City and County Physician of Muscatine Co., his attention was specially attracted by sad condition of the feeble-minded children then in the County Poorhouse, and for the first time realized the fact that the State had made no provisions for the care, education or maintenance of this unfortunate class; in visiting other parts of the State, he found the same condition of affairs existing. and when contrasting this state of things with the munificent arrangements which the State had made for the education of other classes of unfortunates, less helpless and forlorn than these, it occurred to him that it was time the subject  was forced upon the attention of the people and their legistators; and that it was the bounden duty of the State to make some provision for them; deeply impressed with this idea, he brought the subject to the notice of the State Medical Society in his annual address as its President, in January, 1874, and asked the co-operation of that body to that end; the society "resolved", but took no further action at the time; the subject was again brought forward at the next meeting, and Dr. Robertson appointed a special committee of one to present the subject to the Legislature; he accordingly drafted a bill as a guide in the formation of a law, and prepared a "Plea for the Feeble-minded Children of the State of Iowa", which he had printed at his own expense, and a copy placed upon the desk of each member of the Legislature; the subject was subsequently presented to the respective houses by Hon. C. C. Horton, of Muscatine, and Hon. J. Y. Stone, of Glenwood; to the action of our subject, seconded by the gentlemen named, is due the fact that Iowa now has a magnificent institution in successful operation, located at Glenwood, Mill's County, for the education and maintenance of this lowest class of unfortunates, Dr. Robertson being very properly the President of its Board of Trustees of the institution; he is also a member of the Muscatine County Medical Society; late President of the Iowa State Medical Society; late President of the Eastern Iowa District Medical Society; member of the Judicial Council of that body; he has also been for many years a distinguished member of the Masonic fraternity; in June of 1877, the Trustees of Knox College, Illinois, conferred on Dr. W. S. Robertson, the honorary A. M. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church.

On the 10th of June, 1856, he married Miss Annie E. Charlton, a native of Cattaraugus County, N. Y., but of English parentage, a lady of high culture and refinement;  Dr. Robertson has had five children born to him, three sons and two daughters, only two of whom survive, named Charles and Nellie. As a physician, Dr. Robertson is prompt to respond to the calls of duty, and is a skillful surgeon.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
             Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



ROBINSON, GEORGE W., far., Sec. 23; P.O. Buffalo, Scott Co., Iowa; was born in Delaware Co., N.Y. , in 1822; remained there till 1852, then removed to California; remained three years and engaged in mining and speculating; in the fall of 1854, he removed thence to Iowa, locating first at Blue Grass, Scott Co.  The same fall  or winter, he returned to New York, where he married Miss Phebe C. Boyce, daughter of Jacob Boyce of Ulster Co., N.Y., and returned to Iowa shortly after;  they have three children---Weller, Rosa and Lilly.  In 1876, he removed to Muscatine Co., where they now reside on a fine farm, consisting of 307 acres, lying along the Mississippi River, with a fine river view; his parents, John and Elizabeth (Bushnell) Robinson, were natives of New York.  Mr. R. was a Democrat, but now acts with the Greenback  party.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



ROCHE, ROBERT TIMPANY, missionary, clergyman, was born Feb. 25, 1823, in Nova Scotia. He has been a successful clergyman of the episcopal church for half a century. He has been a missionary in British America, and rector of Georgetown, Prince Edward Island. He has filled pastorates in Riverton, N. J., St. Paul's church of Philadelphia, Christ church of Muscatine, Iowa; pastorates in Palatka and Monticello, Fla., and now fills a pastorate in St. James' church of Eatontown, N. J.

Source:  Herringshaw's Encyclopedia of American Biography of the Nineteenth Century,  Addenda, page cxx



ROCKAFELLOW, Samuel, far., Sec. 32; P. O. Muscatine; is a native of Pennsylvania; born in Montgomery Co., Sept. 23, 1833; in 1861, emigrated to Cedar Co., Iowa; remained one year; in 1862, located in Muscatine Co., near Muscatine. In 1857, in the city of Philadelphia, he married Miss Catharine G. Howell; they have five children--Harry H., Howard W., Clara E., Fanny R. and Charles O. Mr. R. is a machinist by trade, but now follows the occupation of a farmer. Members of the M. E. Church on the Island; Mr. R. is a republican in politics, and has ever acted with that party.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



ROGERS, THOMAS
Many of the most substantial and well-to-do citizens of Linn county are found among her farmers and stock-raisers and Thomas Rogers, whose name introduces this review, is classed with this number. He has accumulated two hundred and ninety acres of the finest land to be found in the rich agricultural districts of Iowa, and although he has made his home in this county for only a few years he has already gained an honorable place among its representative men. He is, however, a  native of the state, his birth having occurred on a farm in Clinton county, May 31, 1860.

His parents. William and Isabelle (Harris) Rogers, were both natives of Perthshire, Scotland, whence they emigrated to the new world in 1858, settling on a farm in Clinton county. Iowa. There the father developed and improved new land and was identified with the agricultural interests of that section of the state during his  remaining years. Unto him and his wife were born eight children, namely: Isabel, a resident of Wapello, Iowa: May A., who became the wife of H. M. Davis of Tama  county and died in 1896, leaving a daughter: Thomas, of this review; Alexander,  who died in infancy: Jessie, who died when in her ninth year; William, who lives on  a farm near Wapello; Mrs. Elizabeth Holmes, of Muscatine, Iowa; and James, who lives in Wapello. The mother lived only about twelve years after coming to Iowa, her death occurring in 1870. The father survived for many years and departed this life in  1895.

Thomas Rogers, the third in order of birth in his father's family, remained under the parental roof until he had reached the age of twenty-three years and from the  period of his early boyhood was trained in the work of the home farm. At that age  he started out to make his own way in the world and for one year was employed at farm labor by the month. He then purchased one hundred and thirty acres of land in Clinton county, operating the same until 1897. He then disposed of that property to advantage and invested his money in two hundred and forty acres in Louisa county, this state. He made his home thereon for five years, or until 1901, when he made  another change in location and, disposing of that farm, came to Linn county, purchasing one hundred and seventy acres, whereon he made his home until the  fall of 1910. In the meantime, in 1909, he purchased a second tract, comprising one hundred and twenty acres, and it was upon the latter place that he took up his  abode in October, 1910. His possessions in Linn county now embrace two hundred and ninety acres, all lying in Linn township, and thus his time is fully occupied in the work of general farming and stock-raising. He is meeting with very desirable  success in his undertakings and his capable management and keen foresight have  enabled him to add not a little to his income in the buying and selling of various farm properties. He has made many improvements upon his land and he and his  family now occupy a nice modern residence, in the rear of which are seen  substantial outbuildings for the shelter of grain and stock. Every change he has made in his business life has given him broader scope for the exercise of his energy,  ambition and industry -- his dominant powers, and thus he stands today among the  men of affluence in Linn county.

On the 19th of December, 1888, Mr. Rogers was married to Miss Nettie L. Dunham, who has proved to him a most faithful and helpful companion. She is the only living daughter of Wesley H. and Celia (Clapp) Dunham, both of whom were natives of New York. In 1868 they removed to the middle west and located on a farm in  Clinton county. For many years they were numbered among the worthy farming people of that section of the state but spent their last years in honorable  retirement, the father passing away in 1905. The mother survived for only a brief  period, her demise occurring the following year, in 1906.

Unto Mr. and Mrs. Rogers have been born two sons and three daughters, namely:  Wesley W., who was born December 2, 1889, and is a high-school student at Mount Vernon, being a member of the graduating class of 1911; Glenn H., who was born May 29, 1891, and is a member of the same class; Celia, who was born December  13, 1893, and who will likewise graduate from high school in 1911; Dorothy D., who  was born February 25, 1896, and is a high-school student; and Mary, who was born  July 31, 1901, and is in school at Mount Vernon.

Politically Mr. Rogers is a republican, while his fraternal relations are with the Odd Fellows, his membership being in Mount Vernon Lodge, No. 551. His religious faith is indicated by his membership in the Methodist Episcopal church. He owes his success to his own thrift, energy and economy. In his earlier years he had many difficulties and obstacles to overcome but despite that fact he has made steady progress  along well defined lines of labor and in accordance with honorable methods and is today one of the most prominent and representative agriculturists of Linn county.

History of Linn County Iowa from its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time: 1911,  Volume II.



ROHLF, HENRY, who devoted his time and energies to farming throughout his active business career, has lived in
honorable retirement for the past fifteen years, making his home at No. 704 Main street in Davenport. He was born in Holstein, Germany, on the 25th of February, 1840, a son of Henry and Catherine Rohlf. The father, who was a laborer, served as a soldier of the German army. In 1854 he brought his family to the United States and after landing at New York came direct to Davenport, Iowa, arriving in this city on the 3d of June. He secured employment as a farm hand and continued to reside in this county until called to his final rest in 1887, having for fifteen years survived his wife, who passed away in 1872. Unto this worthy couple were born five children, namely: Henry, of this review; Amos, who is a resident of Clay county, Iowa; Fred, of Sheridan township, Scott county; August, living in Davenport; and William, who makes his home in Davenport township, Scott county.

Henry Rohlf attended the schools of the fatherland until fourteen years of age, when he accompanied his parents on their emigration to the new world. After coming to Scott county he continued his studies during two winter terms of school and then devoted his entire attention to farm work. In 1862 he purchased forty acres of land in Pleasant Valley township and was actively engaged in its cultivation for two years, when he sold the property and bought a tract of fifty-five acres on the Jersey Ridge road. As his financial resources increased he extended the boundaries of the farm to include one hundred and seventy and a half acres and made his home thereon for nineteen years, placing many fine improvements on the property. On disposing of that farm he purchased a quarter section of land in Muscatine county, where he successfully carried on his agricultural interests for ten years, when he put aside the active work of the fields and has since lived retired in Davenport. He still retains possession of the farm in Muscatine county and also owns one hundred and sixty acres of land in Sheridan township, Scott county, which he purchased subsequent to his retirement.

On the 20th of December, 1864, Mr. Rohlf was united in marriage to Miss Malinda Heath, whose birth occurred in Pennsylvania in 1841. They became the parents of four children, the record of whom is as follows. Ida, the eldest, passed away when but two years of age. Ella is the wife of Andrew Krambeck, of Dysart, Tama county, Iowa, and has two children, Ida and Emma. Sadie, who gave her hand in marriage to William Schroeder, of Blue Grass, is now deceased. Her children were four in number; one who died in infancy; Freda; Ella; and Hulda. Otto L., who operates his fathers farm in Muscatine county, wedded Miss Emma Schroeder, by whom he has four children; Elsie, Arthur, Lester and Bessie. The wife and mother was called to her final rest in 1886.

Since age conferred upon him the right of franchise Mr. Rohlf has given his political allegiance to the republican
party. He proved a capable incumbent in the office of assessor of Davenport township and has done much to advance the cause of education during his many years' service as a school director. The period of his residence in this part of the state covers fifty-six years and he is widely recognized as a prosperous and esteemed citizen. The German Pioneers Association numbers him among its worthy members.

"History of Davenport and Scott County" Vol. II by Harry E. Downer-S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. Chicago IL 1910
Transcribed by Elaine Rathmann of the Scott Co GenWeb Project- used by permission



ROMAINE, J. D., far., Sec. 16; P. O. West Liberty; was born in Passaic Co., N. J., in 1816; coming West in 1841, he located in Muscatine Co., Iowa, where he has since resided. Mr. R., in 1843, married Miss Mary Lewis, of this county, a native of Ohio; they have three children--- Lewis, Walter, and Eva. Mr. R. has a farm of 150 acres, upon which he made all the improvements.  Mr. R. is a Democrat; acts with the Greenback party.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



ROMIG, O. W.  pioneer hardware store, is the senior partner of the firm of Romig & Sweet, and, in company with his brother, Me. D. S. Romig, now of Independence, Kan., built the first store in Fall River, in October, 1879, at a cost of $400. He is a native of Waterloo, N. Y., but when six years of age, his parents removed to Indiana, and in 1860 to Muscatine, Iowa, where he acquired his business education, and in which town he remained until locating in Kansas, except six years which he spent in San Francisco, Cal. He first settled in Charleston, this county, in April, 1879, and engaged in hardware business, but upon the formation of the Fall River Town Company, he was among the first to remove here as stated. January 1, 1881, Mr. Anson Sweet became associated with him as partner under the firm name of Romig & Sweet, and in 1883, they have built, almost contiguous to their old stand, a handsome stone store with iron front, at a cost of $1,700, and 24 x 60 feet  clear inside. In addition to their large and varied stock of general hardware, they have a full line of agricultural implements and machines, the stock being valued at $4,500 to $5,000, their annual sales being about $16,000 to $17,000.  Both buildings and stock are fully insured. Mr. Romig is a member of the I. O. O. F. and A. F. & A. M., and is one of the wide-awake young business men of Kansas.

Source: History of the State of Kansas by William G. Cutler, Greenwood Co.



ROSBOROUGH, James,  far., Sec. 2; P.O. Melpine; born in Dublin, Ireland, Dec. 17, 1815; came to Philadelphia April 1, 1848, thence to Muscatine and remained thirteen years, working at the carpenter's trade. He married Miss Ann A Wallace in 1852, born in Nova Scotia April 13, 1831, and died Jan. 8, 1879; they had five sons and one daughter--Charles A., Frank, James W., Simon B.R., Sherman G. and Ann A.  Mr. R. owns 143 3/4 acres of land, on which he has made all the improvements.  Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
                Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



ROSBURG, Conrad -- for many years the leading carpenter and builder at Osmond, Pierce county, Nebraska, is a  native of the province of Holstein, Germany. His birth occurred in the village of Harmsdorf, June 8, 1851, and    he is a son of Wolf C. and Sophia (Ehrig) Rosburg. The former was born in 1804, and died in 1872, and the    latter was born in 1809, and died in 1900, at the age of ninety-one years.

Men of this family have been tenants of the same place since 1639, the date on the frame and concrete house built and occupied by a Rosburg, and handed down to succeeding generations. At times the race has seemed to be about extinguished, but it has been preserved, and none but men of that name have ever lived in the dwelling.
Conrad Rosburg emigrated to America in 1870, sailing from Hamburg, Germany, on the eighth of June on the    "Cymbria," which made the passage to New York in eleven days. He came direct to Benton county, Iowa,  whither a brother and two uncles had preceded him. He was employed at farm labor until 1875, when, on  March 5, of that year, he rented a farm in Crawford county, Iowa, and for five years followed the plow in that  locality. Coming to Nebraska, he rented the Thompson farm, seven miles northwest of where Osmond now  stands, and for nine years was a Nebraska farmer, and a successful one at that. It was during his occupancy of  this farm that a sad incident occurred in the loss of two children in the memorable blizzard of January 12, 1888.

The season of 1889, Mr. Rosburg spent on the road, traveling through Nebraska for the McCormick Harvester Company, and many are the tales he can tell of jokes and pranks played upon landlords and each  other by fellow traveling men at hotels where he has sojourned. The work is exacting during the busy season,  but they manage to have some fun along with their labor.

 In 1890, Mr. Rosburg erected the first building in Osmond, his present residence, the station having been  established that year. For nineteen years he was a leading contractor and builder in Osmond, following that   vocation until March, 1909, when he rented a farm near town, and again became one of America's producers.    Mr. Rosburg is a good farmer, as the tract he took had been considered a rundown farm. His first crop, after    thorough deep plowing, made a showing of fifty bushels of corn to the acre - this from land that had not  produced a third of that amount for some years before.

