XX indexVermont  




      Rutherford HAYES came to Brattleboro, from New Haven, Conn., in February, 1778, a young man, just of age, a blacksmith by trade. The few settlers, wishing such a workman to locate among them, made a bee, shoveled, away the deep snow, helped to build a shop, and in less than a month he was at work with his tools. Rutherford was born in Bradford, Conn., July 29, 1756, and removed to New Haven with his father, Ezekiel HAYES, in 1773 In his new home, now the West village, he for many years worked at his trade, which he called a "dirty, black business, but it brought white money." For some time he kept a tavern, joining farming with it, and during his passing old age he was a farmer in easy circumstances. The old HAYES homestead, built nearly one hundred years ago, and which was opened as a hotel by Rutherford in 1795, is now owned and occupied by his granddaughter, Mary A. BEGELOW, daughter of Dea. Russell HAYES, and widow of W. H. BEGELOW. As to his characteristics, he is described as a "round, corpulent old gentleman, with an elastic, square step, medium height, with florid complexion, sandy hair, a cheerful temper, and friendly, courteous manners." He died September 25, 7836. His wife, Chloe SMITH, born November 10, 1762, in Hadley, Mass., moved with her parents to Brattleboro when young, and was married, in 1789, in her seventeenth year. She died February 17, 1847. They had three sons and six daughters, whom they lived to see in positions of honor and usefulness.

      Dea. Russell HAYES, the eldest of the sons, born May 31, 7784, passed a life of valuable usefulness on the old homestead in West Brattleboro, devoting his energies and his love to the academy and the church, and smoothing tenderly the declining years of his aged parents. He was a Christian of equable temper, a man of excellent judgment, and a neighbor highly esteemed. He died July 28, 1856.

      Rutherford HAYES, Jr., born January 4, 1787, entered the mercantile business and accumulated, for those times, a competent fortune. He was a man of honor and commanded universal respect. He was a Presbyterian. In 1817 he removed with his family to Delaware, O., a journey of forty days, but only lived about five years thereafter, dying in 1822. After his death was born his son, ex-President Rutherford B. HAYES, whose well-earned political honors are well-known to all.

      William R. HAYES, third son of Rutherford HAYES, Sr., was born December 6, 1804., prepared for college under the instruction of Rev. Mr. HALLOCK, and graduated at Yale in the year 1825. He took a high stand in his class. Closing the three years of his legal preparatory studies at the law school in New Haven, under the care of judge DAGGET, he was admitted to the bar and opened an office in East Brattleboro, Vt., in 1828; was married to Miss TROWBRIDGE, of New Haven, in October, 1830. He is said to have had a fine voice, and to have been a successful pleader. In his will he left $1,000 for the academy at West Brattleboro. He, with two other professional men, his daily associates, Mr. ELLIOT, of his own profession, and Dr. DICKERMAN, were among the subjects of the revival of 1832. He became thereafter an earnest, active Christian, and was restrained from preparing himself for the gospel ministry by failing health. Skillful physicians advised him to seek a milder climate. In 1836 he relinquished the practice of law, and moved to Barbados in the West Indies. His health was gradually restored, and he then spent the rest of his life engaged in prosperous mercantile pursuits, and in discharging the duties of United States consul for the island of Barbados. He engaged himself heartily in the support of temperance and in the abolition of slavery. He organized societies in his new home, and wrote and labored successfully for the promotion of these reforms. His life was suddenly terminated by malignant erysipelas, July 13, 1852. Of the daughters of Rutherford HAYES, Sr., the oldest one, Polly, married Mr. John NOYES, who became a man of note. He graduated at Yale college in the class of 1779, taught in Chesterfield academy, New Hampshire, preached the gospel, became a merchant, and represented the southern district of Vermont in congress. They were the grandparents of Larkin G. MEAD, the sculptor. Belinda married the Hon. Samuel ELLIOT, of Brattleboro. Clarissa married Ayer MOODY, a graduate of Dartmouth college, a man of influence. Sarah was married to Dyer BANCROFT, a graduate of Williams college.

      Larkin G. MEAD was born at Lexington, Mass., October 2, 1795; educated at Dartmouth college ; first practiced law at Chesterfield, N. H.; married Mary Jane NOYES, daughter of Hon. John NOYES, of Putney, Vt., June 8, 1829, and removed to Brattleboro in 1839, where he was employed in closing up the affairs of the Brattleboro Typographic Company. He practiced law in the courts of Cheshire county, N. H., and Windham county, Vt., during a large portion of the thirty years in which he lived in Brattleboro; was a prominent Whig in the Harrison campaign of 1840, and chosen senator from this county in 1846. He procured the charter for the first savings bank in Brattleboro, now known as the Vermont Savings Bank of Brattleboro, and was the first treasurer of that institution about twenty-five years; was chairman of the first prudential committee, chosen to carry into effect the present system of graded schools, in 1841. Shortly after resigning the office of treasurer of the bank he died July 6, 1869. His son, Larkin G., Jr., became the celebrated sculptor.

      Col. Arnold J. HINES was born in Guilford, Vt., January 28, 1805, married Sarah, daughter of Ezekiel GORE, of Bernardston, Mass., in 1827. Three children blessed this union, Mrs. Mary J. CUTLER and Mrs. Sarah A. MORRILL -- a son having died in infancy. His wife died March 14, 1835. In 1837, he married Maria L. BROWN, granddaughter of Gamaliel ARNOLD, of Dummerston Hill. The result of this union was a daughter, Mrs. Julia M. WILDER, and a son, George A. HINES. His father, Thomas HINES, was by trade a millwright and the favorite right hand man of Dea. John HOLBROOK in establishing his first mechanical operations in this village, and in 1829 ARNOLD and his father removed to this place, where the remainder of their lives was passed. Arnold J. HINES, as captain of the old artillery and colonel in the old Vermont State militia, in the declining days of our military organization, proved worthy to lead a "forlorn hope." He was prominent in the fire department, in securing the first village charter, was one of the original members of the Prospect Hill Cemetery Association, and for twenty-five years was the senior partner of the widely known firm of HINES, NEWMAN & Company. As a principal or important actor in establishing and sustaining the only religious organization in this village south of Whetstone brook, he will be long and gratefully remembered. In religion he was a firm believer in the final restoration of all mankind in holiness. In politics he was a strong anti-slavery Democrat until the christening of the Republican party, of which, it may be said, he was one of its original members. His last days, which were days of suffering, were characterized by the heroic resignation and tender patience which might be expected from a man of his large and generous nature, and his last effort, just as he was entering the valley of shadows, was a pleasant word and smile to a ministering friend. He died of an internal tumor, April 6, 1862.

      Ex-Governor Frederick HOLBROOK, who is now a resident of Brattleboro, was born February 15, 1814, the youngest of ten children, who constituted the family of Dea. John HOLBROOK, and which formerly occupied a large sphere of usefulness and effectually exercised a creative power in the forming period of the East village. Gov. HOLBROOK was a practical farmer, and in 1847, while busy with his farm, he was chosen register of probate for the district of Marlboro; in 1850 he was elected president of the State agricultural society, and held that office eight years; was State senator from Windham county in 1849-50, and in 1861 he was elected governor of the State, serving faithfully and well during the trying scenes of those times. Since then he has been interested, in the improvement of agricultural implements, especially the plow. He has also been president of the Vermont Savings Bank about fifteen years, and trustee of the Vermont Asylum for the Insane thirty-four years. He is also actively interested in the public affairs of the town.

      Rev. Horace BURCHARD, whose death occurred in Brattleboro, October 25, 1879, was born in Remsen, Oneida county, N. Y., April 5, 1833. In his boyhood his parents removed to Hamilton, N. Y., and he graduated from Madison university, of that town, in 1853, bearing the highest honors of his class. Immediately after graduation, he took charge of an academy at Warnersville, N. Y., and afterwards went to Yonkers, N. Y., where he was principal being connected with the Mary Sharpe college, in Winchester, Tenn., when the war broke out, but loyalty to his country compelled him to leave. In 1862 he took charge of LELAND and GRAY Seminary, at Townshend, Vt., and during the two years he remained there the school increased more than two hundred percent in membership. He first entered the ministry, as a pastor, in 1866, at North Bennington, Vt., where he was ordained, in October of that year. While in Bennington he married, September 5, 1866, Kate M. FLETCHER, youngest daughter of Rev. Horace FLETCHER, D. D., of Townshend. After a successful pastorate of nearly four years there, he removed to Woodstock, Ill., and from there to Chicago. In 1875, while on a visit to Vermont, he received and accented a hearty and unanimous call to become pastor of the Baptist church of Brattleboro. During the four years of his pastorate here he received 200 members into the church. He seemed in the midst of his usefulness and popularity when he was called higher. Here he was buried, to await the resurrection. He was a born leader and a trusted friend-a man of large heart and large brain. Original in thought, unconventional in manner, and always intensely earnest in speaking, he made an impress whenever and wherever heard. He carried great influence whenever he spoke on public occasions, and always seemed to forget himself in his efforts to reach and help others. His widow still resides in Brattleboro.

      William Morris HUNT, the eminent artist, was the eldest son of Hon, Jonathan HUNT, of Vernon, Vt., and Jane Maria LEAVITT, of Suffield, Conn., from whose maternal side he inherited his genius for art. He was born in Brattleboro, March 31, 1824. Upon the death of his father, in 1832, his mother removed with the family to New Haven, Conn., where William was placed at Mr. Skinner's school. He early showed skill in drawing, and several finely drawn sketches and even small cameo heads are preserved in the family, done by him previous to his tenth year. He graduated from Harvard in 1840. Owing to a pulmonary difficulty during his senior year, a change of climate was recommended by his physicians, and October 9, 1843, he accompanied his mother and family to Europe. From this time forward his life was devoted to art, with what success is well known to all art lovers. Returning to America in 1855, he married a Miss PERKINS, of Boston, and passed a year in Brattleboro, and thence went to reside in Newport, R. I. His death occurred September 9, 1879, at the Isle of Shoals, off Portsmouth, N. H. In compliance with an often expressed desire, he was buried in Brattleboro.

      Hon. Daniel KELLOGG was born at Amherst, Mass., Feb. 10, 1791, graduated at Williams college in 1810, studied law with Gen. Martin FIELD, and commenced practice at Rockingham, Vt., in 1814, where he continued to reside until 1854, when he removed to Brattleboro, where he died May 10. 1875, aged eighty-four years. He married, first, Jane McAFFEE, of Rockingham; second, Merab Ann BRADLEY, daughter of Hon. Wm. C. BRADLEY, of Westminster; third, Miranda M. ALDIS, daughter of Hon. Asa ALDIS, of St. Albans, who survives him. He was for a few years State's attorney for Windham county, and judge of probate for the district of Westminster; secretary to the old governor and council of Vermont, during the administration of Gov. BUTLER and Gov. VAN NESS; United States district attorney for the State of Vermont twelve years, during the administration of Gen. Jackson and Mr. Van Buren; adjutant and inspector-general of the State; represented the town of Rockingham in the general assembly, and for two years was State senator for Windham county. In 1843 he was chosen president of the State constitutional convention, and was judge of the supreme court of the State from 1845 to 1852. His children were as follows. Henry, born August 23, 1823, graduated at Williams college in 1843, engaged in the study of law with Hon. Wm. C. BRADLEY, of Westminster, Vt., and was drowned while bathing in the Connecticut river at that place, June 18, 1844. George B., born in November, 1825, studied law with Hon. Asa KEYES, of Brattleboro, married Mary L. SIKES, daughter of Urial SIKES, of Brattleboro, March 15, 1847, commenced the practice of his profession at Rockingham, in 1846, soon after his father was elected judge of the supreme court, removed to Brattleboro in 1855, appointed Postmaster at Brattleboro, in 1861, State's attorney for Windham county three years, adjutant and inspector-general for the State from 1854 to '59, represented the town of Brattleboro in the general assembly for two years, was active in raising and enlisting the Vermont cavalry regiment, and was lieut.-colonel thereof during the rebellion, at the conclusion of which he was discharged, and resumed the practice of his profession at St. Louis, where he died, in November, 1875. Sarah B., born in August, 1831, married Henry A. WILLARD, of Washington, D. C., in November, 1855. Daniel, born April 9, 1834, married Margaret W. MAY, of Brattleboro, May 2, 1861, was Postmaster at Brattleboro, from 1862 to July, 1868.

