Welcome to Hawaii Genealogy and History

A State in the Trails To The Past Project. (This page was last updated Tuesday, 11-Sep-2018 06:36:49 MDT. You are visitor number [an error occurred while processing this directive] since the site was started on September 15, 2010.)

About the site

If a county does not show as a link you may adopt it. If you have other genealogy or history projects about or related to Hawaii, let me know and I will try to find a home for it here.

Even if you do not have a project we are looking for books, biographries, census transcriptions, cemetery readings, wills, bible records, etc, in text format so that we can index them for searching.

This site is under construction. Please check back soon.

County List

Hawaii County (formed 1905, County Seat Hilo)
County Coordinator: Volunteer Needed
Hawaii County consists of the "big island" of Hawaii, with over half the state's total land area. It is the site of Mauna Kea, the tallest unbroken base-to-peak mountain in the World, and the famous active volcanos Mauna Loa and Kilauea.

Kalawao County (formed 1905, County Seat Kalaupapa)
County Coordinator: Volunteer Needed
Kalawao County consisted of Father Damien's famous Molokai Leper Colony which, due to the nature of the disease, allowed no contact with the outside world and required a separate, independent county administration, which was mostly merged into Maui County in the 1970's and 1980's. Now that Hansen's Disease (Leprosy) is treatable, the Colony is closing and becoming Kalaupapa National Historic Park. This county does still officially exist, however, and is the nation's smallest in area, at 13 square miles, and in population, currently around 60.

Kauai County (formed 1905, County Seat Lihue)
County Coordinator: Volunteer Needed
Kauai County consists of the islands of Kauai and Niihau.

Maui County (formed 1905, County Seat Wailuku)
County Coordinator: Volunteer Needed
Maui County consists of the islands of Kahoolawe, Lanai, Maui, and Molokai.

Oahu County (formed 1905, County Seat Honolulu)
County Coordinator: Volunteer Needed
Oahu County consists of the island of Oahu, and the entire Hawaiian Archipelago northwest of Kauai County except the Midway Islands, which are not part of the State of Hawaii. Honolulu County includes the overwhelming majority of the state's population. It is also the nation's longest county, extending over 1300 miles from Kure to the southeastern tip of Oahu.

About us

The Trails to the Past is a loosely organized group of dedicated volunteers whose goal is to provide online genealogical and historical information at no cost to the visitor.