Mr. Rosburg was married, December 22, 1875, at Denison, Iowa, to Miss Hanna Fliss, a native of Cedar county, Iowa, and born near Wilton Junction, a daughter of Tobias and Sophia (Fallburg) Fliss, who were married in Germany in May, 1849. They were natives of Hanover and Brunswick, respectively, the father's birth  having occurred near Frankfort-On-The-Main, and the mother's, in the village of Seliz. On coming to America,  they lived in Chicago for a time, and, in migrating to Iowa, drove through with an ox team to Bloomington, Iowa,  now known as Muscatine, which at that time was but a landing for the river steamers. They settled some twelve miles north of Muscatine, in the edge of Cedar county, and lived here until death.

Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Rosburg, whose names and histories are given herewith: Emma,   died in infancy; Otto and Hattie were lost in the memorable blizzard of January 12, 1888; John has been his    father's able assistant, both in carpentry and building, and in his farming enterprises; Ella is the wife of Henry Martin, of Osmond; and Hanna Leneve, the youngest of the six children.

Mr. Rosburg is, in general elections, a democrat, but votes for the best man in local campaigns, regardless of party affiliations.

Many were the hardships endured by Mr. and Mrs. Rosburg in coming to Nebraska, and during their first  years in the west. For five miles before reaching Onawa, where they crossed the Missouri river, they were compelled to drive through water in some places three to four feet deep. After crossing to Decatur, Nebraska, Mrs. Rosburg rode one of the horses, driving the cattle, and in the flooded road got into a ditch, in which she and the horse were submerged up to her shoulders. During the first few years, their only fuel at times was  twisted hay, supplemented with corn stalks, corn or "buffalo chips." They came to Nebraska late enough to escape the last raid of grasshoppers, but were here during the winter of the deep snows, the winter of 1881 and 1882, when the last remnants of drifts lingered in the canyons and ravines until late in May. There were a few antelope to be seen in the country still, and occasionally a big grey wolf would appear, they having strayed out of the timber along the rivers out onto the plains.

These were hard days - days that tried men's souls and women's fortitude. But the persevering ones, like Mr. Rosburg and his family, who endured to the end, have reaped rich rewards for their privations and strenuous labors. The west has been good to those who persevered.

Source: Compendium of History, Reminiscence and Biography of Nebraska,
Alden Publishing Co, Chicago IL 1912, p 734-735



ROWLAND, W.G.,  contractor and builder, Sec. 33; Mr. Rowland was born in Kingston, Canada West, Feb 10, 1841; in 1851, he removed with his parents to St. Lawrence Co., N. Y.; thence to Rock Co., Wis., in 1855; in 1857, he came to Muscatine Co., remaining a short time; went to Kansas; returned to Muscatine in 1860. He enlisted in Co. A, 9th Regiment I. V. I.; was honorably discharged at the close of the war. Married Miss Lydia Hopkinson in Muscatine Co., in 1860; she was born near Cincinnati, Ohio; they have five children--Lillie Amelia, Lula, Charles G., May, Phoebe J. Members of the U. B. Church; he is a Republican. Owns forty-five acres of land.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
                Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



RUBELMANN, J., of the firm of J. Rubelmann & Co., jobbers in leather, saddlery and hardware; is a native of Germany, where he was brought up and learned the business of manufacturing leather; he emigrated to this country in 1847, and came to Iowa in 1849; he went South and carried on the farming business for some years; in 1861, he came to Muscatine and established the house of J. Rubelmann & Co; they still continue the tanning business in Tennessee and finish the leather goods here; have the leading leather, saddlery and hardware house here, doing a large and extensive trade and an exclusively jobbing business.  Mr. Rubelmann married Miss R.A. Renz, a native of Germany, in 1855; they have four children--George J., John G., Julia V. and Katie M.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
                Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



REGNIER, Agnes, daughter of  Charles F. & M. Abby (Bowlsby), b West Liberty, Iowa, 1-11-1872; m 1894 Percy RUSSELL

Source: Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy, Vol. 3, page 265



RUSSELL, J.J.,  of the firm of Burk and Russell, attorney at law; is a native of Long Island, N.Y.; when 3 years of age his parents came to Muscatine Co., where he received his education; he studied law, entered the State University and graduated in the law department in 1878; he has recently associated with W. D. Burk in the practice of his profession.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
                Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



RUTH, Charles Edward, M. D.
Among the eminent gentlemen who compose the faculty of the Keokuk  Medical college, is Prof. C. E. Ruth, the subject of this biography.   Before recording the history of the life of the professor, it is fitting that something be said of his antecedents.

His father, Alexander Ruth, was born in Greene county, Penn., July 18, 1836, and came to Iowa in 1857. It was from this state that he enlisted to fight for “old glory,” serving with the gallant Fourteenth Iowa Volunteer infantry for eighteen months, when he was transferred to the Seventh cavalry, receiving his discharge late in 1864. He was a farmer by occupation, and in 1889 had accumulated sufficient means to enable him to leave the old homestead in Johnson county and enjoy  life in the beautiful city of Muscatine, where he now resides. Dr. Ruth's mother, Sarah Jane Funk, was also a native of Pennsylvania, born in 1840. She came to Iowa in 1858, was married in 1860 and died at Muscatine July 21, 1896. The ancestors on both sides for at least four generations were farmers. The founders of the family came to this country prior to the revolution, on the paternal side, from England and Ireland; on the maternal side, from Germany.

Dr. Ruth was born in Johnson county, Iowa, August 17, 1861. After having finished the high school of  Iowa City, he entered the medical department of the Iowa State university, from which he graduated  March 7, 1883. He located at Atalissa and engaged in practice until January, 1887, when he removed  to Muscatine and formed a partnership with Dr. G. O. Morgridge, which relation existed for two years.

 It was severed by reason of the election of Dr. Ruth to the chair of descriptive and surgical anatomy, in  the Keokuk Medical college. He still holds that position and has purchased a one-eighth interest in the college.

In 1893 he was made professor of clinical surgery at St. Joseph's hospital, and since then he has regularly held weekly clinics there as a part of the regular course of the Keokuk Medical college.   Though now engaged in a general practice, his surgical work chiefly occupies his attention. His  researches have given the first published record of the resistance of the brain to penetration by probes  of given diameters, in exploring that organ for bullets which have traversed its substance, a full account  of which appears in the report of the American Medical association, at its meeting in Detroit in 1892.

He is the inventor of various surgical instruments and appliances, including bullet forceps, turbinated gouges, scissors for sectioning the second and third divisions of the fifth nerve far from the surface in the smallest possible space, placental detachers and a metallic rotary adjustable aseptic operating  table; also a combined rotary bookcase and desk. He performed the first successful resection of the caeum for sarcoma in a child 5 years old, in which the Murphy button was used to make an end to end anastomosis of the ileum to colon.

The doctor is a republican prohibitionist. He is a member of Eagle Lodge A. F. and A. M., Sons of Veterans, American Medical association, the Iowa State, being chairman of the section in this society on obstetrics and gynecology for 1898, Military Tract, Tri-State, of which he was elected president in 1898, Des Moines Valley and Southeastern Iowa Medical societies. He belongs to the  Methodist church.

He was married October 3, 1883, to Miss Adella Tautlinger, of Lone Tree, Iowa. They  have three children–Verl Alton, Una Gertrude and Zana. The doctor's success is due entirely to his own efforts. He earned his first dollar by binding oats for a neighbor after night, after his work for his father was done. With the money thus earned he purchased his first book, Webster's Academic dictionary. He left home at the age of 18 to complete his education with just 11 cents, a present and start in life from his mother and sister, this being all the money they possessed. That money is one of his most treasured keepsakes for he did not part with it.

Source:  Biographies and Portraits of the Progressive Men of Iowa. Gue, B.F. Des Moines:
Conaway & Shaw Publishers, 1899. , page 216 



RYERSON, DAVID a wealthy and prominent farmer in Cass township, was born in Sussex county, New Jersey, on the 10th of January, 1839. His father, Richard A., now resides in Muscatine county, Iowa, his mother having died in New Jersey in 1844. He moved with his father from New Jersey in 1855, to Muscatine county, Iowa, where he remained until 1870, when he came to Guthrie county, settling on section 14, Cass township. He was married in Guthrie county, in 1878, to Miss Kittie Powell, of Panora. He owns over one hundred and sixty acres of farm land, nearly all under cultivation, and raises a large number of cattle and hogs. He enlisted in company B, 35th Iowa infantry in 1862, and was afterward assigned to the 16th army corps. He took part in the campaign and capture of Vicksburg, in the Red river campaign and in the battle of Jackson. He was wounded at Yellow bayou in 1864, and was immediately discharged.

Source:  History of Guthrie and Adair Co IA 1884


S
SALTER, CHARLES A. engineer of Omaha Steam Fire Engine, No. 3, taking the same to superintend and run in 1878. He has five men under his supervision at the average wages of $65 per month; Engineer's pay is $90 per month. He located in Omaha. in 1872, and first engaged as engineer for the Herald Office about four years, then engaged in his present location, first as stoker, two and one-half years, since which he has been engineer. He was born in Harrington, N. J., June 23, 1853. From New Jersey his parents moved to Moline,  Ill., where he lived twelve years, then moved to Wilton Junction, Iowa, and lived four years, then to Durant, Iowa, and various places in that State. He is a member of the association styled the Chosen Friends, a mutual aid society.

Source: The History of the State of Nebraska, 1882, Western Historical Company, A. T.
Andreas, Proprietor, Chicago, IL.; Douglas County



SAWYER, Frank Payson
Sawyer, Frank Payson, who is at the head of one of the most important industries in the west, lives in Muscatine and is the secretary and general manager of the Muscatine Oat Meal company, which manufactures the celebrated “Friends' oats.” Mr. Sawyer comes of New England ancestors. His father, Stephen P. Sawyer, was born in Amsbury, Mass., in 1832, but removed to Hamilton, Ont., about 1848, where he lived until 1871. At that time he removed to Muscatine and retired from business in order to use his income for the benefit of his family and to prolong the life and afford comfort to his wife, who had been a confirmed invalid for many years. She died March 18, 1897. Her maiden name was Frances Phoebe Gillett, and she was a native of Newport, N. H.

F. P. Sawyer was born in Hamilton, Ont., November, 30, 1856, and he has lived in Muscatine most of  the time since 1872. His early education was acquired in the Canadian public schools, well known for their thorough training and substantial foundations for a thorough education. He graduated from the Muscatine high school and entered the Iowa State university in 1874. During his sophomore year illness compelled him to retire, and a year's change of climate and travel in the east convinced him the only sure foundation and reliance for life was a trade, and that the professions and ordinary mercantile pursuits could not always be relied upon in case of financial upheaval. So he decided to lose no time, left college and learned the marble cutter's trade, which for a time he followed in Des  Moines. He found this was too arduous an employment and involved too great a risk to his health, so  he interested himself in the Muscatine Oat Meal company, and upon request became personally  identified with the management. He had been interested in the concern since its organization, and in 1883 was placed in the anagement of the business. Since he took hold of it, it has grown every year until now it is the second largest oat mealindustry in operation in the United States. The factory is of the greatest importance to the city of Muscatine, as it employs over 160 persons in addition to a large number of others indirectly obtaining their income from the business. The company's trade extends all over the world, from South Africa to the European markets, and in all of the large cities of the United States and Canada. Mr. Sawyer takes a broad view of the notable business success which he has achieved and finds his best reward and the most satisfaction in the benefits it has brought to others in furnishing remunerative employment to so many persons. He is naturally gratified at the financial success of the enterprise and other investments that he has made, but says that the pleasure derived from the use of such accumulations is that which affords him the most satisfaction and not the mere fact of possession. Mr. Sawyer is a director of the Muscatine Savings bank and the First National bank and the Muscatine Water company, and also treasurer of the latter concern. He is a republican but is not a hidebound partisan. He keeps informed on the effects of political changes upon business matters and he always reserves the privilege of voting for the nominee showing the best business qualifications and recommendations for integrity. Party ties and obligations do not strongly bind him.

Mr. Sawyer is a member of the Presbyterian church and has been secretary of the official board for about a dozen years. He was married November 30, 1882, in Milford, Pa., to Joanna Wells, daughter of  H. B. Wells, probably the most prominent and successful business man of Pike county, Pa. They  have three children, Henry P., born November 19, 1883; Aura M., born February 17, 1885, and Maud  W., born May 4, 1892.

Source:  Biographies and Portraits of the Progressive Men of Iowa. Gue, B.F. Des Moines:
Conaway & Shaw Publishers, 1899. , p.196



SAXON, JOHN  of Reavis & Saxon, attorney at law, was born in Salem, Columbiana County, Ohio, September 9, 1839. He was born and raised on a farm, and began reading law while still engaged in farming, and continued his studies in a law office in Salem, then entered the Ohio State and Union Law College. Was admitted to the bar May 2, 1862, and graduated from college July 2, 1862. The same year began recruiting a company of cavalry. The company was mustered into the Sixth Regiment Ohio Cavalry as Company M, to take the place of a company that had been detached. Mr. S. was commissioned Captain, the commission being dated January 9, 1864. He was discharged on account of disability, March 20, 1865, and returned to Ohio. He was commissioned January 11, 1863, Lieutenant-Colonel of the Eighteenth Battalion Infantry, Ohio Volunteer Militia. Shortly after his return home he commenced the practice of law in Salem, Ohio, and continued until about 1868, when he removed to Muscatine County, Iowa. In 1871 moved to Nebraska,  located in Jefferson County for a time, then moved to Adams County, and in September, 1881, settled in Falls City and opened an office. In 1882 entered into partnership with Judge Reavis. Mr. S. was married in Fairbury, Jefferson County, Nebraska, July 11, 1874, to Miss Munn, a native of Massachusetts. They have one child, Maggie.

Source: The History of the State of Nebraska, 1882, Western Historical Company, A. T.
Andreas, Proprietor, Chicago, IL.; Richardson County


SCHAAB, Michael,  farmer and stock-raiser, Sec. 29; P.O. Muscatine; born in Baden, German, Nov. 26, 1832; came to Rock Island, Ill., in 1852; removed to Muscatine in 1865 and purchased the farm (of 476 acres) where he now lives, and has made all the improvements.  Married Miss Katherine Fuhr, June 25, 1854; she was born in Buffalo, N.Y., March 4, 1833; they have five children---Mary, Joseph, Louisa, Barbara and Katherine.  Mr Schaatz (sic) is a memer of the Catholic Church; Mrs. Schaatz of the Lutheran Church; Mr. Schaatz is a Democrat.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879

Note:  I have no idea why the name switches from Schaab to Schaatz in the end of the bio but that is the way it appears in the book.



