"> "/> "/>

Lieutenant Governors

The Lieutenant Governor is elected for four years. The person elected can be re-elected to a subsequent term, unlike the Governor. The Lieutenant Governor is elected at the same time as the Governor, but is not a running mate to the Governor. The Lieutenant Governor acts as the Governor if the Governor dies, resigns or otherwise leaves office. The Lieutenant Governor is also President of the Virginia Senate. The first elected Lieutenant Governor was in 1851. During Reconstruction, 1865-1870, the Commanding General of the Military District of Virginia was the Lieutenant Governor.

Lt GovernorFromTermNotes
Shelton LeakeAlbemarle County1852-1856
Elisha W McComasCabell County1856-1857Resigned
William Lowther "Mudwall" JacksonWood County1857-1860
Robert Latane MontagueMiddlesex County1860-1864
Samuel PriceGreenbrier County1864-1865
Daniel PolsleyMason County1861-1863Restored Government
Leopold Copeland Parker CowperNorfolk County1863-1865Restored Government
Leopold Copeland Parker CowperNorfolk County1865-1869
John F LewisRockingham County1869-1870
John Lawrence Marye JrSpotsylvania County1870-1874
Robert E WithersCampbell County1874-1875
Henry Wirtz ThomasFairfax County1875-1878
James A WalkerPulaski County1878-1882
John F LewisRockingham County1882-1886
John Edward "Parson" MasseyAlbemarle County1886-1890
James Hoge TylerPulaski County1890-1894
Robert Craig KentWythe County1894-1898
Edward EcholsStaunton1898-1902
Joseph Edward WillardFairfax County1902-1906
James Taylor EllysonRichmond1906-1918
Benjamin Franklin BuchananSmyth County1918-1922
Junius Edgar WestSuffolk1922-1930
James H PriceRichmond1930-1938
Saxon Winston HoltNewport News1938-1940died in office
William M TuckHalifax County1942-1946
Lewis Preston Collins IISmyth County1946-1952died in office
Allie Edward Stokes StephensIsle of Wight County1952-1962filled Collins term
Mills E Godwin JrNansemond County1962-1966
Fred G PollardRichmond1966-1970
J Sargeant ReynoldsRichmond1970-1971died in office
Henry HowellNorfolk1971-1974filled Reynolds term
John N DaltonRadford1974-1978
Chuck RobbFairfax County1978-1982
Richard Joseph DavisPortsmouth1982-1986
Douglas WilderRichmond1986-1990
Don BeyerFairfax County1990-1998
John H HagerRichmond1998-2002
Tim KaineRichmond2002-2006
Bill BollingHanover County2006-present