Welcome to Hawaii Genealogy & History!

This page was last updated Monday, 10-Sep-2018 11:07:51 MDT

USGenWeb logo Hawaii USGenWeb Logo
Hawaii USGenWeb is a Proud Part of the USGenWeb Project.


County List!

Hawaii County, 1905, Hilo
County Coordinator: Trish Elliott-kashima
Hawaii County consists of the "big island" of Hawaii, with over half the state's total land area. It is the site of Mauna Kea, the tallest unbroken base-to-peak mountain in the World, and the famous active volcanos Mauna Loa and Kilauea.

Honolulu County, 1905, Honolulu
County Coordinator: Doreen Harunaga-Ewing
Honolulu County (officially known as the City and County of Honolulu, formerly Oahu County) consists of the island of Oahu, and the entire Hawaiian Archipelago northwest of Kauai County except the Midway Islands, which are not part of the State of Hawaii. Honolulu County includes the overwhelming majority of the state's population. It is also the nation's longest county, extending over 1300 miles from Kure to the southeastern tip of Oahu.

Kalawao County, 1905, Kalaupapa
County Coordinator: Maggie Stewart
Kalawao County consisted of Father Damien's famous Molokai Leper Colony which, due to the nature of the disease, allowed no contact with the outside world and required a separate, independent county administration, which was mostly merged into Maui County in the 1970's and 1980's. Now that Hansen's Disease (Leprosy) is treatable, the Colony is closing and becoming Kalaupapa National Historic Park. This county does still officially exist, however, and is the nation's smallest in area, at 13 square miles, and in population, currently around 60.

Kauai County, 1905, Lihue
County Coordinator: Robert Sizelove
Kauai County consists of the islands of Kauai and Niihau.

Maui County , 1905, Wailuku
County Coordinator: Mary Ann Hetrick
Maui County consists of the islands of Kahoolawe, Lanai, Maui, and Molokai.