      George NEWMAN was born at Seekonk, Mass., and removed with his parents to Marlboro, Vt., at an early age, whence he came to this place, a mere lad. He was, in his younger days, one of the early mechanics of Brattleboro. When a boy he learned the trade of carriage making of Captain Adolphus STEBBINS, at the West village. In 1830 he was employed by Messrs. THOMAS & WOODCOCK, near, or at the time, they commenced the manufacture of pulp dressers and other machinery used for paper making. He was one of their principal workmen, and in a few years thereafter succeeded them in this business, connected with which was an iron foundry, blacksmithing, clothier's shop, saw-mill and grist-mill. He was in co-partnership with Col. A. J. MINES and Roswell HUNT, Esq. At one period, Lewis NEWMAN, Governeur MORRIS, Esq., and BRINSMADE, of Troy, N. Y., were interested in the business. Until a comparatively recent date Mr. NEWMAN continued at the head of the business, which finally all came into the possession of himself and family, under the name of George NEWMAN & Son. He died Sept. 11, 1872.

      Hon. Royall TYLER was born in Boston, Mass., July 18, 1857, and died at Brattleboro, August 16, 1826. He entered Harvard college July 15, 1772, and graduated in July 1776, he studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1779. He located in Guilford in January 1790, where he resided until 1801, when he came to Brattleboro. Aside from his extensive law practice Mr. TYLER presided as side judge of the supreme court of Vermont, from 1801 to 1806, when he was chosen chief judge. This position he retained until 1812. From 1815 to 1821 he was register of probate of Windham county. He married Miss Mary PALMER, of Framingham, Mass., by whom he reared twelve children, as follows: Royall TYLER, born in Framingham, Mass., 1794, died in college, young; Gen. John S., born in Guilford, Vt., September 29, 1796, from the age of fourteen lived in Boston, Mass., and was in mercantile life; Mary Whitwell, born in Guilford, Vt., June .23, 1798; Rev. Edward R., born in Guilford, Vt., August 3, 1800, of the Congregational church and editor of “New Englander,” also author of works on future punishment; William Clark, born in Brattleboro, August 28, 1802, passed a mercantile life in Boston; Rev. Joseph Dennie, born in Brattleboro, September 4, 1804, of the Episcopal church, and principal of an asylum for deaf mutes, in Va.; Amelia Sophia, born in Brattleboro, June 29, 1807, principal of female seminary in 1826; Rev. George PALMER, D.D., born in Brattleboro, December 10, 1809, of the Congregational church; Judge Royall, 2nd, born in Brattleboro, April 19, 1812; graduated from Harvard college in 1834, studied law with Charles G. LORING, Esq., of Boston, was admitted to the bar in 1838, commenced practice in Brattleboro, in 1839, was appointed register of probate, Marlboro district, in December 1844, chosen judge of probate, same district, in 1846, and was also appointed county clerk, in April, 1851, the latter two offices of which he still retains; Rev. Thomas Pickman, D. D., born in Brattleboro, November 20, 1815, of the Episcopal church; Abiel Winship, born in Brattleboro, November 9, 1818, died in 1832.

      James M. TYLER was born at Wilmington, April 27, 1833; was educated at Brattleboro Academy; graduated at the law university of Albany, New York; was admitted to the bar of Vermont in September, 1860, and has been in practice ever since; was a member of the State legislature in 1863, and '64, and was State's attorney in 1866 and '67; since 1875 has been one of the trustees of the Vermont Asylum for the Insane; was elected to the forty-sixth congress, and was re-elected to the forty-seventh congress, as a Republican, receiving 15,960 votes against 6,698 votes for CAMPBELL, Democrat, and forty-one for MEAD, Republican.

      The NEWTON family, which is so numerous in America, had their origin in America, according to the family tradition, as follows: "Four brothers, whose sur-name was NEWTON, from a family in England, emigrated to America, probably about 1630 or 1635, from whom, about the commencement of the present century, the NEWTONs of the United States claimed their family origin here. Two brothers settled in the easterly part of Massachusetts, in Middlesex county, one settled on the banks of the Connecticut river, and the other went south. Some of the descendants of those who settled in the neighborhood of Boston were among the early settlers of the eastern portion of Worcester county, Mass. Some were farmers, and some were mechanics and depended on their industry and economy for a means of living. Some .of the favorite family names were John, Timothy, Jonah, Solomon, Israel, Obadiah, and Marshall. Rev. Ephraim Holland NEWTON, D. D., who was for many years a pastor of the Congregetional church in Marlboro, Vt., was a son of Marshall NEWTON, and was born in Newfane, Vt. Roswell H. NEWTON, who now resides in West Brattleboro, was born in Marlboro, September 13, 1819, and married Eleanor H. SAMSON, December 18, 1843, William S. NEWTON, born in Marlboro, June 26, 1822, resides in Brattleboro. He married Mrs. Lucinda WELLS, in Brattleboro, March 30, 1858. He commenced the grocery business here March 21, 1859, has been town clerk since March 3, 1863, and a justice of the peace since December 1, 1863.

      Jonathan DUNKLEE came to this town at an early date and located upon the farm now owned by Edward DUNKLEE, his great-grandson. He was known as a man of ability and of a good Christian character He died, highly respected, on the old farm. His son Jonathan, born here, married Anna BROWN, and settled in Marlboro, reared a family of seven children, and -finally removed to Chesterfield, N. H., where he died, in December, 1862.

      Joseph STEEN was born in Brattleboro village, March 2, 1797, and died here August 11, 1881, being at that time the oldest native resident of Brattleboro. Mr. STEEN worked with his father, James STEEN, who came to. Brattleboro in 1795, until 1814, when he commenced work at the printer's trade, under William FESSENDEN. After nine years employment at this trade as a journey man, he worked on contract for Messrs. HOLBROOK & FESSENDEN, until 1828. This year he bought of Messrs. THOMAS & WOODCOCK the right to their pulp dresser for the State of New York, and engaged two years in the sale of them and in putting them in operation in paper-mills in that State. From 1830 until about the time of his death, he carried on the book and stationery business at the village, publishing many thousand volumes. He was also the last agent appointed here for paying pensions to the soldiers of the war of the Revolution, continuing that duty until the last one died. He was appointed assignee in bankruptcy for Windham county, in 1844; justice of the peace in 1848, and held the office until the latter years of his life; was selectman in 1854-'55; school committee, first chosen to put in operation the graded school system in 1841. He was prominent in advocating the school reform by effective remarks to the assembled voters of the district.

      George C. HASKINS, son of George, born in Londonderry, August 28, 1828, married Louisa J. STODDARD, of Montpelier, in 1851, and died here September 5, 1882. Mr. HASKINS was a molder by trade, and was foreman of the iron foundry here for thirty years.

      John J. RETTING, a native of Germany, came to Brattleboro, August 2, 1850. Having learned the cabinet-maker's trade in Germany, he began work here for Anthony VAN DOORN, where C. L. BROWN's building is now located, where he continued until 1856. In the autumn of 1858 he began business under the firm name of RETTING & BROWN, continuing thus about eleven months. In 1859 he established himself in business, where the BROOKS House stands; but in 1869, the block having burned, he removed to the location now occupied by his sons, L. J. and John, Jr.

      J. H. CAPEN, a direct descendant of Bernard CAPEN, of Dorchester, Mass., who died November 8, 1638, came to Brattleboro in 1808, locating with his family in a one-story wooden house on Main street. His son, J. H. CAPEN, now occupies "Brookside farm," in school district No. 6, and is employed in the bellows department of the ESTEY organ works. This son was also a printer here for many years, manager of the telegraph office twenty-five years, and sent the first message from Brattleboro to Boston, in 1850.

      Colonel Samuel WELLS, the first representative from this town, then in Cumberland county, was born at Deerfield, Mass., September 9, 1730. He married Hannah SHELDON, and in July, 1762, settled in Brattleboro, on lands now owned by the Vermont Asylum for the Insane. Here were born his thirteen children, two of whom died in infancy. His daughters were married to Samuel GALE, Ephraim NASH, Micah TOWNSEND, Jonathan GORTON, Nathaniel CHURCH and Ephraim STIMPSON. Like many of the prominent men of that time, in this part of the State, Col. WELLS sustained the claims of New York. Between the years 1798 and 1802, all the family of Col. WELLS removed to Canada, where each of his children received from the crown 1,200 acres of land as a compensation for the losses Col. WELLS had suffered during the Revolution on account of his adherence to the King. He died in this town and a .marble head-stone in the old burying-ground gives the following information

AUG. 6, 1786, IN HIS 55TH YEAR.

"His friends, the stranger and the poor 
have lost A kind companion and a generous host 
When he fell, the Statesman fell 
And left the world his worth to tell."

      Dr. William Haydon ROCKWELL, was born in East Windsor, Connecticut, February 15, 1800, graduated from Yale college in 1824, and from the Yale medical school in 1831. On June 25, 1835, he married Mrs. Maria F. CHAPIN, a native of Salisbury, Connecticut, and during the following year, June 28, 1836, was appointed superintendent of the Vermont Asylum for the Insane, which position he retained until August, 1872, when he resigned in favor of his son. He died November 30, 1873. death resulting from injuries sustained by being thrown from his carriage, May 10, 1872.

      Dr. Henry WELLS was the first town clerk of Brattleboro, elected to office in 1768. He was born in Essex county, N. J., June 14, 1742, but from 1746, for about twenty years, his home was in New York, when the population of that city was less than ten thousand. When eleven years old he began his college course at "Nassau Hall" in Princeton. Here he took his first degree at the age of fifteen. Immediately after his graduation he began the study of medicine at New Haven, with the celebrated Dr. Hull, under whose instruction he remained four years. In 1760 Yale college conferred on him the degree of A. M., and in the following year he returned to New York, where he continued his studies until 1764. He studied divinity for a short time after this and added the business of an apothecary to his early medical practice in New York. He was married in the old Dutch church on Nassau street, to Hannah STOUT, May 28, 1764. They lived together within a few months of half a century. Dr. WELLS was hardly more than twenty-five and his wife twenty and the mother of two young children, when they started for their new home in the wilds of what is now Vermont. The town of Brattleboro, of which he and his wife were two of the patentees, had been partly settled from New Hampshire as early as 1752. They came by a small sloop to Hartford Ct., and from thence followed the Connecticut river to Brattleboro. Their new home was a farm of not far from 1,000 acres, some two miles west of the present East village. Here, on the brow of a lofty hill, Dr. WELLS erected a substantial frame house of considerable size, which stood almost unaltered for a century, and was finally taken down by Gilbert SMITH, in 1875. In 1801 it was purchased from Micah TOWNSEND, its second owner, by Chief Justice TYLER, who occupied it about fourteen or fifteen years. From 1768 to the time of his removal, in 1781, he constantly held some public office. His name, for the last time, appears upon the records as moderator of the meeting of March, 1781. His name is attached to two memorials to the King in behalf of the legal government, the only civil government, in fact, under the Province of New York. Seven more children were born to Dr. WELLS during his thirteen years residence in Brattleboro. In 1781 he relinquished the magnificent estate, (in acres,) which cost him so much toil and suffering, and removed to Montague, Mass. He settled in the house which for eighty years continued to be the home of his children. In the' associations of his new home and the better opportunities for the practice of his profession, Dr. WELLS no doubt found compensation for the visionary fortune, as landed proprietor, for which he and his father had left New York. He soon acquired a reputation as a physician, especially in consultations, which made long journeys from home often necessary. Such occasional calls for him extended from Boston to Albany, New Hampshire and Connecticut, as well as to and beyond his old home in Vermont. He died August 24, 1814, aged seventy-two years.

      Col. Daniel STEWART was born at Paxton, Mass., in 1756, and died at Brattleboro, in 1834, In early life he went to live in Westboro, Mass., and there learned the tanner's trade. At twenty years of age he enlisted as a private in the American army of the Revolution and was afterwards an officer. He was in the battle of White Plains, and was with the army during the campaigns in New Jersey. When his term of enlistment had expired he returned to Westboro, and there worked at his trade until 1783, when he removed to Brattleboro and purchased a farm in the southwest part of the town on road 38. He served several years as one of the board of selectmen of the town, and held other town offices. Col. STEWART was married in 1779, to Miss Dorothy MAYNARD, of Westboro, Mass., by whom he had six daughters.

