Litchfield County Index

Trails to the Past

Litchfield County





Litchfield County Connecticut

Trails to the Past

Connecticut Trails to the past is requesting donations of any genealogy material that you may have such as old obituaries, death information or marriages, news clippings, births, and wills.  If you have any of this information, and would like to donate it please email it to Marie Miller, State Administrator for Connecticut.  Please include the source of your information, if at all possible.

Litchfield County was created on October 9, 1751, by an act of the Connecticut General Court from land belonging to Fairfield, New Haven, and Hartford counties. The act establishing the county states:

That the townships of Litchfield, Woodbury, New Milford,
Harwinton, New Hartford, Barkhamsted, Hartland, Colebrook,
Norfolk, Canaan, Salisbury, Kent, Sharon, Cornwall, Goshen,
Torrington, and Winchester, lying in the northwesterly part
of this Colony, shall be and remain one entire county,and be
called the County of Litchfield, and shall have and exercise
the same powers, priviledges  and authorities, and be subject
to the same regulations, as the other counties in this Colony
by law have and are subject unto. The bounds of which
county shall extend north to the Colony line, and west to the
Colony line till it meets with the township of New Fairfield,
and to include the towns above mentioned.

Between 1780 and 1807, several new towns were created at the boundaries between Litchfield County and other counties in Connecticut. The town of Watertown was established in 1780 from Waterbury and was placed under Litchfield County jurisdiction. The establishment of the town of Brookfield from part of New Milford in 1788 resulted in Litchfield County losing territory to Fairfield County. In 1796, the town of Hartland was transferred to Hartford County. In 1798, the town of Oxford was established from part of Southbury causing Litchfield County to lose territory to New Haven County. The establishment of the town of Canton in 1806 from part of New Hartford caused loss of territory to Hartford County. In 1807, the town of Southbury was transferred to New Haven County. The final boundary change occurred on October 8, 1807, when the town of Middlebury was established from part of Woodbury.


On Line Data

Cities, Towns, and Villages

Barkhamsted (Town)
Bethlehem (Town)
Bridgewater (Town)
Canaan (Town)
Colebrook (Town)
Cornwall (Town)
Goshen (Town)
Harwinton (Town)
-- Northwest Harwinton (a village of Harwinton)
Kent (Town)
--South Kent (a village of Kent)
Litchfield (Town) Former county seat
-- Bantam (a borough of Litchfield)
Morris (Town)
New Hartford (Town)
New Milford (Town)
--Gaylordsville (a village of New Milford)
Norfolk (Town)
North Canaan (Town)
Plymouth (Town)
-- Terryville (a village of Plymouth)
Roxbury (Town)
Salisbury (Town)
Sharon (Town)
Thomaston (Town)
Torrington (City)
Warren (Town)
Washington (Town)
-- New Preston (a village of Washington)
Watertown (Town)
-- Oakville (a section of Watertown)
Winchester (Town)
-- Winsted (a city of Winchester)
Woodbury (Town)


Adjacent Counties
Berkshire County, Massachusetts (north)
Hampden County, Massachusetts (northeast)
Hartford County (east)
New Haven County (southeast)
Fairfield County (south)
Dutchess County, New York (west)
Columbia County, New York (northwest)



RootsWeb List and Message Board
County List Message Board


The information on Trails to the Past © Copyright  2020  may be used in personal family history research, with source citation. The pages in entirety may not be duplicated for publication in any fashion without the permission of the owner. Commercial use of any material on this site is not permitted.  Please respect the wishes of those who have contributed their time and efforts to make this free site possible.~Thank you!