Monroe County, named for James Monroe, fifth President of the United States, was established by a proclamation of Governor Holmes of Mississippi Territory, dated June 29, 1815. It originally embraced the lands ceded by the Muscogee Indians at the treaty of Fort Jackson; that is to say, all the county east of the ridge dividing the waters of the Alabama and Cahaba from the Tombigbee and Tuscaloosa rivers; south of the mountains of Blount and St. Clair; north of the present southern boundary line of the State, and west of the Coosa and the line southeast from Wetumka to a point below Eufaula; or nearly half of the present area of the State.  But this was cut up within a year or two by the formation of Montgomery, Conecuh, and Wilcox Counties, and the present shape has been retained since 1819.  It now lies south of Wilcox, east of Clarke, west of Conecuh, and north of Escambia and Conecuh. The county seat is in Monroeville.


Click to Reach Monroeville, AL Weather

Keep up to date on the additions to this page, and get to know other Monroe County researchers.  Join the Monroe County Mail List.  To subscribe please click the appropriate link Subscribe / Unsubscribe or if you prefer the digest mode use these links. SubscribeUnsubscribe 
We look forward to meeting you!


Surrounding Counties

Baldwin Butler Clarke
Conecuh Escambia Wilcox


This page was last updated: - -