Nunavut Communities

Nunavut GenWeb: Communities

General Information

Nunavut is divided into three administrative regions:

The Qikiqtaaluk region includes all communities on Baffin Island, plus Grise Fiord (Ellesmere Island), Resolute (Cornwallis Island), Hall Beach and Igloolik (Melville Peninsula), and Sanikiluaq (Hudson Bay).

The Kivalliq region includes all communities along the west coast of Hudson Bay, as well as Baker Lake, and Coral Harbour (Southampton Island).

The Kitikmeot region includes central Arctic communities on the coast of the Arctic Ocean and includes Kugaaruk (Simpson Peninsula), Gjoa Haven (King William Island), Cambridge Bay (Victoria Island), Bay Chimo and Bathurst Inlet.

The capital of Nunavut is Iqaluit, located in the Qikiqtaaluk region. While the legislative assembly is located in the capital, offices for the various government departments have been decentralized and are located in several
communities throughout Nunavut.

The following tables provides a list of all Nunavut communities, and links to the Nunavut Handbook where descriptions and histories of the modern communities can be found.

Qikiqtaaluk (Baffin)

Iqaluit Kimmirut Cape Dorset
Hall Beach Igloolik Arctic Bay
Nanisivik Resolute Grise Fiord
Pond Inlet Clyde River Qikiqtarjuaq
Pangnirtung Sanikiluaq  

Kivalliq (Keewatin)

Rankin Inlet Arviat Whale Cove
Chesterfield Inlet Baker Lake Coral Harbour
Repulse Bay    


Cambridge Bay Gjoa Haven Taloyoak
Kugaaruk Bathurst Inlet Bay Chimo

The following table shows the English and Inuktitut names, postal codes and telephone exchanges for all the Nunavut communities.  The telephone area code for all of Nunavut is 867.

Qikiqtaaluk (Baffin)

Official Name Inuktitut Name Postal Code Telephone Exchange
Iqaluit (formerly Frobisher Bay) Iqaluit X0A 0H0, X0A 1H0 979, 975
Kimmirut (formerly Lake Harbour) Kimmirut X0A 0N0 939
Cape Dorset Kingnait X0A 0C0 897
Hall Beach Sanirajak X0A 0K0 928
Igloolik Iglulik X0A 0L0 934
Arctic Bay Ikpiarjuk X0A 0A0 439
Nanisivik Nanisivik X0A 0X0 436
Resolute Bay Qausuittuq X0A 0V0 252
Grise Fiord Ausuittuq X0A 0J0 980
Pond Inlet Mittimatalik X0A 0S0 899
Clyde River Kangiqtugaapik X0A 0E0 924
Qikiqtarjuaq (formerly Broughton Island) Qikiqtarjuaq X0A 0B0 927
Pangnirtung Pannirtuq X0A 0R0 473
Sanikiluaq (formerly Belcher Islands) Sanikiluaq X0A 0W0 266

Kivalliq (Keewatin)

Official Name Inuktitut Name Postal Code Telephone Exchange
Rankin Inlet Kangiqliniq X0C 0G0 645
Arviat (formerly Eskimo Point) Arviat X0C 0E0 857
Whale Cove Tikirarjuaq X0C 0J0 896
Chesterfield Inlet Igluligaardjuq X0C 0B0 898
Baker Lake Qamanittuaq X0C 0A0 793
Coral Harbour Sallit X0C 0C0 925
Repulse Bay Naujaat X0C 0H0 462


Official Name Inuktitut Name Postal Code Telephone Exchange
Cambridge Bay Ikaluktutiak X0E 0C0 983
Gjoa Haven Uqsuqtuq X0E 0J0 360
Taloyoak (formerly Spence Bay) Talurjuaq X0E 1B0 561
Kugaaruk (formerly Pelly Bay) Kugaaruk X0E 1K0 769
Bathurst Inlet Kingaok    
Bay Chimo Umingmaktok    
Kugluktuk (formerly Coppermine) Qurluqtuq X0E 0E0 982