Hanson County South Dakota Genealogy  
Welcome to Hanson County, South Dakota

Hanson County, South Dakota was formed in 1871
from Buffalo County and Deuel County.
The county seat is Alexandria, South Dakota.
County Population: 3,014 (in 1996)

Capital of South Dakota: Pierre
    South Dakota Entered the Union: 1889
(40th state)
    Nickname: Mount Rushmore State
    State Bird: Ring-necked pheasant
    State Flower: American pasqueflower

Temporary County Coordinator Joy Fisher

This page was last updated
Read and Post to the 
Hanson County, South Dakota
Message Boards


Old Queries 1999-March , 2001

Hanson  County Archives
Useful Addresses
Military Records
 Hanson County 
Misc. Records
Church Records
Cemeteries & Burials
 Published Resources 
Lookup Volunteers
 Hanson County 
BLM Records
Hanson County Cities
Subscribe to the Hanson County Mail List
 Other Links
 Vital Records 
of South Dakota
South Dakota Birth Records Online
Brief History of South Dakota
(1919 Book)

Neighboring Counties
 Clickable SD
County Map
 Davison County
 Hutchinson County
 McCook County
 Miner County
 Sanborn County

© 2001-2005 SDGENWEB

  All materials contained on these pages are furnished for the free use of those engaged in researching their family origins. Any
  commercial use or distribution, without the consent of the host/author of these pages is prohibited. All images used on these
    pages were obtained from sources permitting free distribution, or generated by the author, and are subject to the same
    restrictions/permissions. All persons contributing material for posting on these pages do so in recognition of their free,
      non-commercial distribution, and further, is responsible to assure that no copyright is violated by their submission.