Clara Barton Detached Tent #3 of the Daughters of 

Union Veterans of the Civil War 1861-1865.

Tent History Clara Barton Tent Officers Tent Meetings Membership Tent Activities - Recent
Tent Activities - 2000-2020
Ancestor Bios A-F Ancestor Bios G-K Ancestor Bios L-R Ancestor Bios S-Z Facebook Group Page Links       Home

History of the Tent

Like many Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War (DUVCW) members, the chartering president of the Clara Barton Detached Tent #3 in Texas, Marguerite "Mickey" (Durrett) Daniel, was a member of Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) before she ever heard of the DUVCW. In the spring of 1990 she attended the DAR State conference in Texas and fellow DAR member Dorothy Bruce introduced her to DUVCW. Dorothy contacted the president of the DUVCW's Latha Jane Boyd Detached Tent #1 in Arlington, Texas, who at that time was Mildred Harrison, and advised her that Mickey was interested in learning about DUVCW.

When Mickey Daniel made the decision to be involved with the DUVCW, she had just celebrated her 80th birthday. As time progressed, Mickey and Mildred corresponded and the slow process of organizing the Clara Barton Tent #3 began. Mickey contacted friends of hers in Kerrville and San Antonio, Texas.

Meetings were held at Mickey's home to organize the new tent. A name had to be picked and the organizing members decided that Tent #3 in Texas would honor Clara Barton. Not only was she the founder of the Red Cross, but she was also known for her work at Andersonville Prison during the Civil War.  In 1999 a letter was sent to Ruth Funck, National President of DUVCW to advise her that fourteen prospective members and one member at large were ready to form Tent #3 in Texas.

On April 29, 2000, three months after Mickey's 91st birthday, twenty members signed the Charter of the Clara Barton Detached Tent #3, in Kerrville, Texas. It had taken ten years since Mickey discovered the DUVCW, but Central Texas finally had a Tent.

Roena Bayes, then National President of the DUVCW, who was assisted by Ruth Funck, Past National President of the DUVCW conducted the chartering ceremony held at the Inn of the Hills in Kerrville, Texas.  Congratulations were received from the Major James Kerr Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, Joshua D. Brown, Daughters of the Republic of Texas, Captain Charles Schreiner Chapter #2462, United Daughters of the Confederacy, Michael Upchurch Chapter, Colonial Dames XVII Century, and the National Society of the Sons of the Union Veterans

Mickey Daniel never finished her term as President of the newly Chartered Clara Barton Tent, because on December 23, 2000 she died in Concord, California at the home of her niece, just one month short of her 92nd birthday.

This photo is courtesy Charter Member Kathy Teele and Ruth Funck, PNP of the DUVCW

The newly Chartered Clara Barton Tent #3 members with the DUVCW National President Roena Bayes and Ruth Funck, DUVCW Past National President on April 29, 2000-[1st row seated from L to R: Elizabeth Butler, Barbara Harrell, DUVCW National President Roena Bayes, (now Past National President); Marguerite (Mickey) Daniel, Chartering President of the Clara Barton Tent; Ruth Funck, DUVCW Past National President, Ruth Wikle, and Kathy Teele; Back row standing from L to R: Katherine (Kay) Prosk, Janet Kres, Phyllis Baumgartner, Tamara Pitts, Rosemary Sanders, Ina Morris, Netti Williams, Peggy Grosser, Floy Kroeplin, and Laura Tucker.  

[Ruth Funck, PNP of the DUVCW, submitted a copy of the photo above to the General Orders (GO) of the DUVCW, that appeared in the October, 2000 issue, p. 17. A copy of this GO was found in the Clara Barton Tent Scrapbook. Peggy Munson, then President of the Clara Barton Tent, contacted Ruth Funck, PNP for a copy of the photo, as well as permission to use it on our website.]

Photo was taken by Peggy Munson, of the Clara Barton Detached Tent #3.

The Charter of the Clara Barton Detached Tent #3, Kerrville, Texas

The members of the Clara Barton Tent #3 recruit their members from central Texas which encompasses Austin, San Antonio, and the "Hill Country", which includes those three counties, [Kerr, Kendall, and Gillespie], that did not want to join the confederate states. Even though Texas was a confederate state, the roots of the Clara Barton Tent #3 come from the area of the three counties that were Loyal to the Union.

Happy 10th Anniversary to the Members of Clara Barton

The Clara Barton Tent #3 celebrated its 10th Anniversary with a special program, portrait sitting, luncheon and anniversary cake on Friday, April 9, 2010 at the Ye Kendall Inn in Boerne. Thirteen Sisters of the Tent were in attendance including three Charter Members, the current Tent President and two Past Tent Presidents

| |

Photos are courtesy of Peggy and Gene Munson

Going from left to right the 1st photo shows Charter members [L to R] Nettie Williams, Rosemary Sanders, and Patricia McConnell, Treasurer; with the 10th Anniversary cake

The 2nd photo shows [L to R} Rita McSorley, then Tent President; Peggy Munson, Tent President from 2007-2009; and Zipra Morgan, Tent President from 2005-2007

The group photo on Front row L to R: Rita McSorley; Carolyn Lee, Chaplain; Elizabeth Jordan, member; Susan Smith, JrVP/Tent Council; and Peggy Munson, PTP/Tent Council Chairman; and Back row L to R: Patricia McConnell; Ruth Ann Edney, SrVP; Susan D'Ambrosio, Patriotic Instructor; Kate Skinner-Klee, member; Rosemary Sanders; Cathy Claire; Zirpa Morgan, PTP/Tent Council; and Nettie Williams

Please  send  comments or questions about this website to our  Webmaster.   Thank you.

This page was last modified: 05 Jun 2021 

┬ęby Clara Barton Detached Tent #3 - 2007-Present