Tennessee State Flag

SPHS 1926 Banquet

January 8, 1926 issue of South Pittsburg Hustler,


Tuesday evening the alumni of the City High school were guests of honor at a banquet given by the seniors and faculty of the South Pittsburg School. A five-course dinner was served by the home economics class, under the supervision of Miss Mildred Raulston, who has charge of this department. Tables were placed in the primary rooms, which were decorated with holy and mistletoe, the place cards were in the school colors, black and gold. Prof. Wilson New acted as toastmaster and introduced the speakers of the evening, who included Mayor Alan S. Kelly, Hon. W. M. Cameron, Dr. J. T. Fergason, members of the faculty and representatives of the present and former graduating classes. As a conclusion, officers for a permanent alumni association were elected: President, Eugene Miller; vice-president, Edna Ruby Brown, secretary and treasurer, Agnes Scharer. The members of the organization include the graduates since the class of 1923 when the school became an accrediated high school. Class of 1923: Edna Ruby Brown, Sara Collins, Agnes Scharer, Cecyl Womack, Leonard Scharer, Oscar Knight, O'Dell Garland, Myrtle Jernigan, Mrs. Ed Dobbins. (Adale Blankenship). Class of 1924: Sybil Crumbliss, Jennie Ruth McReynolds, Mrs. Henry Gifford (Geraldine Adcock); Mrs. Clyde Aycock (Christine Ross); Mrs. J. Daniels (Frances Raulston); Mrs. Foster Price (Ruth Bowman); Myrtle Birdwell, Dorothy Gilliam, Eugene Miller, James Armstrong, Cope Raulston and Herbert Ables. Class of 1925: Gertrude Morgan, Barbara New, Leatha Ables, Katherine Dietzen, Nannibell Hodge, Wilma Neff, Marie Hester, Irene Swope, Mary Love Kirkland, Gillen Holland, Gibson Morgan, Frank Holland, Oran Owensby, Loudon Armstrong, Gilbert Turney, Denis Sartain, Lawrence Merriman. The seniors are Burmah Farr, Cecil Allison, Esther Choate, Jennie Birdwell, Nell Green, Nellie Kelly, Mattie Helton, Johnnie Graves, John Brown, Robert Brown, Charles Scharer, Frank Ballew, Victor Hughes, Katherine Galloway, Alma Rogers, Eunice Decker, Ruby Holland, Ellen Price, Eliza Byrd, Elizabeth Gillespie. Other guests present were Mrs. Alan S. Kelly, Mrs. W. M. Cameron and Mrs. Wilson New.

Article submitted by Ida Haskew Smith.


return Return To Schools of Marion County Main Page

return Return To Marion County Home Page

May 7, 2005