Anderson-Oconee-Pickens County SC Historical Roadside Markers
SC Historical Roadside Markers

Barnwell to Charleston Counties

Compiled by: Paul M. Kankula NN8NN

09 May 2013




Erected: 1929 to 1997



Barnwell County





1.4 miles S.C. Hwy. 3, about 5 mi. S of Barnwell

Originally Barnwell County was part of Granville County, later a part of Orangeburg District. Winton County was created by act of the legislature on Mar. 12, 1785. Justices William Robertson, John Parkinson, Thomas Knight, Richard Treadway, Daniel Green, William Buford and James Fair were

directed to erect a court house, gaol, pillory, whipping post, and stocks. These were built of pine logs. Winton County became Barnwell District in 1798 and Barnwell County in 1868.

Erected by the General John Barnwell Chapter, D.A.R. [1951]




S.C. Hwy. 64, W city limits of Barnwell

(Front) Established March 24, 1894, this agricultural club was organized to promote the welfare and interests of the Ellenton farmers and to improve conditions generally. The first clubhouse, built in 1904, was moved here in 1953 after the town of Ellenton was abandoned to make way for the Savannah River Plant.



By 1873, a post office named Ellentown was located on the Port Royal Railroad, about 20 miles west of here. In 1880 the town of Ellenton was incorporated. According to local tradition, the town was named for Ellen Dunbar, a local resident. Ellenton was abandoned in the early 1950s to make way for the Savannah River Plant.

Erected by the Ellenton Agricultural Club 1980




Intersection of S.C. Hwy. 3 & Main St., Blackville

(Front) Blackville was founded in 1833 as the first overnight stop on the new railroad operated by the S.C. Canal & Railroad Co. It was also the scene of 4 major fires in the late 19th century (in 1865, 1876, 1887, and 1888), each of which almost destroyed the town. Editor A. E. Gonzales nicknamed Blackville "The Town of the Phoenix" in 1889 in honor of its ability to rise again and again from the ashes and rebuild.    



Early on February 7, 1865, Federal cavalry under Brig. Gen. Judson Kilpatrick advanced to Blackville from Barnwell. Col. Thomas J. Jordan's brigade attacked a Confederate cavalry brigade under Col. James Hagan, drove it through the town and three miles beyond, and captured many prisoners, scattering the rest. Kilpatrick destroyed the railroad at Blackville and advanced west to Reynolds Station, between Blackville and Williston, that night.

Erected by the Town of Blackville and the Blackville Historical Society, 1996


6-5 [should be 6-6]


Old Allendale Hwy. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-70) just N of the Salkehatchie River, Blackville vicinity

(Front) Nearby earthworks at Morris Ford, on the Salkehatchie River, built in the spring of 1780 by Loyalists under Ben John. In May, soon after Charleston fell to the British, Capt. John Mumford of the South Carolina militia was killed in action in a clash with John's Loyalists; he is buried at the site. In early 1865 Confederate cavalry under Maj. Gen. Joseph Wheeler rebuilt the old earthworks.

(Reverse) Wheeler delayed the advancing Federal cavalry under Brig. Gen. Judson Kilpatrick. On February 6th a sharp skirmish occurred at the works. Elements of Kilpatrick's force crossed downstream, outflanked the Confederate cavalry and forced it to withdraw, then advanced to Barnwell while Wheeler's cavalry withdrew toward Aiken. Kilpatrick's Federals burned most of Barnwell later that night.

Erected by the Barnwell County Museum and Historical Board, 1997     



Beaufort County





U.S. Hwy. 21, ½ mi. S of S.C. Hwy. 170, Beaufort

Second Oldest Town In South Carolina/Authorized by the Lords Proprietors, December 20, 1710,/ Chartered January 17, 1711./Laid Out Prior to February 16, 1717,/Incorporated by the State, December 17, 1803.

The Beaufort County Historical Society, 1950




May River Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 46), Bluffton

Settled in 1825 as a summer resort of rice and cotton planters, this town was incorporated in 1852. Here in 1844 was launched the protest against the federal tariff known as the "Bluffton Movement."

[Needs repainting as of Spring 2005]




Lands End Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 7-45), St. Helena Island

To St. Helena's Church, Beaufort, S.C./Built about 1740/Made a separate Church/after the Revolution/Burned by Forest Fire/Feb. 22, 1886.