      Gen. John STEWART came to Brattleboro, from Royalton, Mass., about 1772, locating on land east of where John S. CUTTING now resides, then an unbroken forest. A few years after, he removed to a farm one mile west of the West village, now known as the GOULD farm, where he lived until his death, in 1812. He married Ruth NEWTON, of Royalston, Mass., who survived him eight months. They had ten children, five sons and five daughters. Gen. John STEWART was a man of more than ordinary qualities-in manners, genial and courteous to all, honest and honorable in his dealings, he was strictly an honest man and a firm friend to the poor and unfortunate. Physically he was one of the grandest types of humanity, being very tall and of due proportions. That he was beloved by all was proved by the hundreds of friends who followed his remains, as they were borne to the tomb. Truly a good man was removed from their midst.

      John CUTTING, son of Jonah CUTTING, was born in Guilford, Vt., April 16, 1800, and died in Brattleboro, January 15, 1844. He received an academic education at Leicester Academy, Mass., taught school several terms, then he purchased a farm in the southwest part of Guilford, where he lived about two years, then sold this farm, and bought another in Brattleboro, of Col. Daniel STEWART, on which he settled in 1824. Mr. CUTTING was twice married, first to Miss Emily STEWART, who died February 5, 1825; second to Miss Charlotte STEWART, both daughters of Col. Daniel STEWART, of Brattleboro. By these marriages he had six children, two by the first and four by the second wife, and of whom five lived to marry.

      John S. CUTTING, son of John CUTTING, was born in Guilford, Vt., September 12, 1823. He removed to Brattleboro with his parents, in 1824, and received a common school and academic education. He is now a farmer and school-teacher. He lives on the farm where his grandfather, Col. STEWART, resided a hundred years ago. He has taught school forty or more terms, twenty-five in the school district where he resides; was superintendent of schools from 1866 to 1871; was representative to the State legislature in 1874; was census enumerator for 1880; has been lister nine years; was a member of the State board of equalization in 1882, and is a justice of the peace. He married Miss Susan S. BURNETTE, daughter of John BURNETTE, of Guilford April 29, 1849, by whom he has had two daughters, the eldest of whom, Emily S., was married to ABBOTT S. Edwards, of Brattleboro, and Minnie S., the youngest, was married to John L. BARNEY, of Brattleboro.

      David BEMIS married Mary DUNSTER, a great granddaughter of Henry DUNSTER, who was the first president of Harvard college. They settled in Westminster, Mass., and reared nine children. John, Joseph, Benjamin, Elias, Abner, Levi, Asa, Samuel and Sarah. The family moved from Westminster to Brattleboro and lived on the "BLISS farm." Four of the children, John, Joseph, Abner and Elias, settled in Windham county. Abner was a Baptist minister and lived in Halifax where he died. Elias lived in Brattleboro, on the farm now owned and occupied by M. M. MILLER. Lemuel BEMIS, son of Elias, was for many years a, blacksmith in Brattleboro. Willis BEMIS, the present express agent at Brattleboro, is a son of Lemuel. John and Joseph, who served in the Revolution, settled in Dummerston. John married for his second wife, Jemima, daughter of Elder Daniel WHIPPLE, who was the first Baptist minister in the State. Elder WHIPPLE died in 1789 aged ninety-seven years. His grave is in the West river cemetery, at Brattleboro. John had twelve children and lived where Mr. Murphy now lives. David, son of John BEMIS and Jemima WHIPPLE, lived on the farm his father had occupied before him, His eldest son, Erastus, settled in Washington county, Pa., and became one .of the leading physicians of that county. He died in 1866, leaving two sons, David H. and James N., both physicians. Another son, Samuel N., is also a physician, living in Brattleboro. The youngest son, Horace, is a lawyer of Hornellsville, N. Y. Joseph BEMIS died in Dummerston, and the family went to Cattaraugus county, N. Y., where Joseph, Jr., died in January, 1884, aged 98 years.

      The ESTERBROOKS were one of Windham county's notable pioneer families, and many of its descendants are at the present time upright and substantial citizens of Brattleboro. Warren ESTERBROOK was one of the town's early settlers. Born at Warren, R. I., June 29, 1748, he came to Brattleboro in 1779, when 31 years of age, with his wife, whose maiden name was Rosannah HALE, and four-year-old son. For a short time he worked at the carpenter's trade in the then sparsely settled "East village," but soon moved to a farm in the southwest part of the town. He had a family of nine children-six boys and three girls-and followed farming until afflicted with total blindness, which great misfortune he patiently bore during the remaining twenty years of his life. He died June 29, 1838, aged ninety years; his wife died April 26, 1813, aged sixty-two years. Maj. James ESTERBROOK, eldest son of Warren ESTERBROOK, came to Brattleboro with his father and mother in 1779, at the age of four years, and lived with his parents until of age. He married Polly STEWART, daughter of Colonel Daniel STEWART, in 1799, and settled on the “HADLEY farm," so-called, near the family homestead. He engaged quite largely in the dairy business for a number of years and became a conspicuous and popular figure in the local militia with the rank of major. He was the father of twelve children-four sons and eight daughters,-all of whom grew to manhood and womanhood, and four of whom, -- two sons and two daughters, -- still survive at advanced ages. The children of Major James and Polly STEWART ESTERBROOK were as follows: Maria, born Sept. 7, 1800, married Rufus PRATT, and died October 19, 1858; Charlotte, born June 13, 1802, married William BULLOCK, and is still living; Daniel S., born April 17, 1804, married Betsey GLADDEN, and died September 19, 1869; Dorothy, born January 27, 1806, married Salmon FESSENDEN, and died May 27, 1878; Nancy, born October 8, 1808, married Wesley JACOBS, and died April 28, 1849; Mary A., born November 6, 1810, married Harvey HOUGHTON, and died March 18, 1861; James H., born August 10, 1812, married Nancy A. FRENCH, and died April 9,1862; William H., born July 31. 1814, married Adaline A. THAYER, is still living, and has two children, Ada, wife of George S. DOWLEY, and Mary, wife of L. H. RICHARDSON, and now resides in Brattleboro; Emily, born September 16, married Henry A. GANE, and is still living; Cyrinthia I., born April 25, 1819, married Benjamin F. TILDEN, and died January 10, 1849; George W., born December 2, 1821, married Nancy A. GODDARD, and is still living; Harriet C., born August 16, 1824, married Albert A. CORTIS, and died November 6, 1875.

      Anthony VAN DOORN was born in Bristol; R. I., October 14, 1792, where he passed most of the early part of his life. In the spring of 1815 he removed to West Brattleboro and established himself as a cabinet maker. November 7th, of the same year, he married Betsey HUBBARD, of Groton, Mass. About this time his father, Moses VAN DOORN, tailor by trade, who had previously for a time resided in Fitzwilliam, N. H., removed to Brattleboro where he spent the remainder of his days, dying in 1825. Here Mr. VAN DOORN carried on successfully the cabinet business till his removal to East Brattleboro in 1829. Here with increased facilities, together with larger experience and rising ambition that forced him to stand abreast with the growing demand of the times, he continued the manufacture of furniture and conducted the business with such extraordinary energy and thrift, that he soon ranked among the first manufacturers of the kind in the State. At different times he had associate partners for a brief period, viz.: William CONANT one year, at another time his brother Frederick, and later his sons M. T. and C. A., who continued till the business was disposed of, in 1851. Being blessed with a strong constitution and possessing more than ordinary mental endowments, he was able, during all his business career, to contribute his share of assistance in carrying forward the enterprises of his time. His strong self-reliance and progressive spirit, with independence of action, not unfrequently created a ripple in the arena of reform; but being actuated by genuine philanthropy and Christian principle his efforts resulted largely in the elevation of society. His religious faith was of the Puritan type as held by the Congregational schools of the century. If he had faults, he also had uplifting, redeeming aspirations. He cherished an unwavering trust in an overruling Providence, was not slack in his devotions, upright, generous, persistant and unflinching in resolution in all his undertakings. He was among the first to engage in Sabbath-school work in the town, in which he took a deep interest. He performed so prominent a part, with such energy and zeal, that he has been aptly styled "the father of the Sabbath-schools." He was accustomed, during his last years, to visit Sunday schools in various places in the State, before which he spoke with consider able acceptance. He regularly contributed substantial aid to all the various branches of missionary work; was a firm supporter of the Colonization society, to which he was a regular contributor as long as he lived; and at the same time, believing in the "inalienable right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness;" he was true to his convictions, by practically aiding the unfortunate "chattel" in his onward flight to the "Beulah land." He made a tour of nine months in Europe, which afforded him a great deal of satisfaction. While on a visit to friends in Providence, R. I., he died suddenly, August 22, 1871. He had five children -- three sons and two daughters. One died in infancy, three are living in Brattleboro, and Charles A. is living in Greenfield, Mass.

      Dea. John GROUT was born at Westminster, Vt., August 17, 1788, went to reside in Newfane about 1810, and moved to West Brattleboro in 1836, where he died, October 16, 1851. Dea. GROUT married Azubiah, daughter of Jonathan DUNKLEE, of Brattleboro, May 28, 1811, and had nine children, eight of whom were sons. Mrs. GROUT died at West Brattleboro, July 24, 1866, aged seventy-three years, Mr. GROUT's age at the time of his death being sixty-three years. Lewis the eldest of the children, born in Newfane, January 28, 1815, attended the Brattleboro academy in 1834, '35, '36, and '37, taught a district school in Marlboro in the winter of 1835-36, in Putney 1836-37, and in East Guilford 1837-38; attended Burr Seminary in 1838, entered Yale college the same year, and graduated thence in 1842. During a portion of the latter part of his collegiate course he was engaged in teaching in a military, classical and mathematical school at West Point, N. Y., where he also taught a year after graduating. He studied theology for two years at Yale Divinity College, 1844 and 1845, and one year at Andover Theological Seminary, where he graduated in 1846. In 1844 he paid his way by teaching a few hours a day in Miss Comstock's Ladies' Seminary, and in 1845 by serving as chaplain in the family of Gerard HALLECK, Esq., editor of the “New York Journal of Commerce.” October 8, 1846, he was ordained as a missionary, and was married the same day to Miss Lydia BATES, in Springfield, Vt. He set sail from Boston, October 10, for South Africa, stopped a few weeks in Cape Town, and reached Natal, Africa, February 15, 1847. Here, among the Zulus, in the District of Natal, he labored as a missionary in the service of the American Board, for fifteen years, and at the end of that time, March 12, 1862, with impaired health, he set sail for his native land, and landed in Boston on the 7th of June. His health having in a measure been restored, Mr. GROUT preached a year for the Congregational church in Saxton's River, and then accepted a call to the church in Feeding Hills, Mass., where he was installed as pastor, and continued to labor till the first of October, 1865. He then received an appointment from the American Missionary Association as secretary and agent of that society for New Hampshire and Vermont, and in this employ has continued till the present time, some nineteen years, having his home in West Brattleboro.

      Elisha SIMONDS, born at Lunenburg, Mass., July 8, 1780, died at Brattleboro, April 6, 1864, aged eighty-two years and nine months. Mr. SIMONDS was the father of seventeen children, the third, of whom, Penni, was born at Alstead, N. H., March 21, 1807, and removed with his father's family to Swanzey, N. H., about the year 1819, at the age of twelve years. From about the year 1823 until 1833, he worked at shoe-making, as it was carried on in those early days. In the spring of 1833, he came to Brattleboro and opened a custom boot and shoe store, in what was then known as Hall's Long building, and from that date until his death occupied the same room. Henry W. SIMONDS commenced business in the same room, August 10, 1881, but November 16, 1883, the building was destroyed by fire, when he removed to Elliot street.

      Alfred SIMONDS was born in Alstead, N. H., in 1810, and came to Brattleboro in 1832. He married Maria STOCKWELL, daughter of Arad STOCKWELL, and located on High street. He carried on the tanning business at Centerville, was selectman several years, and reared a family of three children, two of whom are now living in Lexington, Ky.

