Search Engine for the Gazetteer

   Search this site      powered by FreeFind




Sunshine School was organized in 1892. Legend says that the name came from a comment made by one of the citizens of the community when they met to build a school. This citizen reportedly said that there would always be plenty of sunshine on the school. The Sunshine School was classified as a high school in 1911 because it provided instruction for students in nine grades. In 1924 the Sunshine School faculty included Tom Griffis, Mrs. Lena Griffis, and Miss Eva McClintock, while C. F. . Standifer, and J. F. McCarty comprised the school board. Lena White Griffis also taught in the Sunshine School.

Sadness struck the Sunshine School on 15 February, 1936, with the death of a teacher, Owen A. Dutton. Other teachers at Sunshine in 1936 were Nina E. McWhorter Dutton (widow of Owen A. Dutton), Dale Douglas, and LaNelle Fitzgerald.


Families of the Sunshine Community included: E. B. and Grace Adams, G. E. and Irene Barnett, M. E. and Grace Boatwright, E. W. and Necie Tillinghast, J. D. and Clara Duzan, B. J. and Burnice Evers, Robert Jeff and Ida Rose Anna Fergusson, J. J. and Lorene Garner, J. O. and Mattie Guest, R. W. and Zettie Holloway, Sam L. and Bernice Hubbard, G. F. and Mattie Kavanaugh, M. M. and Lila Longino, Floyd and Lizzie McCarty, W. M. and Mary Mitchell, H. M. and Estelle Nash, C. J. and Hulda Reich, W. W. and Ella Sharp, G. W. and Inez Simpson, W. M. and Inez Standifer, J. H. and Georgia Tillinghast, D. E. and Bessie Williams, R. R. and Annie Williams, W. and Elizabeth Williamson, and G. R. and Minnie Williamson.


Home ] Up ]

People and Places: Gazetteer of Hamilton County, TX
Search this site powered by FreeFind

Copyright March, 1998
by Elreeta Crain Weathers, B.A., M.Ed.,  
(also Mrs.,  Mom, and Ph. T.)

A Work In Progress