Windham County Index



Trails to the Past

Windham County Connecticut

Connecticut Trails to the past is requesting donations of any genealogy material that you may have such as old obituaries, death information or marriages, news clippings, births, and wills.  If you have any of this information, and would like to donate it please email it to Marie Miller, State Administrator for Connecticut.  Please include the source of your information, if at all possible.

Windham County was created from Hartford and New London counties on May 12, 1726, by an act of the Connecticut General Court. The act establishing the county states:

That the west bounds of the town of Lebanon, the north
bounds of Coventry, the north bounds of Mansfield till it
meet with the southwest bounds of Ashford, the west bounds
of Ashford, the east bounds of Stafford, the Massachusetts
line on the north, and Rhode Island line on the east, the north
bounds of Preston, and north bounds of Norwich, containing
the towns of Windham, Lebanon, Plainfield, Canterbury,
Mansfield, Coventry, Pomfrett, Killingly, Ashford, Voluntown
and Mortlake, shall be one entire county, and called by the
name of County of Windham.

In May 1749, the town of Woodstock, formerly New Roxbury, Worcester County Massachusetts, was unilaterally annexed by Connecticut and assigned to Windham County. In 1785, the town of Union (incorporated in 1734) was transferred to the newly-formed Tolland County. Over the next century, Windham County would lose several towns to Tolland and New London counties: Coventry to Tolland in 1786, Lebanon to New London in 1824, Columbia and Mansfield to Tolland in 1827, and Voluntown to New London in 1881. The final boundary adjustment occurred on April 7, 1885, when the boundary dispute between the towns of Windham and Mansfield was resolved



On Line Data

Towns, and Villages

The Frog Bridge in the Willimantic section of Windham.
Ashford (Town)
Brooklyn (Town)
-- East Brooklyn (a village of Brooklyn)
Canterbury (Town)
Chaplin (Town)
Eastford (Town)
Hampton (Town)
Killingly (Town)
-- Danielson (a borough of Killingly)
Plainfield (Town)
-- Central Village (a village of Plainfield)
-- Moosup (a village of Plainfield)
-- Plainfield Village (a village of Plainfield)
-- Wauregan (a village of Plainfield)
Pomfret (Town)
Putnam (Town)
-- Putnam District (a village of Putnam)
Scotland (Town)
Sterling (Town)
-- Oneco (a village of Sterling)
Thompson (Town)
-- North Grosvenor Dale (a village of Thompson)
-- Quinebaug (a village of Thompson)
Windham (Town)
-- South Windham (a village of Windham)
-- Willimantic (a village of Windham)
Woodstock (Town)
-- South Woodstock (a village of Woodstock)


Adjacent Counties
Worcester County, Massachusetts (north)
Providence County, Rhode Island (east)
Kent County, Rhode Island (southeast)
New London County (south)
Tolland County (west)

1895 Windham County Map



RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List Message Board


The information on Trails to the Past © Copyright  2020  may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!