January 29, 1877

Your Host For Routt County
Billie Walsh


   Routt County is located in the north-western part of Colorado. One hundred years ago, pioneers flocked here in search of all types of mineral riches. Men seeking gold were the first settlers in Routt County. In 1862, Joseph Hahn and two companions found gold in the area of Hahns Peak. The first mining district was established in the Hahns Peak area in 1866.
   When Colorado became a territory in 1861, the area of Routt County lay in Summit County. Later, it was included in Grand County. On January 29, 1877, Routt County was established. Originally Routt County included the entire area of the present Routt and Moffat Counties. Due to the enormous distances included in the original Routt County, the two counties divided along the existing county lines on February 27, 1911.
   Today Routt County is renowned as the home of Steamboat Springs and is a center for outdoor recreation. Other Communities located in Routt County include Clark, Hahns Peak, Milner, Phippsburg, and Toponas, and the towns of Hayden, Oak Creek and Yampa.
   About 50% of the land in Routt County is publicly owned. The Medicine Bow-Routt National Forest makes up a large portion of the county.



Routt County Table of Contents


1934 Hayden City Directory

1934 Milner City Directory

1934 Yampa City Directory

Biographical Sketches

County Information

Genealogical Data Sources

Historical Buildings


Look-up Volunteers

Old Queries

Photo Album

Routt County News

Surnames - Researcher List

Towns and Named Places

Offsite Links


Routt County School Districts - Offsite Link

Routt County Sheriffs - Offsite Link

Routt County History of Skiing - Offsite Link

Routt County Burial Index - Offsite Link

Routt County Cemeteries - Offsite Link

Colorado Special Projects

Routt County Mailing Lists and Message Boards

GenForum Message Boards

RootsWeb Message Board

Routt County Genealogy

Queries at

Routt County, CO

Club at GenCircles
COROUTT-L   Routt County genealogy at Rootsweb

COROUTT  Mailing List Homepage


COROUTT  Browse able Mailing List Archives


COROUTT  Searchable Mailing List Archives

It is recommended that you also subscribe to the COMOFFAT list which serves as the main list for Moffat, Rio Blanco, and Routt Counties.

Adjacent Counties

Carbon County, Wyoming | Jackson County | Eagle County | Grand County
Garfield County | Rio Blanco County | Moffat County

Search this site powered by FreeFind

You are visitor

Page Created Tue Apr 27 22:53:40 CDT 2010
Last Updated, Monday, 22-Nov-2010 07:14:59 MST
This site may be freely linked, but not duplicated without consent.
All rights reserved. Commercial use of material within this site is prohibited.
The copyright (s) on this page must appear on all copied and/or printed material.

© 2011 by Routt County Coordinator