      William HARRIS was one of the early settlers of Brattleboro. Just at what time he came here, however, is not known; but Capt. Banajah DUDLEY, residing here at the age of ninety-three years, married a daughter of William's son Ezra, and says that William came here with his family of nine children, from Holden, Mass. He died August 15, 1797, aged seventy-one years. Patience GLEASON, his wife, died November 21, 1808, aged seventy-six years. 'Their children were Valentine, William, Salthiel, Calvin, Ezra, Mrs. HOWE, who was killed by lightning in a house standing where Dr. STEADMAN now resides, in West Brattleboro, and Mrs. CHANDLER. William HARRIS, Jr., was born October 2, 1757, and died in Brattleboro March 12, 1845; Abiah BROOKS, his wife, born Apri1 16, 1765, died in Brattleboro, March 6, 1847; Polly, born October 5, 1784, married Dr. Samuel BULLOCK, of Brookline, December 25, 1803, settled and died in Canada; William was born May 24, 1787; Flavia, born July 10, 1789, married Elkanah CROSBY, January 10, 1808, and settled and died in Catskill, N. Y.; William, born September 8, 1791, married Jemima WOOD, December 19, 1816, and settled and died on the home farm, dying September 25, 1849; Ira, born March 6, 1796, settled and married in Canada, and died in Minnesota; Roswell was born March 6, 1798. He taught his first school in Wardsboro, in the winter of 1814-15. He fitted for college with Rev. Caleb BURGE, pastor of the Congregational Society at West Brattleboro, entered Middlebury college in 1817 and graduated in 1821. He had charge of the Brattleboro Academy two years, as principal, after which he entered Andover Theological Seminary, in 1723, and graduated in 1826. He was licensed to preach by the Windham County Association of Congregational ministers, at Halifax, June 21, 1826, and preached at Salisbury and Amesbury, Mass., and Antrim, and Derring, N. H., for two years, when, on account of serious bronchial difficulty, he was obliged to relinquish active duties as a minister. He then gave himself up almost entirely to the duties of teaching, preaching occasionally. He took charge of the Hampton academy, Hampton, N. H., in the autumn of 1828, and remained there until the summer of 1833, when he was married to Miss Matilda LEAVITT, of Hampton, on the 29th of August, coming immediately to Brattleboro, and for the second time took charge of the Brattleboro academy; but in the autumn of 1837 was forced to resign on account of ill health. In 1845 he once more resumed his labors as principal of the academy and remained in charge a little more than eight years. After a vacation of five years,-he was again induced, in 1858, to take charge of the academy, but was again compelled to relinquish it in less than a year. He was the first superintendent of schools in this town, and held the office and also that of Postmaster at West Brattleboro a number of years. His last sickness was very brief, he being taken suddenly ill on Saturday, March 4, 1871, at about 11 o'clock, P. M., and passed to his rest at 1 P. M., on Monday, March 6, 1871,  his 73d birthday. His wife died December 13, 1841. He left three sons, Rev. W. J. HARRIS, D. D., Roswell HARRIS, Jr., and Rev. Charles Clarke HARRIS.

      Broughton D. HARRIS, son of WILDER HARRIS, was born at Chesterfield, N. H., August 16, 1822, and married Sarah B. HOLLISTER, of New York city. He was fitted for college at Chesterfield academy and at the Kimball Union academy, in Meriden, and entered Dartmouth in 1841, graduating in 1845. He studied law for a while, with Hon. Asa KEYES, of Brattleboro, then engaged in the newspaper business, being editor of the “Vermont Phoenix” for a while, and for several years was editor of the “Semi- Weekly Eagle.” 1n the spring of 1851, he went to Utah, as the first secretary of that Territory, Brigham YOUNG being at that time governor of the same. He soon, however, came in collision with Brigham and his saints respecting the discharge of his official duties, the result of which being that Mr. HARRIS finally refused to disburse the money placed in his hands by the government for the benefit of the Territory, as he regarded the proceedings of the Mormon authorities as being contrary to the laws of the United States. He then left Utah and. returned the money to the United States treasury, his action being approved by the government, and he was soon after appointed secretary and acting-governor of New Mexico, but his appointment was declined. In 1847, '48 and '49 he was register of probate here, and a member of the Vermont senate in 1860 and '61, being also chairman of the committee on military affairs. By appointment of the governor he was a member of the Peace Congress which assembled at Washington during the memorable winter of 1860-61. For several years he has been engaged in the construction of railroads, and was mainly instrumental in pushing through the enterprise of building the Brattleboro and Whitehall railroad. He is president of the Brattleboro Savings Bank, and has been one of its trustees since its organization.

      Nathan Birdseye WILLISTON, son of Rev. Payson WILLISTON, of East Hampton, Mass., was born August 1, 1797. He left his father's home at the age of twelve years, and from that time onward was dependent on his own resources. He came to Brattleboro in 1810, as clerk in the store of Ezra CLARK, a dealer in hardware and drugs. Winning the confidence of Mr. CLARK, he became a partner, and ultimately succeeded to the business. Later on he took into, partnership his brother-in-law, Ferdinand TYLER, and still later Mr. Charles F. THOMPSON. At the establishment of the Windham County Bank, in 1856, he became its president; and when that institution was merged into the First National Bank, in 1864, he continued in the same relationship to that organization, till his retirement in 1879. During the war he was engaged in the manufacture of carriages. Mr. WILLISTON was twice married, to Margaret, who died comparatively young, after bearing him five children, and to Caroline BREWSTER, whom he also survived. None of his children are living. Mr. WILLISTON died December 5, 1883, aged eighty-six years.

      Henry Dwight HOLTON, M. D., A. M., a resident of Brattleboro for the past fifteen years, was born at Saxton's River, Vt., July 24, 1838, married there Ellen Jane HOIT, November 19, 1862, who was born November 28, 1839, at Saxton's River, daughter of Theophilus and Mary Damon (CHANDLER) HOIT. The early training of Dr. HOLTON was of the strictest New England kind, and much of his success in life is undoubtedly due to the principles thus early instilled into his mind by his parents. His boyhood was like that of the majority of boys brought up on a farm. The following account of his life is from a book entitled, "Physicians and Surgeons of America," and a sketch of him, in a work published by the Rocky Mountain Medical Association. He was fitted for college at the Saxton's River Seminary, and studied two years with Dr. J. H. WARREN, of Boston, and two years with Professors VALENTINE and A. B. MOTT, of New York, attending lectures at the same time in the medical department of the University of New York, from which he graduated in March, 1860, settling successfully in Brooklyn, N. Y., Putney, Vt., and Brattleboro, Vt., his present residence. He has traveled extensively in Europe and this country. He is a member of the Connecticut River Valley Medical Society, of which he was secretary from 1862 to 1867, and president in 1868; the Vermont Medical Society, of which he was censor for several years, and the president in 1868; the American Medical Association and the British Medical Association, a corresponding member of the Boston Gynecological Society, and member of the American Public Health Association, and a delegate to the International Medical Congress at Brussels in 1875. He is also a member of the Rocky Mountain Medical Association. The Doctor has contributed some valuable papers to medical journals and to transactions of medical societies, and reported at one time "Mott's Cliniques" for the press. An article describing his apparatus for keeping in place sternal dislocations of the clavicle, and an article on diphtheria, are contributions which show research and ability. He was appointed by the court, in 1873, medical examiner to the Vermont Asylum for the Insane, and in the same year was elected by the legislature one of the trustees of the University of Vermont. He has been surgeon of the 12th regiment of Vermont militia. He is now professor of Materia Medica and General Pathology in the medical department of the University of Vermont. The honorary degree of A. M. was conferred upon him in 1879, by the University of Vermont. In June 1880, he was elected one of the vice-presidents of the American Medical Association. The Doctor is a vigorous orator and a clear thinker, and well up in a knowledge of the most approved and latest methods of relieving human suffering.

      Charles Newton DAVENPORT, the eldest son of Calvin N. and Lucy W. DAVENPORT, was born at Leyden, Mass., Oct. 20, 1830, and died at Brattleboro. April 12, 1882. He was educated in the common schools of his native town, at the Shelburne Falls (Mass.) academy, and at the Melrose seminary, in West Brattleboro. He entered the office of the Hon. Oscar L. SHAFTER, of Wilmington, Vt., as a student of law, March 10, 1851, and was admitted as an attorney at the April term, 1854, of the Windham county court. Immediately upon his admission to the bar, he formed a co-partnership with Mr. SHAFTER, which continued until November 10, 1855, when it was dissolved, in consequence of the decision of Mr. SHAFTER to permanently remain in California, where he had been since October, 1854, in the employment of the law firm of HALLECK, PARK, PEACHEY & BILLINGS. Mr. DAVENPORT remained at Wilmington in the active practice of his profession until his removal to Brattleboro, in March, 1868, where he resided until his death. Here he found a wider field, and more important causes were entrusted to his care, entailing upon him a correspondingly larger amount of labor. In June, 1875, desiring to be relieved of a portion of his largely increased and increasing business and responsibilities, which even then were over-tasking his POWERS, both mental and physical, he took into partnership with him Jonathan G. EDDY, which co-partnership existed until January 1, 1882 when he disposed of his business to James L. MARTIN, and with a view of regaining his health, which had become seriously impaired by his constant application and unremitting toil in the cause of his clients, he retired from the practice of the profession he loved so well.

      Mr. DAVENPORT married, December 12, 1854, Miss Louisa C. HAYNES, of Lowell, Mass., who bore him six children, four of whom died young. The other two, Charles H. DAVENPORT, the editor and publisher of the Windham county “Reformer,” and Herbert J. DAVENPORT, a graduate of Harvard law school, are living. Mrs. DAVENPORT died September 30, 1870, and Mr. DAVENPORT was married a second time, November 6, 1871, to Mrs. Roxana J. DUNKLEE, of Brattleboro. She died May 22, 1881.

      Paul CHASE was born in Guilford, Vt., where he resided until after his marriage with Miss Gracie HYDE, daughter of Dr. Dana HYDE, when he came to Brattleboro. He was high sheriff of the county about twenty years, colonel of militia, proprietor of the old Brattleboro Stage House, which was located where the Brooks House now stands, for twenty years. He died in 1854, aged seventy-six years. His children were Lucy, Harriet and Edwin H. The latter was born in Brattleboro in 1819, married Eveline DICKSINSON, by whom he had two children, and for his second wife he married Sue A. COWAN, of Kentucky. For the past twenty years he has carried on an extensive distillery in Bryantsville, Ky., spending his summers in Brattleboro.

      Bela N. CHAMBERLAIN, son of John, was born at Newport, N. H., June 14, 1823, and in 1840 commenced to learn the hatter's trade in his native town, where he remained until 1853. In 1847 he married H. Jane CRAN, the union being blessed with four children, only one of whom, Herbert B., is living. In 1854 the latter came to Brattleboro with his father, and formed a partnership with Henry POND, of Keene, N. H., under the firm name of POND & CHAMBERLAIN, dealers in hats, caps and furs. From 1862 to 1868 the firm was CHAMBERLAIN & FRANK, since which time Mr. CHAMBERLAIN has carried on the business alone, being now one of the oldest business men in Brattleboro, there being but two other merchants in business who were here when he came.

      Timothy VINTON was born in Reading, Mass., January 5, 1803. When he was only a year old he was left fatherless, and his mother soon after removed to Leonminster, Mass., where he received a common school education. At the age of twenty-one he went to work in a paper-mill, and in 1830 commenced business on his own account, remaining in Leonminster until 1836. During that year he went to Fitchburg, Mass., where, in company with Alvah BROOKS, he was in the paper business until 1843, after which, until 1847, he was engaged in the same business at Pepperell, Mass. Since 1847 he has been engaged in paper manufacture in Brattleboro. Mr. VINTON married Caroline WOODCOCK, in November, 1828, who bore him five children, and died in 1878. Two of the children, John F. and William H., are living.

      Dr. Dan P. WEBSTER, born at Northfield, Vt., in 1845, graduated from the Burlington medical college in 1867, and immediately commenced practice in Putney, remaining there until 1882, when he came to Brattleboro. Dr. WEBSTER represented Putney in the legislature from 1872 to '74, was State senator in 1878, was State railroad commissioner from 1878 to '80, and from 1874 to '76 sergeant-general of the State militia, being on the staff of Gov. Asahel PECK.