SCHAEFER, George A., dealer in groceries, provisions etc., on Lucas Grove road; Mr. Schaefer was born in Bavaria,    Germany, in 1841; in 1852, emigrated with his parents to Muscatine. In 1865, he married Miss Anna Derfler; they have    four children---John George, Anna Mary, Frank Xavier and Mary K. Politically, Mr. Schaefer is a Democrat, but his business engrosses his time and leaves none for political matters; he is a member of no church, is liberal in religious opinions; he has built up a large and remunerative business by his square dealing and honesty.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCHAEFFER, HENRY, Sec. 25; P. O. Garrison; born in Waldrick, Prussia, Jan. 14, 1843; emigrated to Davenport, Iowa, Aug. 1, 1858; thence to Muscatine Co., Iowa, in 1871; thence to Benton Co. in 1875; has 120 acres of land, valued at $30 per acre. Married Louisa Burkimp in 1871; she was born in Hanover, Germany, in 1850; they have four children -- Mena, born in Aug. 1871; Willie, Dec. 6, 1872; Henry, July 3, 1874, and Louie, May 20, 1876.

Source: History of Benton Co Iowa 1878



SCHALLHORN, John, manufacturer of pottery, Fairport; was born in Germany June 21, 1849; where he learned his trade; at 16 years of age, he came to Winnebago Co., Wis., where he worked at his trade one year; then to Illinois, where he remained three years, thence to Minnesota, then to Muscatine Co. in 1873 and engaged in his present business.  He married Miss Caroline Feustel March 17, 1876, born in Muscatine Co., Iowa, March 17,1858; they have two children--Elizabeth S. and Barbara.  Members of the Catholic Church.  Mr. S. is a Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCHENCK, James F., far., Sec. 6; P. O. Downey, Cedar Co.; was born in Franklin, Warren Co., Ohio, in 1829, where he resided and received such an education as the schools of that early day afforded; he came to Iowa in 1845, settling first in Muscatine, and for several years engaged in merchandising and improving the fine farm on which he now resides, consisting of 120 acres. Mr. S. has held several offices in the county, and is Justice of the Peace. He was in the Commissary Department during the war. Mr. S. married, in 1855, in Muscatine, Miss Maria C. Bell; they have seven children---John B., Phoebe W., Charles G., Mary B., Ida, Elizabeth and James. Mrs. S. is a native of Kentucky; came to Iowa in 1854. Was a Whig, and at the organization of the Republican party, joined its ranks and has acted with it since. Is a member of the A.F. & A. M.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCHIELE, Charles L.

The fourteen hundred acres of excellent farm land in Cedar county, Iowa, and the fine town residence on Main street, Davenport, are an indication of the success which attended the agricultural operations of Charles L. Schiele. He has been closely identified with the public affairs and although America is but the country of his adoption, he was one of those who offered his life in support of the Union during the years of the great struggle between the north and south.

Mr. Schiele was born in Prussia Germany, December 16, 1840, a son of Carl and Wilhelmina (Waltenburg) Shiele. The father, who was born in 1811, served in the German army and followed the baker's trade in his native land. In 1854 he started upon his journey to the United States with his family, disembarking at New Orleans. They traveled up the Mississippi river to Davenport, where they landed June 20, 1854, and then went to Muscatine county, Iowa, almost immediately for Mr. Schiele had friends there who persuaded him to buy eighty acres of timber land. With the help of his sons he built thereon a log cabin, which remained the family home for several years. Later he bought eighty acres more and again eighty acres in the same township, upon which he lived until his death in 1887. After his demise the mother lived with her son Otto until her death in 1907 when she was ninety-four years of age. They were the parents of five children: Charles L.; Frederick, deceased; Wilhelmina, deceased; Julius, who lives on the old homestead in Montpelier township, Muscatine county; and Otto, who lives near Durant in Cedar county.

Charles L. Schiele attended the public schools of Germany before the family came to this country. Being but fourteen years of age, however, at the time of their arrival, he was enrolled as a pupil in the public schools of Muscatine county, but during the progress of the Civil war he decided to join the forces of the north. Accordingly, in the fall of 1864, he enlisted in Company C, Second Tennessee Infantry, at St. Louis, Missouri, whence he went to Nashville, Tennessee, participating in the famous battle there. Then he went to Franklin Crossroads, where he became infected with typhoid fever and was sent back to the hospital at Nashville. He remained there several months and having recovered, was discharged May 10, 1865. Thereupon he returned to his home, where he remained until 1869.

In the meantime, Mr. Schiele and his brother rented one hundred and sixty acres of land from their father, which
they operated until about 1867, when Mr. Schiele bought a wild tract of equal area in Farmington township, Cedar county. The year 1868 he spent in breaking it and preparing it for cultivation, and in 1869 he married, built a house upon his land and took up his residence there. It remained his home of  thirty-six years, but in the meantime, as the result of his unceasing labor and his economy, he had accumulated the fourteen hundred acres which he still owns. While this is the record of the success he gained in his private life it affords no indication of the respect and confidence he has won from his fellow citizens, who have witnessed his advancement. They elected him on the democratic ticket as county supervisor and assessor and he also served as justice of the peace for sixteen years. After his removal to Davenport in the spring of 1907, he was elected trustee  of the city, holding the position to the present.

On the 1st of June, 1869, Mr. Schiele wedded Miss Elizabeth Barneck (sic-Bernick) who was born in Germany and is a
daughter of Moritz and Elizabeth Barneck, of Muscatine county. They have become the parents of six children.  Charles, the eldest, married Emma Miller and lives in Cedar county. They have two children, Carl and Helen. Gustavus, who lives upon the old home place in Cedar county, married Bertha Clawson and they have three sons, Otto, Richard and John. Morris resides in Chicago, Illinois. Richard is deceased. Rudolph married Stella Carl and lives in Cedar county. Clara E. lives with her parents.

Faithful in the performance of his duties and endowed with the noble qualities of honesty integrity, Mr. Schiele
deserves the high regard in which he is held by those with whom he has come in contact. His success in his vocation resounds to the agricultural prosperity of the state of Iowa, while his life record is a high tribute to the citizenship of Davenport.
 

Source: History of Davenport and Scott County Vol 2; Harry E. Downer;S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. 1910 Chicago.
Transcribed by Elaine Rathmann of the Scott Co IAGenWeb Project
Note: correct spelling of wife's maiden name is BERNICK



SCHNEIDER, George, dealer in boat stores, groceries, provisions, etc., Front street, opposite steamboat landing; was   born in Germany in 1829; in 1850, he emigrated to Buffalo, N.Y., remained until 1851, then went to Sandusky, Ohio; in 1855, he came to this city. He married Miss Katherine Bike, daughter of Fredric and Sarah Bike, who were born in Germany, emigrated to this country and settled in Louisa Co., Iowa, where they now reside, in 1845; she was born in 1840. Married Mr. Schneider in 1858; they have five children---Katy, Annie, George, Henry, and Ella. Mr. S. is an old "Jackson" Democrat; he has held various local offices, among them that of Wharfmaster, and a member of the City Council, and at present is Steamboat Registrar, which office he has held for nine years; he is a member of A., F. & A. M., and is President of the Mechanic's Aid Society, is also Dictator in the Knights of Honor. Member of the German       Lutheran Church. Mr. S. has ever been identified with Muscatine's interests, and is well and honorably known for those    qualities which constitute a thorough business man and a gentleman.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCHOONOVER, JAMES, Sec. 8; P.O. Stockton; son of Henry and Mary Schoonover, was born in Randolph Co., Va, Sept. 17, 1806; May 15, 1839, came to Rock Island, Ill., and May 18, 1839, removed within five miles of Davenport; in 1843, moved to Muscatine Co., and settled where he now resides.  Married Dec. 26, 1828, Miss Elizabeth Teeter, a native of Randolph Co., Va; born Dec. 26, 1806, and died April 21, 1840; he married again, Miss Thankful Randell, Jan. 13, 1841; a native of York Co., Me.; born Jan. 15, 1809;  Mr. S. has five children by former wife--Mary (now Mrs. George), Nancy (now Mrs. Rapp), Delilah (now Mrs. Austin), Alfred and Salathia; by present wife has one--Benjamin, and three deceased--Sarah A., Henry and John.  Mr. Schoonover was elected Justice of the Peace in 1845.  United with the M.E. Church in 1832, where he has ever been a constant worker in the cause of religion, and Mrs. S. is a member of the same church.  Mr. S. owns a fine farm of 227 acres.  Democrat.

Source: THE HISTORY OF MUSCATINE COUNTY IOWA Containing A History of the County, its Cities,
                Towns, & etc. Western Historical Company Chicago Illinois 1879



SCHRECKENGAST, ISAAC BUTLER D. D., S. T. B.,as chancellor of the Nebraska Wesleyan University is one of the leaders in the intellectual development of the state. More than forty years of his life have been devoted to work as an educator and churchman.

He was born at Danville, Iowa, October 5, 1864, son of Isaac Schreckengast, who was born of German parentage near Lebanon, Pennsylvania, a shoe cobbler by trade, and of Sarah (Davis) Schreckengast,  born of Welsh parentage at Annville, Pennsylvania. His parents traveled down the Ohio River and up  the Mississippi River to Burlington, Iowa, where they were married in 1850, shortly after their arrival in  that city. When Doctor Schreckengast was three years old his parents moved to a farm in Keokuk County, Iowa, and the property they bought was operated by the members of the family while the father cobbled shoes for the neighbors.

 Isaac B. Schreckengast was reared on this farm, his early education being limited to the country schools. His ambition led him to exert every effort to advance his education. He was graduated from the Keota High School in Iowa, and from the Iowa State Agricultural College in 1885, with the degree of Bachelor of Science in mathematics and physics. For one year he taught, then entered Iowa Weslayan University, and after a year's work began preaching at Sweetland Center, Muscatine County. From there he went to Boston, entering the Boston University School of Theology, from which  he graduated in 1895 with the degree Bachelor of Sacred Theology. During the years he was in Boston  he spent three years in school and two years in charge of the Morgan Memorial, a mission church, later made famous by Dr. E. J. Helms and known as “The Church of All Nations”. Doctor Schreckengast was followed by Doctor Helms as pastor.

Leaving Boston, Doctor Schreckengast spent five years as pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church  of West Liberty, Iowa; six years with the Methodist Episcopal Church of Washington, Iowa; five years as pastor of the First Methodist Episcopal Church at Burlington, Iowa. Coming to Nebraska, he was for  three years pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church of University Place, Lincoln, the College Church of the Nebraska Wesleyan University. In 1913 he became vice chancellor of the university, and since 1916 has been chancellor.

Doctor Schreckengast was an honor man in his class at Iowa State College and he has since enjoyed  other academic honors. He was elected to the General Conference of his denomination from Iowa, and  three times to the same body from Nebraska. For sixteen years he was a member of the general board  of Sunday Schools of the Methodist Episcopal Church and for twelve years a member of the executive committee. This board had charge of the Sunday School work of the church throughout the whole world. He is now a member of the General Board of Education, and a member of its curriculum committee. He has also interested himself in all educational and civic causes at Lincoln.

He married at Keota, Iowa, in 1888, Miss Genevieve Clarke. She was educated in high school at Keota and in Northwestern University at Evanston, Illinois. She is a member of the Lincoln Woman's Club, local chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, the Adelphian Club of Lincoln, Eastern Star,  and many organizations in connection with her husband's work at the University. They have three  children: Georgia Ruth, who graduated from high school at Burlington, Iowa, the Nebraska Wesleyan University, taught for three years as a missionary in Argentine, South America, and since returning home on account of ill health has become the wife of L. E. Jones of Chicago, Illinois. The second daughter, Carita, is a graduate of the Nebraska Wesleyan University Teachers College, taught school, and is the wife of Dr. J. D. Taylor, a physician and surgeon at University Place, Lincoln. Dorothy, the youngest daughter, is a graduate of Nebraska Wesleyan University, and a trained nurse, for a time
head nurse in the Dental Clinic of Denver University. She is the wife of Dr. F. O. Hansen, of Denver.

Source:   Nebraska the Land and the People: Volume 3 p.412
(Note: This page continues with a long narrative regarding the Nebraska Wesleyan University and its fine offerings which came about as a result of Dr. Schrekengast's involvement with the university, but there is no further information on him or the family included, so I did not see reason to transcribe it at this time)



SCHREURS, G.W., of the firm of Schreurs & Son, proprietors of the Young America Mills; was born in Holland Sept. 19, 1839; he came with his parents to this country in 1846; they came to Iowa in the spring of 1847, and settled here, where he learned the milling business; when the war broke out, he enlisted in the 7th Regiment I.V.I., Co.A, the first company that went in the three year's service from this place; he served as Orderly to Gen. Rice; he was wounded twice in the battle of Belmont; was in many battles and was in the service over three years. After his return, he married Miss Mary J. Groters, a native of New Jersey, Feb. 14, 1865; they have four children--- John A., Esther, Freddie and Paul. Mr. and Mrs. Schreurs are members of the Congregational Church. Mr. Schreurs has been engaged in the milling business since the war; on the 19th of August, 1875, the mill burned down, but was rebuilt the same year, regardless of cost, with special reference to improved machinery; the buhrs  being all made to order; their engine is the only one of the kind    in the State. Este's Patent, unequaled for its regularity of movement, the reputation of their mills stands ahead of anything in the county, and they do both custom and merchant work; Mr. Schreurs has invented and patented a millstone attachment for starting and stopping the burhs at pleasure, and is also interested in a patent millstone driver; they are both inventions of great utility and benefit to the milling interest.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCHREURS, John A.,  of the firm of Schreurs & Son, Proprietors of the Young America Mills; was born in Holland
July  29, 1814; he lived there until 1846 ; when he emigrated to America, landing at New Orleans Dec. 26, 1846; the following year, he came to Muscatine and arrived here March 29, 1847;  he engaged in farming four and one-half miles from the city; in 1870, he engaged in the milling business, and has continued it  since then. He married Seena Willemina, from Germany, in 1838; she died in March, 1863; they have five children---Garrett W., Henry, Mena, Jennie and Seena. Mr. Schreurs married Hannah Reesink June 11, 1867; they have one son---George.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCHRIBNER, J.G., far., Sec. 33; P.O. Sweetland Center; was born in Carroll, N.H., June 12, 1810; removed to Muscatine Co. in 1854.  He married Miss Eliza Plumer Sept. 22, 1831, born in Carroll Co., N.H. in 1809; she died in 1855; he married again Miss Mary Underwood Aug 12, 1858; born in Merrimack Co., N.H., Nov. 5, 1816; Mr. S. had three children by his former wife--Samuel S., Abby M. and Mary A., all deceased.  Mr. and Mrs. S. are members of the Friends' Church; Mr. S. is a Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCHULTE,  Charles, farmer, Sec.18; P. O. Atalissa; owns 216 acres of land, valued at $25 per acre; born Jan.15, 1840, in Rhine Province, Prussia; was educated at a Catholic Seminary, in Werden, Germany; in the fall of 1857, came to the United States, locating in Muscatine Co.; his father came in 1859; came onto his present farm in the spring of 1859. Married Diana Stoneburner Sept. 11, 1864; she was born Aug 16, 1830, in Clay Co., Ill.; have no children; Mr. S. is now serving his third term as Township Assessor; his brother Otto served the Union cause in Co. F of the 2d Missouri Battery, from 1861 to 1864; was at the siege of Vicksburg, Pea Ridge, Chatanooga, capture of Atlanta, etc. Politics, Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCHUMACHER, HENRY, M. D. -  Among the worthy representatives of the medical profession in Walcott who are meeting with success in their chosen life work is numbered Dr. Henry Schumacher, who has also been closely identified with the public interests of this city during the period covering his residence here. A native ofIllinois, he was born in Moline on the 23d of April, 1856, and is a son of Henry A. and Helena M. (Heyer) Schumacher. The father, who was born in Eutin, Germany, on the 24th of February, 1818, came to America in 1849, at once going to California with a party of gold seekers. In 1852 he went to Illinois, locating in Moline, where he was engaged in the butchering business until 1869. In 1853, in Moline, he was united in marriage to Mrs. Helena M. Heyer, who was also a native of Germany, her birth occurring in Pretz on the 30th of August, 1817.