Beaufort County Historical Society




Old Sheldon Church Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 7-21), just N. of Bailey Rd., Gardens Corner vicinity

(Front) These ruins are of Prince William’s Parish Church, built ca. 1751-57 and partially burned during the American Revolution, with its interior and roof rebuilt 1825-26. This Anglican church was primarily paid for by Lt. Gov. William Bull I (1683-1755), who is buried here. It is often called Sheldon, after Bull’s plantation.
(Reverse) Local Loyalists burned the church in 1779 during a raid by Gen. Augustine Prevost. It was assumed by many area residents in 1865 and has been widely believed since that Federal troops burned Sheldon Church during the last months of the Civil War. It was actually dismantled by local freedmen ca. 1865-67.
Sponsored by the Berkeley County Historical Society, 2013, replacing a marker erected by the society in 1955




Trask Parkway (U.S. Hwy. 21), near its intersection with Parker dr., N of Naval Air Station Beaufort, Grays Hill

Battle of Port Royal Island. Near the old halfway house in the vicinity of Grays Hill, on February 3, 1779, a force of South Carolina militia, continentals, and volunteers, including men from Beaufort, under General William Moultrie, defeated the British in their attempt to capture Port Royal Island.

Erected by Beaufort County Historical Society




Ft. Walker Dr., near its intersection with North Port Royal Dr., Port Royal Plantation,

Hilton Head Island

After the occupation of Hilton Head in 1861, a civilian town grew up to serve the needs of the large Union base and its garrison here. The town boasted a hotel, a theater, 2 newspapers, and

numerous stores, restaurants and saloons, centering along a street officially Suttlers Row but

usually called Robbers Row, which ran east from this point about ½ mile to the army tent encampment.

Erected by Hilton Head Island Historical Society, 1961




Ft. Walker Dr., Port Royal Plantation, Hilton Head Island

A decisive battle in the Civil War took place here on Nov. 7, 1861, when 18 Union warships with about 55 supporting craft led by Adm. S. F. DuPont bombarded for 4 ½ hours the Confederate forces in Fort Walker on this shore and Fort Beauregard on the opposite point. About 13,000 troops under Gen. Thomas W. Sherman then landed on this beach to establish the main Union blockade base on the South Atlantic coast.

Erected by Hilton Head Island Historical Society, 1961




Ft. Sherman Dr., left side of road at bike path, Port Royal Plantation, Hilton Head Island

Completed in 1862, this large earth fort was designed to defend the great Union blockade base on Hilton Head against Confederate land attack. Named after the first Union commander here, Gen. Thomas W. Sherman, the fort consists of two miles of earthworks enclosing a 14-acre area. With other fortifications Fort Sherman formed part of a defensive line 5 miles long across the north end of the island.

Erected by Hilton Head Island Historical Society, 1961




Ft. Walker Dr., on R just beyond its intersection with North Port Royal Dr., overlooking Port Royal Sound, Port Royal Plantation, Hilton Head Island

Hastily built in 1861 to protect the S.C. coast against Union attack, Fort Walker, commanded by Col. William C. Heyward, bore the brunt of the Union attack on November 7, 1861, when after 4 ½ hours, with only 3 guns left serviceable and ammunition almost gone, the troops under Gen. Thomas F. Drayton were forced to withdraw from the island. Rebuilt by the Union forces, it was renamed Fort Welles.

Erected by Hilton Head Island Historical Society, 1961




713 Craven St., Beaufort

Erected in 1798 and rebuilt in 1852, the Beaufort Arsenal was the home of the Beaufort Volunteer Artillery, commissioned in 1802, which had its roots in an earlier company organized in 1776 and served valiantly in the Revolutionary War. The BVA was stationed at Fort Beauregard during the Battle of Port Royal on November 7, 1861.

Erected by Beaufort County Historical Society, 1961




Ft. Walker Dr., Port Royal Plantation, Hilton Head Island

A prominent landmark for mariners since the voyages of the early Spanish explorers, this headland was known to the English as Hilton Head after the voyage in 1663 of Captain William Hilton which led to their first permanent settlement in Carolina. By the late eighteenth century the island had become known as Hilton Head Island.

Erected by Hilton Head Island Historical Society, 1963




William Hilton Parkway (U.S. Hwy. 278) at Matthews Dr., Hilton Head Island

A chapel of St. Luke's Parish, established May 23, 1767, built of wood shortly after 1786 under the direction of Captain John Stoney and Isaac Fripp, was consecrated in 1833. Members of the Barksdale, Baynard, Chaplin, Davant, Fripp, Kirk, Mathews, Pope, Stoney and Webb families worshipped here. By 1868 the chapel was destroyed.

Erected by Hilton Head Island Historical Society, 1973




William Hilton Parkway (U.S. Hwy. 278) at Matthews Dr., 100 ft. W of Zion Chapel of Ease marker, Hilton Head Island

In December 1781, returning from a patrol with the Patriot militia, Charles Davant was mortally wounded from ambush near here by Captain Martinangel's Royal Militia from Daufuskie Island. He managed to ride his horse to his nearby plantation, Two Oaks, where he died. Captain John Leacraft's Bloody Legion avenged his death.

