Baptist Churches

History of Rise & Progress of Baptist in Alabama
By: Hosea Holcombe
Published in 1840

Muscle Shoals Association was Constituted on July 15, 1820 of Nine Churches in Lawrence County.

Town Creek- church , organized by Elders Davis, Skinner, & A. Smith in 1818. Mr. Smith took pastoral charge

Bethel- 1819 by Solomon Smith and John Davis, T. Skinner took pastoral charge

Carmel -constituted by T. Skinner and J. Ward, Mr. Davis

Enon-(called for some yrs Birdwell's Spring) established June 1819 by Elders Eddins & HodgesMr. S. Penn took charge of them.

Salem- United with association in 1821

Mount Gibson- (Know for years by name of West Fork of Flint) constituted in 1822

Mount Pleasant- (Formerly Pond Creek) Organized about 1822

Mallet's Creek- Formed about 1826

Courtland- Organized May 1827 by H. W Hodges, J. L. Towns, & D.F. Bestor (and Joseph Lane)

Liberty- Joined the association Fall 1831