For nine years Dr. Henry Schumacher of this review was a pupil in the public schools of Moline, and then accompanied his father on a visit to Germany, where, for two years he attended school in Eutin. Upon his return from Germany he entered Griswold college in 1871, remaining there until 1873, and then went west, where for six years he was engaged in prospecting and mining. The year 1879 witnessed his return home, after which he  became a student at the Iowa State University, from which he was graduated in the spring of 1882. In the meantime he had pursued a medical course and during the scholastic year 1881-82 had served as interne at Mercy Hospital, thus receiving excellent practical training. After completing his college course he returned to Moline and there took charge of the smallpox cases for the county. He remained in that place for only two months, however, and then went to Durant, where he followed his profession for nineteen years.

On the 24th of December, 1899, he came to Walcott and has since made this place his home, continuing in the practice of medicine to the present time. Since opening up an office here he has gained a very large and representative patronage which is constantly increasing in volume and importance, and he is now numbered among the well known and prominent practitioners of this county. He is not only thoroughly conscientious in the discharge of his  various duties, full recognizing the obligations that rest upon him in connection with his chosen calling, but keeps in close touch with the work of advancement and progress which is constantly being carried on in the medical world, being a member of the American Medical Association, the Iowa State Medical Society, the Scott County Medical Society, the Tri City Medical Society and the Muscatine County Society of Physicians & Surgeons.   He has ever remained an earnest student, continually broadening his knowledge by extensive reading and research, and everything that tends to solve the mystery which we call life is of intense interest to him.

Dr. Schumacher has been twice married. In 1883 he wedded Miss Laura Krabbenhoeft, who only lived for three months, however, and in 1884 he chose as his second wife Miss Rosa Steffen. The  marriage has been blessed with two children, namely: Henry Walter, attending school in Moline; and Helena M., a resident of Durant. Dr. Schumacher is well known in fraternal circles, holding membership in Doric Lodge, No. 319, A. F. & A. M., of Moline; Zarepath Consistory of Davenport; Knights of Pythias lodge, No. 312, of Walcott; Walcott lodge, No. 3479, M. W. A.; the royal Neighbors; and the Fraternal Order of Eagles. In all of these organizations he is active and prominent.

 Although he has attained a high place in his profession in this community, Dr. Schumacher is almost equally well known because of his deep and helpful interest in public affairs. Stalwart in his allegiance to democratic principles, during his residence in Durant he was mayor of that city for two terms, also served as coroner of Cedar county for two terms and like wise was pension examiner under President Cleveland. His fellow citizens in Walcott have also recognized his ability and worth and have called him to important offices of honor, electing him mayor of the town, in which office he served during the years 1905-6-7. He has also been school director and is at present acting as justice of the peace, and in all instances has proven himself a very capable and efficient official, thoroughly justifying the faith placed in him by his fellow townsmen.

 Dr. Schumacher is the owner and proprietor of Castle Hall, the lodge building of Walcott, and has gained considerable prominence throughout the locality as an enthusiastic relic hunter, having in his possession some very interesting articles. He is the owner of a very valuable museum containing hundreds of Indian relics of all kinds, and also has a rare collection of stamps presented to him by a Danish prince, Ferdinand of Glucksburg, of which he is justly proud. He is likewise the possessor of a very fine collection of coins, containing thousands of pieces, some of which are hundreds of years old.

"History of Davenport and Scott County" Vol. II by Harry E. Downer-S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. Chicago IL 1910
Transcribed by Elaine Rathmann of the Scott Co GenWeb Project- used by permission



SCOTT, GARRET V. retired; residence Sixth st, Wilton; was born in Bucks Co., Penn., December, 1800.  At the age of 22, he married Martha, daughter of William Sisson and Amy Brilsford, themselves and ancestors being natives of Bucks Co., as far back as is known; they settled in Bucks Co., engaged in farming until April, 1872, at which time they came to Muscatine to spend the remainder of thier days among the children, who had previously settled here.  Mr. and Mrs. Scott had eight children, seven still living; Samuel, born Dec. 2, 1825, became an eminent physician of Wilton, and died in the 49th year of his age; Amy, born April 11, 1827, is the wife of Cortland Gilkeson, a farmer of Lake Tp; Garret A., born June 11, 1831, a farmer of Sweetland Center; Martha A., born July 27, 1835, the wife of John Johnson, a merchant of Hulmeville, Penn.; Sarah M.,  born Jan. 8, 1838, the wif of Wm. Minster of this city;  Hettie J.,  Oct 8, 1840, the wife of Jacob H. Lukens, Principal of Schools in Muscatine; Henry W., born Aug. 30, 1843, a merchant of this city, and Ella L., born Aug 15, 1847, the wife of Daniel F. Tyson, a farmer near Wilton.

Very soon after their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Scott adopted the religious views embodied in the M.E. Church, and remain to this day constant and sincere workers with that body of Christians, and have reared their children in the same faith, all of whom were members of the same Church, and still remain except Mrs. Gilkeson, who, after her marriage, joined the Congregational Church with her husband.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCOTT, George M. , dealer in general merchandise, Atalissa, Iowa; born in Cedar Co., Iowa, in 1839. Married Margaret   Hutchinson in 1866; she was born in Ohio; have five children--Joseph, Mary, Minnie, Jesse and Elsie. Mr. S. enlisted in Co. D, 24th I. V. I., in 1862; discharged in 1865, Democrat.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SCOTT, George M. the present treasurer of Muscatine County, Iowa was born in Pedee, Cedar County, Jan. 14, 1841, and is a son of Jasper and Sarah (Beatty) Scott. The family came from Trenton, N. J., in the early territorial days of Iowa, and George was numbered among the first children born in this commonwealth. He was the youngest of six children, four sons and two daughters. The early advantages received by him were only such as are furnished in pioneer localities, and his education was received in a primitive log school-house, with rude surroundings. When he was a lad of thirteen years his father died, and the care of the farm and maintenance of the family devolved upon him and his brother Jasper, who was four years older. Nobly did they perform the duties devolving upon them, supplying as far as possible the loss of their father. In 1859 George left the parental roof to seek his fortunes in California, and was logging in the mountains of that state when the war broke out. Soon after returning to his home he there spent the winter, and the following spring, prompted by his patriotic impulse, he enlisted in Company D, 24th Iowa Infantry. Shouldering his musket he started for the front, and met the enemy in an engagement at Port Gibson. At the hard-fought battle of Champion Hills he proved the target for a rebel bullet, being severely wounded. He was there forced to go into a hospital, while the regiment went on to share in the siege of Vicksburg, but when Gen. Banks proceeded on the Red River expedition his health had so far recovered that he joined the command. From there he was suddenly transferred to the Shenandoah Valley, and witnessed the end of Sheridan's famous ride to Winchester, and was in the dust, smoke and shot of Cedar Creek and Fisher's Hill, carrying forever engraved upon eye and memory the bloody scenes of those days when Sheridan sent the enemy "whirling through the valley." Mr. Scott was then transferred with his company to Savannah, Ga., where he was doing duty when Lee surrendered, and his long service of three years came to an end. The company returned to Davenport, and was disbanded, Private Scott receiving his discharge as Orderly Sergeant. Nobly did he stand by the union, and but few soldiers followed the old flag on so many fields of combat, in such extreme parts of the country, or under such widely diversified commands.

After the close of hostilities Mr. Scott returned to his home in Cedar County, where he engaged in farming for a year, and in 1867 went into the mercantile business in Pedee, following that avocation until 1873, at which time he sold out and again made a journey to the Pacific Slope. Many changes had been wrought in the Golden State since his former visit, and after a stay of nine months he returned to Pedee, but in the spring of 1877 returned to Atalissa, where he purchased the stock and trade of N. D. Dyer, dealer in general merchandise. He continued in this line until 1883, when he was chosen by the Democratic party as their nominee for County Treasurer. When the ballot box was opened at the succeeding election it was found that he was the people's choice for that office, and he soon entered upon the discharge of his duties. The efficient and able manner in which he filled the position led to his re-election in 1885, and again in 1887, his popularity as an official constantly increasing.

On the 30th of May, 1866, Mr. Scott was united in marriage with Miss Maggie Hutchinson, of Pedee, and by their union seven children have been born, all of whom are yet living with the exception of one son. They have a lovely home on East Fourth street, and since coming to Muscatine have gained many warm friends, and in the social world of the city hold an enviable place. The fidelity with which Mr. Scott discharges the duties of his office is only equaled by his faithfulness to the flag which now floats so proudly over our united nation. Left without a father's tender care at an early age he was forced to fight life's battles alone, but success has crowned his efforts, and he is now numbered among the country's most honored citizens.

Portrait and Biographical Album of Muscatine County, Iowa 1889
Posted by Donna VanZandt



SCOTT, John B., passed away in Marion on the 27th of February, 1905, in his eightieth  year. Here he had resided as one of the revered patriarchs of the community,  whose tales of the early days compassed the period when railroad building and  telegraph construction were in their infancy. While he lived to enjoy the benefits of  improved and modern agricultural implements, he could remember the time when  most of the farm labor was done by hand or with very crude machinery. For a  number of years he was identified with agricultural interests in this part of the state  and for some time prior to his demise lived retired in Marion. He was born in Knox  county, Ohio, August 12, 1825, and belonged to one of the pioneer families of that  state. In the paternal line he came of Scotch-Irish ancestry.

His father, Allen Scott, was born in York county, Pennsylvania, April 17, 1780, and, having arrived at years of maturity, was married January 21, 1808, to Miss Jane   Newell, whose birth occurred in the village of Cross Creek, Washington county, on  the 8th of November, 1784. Not long afterward they removed to Ohio, making the  journey on horseback. He settled on a heavily timbered tract of land in Knox county,  where they had to face many hardships and privations incident to pioneer life. Much  difficult labor confronted them. Their land was covered with timber and it was therefore necessary to clear away the trees ere they could plow and plant their  fields. Allen Scott was energetic and determined, however, and largely through his  own efforts he opened up and developed several farms in Knox county, Ohio, where  he continued to make his home until his death. He was also among the first to successfully engage in raising fruit in that part of the state. He had thirty acres planted to apple and peach trees and in those early days gave away thousands of bushels of fruit to those who had none.He was greatly interested in the subject of horticulture and found the keenest delight in giving the products of his orchard to the poor. Mr. Scott took an active part in the religious development of the community, serving for some time as an elder in the Presbyterian church, but on account of the slavery question the elders of the church to which he belonged formed a free church, which was later merged into the Congregational church and  became the leading religious organization of Mount Vernon, Ohio. He served his  country as a soldier of the war of 1812 and became a stalwart advocate of the abolition cause. His wife, a most estimable Christian woman, held membership in the same church. She passed away in 1855, at the age of seventy-two  Caption: J. B. Scottyears, while on a visit to her son in Marion, Iowa, while the death of Allen Scott occurred in Mount Vernon, Knox county, Ohio, in 1848, when he was sixty-eight years of age.

In his family were the following children: Mary, who became the wife of Israel Murphy, lived to the advanced age of ninety years. Hugh died March 27, 1809. Margaret passed away February 19, 1813. Eliza J. became the wife of George W. Madden and died in Plumas county, California, in 1815. Eleanor passed away in 1817. James A., a farmer of Linn county, died March 24, 1820. Thomas S. passed away October 2, 1822. Harriet died in the spring of 1900. John B. completes the  family.

In his youthful days J. B. Scott attended the public schools near his father's home.  His educational privileges, however, were extremely meager, for at that date it was not regarded as necessary that a boy should be instructed in much beyond the elementary branches of learning. However, he later had the benefit of three months' instruction in an academy and during that time there occurred an event which made an indelible impression upon his mind. He was boarding with his uncle, Judge McGibboney, who conducted a station on the famous underground railroad and who for nine days had nine negroes concealed under the hay in his barn. To these John B. Scott carried food and he described them as among the finest type of men physically that he had ever seen. They were almost white, having very little African blood in their veins, but their mother was a slave and consequently they were held in bondage. They had escaped from their master in Virginia and were on their way to Canada when cared for by Judge McGibboney.
 

Mr. Scott was about twenty-one years of age when he began learning the  brickmaker's trade, which he followed in Mount Vernon, Ohio, for about nine years. In February, 1853, he became a resident of Muscatine, Iowa, and there remained until July 3, 1854, the latter date witnessing his arrival in Marion. There he followed his trade for five years and among the buildings he erected is the Hotel Daniels. In October, 1859, however, he put aside building interests and became identified with agricultural pursuits, owning and cultivating four hundred and twenty acres of  valuable land on sections 8 and 17, well improved with good buildings. His farm was equipped along modern lines and was the exponent of a spirit of progressiveness, as manifest in his buildings and the farm machinery, as well as in the high grades of stock. He made a specialty of raising shorthorn cattle and was widely known because of his fine herd. In 1890 he retired from the farm and removed to Marion, where he erected a comfortable home. Throughout the remainder of his days he lived retired, enjoying a well earned rest. His former activity brought him substantial success, supplying him with all of the comforts of life in his later years.

It was on the 14th of April, 1855, in Washington county, Iowa, that Mr. Scott wedded Miss Mary E. Rissler, who was born twelve miles from Winchester, in Clarke county, Virginia, July 29, 1825. Her father, John Rissler, was born March 6, 1790, and died November 24, 1878. On the 14th of December, 1814, he married Catherine Madden, who died July 28, 1832, when Mrs. Scott was quite young. In their family were seven children, while unto Mr. and Mrs. Scott were born four children. Henry A., who married Sarah Wiggins, resides on the home farm. Edward, who married Jessie Loper, is mentioned on another page of this work. Lucy E., is the wife of W. W. Vaughn, a prominent stock dealer of Marion township. John B. is a resident of Tacoma, Washington.

Mr. Scott for some years was connected with the Agricultural Society and at one time was a director of the First National Bank of Marion. He gave his political allegiance to the republican party and was called to serve in some local offices but never had marked aspiration along political lines. He belonged to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Masonic societies and both he and his wife were for many years identified with the Congregational church. The entire record of John B. Scott was characterized by qualities of noble and upright manhood and citizenship. His  residence in Iowa covered fifty-two years and since the 3d of July, 1854, he had lived in Linn county, so that he had largely witnessed its development and progress. He related many interesting incidents of pioneer times and his memory formed a connecting link between the primitive past and the progressive present. He was nearing the eightieth milestone on life's journey when called to his final rest and he passed away honored by all who knew him. The number of his friends practically equalled the number of his acquaintances, for his life was ever  straightforward in its aims and its purposes, his deeds were just and kindly and he manifested a keen appreciation for good qualities in others. These characteristics gained him a firm hold on the regard of those with whom he came in contact.

Source: History of Linn County Iowa from its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time: Volume II; 1911



SCOTT, John B
After many years of active labor, first as a contractor and builder, and later as a farmer, John B. Scott is now living a retired life in Marion, Iowa, enjoying a well-earned rest. He was born in Knox county, Ohio, on the 12th of August, 1825, and is a worthy representative of a prominent pioneer family of that state. His father, Allen Scott, was born in York county, Pennsylvania, April 17, 1780, of Scotch-Irish ancestry, and was married, January 21, 1808, to Jane Newell, who was born in Washington county, Cross Creek village, that state, November 8, 1784.