Erected by Hilton Head Island Historical Society, 1973




907 Craven St., Beaufort

(Front) Tabernacle Church was formed by black members of Beaufort Baptist Church after other members evacuated the area due to Federal occupation in 1861. The Beaufort church's lecture room was used for services during the war. In 1867 the black congregation bought this property from the Beaufort Baptist Church. Its present building was dedicated in 1894. Many new churches have grown from Tabernacle.



Born a slave in Beaufort in 1839, Robert Smalls lived to serve as a Congressman of the United States. In 1862 he commandeered and delivered to Union forces the Confederate gunboat "Planter," on which he was a crewman. His career as a freedman included service as a delegate to the 1868 and 1895 State Constitutional Conventions, election to the S.C. House and Senate, and 9 years in Congress. He died in 1915 and is buried here.

Erected by Beaufort County Council, 1980




in fronf of Cope Administration Building at Penn Center, Land’s End Rd./Martin Luther King, Jr., Dr. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 7-45), St. Helena Island

(Front) After Union occupation of the sea islands in 1861, two northerners, Laura Towne and Ellen Murray, came to help the freed blacks of this area, establishing Penn School here in 1862. The earliest known black teacher was Charlotte Forten, who traveled all the way from Massachusetts to help her people.

(Reverse) One of the first schools for blacks in the South, Penn School, opened in 1862, was reorganized as Penn Normal, Industrial and Agricultural School in 1901. As a result of this change, incorporating principles of education found at both Tuskegee and Hampton Institutes, Penn became an international model. Its program was removed to the Beaufort County school system in 1948.

Erected by Penn Club and S.C. Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism, 1981

[Needs repainting as of Spring 2005]




Ribaut Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 281), 150 ft. south of its intersection with Reynolds St., Beaufort

Shortly after the Civil War, Mather School was founded here by Rachel Crane Mather of Boston. In 1882 the Woman's American Baptist Home Mission Society assumed support of the venture, operating it as a normal school for black girls. With some changes, the school continued until 1968, when it was closed and sold to the state for the educational benefit of all races.

Erected by Mather School Alumnae Association, 1982




Mary Dunn Cemetery, Daufuskie Island

Phillip Martinangele, born in Italy, immigrated to this country and settled in St. Helena's Parish. He married Mary Foster in 1743, but had died by 1762 when his widow bought 500 acres on Daufuskie Island. Their son Phillip, a captain in the British Royal Militia, in December 1781 during the closing days of the American Revolution, was killed by the Bloody Legion, a partisan band of Hilton Head Island. He is probably buried here with others of his family.

Erected by the Hilton Head Island Historical Society, 1982




Roy Gall Rd., adjacent to Barker Field, Hilton Head Island

(Front) This plantation was part of a 1717 Proprietary landgrant of 500 acres to Col. John Barnwell. Later owners included members of the Green, Ellis and Pope families. Nearby tabby ruins are remains of fire places of slave cabins. Graves of blacks, who made up most of the island's population until after the 1950s, are in nearby Drayton Cemetery.



Confederate Brig. Gen. Thomas F. Drayton was in command of this area at the time of the nearby battle of Port Royal, November 7, 1861. A brother, Capt. Percival Drayton, commanded the Union warship Pocahontas at the same battle. Earlier, General Drayton had married Emma Catherine Pope, whose parents owned Fish Hall Plantation.

Erected by Beaufort County Council, 1985

[Needs repainting as of Spring 2005]




U.S. Hwy. 278, Pinckney Island, about 1 mi. NW of Hilton Head Island

(Front) Born in South Carolina, Pinckney was educated in England and served in the First and Second Provincial Congresses. A commander in the Revolution, he later served in the SC General Assembly, signed the US Constitution, and was a delegate to the SC Constitutional Convention of 1790 in Columbia. He spent part of his life on this island.

(Reverse) Pinckney, a leader in S.C.'s educational, political, cultural and religious affairs, inherited this island in 1769. He was made ambassador to France in 1796. Appointed by President Adams in 1797 to a committee negotiating maritime problems with France, Pinckney became known for his refusal of bribery in the "XYZ" affair.

Erected by Beaufort County Historical Society, 1987




U.S. Hwy. 278, Pinckney Island, about 1 mi. NW of Hilton Head Island

(Front) Inhabited for some 10,000 years, Pinckney Island was known as Espalanga, Look-out, and Mackey's prior to about 1775. Alexander Mackey received two Proprietary grants for land on the island in 1710. Charles Pinckney later owned the island and willed it in 1769 to his son, Charles Cotesworth, who became a successful planter here.

(Reverse) James Bruce, former military aide to President Woodrow Wilson, purchased this island from the Pinckneys in 1937 and developed it into a small-game hunting preserve. In 1975 Margaret and James Barker and Edward Starr, Jr. donated the island to the United States for a wildlife refuge and a nature and forest preserve.

