Malcolm Bull's Calderdale Companion : Foldout

Crown Street, Halifax


Contents:

General Details

This was an 18th century street originally called High Street.

There were many jettied buildings with overhanging upper storeys. At one time, the street was only 14 ft in width.

On 7th July 1886, Halifax Council initiated the purchase – and subsequent demolition – of many building in Crown Street to enable the widening of the street.

Many of the early buildings – described as

quaint Flemish-looking buildings which once rendered this street so picturesque [and that] from Hall End to the bottom of Old Market, on each side of the thoroughfare, was an uninterrupted row of these buildings, with storey above storey overhanging, and the gables to the street

- were demolished when the street was widened in October 1867.

Only one building – Number 11 which is currently occupied by Millet's – remains from 1733. The rest are Victorian.

Most of the buildings here are listed.

This is discussed in Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax and the collection of Prints by J. R. Smith.

The number of footwear shops which once occupied the street gave it its popular name of Shoe Shop Street.

New Crown Street is the western extension to Crown Street between Commercial Street and Swine Market

Crown Street, Halifax

The occupants of the properties here have included

New Crown Street, Halifax

The occupants of the properties here have included

Beerhouses & Pubs in Crown Street, Halifax

Several beerhouses and public houses have been recorded in and around Crown Street, Halifax, including

Beerhouses & Pubs in New Crown Street, Halifax

Several beerhouses and public houses have been recorded in and around New Crown Street, Halifax, including


See New Crown Street, Halifax



search tips advanced search
search engine by freefind


© Malcolm Bull 2017 / calderdale@aol.com
Revised 15:29 on 28th August 2017 / qq_9911 / 33