      Dr. David P. DEARBORN came to Brattleboro immediately after the late war, and has been in practice here since. At the age of twenty-five years he enlisted as a private in Co. F, 4th N. H. Vols., at Keene, N. H., July 3, 1861. Here he was rapidly promoted, as follows: 2d Lieut., Co. G, August 18, 1862; 2d asst. surgeon, December 16, 1862; 1st asst. surgeon, May 2, 1864; surgeon, November 9, 1864, being mustered out of service August 23, 1865.

      Leavitt R. SARGENT was born in Dummerston, Vt., October 7, 1822, received a common school education, and remained on the farm with his father until twenty-one years of age, when, in 1843, he commenced the manufacture of sleighs, remaining in that business two years, in company with Oscar DIX, a brother-in-law. In 1845 he came to Brattleboro and worked at the carpenter trade two years, then formed a partnership with H. P. GREEN, which lasted six years, during which time he lost one of his hands in a planing machine. In 1861 he formed a partnership with Frank HARRIS for the manufacture of hand sewing machines, which business he continued six years, employing about forty men. In 1852 Mr. SARGENT married Maria LAWTON and has one child, Jennie, the wife of Prescott WHITE.

      George PERSONS was born in Jamaica, Vt., March 3, 1804, where he learned the mason's trade. He married Polly CHASE, and came to Brattleboro in 1848, where he has since resided, having reared a family of one son and four daughters. He had charge of the mason work at Vermont Asylum for the Insane twenty-five years. Mr. PERSONS celebrated his golden wedding October 24, 1883.

      Asa PUTNAM came to Brattleboro from Warren, Mass., about 1780, locating upon the farm now owned by George CLARK, where he reared a family of nine children, the last of whom, Sylvia, wife of Z. HAMILTON, died October 2, 1883. Josiah, his fourth son, was born here in 1781, married Susan W., daughter of Dr. DICKERMAN, and died here March 24, 1864, on the old DICKERMAN homestead. His children are Beda G., wife of Elisha W. PROUTY; Henry, of Watertown, N. Y.; John L., residing in Cheshire county, N. H.; and A. D. PUTNAM, who has been in the dental business here since 1846.

      Abel JOY, from Rehoboth, Mass., settled in Guilford with his father, David 2d, about 1760. He resided there a few years, then came to Brattleboro and built the house now owned by W. F. RICHARDSON, just south of the East village, where he died in 1813. He married Elizabeth M. CHASE, October 28, 1779, by whom he reared a family of nine children. Mrs. JOY died June 28, 1843. John M., son of Abel, still resides in Brattleboro.

      Thomas, son of Sylvanus SHERWIN, was born in Newfane, subsequently settled in Whitingham, built a tannery there and carried on the business several years, and died about 1827. He married Marion PARKS and reared six children, four of whom are living, as follows: Nathan, in Athens, Vt.; Orrin, in Plainfield, N. J.; and Eleanor, the wife of Horace HINKSON. Asa, second son of Thomas, was born in Whitingham, March 7, 1820, and when thirteen years of age came to Brattleboro, learned the pattern maker's trade and still resides here. He married Sophia E. LARABEE, and for his second wife, Lemira EDDY. He has two children living.

      Francis A. WELLS was born in Leyden, Mass., in 1829, and came to Brattleboro in 1857, where he still resides. Mr. WELLS resided in California about five years, and on his return, in 1857, the vessel, the "Central America," was wrecked off the coast of South Carolina, and Mr. WELLS, in company with two others, after floating on the wheel-house of the wrecked vessel for sixteen hours, were picked up by a Norwegian barque.

      Alexander G. ALLEN, a native of Boston, Mass., came to Brattleboro in 1830, and carried on the cabinet making business here. In 1837 he went to Pensacola, Fla., where he died of yellow fever, in November, 1839. He married Cordelia BROOKS, daughter of Samuel M. BROOKS, and reared two children, Henry J. and Alexander G., both of whom reside here. Mrs. ALLEN died in May, 1880.

      Samuel M. BROOKS, from West Springfield, Mass., came to Brattleboro in 1815, locating upon the Fort Dummer farm. He reared seven children and died in March, 1854, aged sixty-four years. Simon, son of Samuel M., was born on the old farm, November 22, 1815, married Mary SPRING and has reared five children.

      William GOULD was born here in 1814, learned the gas fitters and plumber's trade, and when seventeen years of age began the manufacture of copper pumps, which business he has followed since, at one time also manufacturing lead pipe. He has done the plumbing work of the Vermont Asylum for the Insane ever since that institution was established.

      William A. CONANT, born at Concord, Mass., in 1804, came to Brattleboro in 1829, and has resided here since, being, for the past forty years, engaged in the manufacture of violins. He married Harriet E. SALISBURY and has reared eight children.

      Benjamin F. BINGHAM, who has been principal of the Brattleboro High school since 1863, was born in Cornwall, Vt., April 7, 1824. He began his career as a teacher by instructing a common school in his native town. He then taught a select school two or three years, at West Cornwall, when, having received an invitation to teach in West Rutland, he was at the head of a flourishing school there for eight years.

      Adolphus STEBBINS, son of Levi, was born at West Brattleboro, November 11, 1779. Mr. STEBBINS was a wagon maker, and, it is said, made the first wagon ever built in this town. He carried on that business at West Brattleboro until 1832, when he carne to the East village and built the shop now occupied by son, J. H. STEBBINS.

      Hon. Parley STARR was born at Colchester, Vt., August 20, 1813, lived several years at Milton, and finally, at the age of twenty-one years, started out into the world to make his own way. Coming to Jacksonville, in Windham county, he began work at the tanner's trade, and in the course of a few years was at the head of a large leather manufactory. He represented the town of Whitingham in the legislature of 1852 '56 and '72, was a member of the State senate in 1859-'60, was a justice of the peace eleven years, trustee of the Provident Institution for Savings five years, and a director of the Brattleboro Bank seventeen years. In 1862 he opened a recruiting office for enlisting volunteers and was appointed a State agent to look after and provide for the families of absent soldiers. In 1873 he began a permanent residence in Brattleboro and has been president of the People's National Bank since its organization. Mr. STARR married Clarissa BLANCHARD, of Whitingham, and has four children living.

      Elihu H. THOMAS was born in Worcester, Mass., October 30, 1802, and when quite young came to Brattleboro to reside with his uncle, Elihu HOTCHKISS. He married Abigail BANGS, in 1824, and reared nine children, five of whom are now living. Elihu H. Jr., in Brattleboro. Mr. THOMAS was a very enterprising man. He learned paper manufacturing and at one time had a mill in Brattleboro, one at Hinsdale, N. H., and one in Ohio, where he also manufactured pins and combs, and also a fanning-mill factory in Brattleboro. At one time he had a tannery here, near the present site of the depot, and was also the first to take daguerreotypes in this locality. In 1832 he was sent to England and France, in the interest of paper manufacturers, to study their process of manufacture, where he remained two years. In 1848 he went to Boston, where he was engaged in perfecting a sewing machine. In 186o he went to California, where he engaged in hotel keeping, the manufacture of mining machinery and in other enterprises. About 1874 he returned to Vermont, locating at North Bennington, where he died February 8, 1876. Mrs. THOMAS died August 4, 1867, in California.

      Jesse HADLEY was one of the early settlers of Brattleboro, locating in the northeastern part of the town. Jesse, Jr., was born here in 1782, married Abigail FLETCHER, reared a family of eight children, and died in 1840. Only one of his three surviving sons, Hannibal, is residing in Brattleboro. He was born here in 1812, and carried on a butchering business from 1832 to 1875.

      Edward A. STEARNS was born at Warwick, Mass., in 1806, and came to Brattleboro in 1831. In 1841 he purchased a rule factory of S. M. CLARK, and was engaged in the manufacture of rules until his death, July 29, 1856. Mr. STEARNS married Elizabeth C. SALISBURY, in 1834, who still resides here, with her only son, Edward A., born in 1839.

      Jonathan HERRICK was born at Beverly, Mass., September 26, 1743, came to Brattleboro among its early settlers, married Mehitable FRENCH, and reared a family of twelve children -- six sons and six daughters. The sixth son, Seth, was born in Brattleboro, April 16, 1786; he married Melinda COUGHLAN, in 1815, by whom he reared two sons and two daughters. She died in 1842, and in 1844 he married Sarah A. POTTER, by whom he reared five children. Mr. HERRICK died June 16, 1848. Mrs. HERRICK is still living. Of the children residing in Brattleboro are John N., a farmer, Ellen C., wife of A. W. STOWE, and Seth N. The latter was born September 20, 1819, was educated at the West Brattleboro academy, and has been engaged most of his life in mercantile pursuits, a portion of the time in New York city. He has held the office of collector of taxes from 1862 to 1875, deputy sheriff and collector from 1862 to 1868 and from 1870 to the present time, high sheriff in 1869 and '70, selectman continuously from 1868 to the present time, and represented the town in the legislature of 1866-67.

      George E. CROWELL was born at Manchester, N. H., September 29, 1834. When two years of age his parents moved to Concord, N. H., and soon after to Hopkinton, N. H., where George received the educational advantages of only the common schools. In 1854 his father died, after which he assisted his mother in carrying on their little farm, until 1866, when he came to Brattleboro to edit the agricultural department of the “Record and Farmer.” Two years later he established the “Household Magazine,” which he has since conducted with such unusual ability and success, and has also engaged in various manufacturing and village improvement enterprises. He married Miss Mary L. SPENCER, daughter of Elijah SPENCER, of Brattleboro; March 14, 1872, and has four children, -- Christie, born January 24, 1873; Herbert S., born February 24, 1874; Esther L., born October 8, 1876; and Percy V., born January 21, 1884.

      Benajah DUDLEY, Sen., came to Brattleboro, from Killingworth, Conn., about 1787, locating upon the farm now owned by John P. LISCOM, on road 42. After two or three changes of location he finally settled in West Brattleboro, where he remained until his death, in 1850. His wife, Elizabeth REDFIELD, died in 1846. Their family consisted of seven children, as follows Linus, born in 1786; Benajah, born in 1791; Roswell, born in 1794. 1794; born in 1799; Freedom, born in 1801; Thankful, born in 1805; and Sybil, born in 1809. The only one now living is Capt. Benajah, who received his title from being captain of a militia company. He married Patience HARRIS, of this town, February 1o, 1819, who bore him six children, all girls. Capt. DUDLEY has been quite noted as a school teacher in this part of the State, seeming to have possessed just the amount of government and executive ability for the old-time school. He is now, at the age of ninetythree years, bright in intellect and unusually robust for one of that great age.

      Timothy ADKINS was born in Connecticut, July 5, 1793. In 1808 he came to Guilford, Vt., and learned the hatter's trade of James FOSDICK, and subsequently carried on the business in Chester, Vt., several years. In 1818 he married Lucinda GRAVES, of Guilford, and located in West Brattleboro, where he carried on the hatter's trade and kept a general store for a number of years. Two of his family of four children, John F., and Diantha L. ARMS, are living.

      John THOMAS came from London, Eng., in 1792, and after a year's residence in Boston, located in Brattleboro, upon the farm now owned by his grandson, George H., on road 13. Here he carried on a brewery for a time but died in 1805. His son George now resides on the old homestead. Another son, Joshua, resides in Ohio.

      Calvin SARGENT, son of Thomas, was born in this town, on road 11, Nov. 9, 1763. He married Abigail MILLER, of Dummerston, and settled upon the farm now owned by J. N. BALISTIER, on road 10, where he died in 1834. Mrs. SARGENT died in 1849. Three of their nine children, Alfred, Olive and Electa, now reside in the town, one, Nelson, resides in Denver, Col., and one, Mrs. Fanny MILLER, in Bangor, N. Y.

      Ransom COVEY, was born at Acton, Vt., and came to Brattleboro about 1819, locating upon the farm now owned by his daughter, Almira L., wife of M. R. ROBBINS, where he died, in 1867. Of his children now living, are Almira L., above mentioned, Edson A., and Calista L., wife of Josiah PUTNAM, of Annawan, Ill.