Soon after their marriage they removed to Ohio, making the journey on horse back, and settled on a heavily timbered tract of land in Knox county, where they endured many of the hardships and privations incident to pioneer life. In those early days people coming west always settled in the woods, shunning the prairie land where fever and ague was more prevalent. To clear the land and convert it into well cultivated fields was an arduous task, but the spirit of adventure which filled the sails of the Mayflower has ever been the soul of American pioneer enterprise, and has been the means of making this nation one of the greatest on earth. Largely by his own work Allen Scott opened up farms in Knox county, Ohio, where he continued to make his home until death. He had a fine orchard of thirty acres of apple and peach trees, and in those early days gave away thousands of bushels of his best fruit to those who had none. He always took a great delight in fruit culture, and was never more happy than when distributing his apples and peaches among the poor. At present in that part of Ohio peaches cannot be raised, and the apple crop is poor. Mr. Scott was a very kind-hearted man of generous and noble impulses, and no one ever had a truer friend or better neighbor than he. For a number of years he was an elder in the Presbyterian church, but on account of the slavery question the elders of the church to which he belonged formed a free church, which was later merged into the Congregational church, which is now the leading church of Mr. Vernon, Ohio. He was a strong abolitionist and a soldier of the war of 1812. His wife was a member of the same church and was a most estimable lady. She died while on a visit to her son in Marion, Iowa, in 1855, at the age of seventy-two years, but his death occurred in Mt. Vernon, Knox county, Ohio, in 1848, when sixty-eight years of age.

In the family of this worthy couple were ten children, of whom our subject and his oldest sister, Mary, are now living. She is the widow of Israel Murphy, and the mother of ten children. Although ninety years of age, she is well preserved both in mind and body, except that her hearing is somewhat impaired. Recently she came alone from Hastings, Nebraska, to Chariton, Iowa, and is now spending the winter with her brother. The names and dates of birth of those of the family now deceased are: Hugh, March 27, 1809; Margaret, February 19, 1813; Eliza J., married George W. Madden, and died in Plumas county, California, in 1815; Eleanor, 1817; James A., a farmer of Linn county, March 24, 1820; Thomas S., October 2, 1822; and Harriet, March 15, 1829, died in the spring of 1900.

John B. Scott's early educational advantages were somewhat meaager, as it was then believed by most people that the study of the "three R's" was sufficient for most boys. When nearly grown, however, he attended an academy for three months. While there he boarded with his uncle, Judge McGibboney, who kept a station on the famous "underground railroad" For nine days nine negroes were concealed under hay in the Judge's
barn, and our subject carried food to them. They were almost white, having very little African blood in their veins, and were among the finest looking men physically that Mr. Scott has ever seen, but their mother was a slave and consequently they were held in bondage. They had escaped from their master in Virginia and were on their way to Canada, when cared for by Judge McGibboney.

At the age of twenty-one Mr. Scott commenced learning the brickmason's trade, which he followed in Mr. Vernon, Ohio, for about nine years. He then, in February, 1853, located in Muscatine, Iowa, where he remained until July 3, 1854. It was on that date that he came to Marion. Here he followed his trade for five years, and among the buildings he erected is the Hotel Daniels.

In October, 1859, he located on his farm in Marion township, where he has four hundred and twenty acres of valuable land on sections 8 and 17, well improved with good buildings. In connection with farming he engaged in stock raising, his specialty being shorthorn cattle, of which he had a fine herd. He continued active farming until the spring of 1890, when he removed to Marion and purchased a comfortable home on the corner of Eleventh street and Fourteenth avenue, where he has since resided.

On the 14th of April, 1855, in Washington county, Iowa, Mr. Scott married Miss Mary E. Rissler, who was born twelve miles from Winchester, in Clark county, Virginia, July 29, 1825. Her father, John Rissler, was born March 6, 1790, and died November 24, 1878. He was married December 14, 1814, to Catherine Madden, who died June 28, 1832, when Mrs. Scott was quite young. The father's people being mostly of the Quaker faith. In their family were seven children, namely: Sarah J. and Harriet C., twins, the former of whom married Harrison Wiggins, and lived in Pennsylvania, where her death occurred, while the latter died young; Phebe A., who married Stephen Snider, and both are now deceased; William L., a resident of Tarkio, Missouri; Mary E., wife of our subject; John, who died at the age of seventeen years; and Eliza, wife of Brown Hadden, who lives near Uniontown, Pennsylvania.

Mr. and Mrs. Scott have four children: (1) Henry A., residing on the home farm, married Sarah Wiggins, and they have three children, Bertha, Harry B. and Donald; (2) Edward, who has been cashier of the Security Savings Bank of Cedar Rapids since its organization, married Jessie Loper, and they have one child, Dorothy. (3) Lucy E. married W. W. Vaughn, a prominent stock dealer of Marion township, and they have four children,
Howard, Edward, Mary and Ruth. (4) John B. is a resident of Tacoma, Washington.

Mr. Scott and his wife both hold membership in the Congregational church, and he is also connected with the Masonic fraternity. At one time he was also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and took an active interest in the same. He was one of the organizers of the Republican party in this county, and has always been one of its stanch supporters, but never a politician in the sense of office seeking. He has
served as road master and school director for many years, but has never cared for political honors. He has also been a director of the First National Bank of Marion and of the Agricultural Society. As a citizen he ever stands ready to discharge any duty devolving upon him, and justly deserves the high regard in which he is held by all who know him.

Biographical Record of Linn County, Iowa  Chicago: The S. J. Clarke Publishing Company, 1901.



SEIFERT, Fredrick,  tailor, corner of Sixth and Mulberry streets, Muscatine; was born in Germany May 11, 1825; came to this country in 1855; settled in Lehigh Co.,Penn., where he remained until 1866, in which year he came to Muscatine; four years later, he returned to Pennsylvania and remained there until 1877, when he came again to this city. He was married in 1865, to Miss Amanda E. Blose, a native of Canton Co., Penn.; they have one child---Laura Jane. Mr. Seifert and wife are members  of the Lutheran Church; he is a Democrat.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SHAFER, SAMUEL

While Samuel Shafer has now passed the seventieth milestone on life's journey, he is yet an active factor in the business world and is now conducting a livery stable in Cedar Rapids, in which enterprise his son Herbert is associated with him. They have built up a business of large and extensive proportions and have one of the best equipped livery barns in Iowa. There are other chapters in the life record of Mr. Shafer that are equally creditable and his history cannot fail to prove of interest to many of the readers of this volume, for he is widely known in Linn county. His birth occurred in Richland county, Ohio, March 16, 1839. His father, Christopher Shafer, a native of Baltimore county, Maryland, followed farming in that state and afterward became a resident of Ohio, where he resided until 1840, when he came to Iowa, casting in his lot with the pioneer settlers of this state. His family numbered eight children, of whom three died in infancy. The father passed away more than a half century ago.

Samuel Shafer was only a year old when brought to this state with his parents, who settled first in Muscatine county, where at the usual age Samuel Shafer entered the public schools, pursuing his studies to the age of eleven years, when he was left an orphan by the death of his mother. Facing the necessity of providing for his own support, he secured work as a farm hand and also did odd jobs at teaming until the difficulties between the north and the south involved the country in civil war.

Believing that the government at Washington was supreme and that the Union should be maintained, he joined Company K of the Eleventh Iowa Volunteer Infantry, under command of Captain Marvin and Colonel Hall. The regiment was assigned to General Crocker's brigade. With this command he participated in the battle of Shiloh, the siege of Vicksburg and the Atlanta campaign.  During the battle of Atlanta, on the 22d of July, 1864, he was captured and  incarcerated in Andersonville prison, where he was held for three months, during which period he was almost starved to death. He was then transferred to Charleston, South Carolina, in company with ten thousand other Union soldiers, and four weeks later was sent to Florence, that state. He went through all the hardships, horrors and experiences of war but never faltered in his loyalty to the old flag and the cause it represented. While at Florence he was exchanged and soon rejoined his regiment at Washington, D. C., after being held as a prisoner of war for seven months. In July, 1865, he was honorably discharged and returned home with a most creditable military record.

During his four years' service Mr. Shafer had managed to save two thousand dollars and with this capital he established a livery business in Cedar Rapids. He dates his residence in this city, however, from 1856, at which time he entered the employ of Higley Brothers, liverymen, with whom he remained until the outbreak of the war. It was in 1866 that he began business on his own account here and since that time has figured as one of the leading liverymen not only of the city but also of this part of the state. A liberal patronage has been accorded him, making his business a profitable one. His son Herbert is now associated with him and makes a specialty of buying and selling fine carriage horses, displaying exceptional ability at making a trade.

On the 4th of May, 1869, Mr. Shafer was united in marriage in Cedar Rapids to Miss Ava C. Bennett, a daughter of Frank Bennett, who was employed by the Cedar Rapids Street Railway Company until he was eighty years of age. Unto Mr. and Mrs. Shafer were born seven children, three of whom are now living: Herbert R., who is now engaged in business with his father and is also conducting a real-estate business here; Samuel E., a mechanical engineer, living in Milwaukee, Wisconsin;  and Abbie, who is at home with her parents at No. 511 Eighth avenue East. The  children have been liberally educated. The elder son is a graduate of the Cedar Rapids high school, where he completed his course in 1890, and since that time he has married Miss Laura A. Granger, a daughter of Joseph Granger, a prominent farmer of Marion township. Herbert Shafer is a member of Mount Hermon Lodge, No. 263, A. F. & A. M., the National Union and the Sons of Veterans, while his wife is a member of the Rathbone Sisters and was the first to hold office in that lodge. The younger son pursued a course in mechanical engineering in Armour Institute at Chicago.  Mr. Shafer is a member of T. Z. Cook Post, G. A. R., and of the Woodmen of the World, while in his political views he has always been a stalwart republican. He owns his residence property here and also his livery barn. He belongs to the Baptist  church and his life has been well spent, while he has ever endeavored to deal fairly  and justly with all men, to faithfully perform his duties as a citizen and to meet all of  the obligations of life in a straightforward, honorable manner.

History of Linn County Iowa from its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time: 1911,  Volume II.



SHAFNIT, G. F. , farmer, Sec. 4; P. O. Moscow; son of Jacob and Elizabeth Shafnit; born May 7, 1837, in Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, in December, 1851; came with parents to the United States; arrived in this county the following spring, locating in Bloomington Tp.; in 1855, came to Moscow Tp., and in 1866, moved into Cedar Co., returning to this county in March, 1878; owns a farm of 560 acres, valued at $25 per acre; his father died in this county Aug. 5, 1860. Married Miss Barbara Will Aug. 20, 1860; she was born Oct. 7, 1840, in this county and township; have two children----George and Fred; lost one----Cornelia; is raising two orphans----Emma and John Kure.  Member of the Lutheran Church; Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SHANNON, P.,  dealer in groceries, provisions, etc., Chestnut street, between Front and Second streets; a native of Ireland; emigrated to Missouri in 1846; came to Muscatine County in 1853. Married first wife, Margaret Burns, in Washington Co., Mo.; she died in this county; present wife was Rosa Fale; they have one child--Maggie. Mr. Shannon is a Democrat. Member of the Catholic Church. Mr. S. has an extensive trade and may be considered one of the enterprising business men of Muscatine.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SHEARER FAMILY

The Shearer family was founded in America during colonial days and several of its representatives participated in the Revolutionary war, while others have been prominently identified with public affairs and all have occupied honorable positions in life. The first to come to the new world was James Shearer, who was born in County Antrim, Ireland, in 1678, and on crossing the Atlantic in 1720 settled in Union, Connecticut, but later removed to Elbow Corners, now Palmer, Massachusetts, in 1726. He became a prominent man of the community and had  charge of the building of the first church there. He died on the 21st of June, 1745, at the age of sixty-seven years. In his family were three sons, of whom John was the eldest. He was born in 1706 and in early manhood married Jane Williams. When the colonists resolved to throw off the yoke of British oppression he joined the Continental army as corporal, while his brother served as a lieutenant and participated in many battles. Other members of the family were also in the Revolutionary war, including Thomas and Reuben Shearer. John Shearer took part in the battles of Lexington, Saratoga and Bennington and was always found to be a  brave and loyal soldier. He died in June, 1802, at the extreme old age of ninety-six years. In his family were eight children, of whom Noah Shearer is the next in direct line. He, too, was a soldier of the Revolutionary war, participating in the latter part of that struggle, and was in the battle of Bennington. He was born September 4, 1764, and at an early day left New England and removed to Western New York. He  married Terzah Merrick, May 8, 1791, and to them were born seven children that reached maturity. His death occurred in 1849 when he had reached an advanced age.

John Little Shearer, a son of Noah, was born in Palmer, Massachusetts, February 12, 1804, and was reared upon a farm, acquiring his education in the district schools of the neighborhood. Losing his mother as he approached manhood, he went to New York and later spent several years in Ohio and Indiana. In 1832 he enlisted for service in the Black Hawk war and subsequently secured a land warrant, which entitled him to a certain amount of land in the Mississippi valley.
Subsequently he was engaged in merchandising in Otsego, Michigan, and while at that place he was married on the 3d of May, 1836, to Miss Elizabeth Ann Weare, commonly called by her relatives "Betsey," who was born in Derby Line, Vermont, April 11, 1812, and was the eldest child of John and Cynthia (Ashley) Weare. Later in the year of his marriage Mr. Shearer removed to Allegan, Michigan, where he continued to engage in mercantile pursuits for three years.

It was in 1839 that he came to Iowa and first located at what was then known as Bloomington but is now Muscatine. From there he removed to Cedar county, but in 1841 located a claim in Linn county prior to the surveying of this region. His place was located eighteen miles north of Marion and upon it he settled in the spring of 1841. The rude dwelling in which the family lived caused much sickness and Mr. Shearer was at length compelled to seek another location and a better dwelling.  The only vacant dwelling available that would suit the purpose was a log cabin on  the banks of Cedar river, five miles from the county seat and where a town site was much talked of. At that time there was only one other dwelling on the east bank of  the river and it was occupied by a family named Shepard. Coming to Cedar Rapids in the summer of 1842, the Shearer family became the first permanent settlers of the city. Their first home was a log house built by John Young on the river betweenFourth and Fifth avenues, and since that time they have been prominently identified with the upbuilding and development of this region.

Mr. Shearer was a man of more than ordinary ability, was industrious and persevering and was held in the highest esteem by all who knew him. He erected one of the first frame houses in Cedar Rapids on the lot now occupied by the Grand Hotel at First avenue and Third street. The studding and rafters of this structure were made of poles or small trees, shaped with a broad axe by his own hands. At that time lumber was very scarce and it required considerable time to convert the  trees into building material, as most of the work was done by hand, but he  persevered and finally completed the dwelling. For some years he served the town  in the capacity of justice of the peace, being the first to hold that position in Cedar  Rapids, and he and his wife were among the most active members of the First  Presbyterian church, early becoming identified with its struggle for existence during pioneer days. For many years Mr. Shearer served as ruling elder, continuing to occupy that position up to the time of his death, which occurred on the 20th of  February, 1859. His wife did not long survive him but passed away on the 9th of  December of the same year. She was a woman of sterling worth in the community, the possessor of fine intellect and a tender, sympathizing heart and was always  charitable and ready to aid and counsel the unfortunate or ailing. She was a rare  woman, familiar with all the trials and hardships incident to life in a new country,  and these she bore with heroic courage. She was one of the few who knew how to  adapt herself to her environments and was always mistress of any situation no matter how trying. She had many warm friends among the early settlers and was always considered a true friend and a safe adviser. She was of greater value to the community than wealth and her death was mourned with sincere regret.

