is watered by the second and third branch of White River; the former running
through the eastern, and the latter through the western part of the town.
These streams and their tributaries afford a number of advantageous situations
for mills. The timber is, principally, maple, beech, and birch, with
some hemlock and spruce. The surface of Randolph is considerably
elevated, but is less broken than that of the towns generally in this vicinity.
The soil is productive, and the farming interest extensive.
are here, three pleasant villages; one in the center of the town, another
in the eastern, and the other in the western part. The Centre Village
is very handsomely situatied on elevated ground. These villages are
places of considerable business and some manufactures.
West Randolph Academy was incorporated in 1847.
North by Brookfild, east by Tunbridge, south by Bethel, and west by Braintree.
Settlers. This town was chartered in 1781, and was settled three
or four years before by Wm. Evans and family, Edward Evans, John Park,
and Experience Davis.
Ministers. The Rev. Elijah Brainard was ordained over the Congregational
Church in 1786, and dismissed in 1798. The Rev. Tilton Eastman was
settled in 1801, and dismissed in 1830.
Twenty-three miles south from Montpelier, and nine south-west from Chelsea.
great Northern Railroad passes through the town.
of Vermont, by John Hayward, 1849, p. 102-103)