      Jonathan DUNKLEE, with two brothers, Robert and Joseph, from Brimfield, Conn., came to-Brattleboro among its earliest settlers. Jonathan settled on road 4, upon the farm now owned by his great-grandson, Edward C., the old homestead never having been owned out of the family. Jonathan started for the battle of Bennington, but it was over before he got there. He married Sarah Scott, and reared ten children. At one time, it is related, Mrs. DUNKLEE, while on a horse-back journey to the western part of the town, was chased by wolves, and only escaped by climbing into the branches of a tree, when the horse made his way home and the family came to her rescue. Solomon, son of Jonathan, was born on the old farm, in 1783. He married Anna GOULD, reared four children, Clarissa, Edward C., Ruth and Martha, and died January 7, 1865. Edward L. was born January 27, 1814, married Abigail NEWTON, widow of Calvin GOULD, and reared two children.

      Benjamin CHAMBERLAIN, from Winchester, Mass., made the first settlement on the farm now owned by Charles WHITAKER, on road 1. He reared a family of fourteen children. His son Cyrus was born here, reared nine children and died in 1867, aged seventy-one years. Luke, another son, died here in 1883, aged ninety years.

      Abel CARPENTER was one of the earliest settlers in the western part of the town. He came from Rhode Island in 1785 and located upon a farm on road 19. He was twice married, reared twelve children, and died August 8, 1862. His son Humphrey carried on the old farm until his death, May 17, 1883, the house now standing thereon having been built by Abel in 1800. Humphrey married Almira JOY and reared four children, two of whom, Andrew D. and Ida, are now living on the old homestead with their mother. James CARPENTER, a cousin of Abel, located on road 33 at an early date, upon the farm now owned by Clark STARK. He reared a large family of children, but the family removed to Ohio many years ago.

      Joseph HAYWOOD, from Winchester, Mass., came to Brattleboro in 1793, and located on road 44, upon the farm now owned by G. W. WARD. He reared eight children, and died in 1857, aged ninety years. Two of the children are living, Sally, widow of B. F. HARRIS, born August 15, 1792, and Nancy, wife of T. J. HOLLAND, of Townshend.

      Samuel WARRINER, for many years a justice of the peace here, came from Wilbraham, Mass., in 1774, and located on the old WARRINER homestead, on road 46. He reared a family of ten children. Daniel, son of Samuel, born on the old homestead in 1785, married Mary RICHARDSON, reared eight children, and died in 1866. Since the latter's death his son Henry has occupied the old farm. The house thereon was built by Samuel in 1800, it having took seventy men to raise the frame, which is all made of hard wood.

      Jabez WOOD, from Rehoboth, Mass., came to Brattleboro in 1776, locating on road 45, though he was offered the land where the East village now is for twenty cents an acre. Only one of his ten children are living, Israel, born August 24, 1801. He has reported the weather record for the Brattleboro papers since 1838. Aaron, son of Jabez, was born on the old farm, now owned by his son, John S., May 18, 1791, married Relief STODDARD, and died May 22, 1875. His wife died September 24, 1851.

      Thomas AKLEY, a Revolutionary soldier, came to this town from Boston, Mass., just after the close of the war, and made the first settlement on the farm now owned by his grandson, Henry, on road 39, where he reared fourteen children. Almon, son of Thomas, born on the old farm in 1790, married Harriet FESSENDEN, for his first wife, by whom he had eight children, and for his second wife, Mrs. Florinda CHURCH, who survives him, he having died in 1879. His son Henry, born in 1830, and who now occupies the old homestead, married Florinda E. CHURCH and has two children, Eugene H. and Ida F. He is the present third selectman of the town.

      John FIELD, a descendant of Zachariah FIELD who came to Dorchester, Mass., in 1629 or '30, from England, was born in Amherst, Mass., May 18, 1740, and came to Brattleboro about 1785, locating upon the farm now owned by O. L. MINER, the house he occupied being still in existence, on road 47. He married Rachel WELLS, reared six children, and died in 1819. His son David, born in 1789, was a shoemaker and settled at West Brattleboro. He married Pattie WOOD. Only one of his three children, Mary L., wife of Hannibal HADLEY, of Brattleboro, is living. David died June 19, 1819.

      Col. George W. HOOKER was born at Salem, N. Y., February 6, 1838, and when three years of age came with his widowed mother to Londonderry, Vt., where he remained until fifteen years of age, when he went to Bellows Falls and entered the employ of Mr. FLINT as a traveling salesman, remaining there until the opening of the war, in 1861. In August of that year he entered the 4th Vt. Vols., as a private, and soon after was made a sargeant-major; was 2d and 1st lieutenant in 1862, and then placed by order of Gen. FRANKLIN on the staff of Gen. STOUGHTON, as A. D. S.; thence on the staff of Gen. George J. STANNARD; was dangerously wounded at Cold Harbor, June 3, 1864; promoted by order of the secretary of war for gallant conduct, to assistant adjutant of volunteers, and was commissioned captain by the president, served thence as chief of staff of Gen. Charles DEVENS, and was breveted major and lieutenant-colonel, for meritorious conduct in front of Richmond; and was engaged in nearly all the battles in which the army of the Potomac took part, being mustered out of service in January, 1866. Since the war he has been actively engaged in manufacturing and banking interests at Brattleboro, and also served on the staff of Governor PROCTOR in 1878-80; was delegate at large in the Republican national convention at Chicago; member of Republican national committee, also member of executive committee and assistant secretary; member of Vermont legislature. 1880-82; department commander of G. A. R., 1880-81, and of Boys in Blue, department of Vermont; and was also unanimously elected judge advocate general of the State, by the legislature in joint session. In 1882 he was elected sergeant-at-arms, of the house of representatives, at Washington, for the 47th congress.

      James FISK, son of Samuel, was born at Smithfield, R. I., and when three years of age removed with his parents to Adams, Mass. Subsequently he was engaged in a manufacturing business there until 1837, when he removed to Bennington, remained one year, then came to Brattleboro and resided here until his death, June 4, 1883. Mr. FISK also sold goods on the road with his son James, twenty-four years, and was somewhat noted as an inventor. He built the old Revere House in 1849, opened it as a temperence hotel in 1850, but was obliged to give up the enterprise for want of patronage. He married Leone, daughter of Stephen GREENLIEF, of Brattleboro, their only living child being the wife of George W. HOOKER. Their son James was noted as an extensive railroad and steamboat operator.

      Stephen GREENLIEF was one of the early settlers of the town, coming here from Boston, Mass., in 1868, or '69. He purchased a tract of about 800 acres of land, built a log house where the American House now stands, which he used as a hotel and store, and resided here until his death, rearing a large family of children. Stephen Jr., was born in Boston, in 1758, came to Brattleboro with his father, and at the age of eighteen or nineteen years he enlisted in the Revolutionary army and was at the Battle of Bennington. He settled in West Brattleboro, and resided there until his death. Mrs. Love FISK, who resides with her daughter, Mrs. George W. HOOKER, was his second wife. Stephen, Jr., built the first saw and grist-mill in the place.

      Nathan MILLER, son of William, was born in Dummerston in 1795, married Philinda BUCK, and resided on the old homestead, carrying on the business of farming, and harness making until 1832, when he came to Brattleboro and carried on the harness business here until his death, December 19, 1871. By his first wife he had nine children, two of whom, Nathan W. and Emma, are living, in this town. He married for his second wife Anna WORKS, of Putney, by whom he had one child, Fred W., who now carries on the harness business here.

      William McCUNE (now spelled CUNE) came from Massachusetts at an early date and located near the center of the town. He raised a company and served in the Revolutionary war, and resided here until his death, rearing a large family of children. His sons, Isaac, William and John, settled in the town. John married Sally HARRIS and resided on the homestead until his death. His son, William P., born July 16, 1807, married Mary Ann GOODHUE and reared three children, William, Mary and Julia, none of whom are now living. He has been a merchant here about forty years, and is now president of the Vermont National Bank.

      William Howard BEGELOW was born in Easton, Washington county, N. Y., December 21, 1829. His father was a native of Hudson, N. Y., of which town he was supervisor for many years, and was also a member of the New York Legislature. William H. remained with his father until seventeen years of age, attended school in the meantime, and graduated from WILLIAMS college, Mass., in 1852. After his graduation he taught during the fall term in the Brattleboro academy, and commenced the study of medicine with Dr. Willard ARMS. The following winter, 1852-'53, he assisted the Rev. James TUFFTS in Munroe academy, Mass., and after commencing the spring term was interrupted in his work by an attack of hemorrhage of the lungs. Following the advice of his medical attendants, he abandoned all literary and professional hopes and sought an active out-door life in the West. For a time he was with a corps of engineers, but finally located in Sioux City, Iowa, where he organized the firm of BEGELOW & WHITE, commencing the real estate and banking business, in 1856. In 1864 he went to Chicago, Ill., and became a member of the firm of BEGELOW Bros., manufacturers and dealers in lumber. In 1874 he came to West Brattleboro and located on the HAYES place, the ancestral home of his wife, and where he died, August 12, 1882. Mr. BEGELOW married Mary Ann HAYES, daughter of Dea. Russell HAYES, November 18, 1856, a fruit of the union being two sons, Russell Anson, born June 2, 1859, and William H., Jr., born July 22, 1861. Mrs. BEGELOW still occupied the old homestead.

      Levi GOODENOUGH came to Brattleboro from South Hadley, Mass., in 1774, and located upon the farm now owned by his grandson, a son of Dwight, on road 41. He married Margaret FRAZIER, reared eleven children, only one of whom, Alonzo, is living, and died in September, 1848, aged eighty-three years. Winsor GOODENOUGH, son of Levi, born on the old homestead in December, 1800, married Elizabeth, daughter of Orrin PRATT, and reared three sons, Dwight, J. P., and Simon, Winsor died in 1862. His widow, born December 4, 1803, resides on the old homestead. Alonzo, son of Levi, born July 31, 1808, married Relief PLUMMER and reared three children, all living, one, Alonzo, having manufactured brick here for many years, making the first brick used in the construction of the Vermont Insane Asylum buildings.

      Samuel EARL, one of the early settlers in the western part of the town, was born in Lancaster, Mass., July 30, 1765. His parents moved to Guilford, Vt., soon after, while he came to Brattleboro in 1787, and bought the farm now owned by Mellen C. GOODENOUGH. He married Sarah WILDER, in 1789, who was born in Guilford, Vt., March 23, 1768. They lived in a log house until 1793, when he built a frame house, which is now standing, occupied by the present owner. He lived and died on the old place where he first settled, dying May 20, 1854. His wife died November 10, 1843. Of their children Rachel died in infancy; Alpheus married and left town; Newhall died in youth; Samuel, born April 19, 1796, remained on the home farm, was an energetic man and knew how to make a success of farming. For several years he owned the largest dairy in town. He was a man of sound judgment, and often held offices of public trust. He married Lydia MARSH, who was born in Plymouth, Vt., June 8, 1803, and died March 17, 1871. Samuel died March 20, 1870. Rufus married and left town. Sarah was born December 27, 1800, and was married September 24, 1822, to Asa MARSH, who was born in Plymouth, Vt. December 27, 1798. She lived, with the exception of a few years, in town, and died here. Phoebe was born December 31, 1803, married Otis LYNDE, and lived and died in town. Angelina married and left town.

      Arad STOCKWELL, son of Perez, was born in Marlboro, Vt., May 18, 1773. He married Sally HARRIS, of Brattleboro, June 1, 1797, and a few years after came to Brattleboro, locating upon what is now the town poor farm, resided there until 1836, then moved to road 32, upon the farm now owned by his daughter, Mrs. S. P. MILLER, where he died, February 1, 1856. His widow, or "Aunt Sally," as she was familiarly called, died September 21, 1883, aged over 104 years, retaining her mental faculties until the last. They reared seven children, five of whom are living, as follows: Maria, widow of Alfred SIMONDS, Cynthia A., widow of W. H. GOULD, Sabrina, widow of John B. MILLER, and Arad H., in Brattleboro; and Calista R., wife of Lucius FOX, in Wilmington. Asaph, son of Perez STOCKWELL, was born in Marlboro, married Lucy HARRIS, a sister of Sally, and settled in the western part of this town. He reared a family of nine children, and died about thirty years ago.

      Royal GLADDEN, burn in England in 1769, came to Brattleboro in 1799, and settled in the western part of the town. He married Martha ROBERTS (his second wife), reared seven children, and died in 1847. His wife died in 1832. Two of the children, Martha G., widow of Jacob DUNKLEE, Jr., and Elizabeth, wife of Daniel ESTERBROOK, now reside here.