There were seven children born to Mr. and Mrs. Shearer, but three of the number died in infancy, while Cynthia died at the age of ten years in Canton, Illinois, and  Mary M. died in Paterson, New Jersey, January 20, 1890. For many years the last named had been a successful and prominent educator in the Cedar Rapids public schools. She seemed especially adapted for this vocation, but on account of ill health was at length compelled to abandon her life work. She was a woman of rare excellence of character and earnest and active piety. The only remaining daughter is  Miss Elizabeth J. Shearer, who was for some years an active worker in the city missions of the east but now resides with her aunt, Mrs. Daniels, of Cedar Rapids. John Weare Shearer, the only son, is now a resident of Algona, Iowa, and is editorof the local newspaper at that place known as the Upper Des Moines-Republican.

John Weare Shearer, son of John Little Shearer, was born in 1855 in a concrete house which formerly stood on the corner of B avenue and North Second street, Cedar Rapids, which at that time was the home of his mother's brother, John Weare, for many years president of the First National Bank. In 1880 J. W. Shearer was married to Carrie A. Walter, eldest daughter of Dr. L. J. and Mrs. D. M. Walter, the latter of whom is still a resident of Cedar Rapids, her husband passing away in 1892. Four daughters were born to Mr. and Mrs. Shearer. The eldest, Harriette Gertrude, was married to R. B. Allard in September, 1904, and is a resident of West Waterloo, Iowa. Lilah Elizabeth was united in marriage to James David Keister in June, 1910, and is a resident of Cedar Rapids, Mr. Keister being the chemist for the Douglas Starch Works. The other two, Mary Weare and Katharine Daniels Shearer,  live with their parents in Algona, Iowa.

J. W. Shearer was a printer by trade and learned the business in the old Observer office in Cedar Rapids, which later became the Cedar Rapids Republican and in which office Mr. Shearer continued to work the larger part of the time for about  twenty-eight years, or until he started into country newspaper work for himself  which continues to be his life business.

History of Linn County Iowa from its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time: 1911,  Volume II.



SHELLABARGER, M.J., farmer, Sec.18; P. O. Letts; Mr. Shellabarger was born in Clark Co., Ohio, May 10, 1816. His parents removed from Pennsylvania to Ohio in 1814. He first came to Muscatine Co. in 1841; returned to Ohio in 1842; he came back in 1844, and made his present location; he again returned to Ohio; and made a permanent settlement on his place in 1854. He married, in 1845 Ruth Collins, a native of New Jersey; they have had nine children, seven still living---Mary, Martha, Alice, Joanna, Milton, Jessie and Ettie; names of deceased children---Elizabeth and Mildred Iowa.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879 Seventy Six Twp



SHERFEY, Mrs. P.A., far., S. 21; P.O. Muscatine; Mrs. Sherfey was born in Ross Co., Ohio, in 1817.  She married John Sherfey in 1837; he was born in Gettysburg, Penn., Jan 5, 1805.  Mr. Sherfey went to La Fayette, Ind., in an early day, where he engaged in milling and mercantile business for some time, and in 1837, removed to Muscatine Co. and settled at Wyomng, where he opened the first store that was in the place; also held the first post office; was appointed by Andrew Jackson;  Mr. Sherfey laid clam to the farm where Mrs. Sherfey now resides, and after the privations of pioneer life, in 1871, passed away, leaving his family in good circumstances, two sons and four daughters.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879 Sweetland Twp.



SHIELD, George,  farmer and stock-dealer, Sec. 21; was born in Licking Co., Ohio, Aug. 28, 1845; came to Muscatine Co. with his parents in 1855. Married Miss Rhoda Smalley, of this county, in September, 1875; they have one child--Robert. Mr. Shield is a Democrat. Owns 188 acres of land; he is extensively engaged in stock-dealing, which business he devotes the most of his time to, and has been among the most successful dealers
in the county.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SILVERTHORN, A.D., farmer, Sec. 32; P.O. Pleasant Prairie; born in Northampton Co., Penn., Dec. 10, 1835; came with his parents to Muscatine Co. in 1838, and settled on what is now known as the Silverthorn Homestead, where his father resided until his death, in 1854; his mother now resides at the old home; they were one of the first families who settled in the neighborhood.  A.D. Silverthorn married Feb. 18, 1862, Miss Fannie Hodgkins, born in Maine in 1842; by their union have five children--Albert E., Asa K., William E., Abby H., George W.; one deceased--Ralph.  Mr. S. and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church, and Mr. S. is a radical Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SMALLEY, Abraham, retired; was born in Somerset Co., N. J., Oct, 24, 1815; the following year, his parents removed to Ohio, where he lived until 23 years of age, when he came to Iowa; arrived in the county Aug, 10, 1838; he bought a claim for his father's family to settle upon, and they came the following year, in April; he voted and was Clerk of the Election in Storms Precinct, now Cedar Tp.,in the fall of 1838; Muscatine only contained about eighty persons at that time; he engaged in farming; he came to Muscatine and engaged in manufacturing plows, cultivators and fanning-mills; in 1850, he connected with his business the manufacture of sash, doors and blinds; since 1855, he has been engaged in dealing in real estate. He laid out the town of Musserville, and, with Green, Stone and Jacob Butler, laid out South Muscatine. He had little when he started in life, and owes his success to his own efforts; he held office of Clerk of Board of Supervisors for two years, and other town and school offices. He married Eliza E. Mathis, a native of Atlantic Co.,
N. J., in 1861; they have two children-- Ettie and Harry; he has one son, George, by a former wife.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SMALLEY, Shepherd,  Sec. 3; was born in Hamilton Co., Ohio, Aug. 12, 1817, where he remained, receiving as good an education as the Western schools of that early day afforded; in 1839, in company with his parents, came to and came to and settled in Bloomington (now Muscatine), where he has since resided, his father having died since, but his mother is still living in the city of Muscatine, now over 80 years of age; Mr. S. has lived for forty years on the site of his present fine dwelling, the original house that he built forty years ago making part of the same; in the same year he built his large barn, hauling the lumber fifty or sixty miles; it was the first barn of any size in the county, and still in a good state of preservation; Mr. S. erected  his house and barn before the land was bought from the Government, which was rather adventurous. Feb. 19, 1845, he married Miss Minerva Drury, daughter of Isaiah Drury, one of the pioneers of Rock Island Co., Ill.; they have five children--William, Abraham, Priscilla (now Mrs. Hartman), Rhoda (now Mrs. Shield) and Frank. Mr. S. has held various important offices of trust and responsibility in the county and State; he was the first Drainage Commissioner appointed by the Governor for this part of Iowa, and was one of those who got an appropriation bill  through the Legislature for a levee fund for Muscatine Co., and helped prosecute the work which made thousands of acres of land very valuable in Muscatine Co. that would otherwise have been worthless. Mr. S. is one of Iowa's early pioneers, and also one of Muscatine Co.'s most enterprising citizens, ready to help in every public enterprise. Mr. S. is a Democrat.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SMITH, Benjamin N.,  farmer, Sec. 2; P. O. Atalissa; owns 127 acres of land, valued at $50 per acre; born July 20, 1825, in Meigs Co., Ohio; his parents moved to Gallia Co. in 1827, and afterward to Allen Co., Ind., and thence to Cedar Co. in the spring of 1852; in 1854, came unto his present farm. Married Miss Sarah Drake, April 16, 1851; she was born in 1828, in Stenton Co., N. Y.; have six children living---Lena M., Louisa, Mary, Eugenie V., Leonard and Henry; has served his township as Trustee, School Board Director, etc., several years. Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SMITH, Dr. Clement
The undaunted, inquiring attitude of the Twentieth Century is nowhere more definitely perceptible than among the exponents of medical science. The labor of the scientist and specialist of today is destroying ancient delusions and thereby placing the health of the nation in the hands of reasoners and independent thinkers. To this class of rational thinkers belongs Dr. Clement Smith of Topeka, whose opportunities along the lines of his specialty have been exceptional and whose use of the same has made him an important factor in connection with the treatment and cure of hernia for many years.

Doctor Smith was born at Batavia, Iowa, January 19. 1866, and is a son of Lucius Van Rensellaer and Elizabeth (Leeson) Smith, and a grandson, on the paternal side, of a soldier of the patriot forces during the Revolutionary war. On his mother's side, through the Powells, he is related to some of the best New England families. Lucius V. R. Smith was born September 24, 1814, at Saint Alban's, Vermont, of good old New England stock, and after leaving school learned the trade of millwright. Subsequently, he traveled all over the southern United States on horseback, as a journeyman at his trade. On one occasion, he was to have gone to Russia, at the request of the Czar of Russia, to instruct his people in the art of which he was a master, but missed his boat by a day and accordingly remained in America. After many wanderings, he located at Cincinnati, Ohio, where he met and became attracted to Miss Elizabeth Leeson, whom he later followed to Wheeling, West Virginia, where their marriage took place. Later they went to Illinois and finally settled at Batavia, Iowa, where Clement Smith was born. They later, in 1877, went to Topeka, where Lucius V. R. Smith became the founder of the business of which his son is now the head, and with which he was connected until his death, in 1897. Mrs. Smith passed away September 17, 1908, and was laid to rest at the side of her husband in Topeka Cemetery.

Clement Smith received his early education in the public schools of Topeka, following which he attended the Kansas Medical College, where he took a special course, particularly in  hernia and anatomy, for which he received special certificates from the institution, the first to be issued by this college, which is now out of existence. While he was securing his education he was employed in his father's laboratory and business establishment, being engaged in the manufacture of artificial limbs and orthopedical and surgical instruments. About 1887, father and sons began to give their entire attention to the manufacture of trusses, and this business has grown to such an extent that it is believed that it is now the largest of its kind in the United States.

Having inherited much of their father's mechanical ability, and being of an inquiring and investigating turn of mind, Doctor Clement and his brother, L. Anton Smith, became interested in self-propelled vehicles and in 1890 invented and developed the first practical automobile to be made and sold in the State of Kansas. This was called the Smith and was built in the factory at Tenth and Jefferson streets, Topeka, and a company was formed, of which Doctor Smith was the president. This antedated the Packard and Pierce companies, and closely followed the Haynes-Apperson and Winton, which were the pioneers in the automobile field.

The Smith company manufactured no machine smaller than two cylinders, and built what was then considered an enormous car of six cylinders, for Hon. Arthur Capper, now governor of the state. This business was continued successfully for some time but was eventually sold to eastern interests and this latter corporation finally dissolved.

On September 27, 1893, Doctor Smith was united in marriage with Miss Adelaide Adele Sparks, of Fairport, Iowa, at the home of the bride.
When he left the automobile business, Doctor Smith purchased all other interests in the manufacture of trusses, and has had complete charge of the business. He has probably done more than any other man to bring the mechanical treatment of hernia to its highest possible attainment, has made this his life work, has devoted practically all of his time to its betterment and to the enlightenment of mankind upon the subject, and from him there has come probably more published literature on the subject of hernia and its mechanical alleviation than from any other source in the world. He has built up a business that includes every state in this country, as well as Canada, our island possessions and nearly every civilized country upon the globe.

Doctor Smith is a man of genial and confidence inspiring personality, a philosopher in his attitude toward the world and a rationalist in his sane and practical purpose. He is a republican, all other things being equal, but is inclined to be independent when he considers the other party's candidate the better man. Fraternally, he is affiliated with the Masons, in which he has attained to the thirty-third degree and has filled practically all the chairs in the Scottish Rite, is a member of the United Commercial Travelers, and is a great worker in charitable movements and enterprises.

Source: Kansas and Kansans, Volume 3  page 1695


SMITH, IRA EMERSON
If all individuals were alike, if none were able to rise higher than the common round, then, indeed, were biography of no great moment. Such is not the case, and a history of the State of Nebraska must, in large part, be the history of the achievements of its people, their endowments, their successful efforts, their well justified hopes and their higher aspirations. Of the members of the legal  fraternity in Richardson County who have attained distinction and position, one who has reached  prominence is Ira Emerson Smith, of Humboldt, where he has practiced his vocation successfully for  thirty years, being now a member of the firm of Smith & Newby.

Mr. Smith was born at Quincy, Illinois, September 18, 1867, and is a son of John Harvey and Lucinda (Robinson) Smith. His parents, natives of Kentucky, were married at Quincy, Illinois, whence they removed to Maries County, Missouri, and later to Bates County, in the same state. Still later the family pushed on to St. Clair County, Missouri, where Mr. Smith continued his farming operations until his retirement in 1906, at that time removing to Humboldt. Here he lived quietly and comfortably until his death in 1921, when he was seventy-four years of age. Mrs. Smith, who survives her husband as a resident of Humboldt, was born in 1851. They were the parents of five sons: Ira Emerson, of this  review; Alvin S., who is identified with the sheriff's office at Falls City; C. S., who resides at College View, Lincoln; C. F., who is engaged in farming at Fairbury, Jefferson County; and Virgil, who is engaged in farming in the same community.

The early education of Ira Emerson Smith was acquired at Rockville, Missouri, and this was supplemented by a business course at Sedalia, Missouri. He was reared on the home farm and during the proper seasons assisted his father and brothers in the cultivation and development of the home property, but it was his ambition to follow a professional career, and with this in view became a school teacher, both in Missouri and Meade County, Kansas. While thus engaged he devoted his entire spare time to the study of law, and finally entered the offices of Parkinson & Graves, a strong legal combination of Butler, Bates County, Missouri, Judge Graves of this concern having long been a member of the Missouri State Supreme Court. Mr. Smith was admitted to the bar in July, 1893, and commenced the practice of his profession at Perry, Oklahoma, later at Rockville, Missouri, subsequently at Kansas City, Missouri, and finally, August 10, 1896, took up his residence at Humboldt, where he has since built up a large and lucrative practice of the most important character.  He has been associated with many leading lawyers in the prosecution or defense of important litigation, but never in partnership until recently, when he took as his associate his son-in-law, Rex Newby, under the firm style of Smith & Newby. Mr. Smith holds membership in various organizations of his calling and fraternal bodies, and has been identified with a number of civic movements which have spelled progress. He is a Baptist in his religious faith.

At Muscatine, Iowa, Mr. Smith was united in marriage with Miss Martha M. Brunn, daughter of Lewis  and Mary M. Brunn. Mrs. Smith died in 1907, having been the mother of two children: Marie, who died at the age of nineteen years; and Helen, the wife of Rex Newby, who is his father-in-law's law partner at Humboldt. In 1909 Mr. Smith married his present wife, who was Miss Sarah Riechers, a daughter of  Fred and Henrietta Riechers, of Humboldt. They have no children. Mrs. Smith is a consistent member  of the Methodist Church at Humboldt and has been active in its work.

