"North to the Future"


Welcome to the AKGenWeb

This is a copy of the Mar 2022 version of AKGenWeb. The current version is available at akgenweb.com

AKGenWeb Project is a free family history website, providing information about the history of Alaska and Alaskan ancestors. It serves as a gateway to the project's borough and census area websites, where focus lies on the history and genealogy of each area. We hope you find interesting bits and helpful clues for your family research.

Please consider contributing your pieces of Alaskan family history. Corrections, updates, and additions to this site are always welcome. Our combined efforts can keep this a great site for all who visit!

AKGenWeb is a totally volunteer project. We greatly appreaciate all our project volunteers. If you would like to join our team, feel free to contact us.

State Coordinator: Norma Hass  [email protected]

What's New

Are you a return visitor? See our What's New log for the latest updates, changes, and additions.

Search This Site


    Powered courtesy of FreeFind

AK Borough Map North Slope Borough Yukon-Koyukuk BristolBay-Dillingham Fairbanks Denali LakeAndPeninsula Aleutians KodiakIsland KenaiPeninsula Anchorage Anchorage Matanuska-Susitna Valdez-Cordova Yakutat SkagwayHoonahAngoon SkagwayHoonahAngoon Haines Juneau Sitka Wrangell-Petersburg Wrangell Ketchikan NW Arctic Nome Bethel-WadeHampton

Borough / Census Area Year
East Aleutian Islands Borough
& West Aleutian Islands Census Area
1987 Available for Adoption
Anchorage Borough 1964 Tim Stowell
Bethel & Kusilvak (fka Wade Hampton) Census Areas 1980 Martha AC Graham
Bristol Bay Borough
& Dillingham Census Area
1962 Available for Adoption
Denali (fka Mount McKinley) Borough 1990 Available for Adoption
Fairbanks North Star Borough
& SE Fairbanks Census Area
1964 Available for Adoption
Haines Borough 1968 Available for Adoption
Juneau Borough 1970 Norma Hass
Kenai Peninsula Borough 1964 Martha AC Graham
Ketchikan Gateway Borough
& Prince of Wales - Hyder Census Area
1963 LaRae Halsey-Brooks
& Eireann Brooks
Kodiak Island Borough 1963 Available for Adoption
Lake and Peninsula Borough 1989 Martha AC Graham
Matanuska - Susitna Borough 1964 Mike Peterson
Nome Census Area 1980 Kaelyn Deeter
& Norma Hass
North Slope Borough 1972 Available for Adoption
Northwest Arctic Borough 1986 Available for Adoption
Sitka Borough 1971 Available for Adoption
Skagway Borough
& Hoonah - Angoon Census Area
2007 LaRae Halsey-Brooks
& Eireann Brooks
Valdez - Cordova Census Area 1980 Martha AC Graham
Wrangell & Petersburgh Boroughs 2008, 2013 Available for Adoption
Yakutat Borough 1992 Available for Adoption
Yukon - Koyukuk Census Area 1980 Available for Adoption


Alaska became the 49th State 03 Jan 1959. Juneau is the capital.

The government of Alaska in common with state and federal governments of the United States, has three branches of government: the executive, consisting of the Governor of Alaska and the state agencies; the state legislature consisting of two chambers, the House of Representatives and the Senate; (There are 40 House Districts and 20 Senate Districts) and the judiciary consisting of the Supreme court and lower courts.

Alaska has 246 federally recognized tribal governments and one federal Indian (Native American) reservation.

Alaska is divided into 16 boroughs (including unified municipalities), as opposed to "counties." The function is the same, but whereas some states use a three-tiered system of decentralization — state/county/township — most of Alaska only uses two tiers — state/borough. Owing to the state's low population density, most of the land is located in the Unorganized Borough which, as the name implies, has no intermediate borough government of its own, but is administered directly by the state government. For statistical purposes the United States Census Bureau divided this territory into census areas.


Alaska's flag was designed by Benny Benson, a 13-year old student, who entered the Territorial Flag Design contest in 1926. His design paired the Ursa Major (Bear) constellation (aka Big Dipper) with Polaris (aka North Star) on a blue background. "The blue field is for the Alaska sky and the forget-me-not, an Alaskan flower. The North Star is for the future state of Alaska, the most northerly in the Union. The dipper is for the Great Bear - symbolizing strenth."


Alaska's state motto, "North to the Future," was adopted in 1967 during the Alaska Purchase Centennial. The motto is meant to represent Alaska as a land of promise. Suggested by journalist Richard Peter, who stated the motto "... is a reminder that beyond the horizon of urban clutter there is a Great Land beneath our flag that can provide a new tomorrow for this century's 'huddled masses yearning to be free'."

Designed by Templates in Time
This page was last updated 04/27/2022