      John, son of John WEATHERHEAD, was born in Guilford, July 16, 1808, married Olive ROCKWELL, and a few years after his marriage came to Brattleboro, where he has resided since, being an extensive dealer in live stock. He has two children, Luke H., and Hiram F.

      Asa WHEELER came to Brattleboro, from Warwick, Mass., in the spring of 1849, and the following year commenced the manufacture of edged tools, and the subsequently, in company with his son, G. B., added the manufacture of skates. In 1860 his factory was carried away by a freshet, after which he commenced the manufacture of counter sinks, which continued several years. He died November 12, 1880, aged seventy-seven years. His son, G. B., is now a Baptist clergyman of East Hardwick, Vt.

      Ebenezer FISHER came to Brattleboro, from Massachusetts, when there were but fourteen families in the town. He first located on road 28, then removed to the farm just south of the same, the deed of which, now in the possession of his grandson, Wilder E., bears the date April 9, 1770. Upon this farm he resided until' his death, in 1831, aged ninety years. He reared a family of fourteen children. Ebenezer, Jr., born here in 1777, resided on the old farm and manufactured brick many years. He married Lucy FISHER and reared ten children, and died September 1, 1836. Three of his children are living -- Russell F., in Chester, Vt.; Sybil, widow of Ezra SHEPARD, in Jamaica; and Elias W., residing at Centerville. He married Lectana WEATHERHEAD, of Guilford, and reared two children, Adaline and Chester L.

      Willard, son of Isaiah RICHARDSON, came here with his father, in 1797, when an infant. He subsequently settled upon the farm now owned by Joseph H. PLUMMER, reared five children, and died in 1883.

      Leonard BEMIS came to Brattleboro, from Weston, Mass., about 1825. He reared a family of five children. Joseph, his brother, came two years later and still resides here. He was born in 1803, married Debora GLEASON, and has three children.

      Isaiah RICHARDSON, a native of Petersham, Mass., came to this town in 1800, locating on what is now the town farm. He had a family of two sons, Isaiah and Willard, and five girls, Matilda, Margaret, Esther, Mary, and Alvira. He died March 15, 1830. Isaiah, Jr., was eight years old when he came to Brattleboro with his father, and has been a resident of the town most of the time since, though he now resides in Massachusetts. He married Betsey STEARNS, of Brattleboro, and reared seven sons and three daughters. Only one of the children, William F., now resides in town.

      Dea. Joshua WILDER came to Brattleboro, from Westminster, at an early day, when there was but one house where the village now is. He located upon the farm now occupied by his grandchildren, George A., James R., and MARSHALL. He reared twelve children, and died March 21, 1828, aged ninety-four years. Solomon, son of Joshua, married Lovina MILLER, of Dummerston, settled on the old farm, and reared nine children. He died March 16, 1832. Four of the children are now living, George A., MARSHALL and James R., on the old homestead, and Deacon Joseph in Brattleboro.


      Of the soldiers of 1776 who have lived in Brattleboro, were the following: Oliver CHAPIN, Reuben CHURCH, Obadiah GILL, William HARRIS, James DENNIS, Daniel HARRIS, Isaac PRATT, Oliver JONES, Ichabod KING, Daniel STEARNS, David WELLS, Thomas AKELY, Samuel BENNET, Joel BOLSTER, William BUTTERFIELD, John BEMIS, Jabez CLARK, Benjamin CHAMBERLAIN, Benajah DUDLEY, Warren ESTERBROOKS, Salathiel HARRIS, Elihue HOTCHKISS, Income JONES, Bromer JENKS, Joseph JOY, Elias JONES, Israel JONES, Thaddeus MILLER, John KELSEY, Hezekiah SALISBURY, Levi SHUMWAY, Sylvanus SARTWELL, Reuben STEARNS, Thomas SIMPSON, Nathaniel SAMPSON, Samuel WILLINGTON, Lemuel THOMPSON, William KING, Cushing KING, Royal TYLER, and John ALEXANDER.

      During the late civil war the town furnished men as follows: Of officers, forty; of privates, second Vermont regiment, fifty-five; third, twenty; fourth, thirty-seven; fifth, two; sixth, three; seventh, three; eighth, twenty-three; ninth, eighteen; tenth, one; eleventh, eleven; twelfth, two; sixteenth, forty-three; seventeenth, two; sharp-shooters, eight; first cavalry, twenty-five; U. S. Colored Vols., three; twelfth LT. S. infantry, two; navy, ten; other State organizations, seven; and of substitutes, fifty-five, making a total of 370 men.


      The First Congregational church. located at West Brattleboro.-The first religious worship ever held in the town was probably at Fort Dummer; where Rev. Ebenezer HINSDALE was chaplain from 1728 to 1742; and again in 1748, Andrew GARDNER is mentioned as chaplain of a company at the same place. The first religious service ever held in the county, however, was probably the service held by Rev. John WILLIAMS, one of the Indian captives from Deerfield, at the mouth of William's river, in Rockingham, in 1704. In 1770, Rev. Abner REEVE, from HADLEY, was appointed the first settled minister of the town, and during that year the Congregational church of West Brattleboro was organized. Mr. REEVE was of the order called the N. E. Calvinistic Congregational, a graduate of Yale college, and father of judge Tapping REEVE, who founded the celebrated law school at Litchfield, Conn., and who was principal of that institution as late as 1816, Mr. REEVE continued his labors with the society until 1794, and died in 1798, as the headstone at his grave, near where stood the old meeting-house in which he officiated, testifies, in the following inscription:

DIED MAY THE 16TH, 1798,
"Farewell, dear friends,
We part in pain;
But hope to live 
And meet again."
      About the time Mr. REEVE was sinking under the infirmities of age, Rev. William WELLS settled in town. He was a native of Biggleswade, in England, and had been for twenty-three years a dissenting minister at Brownsgrove, in Worcestershire, Eng. He was at once invited to take the spiritual charge of the church and society, and entered upon his work in March, 1794. In March, 1814, Mr. WELLS gave up his charge, the care of the whole town being too much for his advanced years and infirm health. He was succeeded by Rev. Caleb BURGE, who officiated from 1814 to 1819. Rev. Jedediah L. STARK officiated from 1821 to 1839; Rev. Corbin KIDDER from 1839 to 1845; Rev. Joseph CHANDLER from 1845 to 1870, the present pastor being Rev. C. H. MERRILL. Of the early church, the Rev. Lewis GROUT, of West Brattleboro, in an historical discourse delivered December 31, 1876, speaks as follows:
"Among these points of interest maybe reckoned a few facts and traditions respecting the first meeting-house. The house stood about eight rods west of the old cemetery, half a mile northward of the Harris hill, three or four rods northward from the present Smith MILLER line, or about ten rods westward from the Rev. Abner REEVE's grave. The spot is marked by a small hollow or basin, as if there were a cellar under the building; and on the westerly border of the basin is a good sized boulder, as if this stone might have been, at one time, a part of the foundation. The house was gambrel-roofed, and it is said to have been built by the town; but as to the exact time we have no certain record. "Thompson's Gazetteer" says it was small, and built in 1772. In the historical address given by Charles K. FIELD, Esq., at the Brattleboro centennial celebration, on the 4th of July last, the orator spoke of it as reputed to have been built of logs, like a block-house, in 1770. In the record of the annual meeting of the town in March, 1771, it is said that John HOUGHTON was chosen surveyor of the road from the Wind-falls to the meeting-house, which is proof that there was such a house at that time; and the records of the town speak of a meeting of the town as held there in April, 1772. Quite likely there may have been a block-house of logs, used for a time at least, for public worship, until another, which seems to have been a regular framed house, could be built. But whether the really first place of worship, built and used in this town, was made of logs, or not, I think there can hardly be a doubt that what is generally called the first meeting-house was a framed building, and that it was erected as early as the year 1771 or 1772. It will be remembered that when steps were taken for the building of a new house, near the site of the one we now occupy, the town authorized the selling of the old one to Mr. Israel SMITH; and some of the older inhabitants of our day tell us it was taken down and moved about a mile to the northward, to the HAPGOOD or KITTREDGE place, this side of the DUNKLEE homestead, there set up and occupied for some years as a dwelling house, and finally consumed by fire. It is also said that the porch of it was brought down and used for some years by Samuel ELLIOT, Esq., as a lawyer's office, and that this part of it is still extant in the first or ground story of the house at the east end of this village, just the other side of the covered bridge, and now owned by Mrs. STREETER."
      In 1785 a large, convenient church building was erected, which was destroyed by fire February 2, 1845. The present building was soon after commenced. It is a wood structure, capable of seating 350 persons, and is said to have cost $2,750.00, though it is now valued, including grounds, at $7,500.00. The society now has 190 members.

      The Center Congregational church, located on Main street, East village. -- Sometime previous to the resignation of Rev. Mr. WELLS, the East village had commenced a rapid, thriving growth. Mr. WELLS, whose residence was nearby, had been in the habit of officiating two or three times a month at the East village, in the old school-house, then standing on the village common. The room proving too small for the meetings, however, a proposition was made that a house of worship should be erected, in which services should be held a part of the time, without dividing the parish; but this plan did not meet with general favor in the town, so it was determined to form a new society, erect a church building, and invite Mr. WELLS to be their minister.

      Accordingly fourteen members withdrew from the church at West Brattleboro, and July 15, 18 16, the new church was organized, with Rev, William WELLS as pastor, and John HOLBROOK as deacon.

      Grindall R. ELLIS, Esq., deeded to the society the land now known as the village common, on condition that the new edifice be located there. The society acted in conformity with these conditions, and the new edifice was dedicated August 22, 1816. Rev. Samuel WILLARD, of Deerfield, offering the dedicatory prayer, and Rev. Mr. Samuel PRATT, of Westmoreland, the concluding prayer. In 1842, the society finding their church building very much out of repair, and situated too far north for the convenience of a large portion of the congregation, concluded to remove it to Main street, and enlarge the building. This was accordingly done, the building being removed to the site it now occupies, upon laud deeded by the heirs of Francis GOODHUE, Esq., for the purpose. By this act they forfeited the right to the lands they had previously occupied. The new building was dedicated January 11, 1843, the dedicatory sermon being preached by Rev. Z. S. BARSTOW, D. D., of Keene, N. H., and the dedicatory prayer offered by Rev. Amos FOSTER, of Putney. The building will comfortably seat 600 persons, and is valued, including grounds, at $25,000.00. During the short ministry of Mr. WELLS, the society was increased by the addition of seventy-eight members, and it now has 281 members. Mr. WELLS officiated as pastor only three years, thus closing his long ministry of sixty years. He died at his home, in December, 1827, aged eighty-three years. His successors have been Rev. Jonathan McGEE, from January 13, 1819, to September 10, 1834; Rev. Charles WALKER, from January 1, 1835, to February 11, 1846; Rev. A. H. CLAPP, from October 14, 1846, to November 15, 1853; Rev. George P. TYLER, from November 16, 1853, to 1866; Rev. N. MIGHILL, from October, 1867, to 1875; Rev. George L. WALKER, to January 1, 1878; Rev. George E. MARTIN, July 1, 1878; Rev. S. A. MARTIN, July 9, 1879, and was dismissed September 6, 1883. The present pastor is Rev. Samuel H. LEE.