Source:  Nebraska the Land and the People: Volume 3



SMITH, JOHN  far., Sec. 33; P.O. West Liberty; son of Gerat and Elizabeth Smith; owns 290 acres of land, valued at $35 per acre; born March 17, 1823, in Licking Co., Ohio.  Married Catherine Davis, daughter of Isaac and Mary Davis, May 7, 1846; she was born Feb. 3, 1824, in Morgan Co., Ohio; commenced keeping house in Morgan Co., and, in the fall of 1849, came to Muscatine Co. and entered the forty, upon which he still lives, from the Government.  Have seven children--Martin, born March 16, 1847; Wm. D., March 8, 1849; Sophronia, Feb. 4, 1852; Mary, Nov. 2, 1854; Rhoena, May 13, 1855; Davis, March 8, 1857; Rhoda, Nov. 14, 1863; lost one son--John, born March 5, 1850, and died Oct. 16, 1860.  Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SMITH, S. H., M. D., Nichol Station; owns real estate in town of the value of $2,000; born Oct. 25, 1819, in Windham Co., Vt.; in 1845, emigrated to Bradford Co., Penn., and commenced the study of medicine under an uncle, Dr. N. Smith, and graduated at the McClintock Medical College of Philadelphia in 1847; the following year, removed to Steuben Co., N. Y., where he purchased some real estate and laid out the village of Caton; followed his profession there till 1870; came to Muscatine, Iowa, and in the spring of 1871, came to Nichol Station; erected the first store building in the place, and has continued the practice of his profession. Married Miss Emeline S. Putnam Oct. 29, 1841; she was born Nov. 16, 1821, in Vermont; have four children living--Samuel H., Jr., Florence A., Emma and Charles F; lost one son Henry P., who was a member of Co. A, of the 107th N. Y. V. I., and died at Harper's Ferry, Va., Oct. 13, 1862; his son Charles F. is now engaged in the drug business here. Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879 Pike Twp



SMITH, William,  Far., Sec. 31; P. O. West Liberty; son of Gerat and Elizabeth Smith; owns 236 acres of land, valued at $40 per acre; born March 25, 1833, in Licking Co., Ohio; came to thiscounty in the fall of 1849. Married Melissa Coble May 1, 1856; she was born in May, 1840, and died Feb. 7, 1868; again married Sarah Surgeon, July 28, 1869; she was born Aug. 15, 1840, in Perry Co., Ohio; has four children by his first wife; living--- Henry, born Oct. 22, 1857; Mattie, born Aug. 13, 1861; William, born Oct. 18, 1865; Jane, born Nov. 18, 1867; lost two--Elizabeth and Jerry; has by second wife five children--- George E., born April 18, 1870; John C.,and Lillie, born Nov. 29, 1871; Frank I., born Feb. 16, 1874; Luetta, born March 14, 1877; Clarence, born Jan. 12, 1879; lost one---John C., died Sept. 16, 1877. Democrat.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SMURR, Elias, far., Sec. 23; P.O. Buffalo, Scott Co.; was born in Wayne Co., Ohio, in 1832; remained there till 1840, then removed with his widowed mother to Westmoreland Co., Penn, whre they spent two years in the town of Port Royal; removed thence to Pittsburgh, remaining two years; returned to Westmoreland Co., attended school for five years, then went to Armstrong Co., Penn., wehere he was with an uncle engaged in the furnace business some time; returning again to Pittsburgh, he was clerk in a wholesale grocery till 1859, in which year he returned to his native place, where he married Miss Margaret J., daughter  of Alexander McBride, one of the pioneers of Wayne Co.;  they have three children--Edwin R., Ernest Mc. and Louie J.  In 1865, they came to Muscatine Co; in August 1877, Mrs. S. died in  the "blessed failth f the Redeemer"  Mr. and Mrs. S. were members of the Presbyterian Church.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SNYDER, A.N.,  far., Sec. 3; P. O. Muscatine. Mr Snyder was born in Ohio in 1839. His parents, Jacob J. and Catherine Snyder, came to Seventy-Six Tp. from Ohio in 1853; they now reside in Sec. 8, Seventy-Six Tp., where they have been since 1856; they have five children---George B., Abram N., Ann Eliza, Samuel B. and Joseph M.; have lost four children who died in infancy, except John H., who was about 14 years of age.  A. N. Snyder enlisted in 1861, in Co. C, 1st I.V.I. Regt.; this regiment enlisted for three months; he was at the battle of Wilson's Creek, where the gallant Lyon fell; he was wounded in this battle, came home in the fall of 1861; he re-enlisted in 1862; raised a company and was appointed its Captain and served as such in the 35th I. V. I. for three years, though he was brevetted Major near the close of the war; he was in Grant's Vicksburg campaign, Bank's Red River Expedition, etc. He married in 1862 Margaret Baxter, daughter of William Baxter; has five children---Adelle, Myrta M., Emma C., Luta A. and Arden B.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879 Seventy Six Twp



SOENKE, Peter

Peter Soenke, now deceased, was numbered among those representative American citizens who claim Germany as the place of their nativity but who in America find opportunity for advancement and progress along business lines. Born in Schleswig-Holstein on the 19th of February, 1834, he was a son of Hans and Christina Soenke, both natives of that province, the former born on the 10th of August, 1803, and the latter on the 14th of August, 1802. In 1853 the family came to America, landing at New Orleans, from which place they made their way northward to Iowa, locating in Scott county. The father carried on agricultural pursuits in Blue Grass township in the capacity of renter for a number of years, after which he purchased a farm upon which he continued to reside until his demise, which occurred on the 5th of August, 1884.

Peter Soenke acquired his education in the schools of his native country and remained a resident of the fatherland until the removal of the family to the United States, when he was about nineteen years of age.  After his arrival in Scott county he assisted his father in his agricultural pursuits until 1859, when he went to California and spent nearly six years prospecting for gold. In the meantime he located a claim which he later sold, and after returning to Scott county in 1865 purchased a farm in Blue Grass township which had previously been owned by his father and which is now in the possession of Peter F. Soenke. There he continued to carry on general farming for a number of years, and in this line of activity became very successful, at the time of his death owning a valuable farm of one hundred and sixty acres in Scott county and a tract of similar size in Muscatine county, all under a high state of cultivation. He was one of the organizers of the Mutual Fire Insurance Company of German Householders and at the time of his demise was one of the trustees of that company.

On the 17th of December, 1867, Mr. Soenke was united in marriage to Miss Catherine Rohwer, a daughter of Jurgen Rohwer, a native of Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, and unto this union were born nine children, namely: Hans William, who married Clara Schlichting and is a prosperous agriculturist of Blue Grass township, where he owns two farms and is also a stockholder in the Blue Grass Savings Bank; Peter F. Soenke, born on the 29th of March, 1873, who married Emma F. Illian, a daughter of William F. Illian, of Scott county, and who is now the owner of the original Soenke farm, where he makes his home, being also a stockholder in the Blue Grass Savings Bank, a part owner of a creamery in Clay county, Iowa, and a member of the Knights of Pythias lodge at Walcott; George F., who married Olga Schuett, a daughter of Theodore Schuett, of Scott county, and owns a farm of one hundred and sixty acres just south of Walcott; Carl H., who married Agnes Gollinghorst and is engaged in agricultural pursuits in Muscatine county; Ernest E., who married Hertha Haller and resides in Davenport; Fred H., who makes his home with his mother on what is known as Locust street road near Davenport; Anna C., the wife of Louis Puck, of Davenport township; Emma C., who wedded
Albert Illian, of Blue Grass; and one who died in infancy.

In his fraternal relations Mr. Soenke was member of Scott Lodge, No. 37, I. O. O. F., of Davenport, while politically his views were in accord with the principles of the democratic party. He was at one time township trustee of Blue Grass township and for several years served as school director, the cause of education finding in him a warm champion. He passed to his final rest on the 10th of February, 1892, and with his death Blue Grass township lost one of its representative and valued citizens who had ever been thoroughly identified with its interests and who, during the period of his residence within its borders, had gained an extensive circle of warm friends who entertained for him the highest regard and esteem because of his many excellent traits of character.

Source: Vol. 2 History of Davenport and Scott County,Harry E. Downer-S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. 1910 Chicago.
Transcribed by Elaine Rathmann of the Scott Co IAGenWeb Project



SPANGLER, Charles, Sec. 20; P. O. Muscatine; born in Pennsylvania in 1797; his parents died when he was quite young; at 3 years of age he was bound out to James Scott, of Franklin Co., Ohio, and while he was with Mr. Scott, learned the bricklaying trade, which he followed the early part of his life;  went to Parke Co., Ind., and engaged in wool-carding and dressing cloth for about twelve years; came to Muscatine Co. in 1856. Married Miss Martha Cullin in 1820; she was born in Warren Co., Ky., May 14, 1799, and died Oct. 15, 1828; married again to Miss Lucinda McCampbell, May 11, 1837; she was born in Shelby Co., Ky., April 14, 1807; has five children by former wife (of whom two are deceased)--Mary J., Margaret D. and Martha M.; deceased--Sarah A. and Benjamin A. Mr. and Mrs. Sprangler are members of the M. E. Church; Mr. S. is a Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SPARKS, John, manufacturer of pottery, Fairport; born in Adair Co., Ky., Oct. 17, 1821; came to Fairport, Iowa in 1844, and engaged in his present business.  Married Miss Sarah Anderson in 1846; she died in 1858; married again--Miss Mary Penton--in 1859; she was born in Maryland in 1840; his children are Sarah E., Sophronia, Clinton and Lucy M.; deceased--Ellery (killed at battle of Atlanta) and Myron, by former wife; by present wife, three--William C., Adella A., and George H., and two deceased--Fannie O. and Estella.  Members of the M.E. Church; Republican.  Has had the appointment of Postmaster since Lincoln's first election.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



SPRAGUE, W. B,  dealer in marble and granite monuments, headstones, marble, slate, and iron mantels, corner of Walnut and Second streets,; was born in Lynn, Mass., in 1844; in 1858, removed, with his parents, to Dixon, Ill. Married in 1867, in Aurora Ill., to Miss Frances E. Buck, a native of St. Louis, Mo.; they have one child---Mabel. Mr. Sprague has been engaged in his present business over eighteen years, and has a well established reputation and an extensive business; his close application, his constant study to give satisfaction to his patrons, his wide experience and judgment in his business, place him in the front rank of the monument dealers of Iowa; as a citizen, he is public-spirited, ever identified with the best interests of the community. He acts with the Republican party; is a member of Masonic and A.O.E.W. societies.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



STAFFORD, JAMES,  M.D., physician and druggist, Nichol Station; born Sept. 25, 1911, in Baltimore, Md; in 1820, went to Adams Co., Penn., thence to Petersburg, Va., in 1827;  while there commenced the study of medicine under Dr. John W. Moore; in 1832, went to Wheeling, from there to Springfield, Ohio, in 1833, and engaged in the boot and shoe business; in 1845, removed to Lewistown, Logan Col, and engaged in the practice of medicine; after two years, he went to Huntsville,  in the same county; in the fall of 1852, he came to Muscatine Co. and purchased a farm in this township, where he continued to practice medicine and farm, till in 1871, when he rented his farm, came into Nichols and engaged in the drug business in connection with his profession.  Married Miss Mary A. Roller, of Springfield, Ohio, July 31, 1834; she was born April 21, 18917, and died Jan. 17, 1846.  He again married, Mrs. Hannah Corwin, nee Dickenson, April 29, 1846; she was born Dec. 28, 1818, in Licking Co., Ohio; she had three children by former marriage--Martin, Rosella and Martha A.; Mr. S. has four children by his first wife--Freeman, Amanda, Edward and Andrew J.; lost two--Anna and Sarah; by second wife, five living--Mary A., Caroline, Thomas James, and Julia; lost two--William and Samuel.  Edward and Martin served in the war in Co. G, 2d I.V.C. and Andrew J. in the 35th I.V.I.  Democrat.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879 Pike Twp.



STEIN, Simon G., President of the Merchants' Exchange Bank; among the oldest and most substantial business men of Muscatine, or, indeed, of this section of Iowa, is the subject of this sketch, who was born in Lebanon Co., Penn., March 17, 1817; he lived there until 19 years of age, when he removed to Ohio, and lived three years, then came to Illinois, where he lived in Rock Island Co., until the fall of 1849, when he came to Iowa, located in Muscatine and engaged in the lumber trade; by strict attention to business, coupled with natural business ability and good management, he has become one of the most successful merchants, and is one of the oldest lumber dealers on the river; aside from his own large lumber-trade, he is Vice President of the Hershey Lumber Company, which does a very extensive business; he is also senior member of the firm of -------------- &  -------------, (sic-as appears in book) large manufacturers and dealers in furniture; he is a stockholder in the Great Western Type Foundry of Chicago, and is a member of the Des Moines Marble Company, at Des Moines; he is President and has the active management of the Merchants' Exchange Bank, and is a half owner and President of the Ferry Company; he was President of the Muscatine Western R. R. Co., and he is now President of the Muscatine, Tipton & Anamosa R. R.; he was elected Mayor of Muscatine, in 1870, receiving the nomination from both parties, first by the Republicans and then by the Democrats; he was re-elected in 1871, receiving the nomination first by the Democrats and then by the Republicans; the other city offices being contested by a strict party vote; when Mr. Stein began life, he had nothing; he owes his success in life to his own efforts. Politically, he acts with the Republican party. Attends the Presbyterian Church. He married Miss Anna C. Berntheisel of Lebanon Co., Ohio, in May,1841; they have two children---Angie (now Mrs. of A. M. Barnhart, of Chicago), and Simon G., Jr., attending the University in Chicago.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



another bio of Simon Stein:

Simon Gerberich Stein  was born in East Hanover, March 17, 1817. He went to Illinois in the spring of 1837 in company with his cousin, David P. Gerberich, son of Philip Gerberich, and stopped at Florid, near Hennepin, Putnam Co., Ill., where they secured employment. In the fall of 1839 they removed to Washington, Tazewell Co., Ill., where their        relative, Andrew Gerberich, was living. Here they formed a partnership and went into business, carrying on the enterprise for three years. They then closed out their business and dissolved partnership, David going to South Bend, Ind., and Simon Stein to Peoria, Ill. After a short time here he went to Rochester, Ill., where he remained two years; then to Moline, Ill., where he also spent two years, and finally settled at Muscatine, Iowa. He at once embarked in the lumber business, later building up a furniture house, and at the time of his death he was connected with nearly all the largest enterprises of that city, both mercantile and banking. He amassed quite a large competency, having been very    successful in life. He was a member of the Muscatine Bridge Company, which was formed for the purpose of constructing a bridge across the Mississippi at that city. This bridge, 3,101 feet in length, was built before his death.

While Simon Stein and David Gerberich were business partners at Washington, Ill., they both went home on visits to Lebanon County, Pa., returning with brides who had been their boyhood sweethearts. Simon married Anna Catharine Berntheisel, a daughter of Matthias and Anna Maria Berntheisel and a sister to his brother John's wife, on March 20, 1841. The ceremony was performed by the Rev. John Stein, a near relative who served for many years the pastorate at Old Walmers and in later life resided in Lebanon, Pa. Anna Catharine Berntheisel was born in Lebanon Co., Pa., March 3, 1823. They had two children, Barbara Angeline and Simon Stein, Jr.

