part of
part of
part of
WorldGenWeb - Click here
© Richard Camaur, 1999

Hosted by Richard Camaur.
Visits to this site since September 25, 1999

Last Update: 25 Sep, 1999

Click to explore
Click on the map to explore the region interactively with Microsoft Expedia.


Küstenland -- the former Austrian Littoral -- is a historic region and is not part of today's Austria. The region saddles the borders of the following countries:

The former territory of Austria at the rim of the Adriatic, defined by the border with Italy established along the Iudrio River on the west and the province of Carniola on the east, including some areas of eastern Friuli that were incorporated into Italy after WWI but were made part of Slovenia after WWII. The Austrian Littoral extended to Carinthia on the north and included Trieste and the Istria Peninsula to the south.

Major cities and towns include: Pola, Trieste, Duino, Grado, Monfalcone, Cervignano, Gradisca, Cormons, Sagrado, and Gorizia. A list of former Küstenland towns with current names is now available on the FEEFHS site.



Küstenland Queries Use the GenConnect query board for posting queries.
The surname list is updated once per week. Searching via Surname Helper is also supported.
Küstenland Links
See also the links page of AustriaGenWeb
Küstenland Info Looking for a particular town/village ?
Try the place finder page.

[ Top ]      [ AustriaGenWeb ]


Maps by
Microsoft Expedia Maps

Thanks to Rootsweb for hosting this site

FOTW Flags Of The World