      The Brattleboro Unitarian Congregational Society, located on Main street. -- After the death of Rev. Mr. WILLIAMS, a large number of the members of the Congregational society, then under the charge of Rev. Jonathan McGEE, became dissatisfied with him as their pastor on account of certain doctrines which he preached, and because he refused to exchange pulpit services with several clergymen with whom Rev. Mr. WELLS had been accustomed to hold ministerial exchange. They finally withdrew from that society and formed a new society, known by the name of the "Brattleboro Unitarian Congregational Society." The organization of this society was effected in 1831, and a house of worship was erected on Main street during that year and finished early the next year. It was dedicated February 22, 1832. Rev. George W. HOSMER, of Northfield, Mass., preaching the sermon. On the same day Rev. Nathaniel THAYER, D. D., of Lancaster, Mass., and other clergymen being present, the following persons, Eben WELLS, Mary WELLS, Samuel A. ALLEN, Maria ALLEN, Lemuel WHITNEY, Sophia WHITNEY, S. D. CHAPIN, Eliza HYDE, and Eunice METCALF, united themselves into a Christian church, adopting and subscribing the same covenant which had been used under the ministry of Dr. WELLS, and which was at that time still in use in the Congregational church, under the charge of Mr. McGEE. The church was enlarged from time to time by the addition of other members. On the Sunday succeeding the dedication of the church, Mr. Addison BROWN, who had been preaching several months at Troy, N. Y., where he had organized a society, on invitation of the prudential committee of the society, commenced supplying the pulpit as a candidate, and after preaching about three months he received an invitation to settle as pastor of the church and accepted the same, his engagement at first being for three years. At the expiration of that time he renewed his engagement to supply the pulpit for five years, and after the expiration of that time his engagement was made annually during the remainder of his pastorate, which terminated near the close of 1845, he having preached for the society for nearly fourteen years in succession, with the exception of a few months' interruption on account of sickness. Since the close of his ministry to the society they have been supplied by a great number and variety of preachers, some for a brief period, others for a longer time. Those who have supplied the pulpit for the longest periods are Rev. G. G. INGERSOLL, D. D., now deceased, who preached for the society at several times; Rev. Farrington McINTIRE, who was ordained as pastor of the society, April 7, 1847, and closed his ministry at the end of that year; Rev. John L. RUSSELL, who continued with the society several months; Rev. Mellish I. MOTTE, Rev. Solon W. BUSH, and Rev. Francis C. WILLIAMS, each of whose ministry was three years or more; Rev. F. FROTHINGHAM, who was the society's pastor for over two years, and Rev. H. N. RICHARDSON, who supplied the desk for a little more than half a year. The present pastor is Rev. S. M. CROTHERS. The stone church erected by this society in 1874-'75, surpasses in durability and as a fine specimen of church architecture, anything of the kind in this place. It will comfortably seat 350 persons, and is valued, including grounds, at $50,000.00, its original cost being $40,000.00.

      St. Michael's Episcopal church, located on Main street.-Regular Episcopal services began to be held in Brattleboro, at "Dicksinson's Hall," in 1836, when a society was formed, under the name of St. Peter's, with some hopes of permanency, Rev. Charles DEVENS, a talented, promising young man acting as rector. Hon. John PHELPS and family, prominent actors in commencing this enterprise, moved to Maryland soon after its organization, thus withdrawing an influence that the infant society could ill afford to lose. After about two years services were held only occasionally, and then usually conducted at some place hired for the purpose, by the rector, three miles distant, at East Guilford. In 1852 accessions to the population of believers in this faith began to increase. In 1853 the society was re-organized, under its present name, services being at first conducted by Rev. G. C. EASTMAN, in a lower room of the town hall. Rev. Mr. EASTMAN resigned his charge April 15, 1854. Rev. William SOUTHGATE officiated from 1857 to April, 1860. Rev. A. P. MORRIS was invited to accept the rectorship October 10, 1860. Rev. Edmund ROWLAND occupied the desk in the summer previous to the advent of Mr. MORRIS. Rev. A. P. MORRIS was from Hamilton, C. W., and was rector of this church during most of the time of the late war of the rebellion. October 14, 1864, Rev. G. W. PORTER was invited to become rector of the parish. He accepted, and resigned after about two years' service. Rev. Francis W. SMITH accepted an invitation to fill the vacancy, April 3, 1867, and resigned December 30, 1868. March 19, 1869, Rev. Mr. HARRIS accepted an invitation of the parish to become its rector, and since November, 1874, Rev. William H. COLLINS has held the position. The church building, a frame and brick structure, was built in 1854, since which time, however, it has received many repairs and much improvement, so that it is now valued, including grounds, etc., at $8,000.00, and will seat 250 persons. In 1867 the society purchased a rectory, situated on Greene street, at an expense of $2,500.00. In 1871 they sold this rectory and purchased a lot on Tyler street, upon which, during the same year, a new rectory was built, costing about $6,000.00. The society now has 122 communicants.

      The Methodist Episcopal church, located at Brattleboro. -- Regular Methodist services date from the advent of Cyrus DAVIS, who came to this village about 1833, to superintend the printing department of the publishing house of Messrs. Holbrook & Co. When we were first made aware of Methodist preaching in the East village was in 1834, and Mr. DAVIS, a firm advocate and class leader of the order, was quite prominent in commencing and sustaining these services, which were first held in a small district school-house on Canal street. Between 1835 and '37 the society erected their first house of worship. This building was placed near the school-house they at first occupied on Canal street. Rev. William BREWSTER was the pastor of this church in 1837, and by his excellent character, eloquence and energy, considerable advance was made in building up the society. His worthy successor, Elder HARDING, was also a talented and effective preacher; but the organization was not fortunate in members who were able or willing to clear off the mortgage upon their church, and the advent of the Baptist church, born under its roof in 1840, seemed to exhaust the little vitality remaining in the society. The meeting-house passed out of their possession into the hands of "Millerites," so-called, in 1842. The Universalist society next obtained possession of this house and occupied it for their denominational purposes until their present house of worship was built, in 1850 and '51. The old house was then sold to Mr. W. ALEXANDER, who made such alterations as fitted it for a private residence.

      The Methodist society was, for a time, a thing of the past; but within seven years after their trials with the Millerites, etc., it was made evident that some of the "old leaven, hid in three measures of meal," yet remained. The society began to improve in both numbers and interest, so that it now has 250 members, with Rev. A. B. TRUAX, pastor. Their neat brick church, erected in 1880, will comfortably seat 400 persons, and is valued, including grounds, at $18,000.00.

      The First Baptist church, located on Main street. -- Some of the earliest settlers were Baptists, and there was Baptist preaching in the town at a very early date. In 1770 an aged Baptist minister by the name of WHIPPLE removed here from Groton, Conn., where he had been connected with the ancient Baptist church of that town, which was formed in 1705. He resided "over West river," and occasionally held meetings in his own house, though he more frequently preached in Guilford and Halifax. The meetings in his house were probably the first Baptist meetings held in town, and were among the earliest religious meetings held in this vicinity. Rev. Mr. REEVE, of the Congregational church, preached only a part of the time here, during the first three years of his ministry, alternating between Brattleboro and Guilford. So Rev. Mr. WHIPPLE divided his ministerial labors between Brattleboro, Guilford and Halifax. It is supposed that he died here, and that his grave is in the burying-ground near the school-house, in the West river district.

      In April, 1772, Dea. Jonathan PIERCE removed to Brattleboro from Norwich, Conn., he and his wife having been members of the church in connection with Rev. Mr. WHIPPLE. His daughter, Esther, was probably the first person ever baptized in the town. The- ordinance was administered by Rev. Ebenezer BAILEY, of Westmoreland, N. H., who was pastor of a large and respectable Baptist church there from 1773 to 1803. This first baptism was in the Connecticut river, near the village, which then consisted of only two or three houses. Subsequently, Rev. Mr. BAILEY baptized several others in the West river neighborhood, while he and Rev. Beriah WILLIS, and Rev. Richard WILLIAMS, of Guilford, occasionally preached. There was also Baptist preaching from time to time at the house of Dea. PIERCE, a few rods south of the cemetery, where he lived and died. His grave is a little further south, where some solitary gravestones may still be seen in the open field. Some of his descendants were among the first to unite in forming this church, holding fast to the faith of their venerable ancestor.

      Previous to 1833 nothing was done towards the organization of the scattered Baptists in town, a considerable number of whom resided in this village and vicinity. In that year Rev. Joseph M. GRAVES, then agent of the Vermont Baptist convention, spent some time in visiting them, and gathered them into a company for maintaining religious meetings. Twelve persons gave their names and entered into engagements for this purpose, and a few others were subsequently added to the number thus pledged. They were supplied by Mr. GRAVES and neighboring ministers, who preached in the school-house on the common.

      In March, 1840, Rev. Emerson ANDREWS, an evangelist, engaged the Methodist chapel and commenced a series of meetings, which resulted, April 2, 1840, in the organization of the present church. The opening prayer was offered by Rev. D. M. CRANE, of North Springfield, the records being made by Jacob ESTEY, as clerk. Twenty-one names were subscribed to the agreement, and on the two following days, April 3d and 4th, at regular meetings, twelve persons were received for baptism, after due examination, and on the day following ten were baptized. On April 24th Rev. Joseph FREEMAN was chosen pastor. The first church building was erected on ELLIOT street, and completed in the autumn and winter of 1840-'41, and was dedicated the following spring. The present handsome brick structure, located on Main street, was built in 1867. It will seat 600 persons, and is valued, including grounds, at $50,000.00. The society now has 525 members, with Rev. F. E. TOWER, pastor.

      The First Universalist church, located on Canal street.-Universalist meetings were held in Wheeler's Hall as early as 1835, by Rev. Charles Woodhouse; but it was not till May 24, 1843, that the present society was organized. Among the original members were Dr. Reuben SPAULDING, A. J. HINES, J. H. ESTERBROOK, W. H. ESTERBROOK, Alford SIMONDS, O. J. MARTIN, Orin STARKEY, Luther WELD, Harvey HOUGHTON, John B. MILLER, and Sewall MORSE. The first meeting house owned by the society was located on the corner of Canal and CLARK streets, and was purchased by the Millerites in May, 1843. It was built and occupied for many years by the Methodists. The first settled pastor of the society was Rev. L. J. FLETCHER, who began his ministry in the early part of 1844. He was succeeded in July, 1846, by Rev. John. H. WILLIS, who remained here only one year. Rev. C. R. MOOR assumed the pastorate of the society early in 1848, and closed his connection with it in February, 1852.

      The present Universalist church was built during his settlement here and will now seat 450 persons, and is valued, including grounds, etc., at $5,000.00. It was erected in 1850, and dedicated in February, 1851. Rev. H. P. CUTTING was settled over the society in May, 1852, and remained one year. He was followed, June, 1853, by Rev. Geo. H. DEERE, whose pastorate extended through seven years. During his ministry the church was repainted, in 1857, and through his exertions $500.00 was raised in 1858, for Tufts college. Rev. E. SMILEY began his labors with the society the first of January, 1861, and closed them with the same year. He was succeeded early in 1862 by Rev. W. T. STOWE, whose pastorate extended to July, 1864. Rev. M. R. LEONARD supplied the desk through the winter of 1864-'65. Rev. James EASTWOOD was called to the pastorate September 15, 1865, and resigned Jan. 3, 1870. Rev. M. H. HARRIS was settled July 1, 1870. During the years of Mr. HARRIS's pastorate, the parish grew to be among the largest and strongest in the village, and the largest Universalist parish in the State, having at the present time 200 members. In 1871 the church edifice was enlarged and remodeled. The society is now under the pastoral charge of Rev. Elbert W. WHITNEY, who was settled January 1, 1880.

      St. Michael's Roman Catholic church, located on Walnut street. -- The number of Catholic families in this town must have been about fifty when the diocese of Burlington was separated from that of Boston. Rev. Z. DRUON, (now of St. Albans), in 1844, bought an old paint or carpenter shop on Elliot street, and fitted it up for a church. Rev. Charles O'REILLY was given charge of the mission in 1855, and after a few years came to live in the village. He succeeded in building the present neat and substantial church edifice of St. Michael, in 1863-'64. In 1869, he was succeeded by Rev. Charles HALPIN. Rev. N. St. ONGE had charge of Brattleboro after Rev. Father HALPIN. To Rev. Henry LANE was due the erection of a Catholic school-house, in 1874, the establishment of-the house of the Sisters of St. Joseph, for teaching the children, the purchase of a parsonage, and ornamenting the church edifice. The church now has about 600 communicants, under the pastoral charge of Rev. P. CUNNINGHAM.

      The West Brattleboro Baptist church was organized in 1874, as a mission of the Baptist church of Brattleboro, Rev. E. A. VOTEY being the first pastor. The old Universalist brick church, built in 1834, was purchased and repaired, which is now capable of seating 200 persons, and is valued at $7,200.00. The society has seventy-four members, with Rev. Charles R. POWERS, pastor. 

Gazetteer and Business Directory of 
Windham County, Vt., 1724-1884.
Compiled and Published By Hamilton Child,
Printed At The Journal Office, Syracuse, N. Y., July, 1884.
Page 82-159.