As long as Simon Stein lived he was one of the most popular members of the"Freundschaft" and kept open house at Muscatine for all his relatives, whom he entertained for weeks at a time and assisted and befriended in various ways. He died at his home, Jan. 12, 1892. His widow survived him by nine years and died June 5, 1901. Both are buried in Muscatine.

Source: The History of Gerberich Family in America 1613-1925 by A.H. Gerberich, privately published in 1925



STEIMER, Benjamin,  dealer in stock, Muscatine; was born in St. Louis Dec. 24, 1841; removed to Muscatine Co., with his  parents while a boy. He married Miss Sarah Fanlsner of this county. Politically, Mr. Steiner is a Democrat. Resides on    Second street, near the fair ground.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



STEWART, DAVID, Sec. 18; P.O. Muscatine; born in Ayr, Scotland, in 1823; came to New York when 14 years of age, and learned the stone-cutter's trade; then went to Portsmouth, Ohio, where he worked at his trade for some time.  Married Miss Elizabeth Adams Sept. 9, 1845; she was born in Scioto Co., Ohio, Dec. 14, 1823.  Came to Muscatine Co. in 1858, and settled in Lake Tp; owns 200 acres of land, on which he has made all the improvements; has six children--Luna, Emily, Lily B., James C., John D., and Cornelia; deceased--William.  Mr. and Mrs. S. are members of the Congregational Church; Mr. S. is a Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879 Lake Twp. p 648



STEWART, Theodore S., merchant, dealer in boots and shoes, 186 Second street; is a native of Marietta, Ohio; was     born in 1847, and is a son of William H. Stewart and Cynthia A. Morton; when 7 years of age, his parents came to Iowa, and located in Muscatine, where he attended school and afterward entered Fulton College; while there, he enlisted, hen only 16 years of age, with the rest of his class, in the 140th Regiment, ILL. V. I., Co. D; after his return, he entered his father's store; when 21 years of age, in 1868, he became interested in the business with his father; he is now succeeded his father in the business, which is the oldest boot and shoe house in Muscatine.  He married Miss Mary Foulk Oct. 13, 1875; they have two children--a son, Morton, and an infant daughter.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



STEWART, William H., retired merchant, Muscatine; was born in Greene Co., N. Y., March 12, 1813, and is the son of James H. Stewart and Betsy, nee Osborne; he died in Meigs Co., Ohio, in 1865, when 93 years of age; his wife, the mother of our subject, is still living in Ohio, and is in the 94th year of her age; William H. was raised on his father's small farm, and for several seasons he worked for the neighboring farmers, receiving 6 1/4 cents per day; his wages were afterward increased to 12 1/2 cents per day; when 14 years of age he began learning the boot and shoe trade; after completing his trade, he removed to Ohio, and, in 1836, he engaged in business in Marietta and continued until 1854, when he came to Iowa and located in Muscatine, and engaged in the boot and shoe trade; after continuing in the trade  over twenty-one years, he retired from active business, his son Theodore succeeding him. Mr. Stewart has served in the City Council in Marietta, Ohio, and after coming to Muscatine was elected to the Board of Supervisors of the county, where he served for eight years, and was Chairman of the Board during the last three years; he was one of the original organizers of the Merchants' Exchange National Bank of Muscatine, and has been one of the Board of Directors since it was organized; he is a prominent member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and has filled all the chairs and positions of the Order. On the 15th of November, 1838, he married Miss Cynthia Monson at Marietta, Ohio; their children are William, Purchasing Agent of the St. Paul & Milwaukee Railroad; Sylvester N., living in Philadelphia, Penn.; Marcus, engaged in the boot and shoe business in Tipton, Iowa; Theodore S., who succeeds his father in the boot and shoe business in this city; Edward C., engaged in boot and shoe business at Creston, Iowa; Rita, the only daughter, married Mr. E. H. Betts, publisher of the Tribune.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



STIGERS, L.N., farmer, Sec. 23; P.O. Wolcott, Scott Co.; born in Knox Co., Ohio, Nov. 3, 1848; came to Muscatine Co. with his parents in 1851, and settled on the farm where two of the brothers now reside; his father, John Stigers, was born in Pennsylvania in 1818, and died in 1857; his mother, a native of Ohio, born in 1820, now resides in that county.  Mr. Stigers married, in 1868, Miss Elizabeth Bunker, a native of Pennsylvania, born in 1848; have three children--Edna E., Nellie M., and Arthur E.  Members of the M.E. Church.  Mr. S. owns eighty acres, where he resides.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
                Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879
(Note: L.N. stands for Lewis Napoleon.  Both L.N. and Elizabeth are buried at Blue Grass Cemetery.   Sons Walter and Roy were born after this biography was written) For more info contact rootboun@tampabay.rr.com



STILES, Arthur E., farmer, Sec. 4; P. O. West Liberty; owns eighty-five acres of land, valued at $30 per acre; born July 25, 1852, in Cuyahoga Co., Ohio; came with his parents, Herby R. and Ann Stiles, to Scott Co., Iowa, when quite small, and to Bloomington Tp., Muscatine Co., in 1866. Married Louisa Furnas, of this county, Dec. 25, 1875; she was born July 10, 1852, in Marion Co., Ind; have one son--Newton E., born Oct. 25, 1876. First commenced keeping house in Moscow Tp., and came to his present farm in March, of this year, 1879. Wife is a member of the M. E. Church; Republican.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879 Pike Twp



STOCKDALE, John,  of the firm of Stockdale & Grady, proprietors of wagon, general repair and horse-shoeing shop; Mr. Stockdale is a native of Yorkshire, England, born in June, 1828; when he was 6 years of age, his parents emigrated to Syracuse, N. Y.; when in his 16th year, Mr. Stockdale learned the blacksmith trade in Oswego, N. Y., and has since been engaged in it; he came to Muscatine in March, 1859. Mr. S. has been married twice-married first wife, Precilla Goodman, in Oswego, N. Y.; married present wife, Maria Curran, in this county; have four children--Mary C., James F., Hattie C., Nannie. Mr. Stockdale is Republican in politics. Mr. Stockdale is the owner of the brick shop where he does business, which is one of as large and commodious of any in the city; he is one of those active go-ahead men who are sure to succeed in whatever enterprise they undertake.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
                Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879



STOOKEY, David J., stock dealer, buying and shipping stock; born in Ross Co., Ohio, Dec. 22, 1824;  lived in Ohio nineteen years; removed to Indiana; came to Iowa in 1851; afterward engaged in  milling and mercantile business at Moscow; entered 400 acres of land in Cedar Co.; was in stock  business at Wilton Junction; came to Vinton in Oct., 1867; engaged in stock business. Was in the army; enlisted in the 35th I.V.I., Co. I; was instrumental in getting up the company, and furnishing the means; was commissioned Captain. Married Louisa Slaughter; born in Indiana; she died in 1866;   leaving six children; lost one. Married Phebe McCord, from Linn Co., Iowa, in 1869; they have two children- Harry and Maud.

Source: History of Benton County Iowa,  1878



STORM, SAMUEL, farmer, Sec. 25; P.O. Letts.  Mr. Storm was born in Ross Co., Ohio, in 1807; his parents were of German descent, but natives of Virginia; they had eleven children, only one of whom besides the subject of this sketch is living; John, aged nearly 90 years, resides in Ross Co., Ohio.  Mr. Storm came to Muscatine Co., and settled on his present farm, in 1837, forty-two years ago; his brother George settled in Seventy-six Tp. in 1835, where he resided sixteen years; he then went to Keokuk Co., where he died about 1866.  Mr. Storm has 360 acres of land; he has been troubled with asthma for sixty years, and, for the last twenty years, has been unable to do any work; his farm is conducted by three sons of his brother Jacob; George , John and Peter; their mother also lives with him.

Source: The History of Muscatine County Iowa Containing A History of the County, its Cities, Towns, & etc.
              Western Historical Company, Chicago Illinois  1879 Cedar Twp



STOUFFER, John H.
John H. Stouffer has gained a creditable place in financial circles, serving at the present time as the cashier of the Walcott Savings Bank, and is also closely identified with the business and political interests of the community. He was born in Muscatine county, Iowa, on the 3d of February, 1867, and is a son of John and Caroline (Hill) Stouffer, natives of Pennsylvania. They came to Iowa at an early date and continued to make their home in Muscatine county until the father’s death, when the mother removed to Moline, Illinois, and  later came to Walcott.

John H. Stouffer was reared at home and acquired his early education in the public schools of Moline and Walcott, while later he pursued a course of study at Duncan’s Business college in Davenport. Thus well equipped for the practical and responsible duties of business life, he started out to earn his own livelihood as bookkeeper in the employ o the Stockdale & Dietz Company. He remained with that firm until 1899, in which year he was elected cashier of the Walcott Savings Bank, continuing in this capacity to the present time. The bank was organized in 1893 with a capital of thirty thousand dollars, H. C. Kohl being appointed its first cashier. Since his connection with the institution its business has so increased that on May 1, 1908, its capital was extended to sixty thousand dollars, its deposits amounting to eight hundred and fifty thousand dollars. The policy of the house is safe and conservative and under its present efficient management has become one of the sound and substantial financial institutions of the county, its patronage being large and of an important character. Mr. Stouffer’s ability accuracy and fidelity have constituted him an excellent official and his uniform courtesy and prompt attention to all who business with the bank have made him very popular. Although he is deeply interested in the affairs of the bank with which he is connected and is ever faithful in the performance of
his duties, nevertheless he has had time to direct his attention into other channels and has become identified with the fire insurance business, being agent in Walcott for several large insurance companies. He has been very successful in this enterprise and in the conduct of his affairs typifies the progressive spirit of the times, his diligence and labor constituting him a representative factor in the business life of the town.

On the 5th of September, 1894, in Walcott, Mr. Stouffer was united in marriage to Miss Bertha Hinz, a daughter of Louis Hinz, the vice president of the Walcott Savings Bank, and unto this union have been born three children, namely: Lloyd H., Verona N. and Elmore J. Mr. Stouffer is well known and prominent in fraternal circles, being a member of Walcott Lodge, No. 312, K. P.; Modern Brotherhood of America; and Walcott Lodge, No. 6, Highland Nobles. He has become well and favorably known in this county as a man of sterling character and worth, for in business he has made an unassailable reputation and in private life has gained that warm personal regard which arises from the possession of those traits which in every land and clime command confidence and admiration.

Source: History of Davenport and Scott County Vol 2; Harry E. Downer;S. J. Clarke Publishing Co. 1910 Chicago.
Transcribed by Elaine Rathmann of the Scott Co IAGenWeb Project



STRONG, George A.
In the years of an active business career George A. Strong has devoted his time and attention to general farming and stock-raising and is now located in Marion township, where he owns and cultivates two hundred acres of finely improved land. His birth occurred in Linn county, Iowa, on the 16th of January, 1870, his parents being Henry G. and Christina (Lutz) Strong.

His paternal grandfather, Luman M. Strong, who was born in Vermont in 1806,  journeyed westward in 1830 and took up his abode in Ohio. Six years later he  removed still further westward, crossing the Mississippi river and locating in  Muscatine county, Iowa, where he remained for three years. On the expiration of  that period, in 1839, he came to Linn county and here soon became recognized as a  prominent and leading citizen. He acted as the first postmaster of Marion under  President Van Buren and also conducted the first hotel at that place. He was likewise sent as a delegate to the first constitutional convention of the state of  Iowa, acted as one of the first commissioners of Linn county and served in the  legislature for one term. Subsequently he removed to Wisconsin, where he was  likewise elected to the state legislature and was also chosen county judge. He  belonged to the Masonic fraternity and was a worthy exemplar of the teachings of  the craft. His demise occurred in 1870.

Henry G. Strong, the father of our subject, was born in Ohio and came to this state in 1856, settling in Butler county, where he resided for two years. In 1868 he took  up his abode on a tract of eighty acres which he had purchased in Linn county,  making his home thereon until 1885, when he disposed of the property. He then  bought another tract of similar size near Marion and operated that farm for ten  years, at the end of which time he sold the place. His next purchase was a farm of  eighty acres near Alburnett, which he disposed of in 1895. In that year he invested  in city property in Cedar Rapids and Kenwood and still owns the same. On the 6th  of February, 1860, he was united in marriage to Miss Christina Lutz, a daughter of  Barnett Lutz, of Kenwood Park, who came to this county in 1839 and entered one  hundred and sixty acres of government land, making his home thereon until his  death, which occurred in 1902. Kenwood Park was laid out upon his land. Mrs.  Strong passed away in February, 1910, and her husband now lives with their son  George. The period of his residence in this county now covers more than a half  century and he is well known and highly esteemed within its borders. Unto him and  his wife were born four children, as follows: Charles, who is deceased; Alice A., the  wife of S. H. Jones, of California; Carrie M., who is the wife of J. L. Drury and resides  in Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and George A., of this review.

The last named attended the common schools in the acquirement of an education  and when he had attained his majority took charge of the home farm, being actively  engaged in its operation until the time of his marriage in 1895. He now owns two  hundred acres of land adjoining the city of Marion and here successfully carries on
  his farming interests, also devoting considerable attention to the feeding of cattle  and hogs. The place is supplied with all modern equipments and improvements that  facilitate farm work and add to the comforts and conveniences of life in a rural  community and its owner is widely recognized as a most substantial and  progressive citizen.

As a companion and helpmate on the journey of life Mr. Strong chose Miss Nettie L.  Bowman, a daughter of Benjamin and Eliza (Wilson) Bowman, who were natives of  Pennsylvania and Ohio respectively. Mrs. Strong was one of a family of five children  and by her marriage has become the mother of two, Dale B. and Walter B. Both Mr.and Mrs. Strong are devoted members of the Presbyterian church, the teachings of  which they exemplify in their daily lives. Mr. Strong has spent his entire life in this  county and has made substantial advancement in the line of agriculture, being now  one of the representative young farmers of this part of the state.

History of Linn County Iowa from its Earliest Settlement to the Present Time: Volume II, 1911


STROUP, WILLIAM was born in Tippecanoe county, Indiana, on August 24, 1827, where his father worked upon his farm until the summer of 1836, when they went to Mercer county, Illinois, where his father died, October 13, 1864. In 1868 his mother removed to Leavenworth, Kansas, where she died in December, 1871. William remained in Mercer county, and going to Ohio, where he staid (sic) a short time, he returned to Mercer. He was married in March, 1851, to Miss Emily Griffith, daughter of Joseph and Mary Griffith. They have four children. The family record runs thus: William Stroup, born August 24, 1827; Emily Stroup, (nee Griffith) born March 5, 1834; Alice, born September 28, 1853, married H. B. Reed, in March, 1873; Charles, born December 27, 1855, married Miss Josephine Cromer, October, 1880; Ameda, born September 12, 1863, married Thomas C. Buford, August 31, 1882; Sherman, born February 22, 1865, married January 1, 1873, in Muscatine to Miss Jennie Fyock, who was born August 31, 1852, and is the daughter of John and Elizabeth (Wright) Fyock. Mrs. Stroup's mother died November 13, 1870. Her father now resides with them. In 1880 they moved to their present quarters, on section 5, Dodge township, following farming and stock raising. Mr. Stroup has been school director, in Mercer county, has been commissioner and roadmaster, and has also been a great supporter of the prohibition law.

Source:  History of Guthrie and Adair Counties, Iowa; Springfield, Ill: Continental Hist. Co., 1884.


Muscatine Iowa Genealogy Home Page Table of Contents