Erected by Beaufort County Historical Society, 1987




308 Scott St., Beaufort

The Society, founded in 1814 to educate and provide relief for destitute children, built this house in 1895 and leased it for many years, using the income to help the needy. Tenants included the Clover Club, which operated a circulating library here (1910-1917); and an infirmary (1917-1925). Funds from the 1982 sale of the house continue to provide relief for people in need.

Erected by Beaufort County Historical Society and Beaufort Female Benevolent Society, 1989




505 Church St., Beaufort

(Front) This Episcopal Parish was established by Act of the Assembly June 7, 1712. The first known rector, William Guy, conducted early worship services in homes of settlers. The parish suffered greatly during the 1715 Yemassee Indian attack; constructed the present building in 1724 (enlarged 1817 & 1842); and was given communion silver in 1734 by John Bull, a captain in the militia. According to local tradition, the

(Reverse) church was used by British to stable horses during the Revolution and as a hospital in the Civil War. In 1823 Dr. Joseph R. Walker became rector, serving 55 years, during which time at least 25 parishioners entered the ministry. Among those buried in the churchyard are 2 British officers, 3 American generals, and 17 ministers of the gospel. The 1962 parish house serves the community for various functions.

Erected by Beaufort County Historical Society and Preservation Trust for Historic St. Helena's Episcopal Church, 1992




Beach City Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 7-333), NE of its intersection with Dillon Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 7-334), Hilton Head Island

In 1862, after Hilton Head's fall to Union forces in 1861, this town, planned for the area's former slaves and named for General Ormsby M. Mitchel, began.

Erected by Town of Hilton Head Island and Chicora Foundation, Inc., 1995




Near the banks of the Beaufort River at the U.S. Naval Hospital Beaufort, Pinckney Blvd., Port Royal

(Front) On New Year's Day 1863 this plantation owned by John Joyner Smith was the scene of elaborate ceremonies celebrating the enactment of the Emancipation Proclamation. Hundreds of freedmen and women came from Port Royal, Beaufort, and the sea islands to join Federal military and civil authorities and others in marking the event. After the proclamation was read, the 1st South Carolina Volunteers (Colored), the first black regiment formed



for regular service in the U.S. Army during the Civil War, received its national and regimental colors. Col. Thomas W. Higginson of the regiment wrote, "Just think of it! - the first day they had ever had a country, the first flag they had seen which promised anything to their people." This plantation was also the site of Camp Saxton, where the regiment (later the 33rd U.S. Colored Troops) organized and trained from late 1862 to early 1863.

Erected by Penn Center and the Michigan Support Group, 1996




1 ½ mi. S of the intersection of S.C. Hwy. 170 & U.S. Hwy. 278, 3 mi. N of Pritchardville

This sanctuary, built 1824 as St. Luke's Episcopal Church, housed an active Episcopal congregation until just before the Civil War. It was sold to the trustees of St. Luke's Methodist Church in 1875 and has served that congregation since. St. Luke's is listed in the National Register of Historic Places for its architectural significance as a blend of the Georgian and Greek Revival styles.

Erected by the Congregation, 1996



Berkeley County



No #


S.C. Hwy. 6, Cross vicinity

Near this spot stood Barnet’s Tavern, called the Forty-Five Mile House, indicating its distance from Charleston. Here was the muster ground of the Eutaw State Volunteers, a company raised in 1833, to support the Ordinance of Nullification. From this tavern, on Sept. 11, 1781, Gen. Green sent to the President of Congress, despatches announcing the Battle of Eutaw Springs.

[Erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936]


No #


W of St. Stephen

[Erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936]


[Replaced by Marker 8-18, first erected by the South Carolina Forestry Commission, 1965, then replaced by the South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism, 1975]




Old U.S. Hwy. 52 at Stony Landing Rd., Moncks Corner

Here in 1863, the Confederate semi-submersible torpedo boat, Little David, first of its type, was constructed. It was designed by Dr. St. Julien Ravenel and built with funds raised by Theodore D. Stoney.




Old U.S. Hwy. 52 at its intersection with U.S. Hwy. 17-A, Moncks Corner

Here was located the provincial town of Moncks Corner, deriving its name from Thomas Monck, an Englishman, who in 1735 purchased Mitten Plantation, and upon whose land the town was settled. It became an important commercial center prior to the Revolution. Upon the completion of the Northeastern Railroad in 1857, the new railroad station was called Moncks Corner after the old town.



SANTEE CANAL [First Marker]

Marker 1: Intersection of U.S. Hwy. 17 & U.S. Hwy. 52 at Stony Landing Plantation, Moncks Corner vicinity

Marker 2: ½ mi. N of intersection of Old U.S. Hwy. 52 & U.S. Hwy. 17-A, Moncks Corner vicinity 


This canal, twenty-two miles in length, connects the Santee and Cooper Rivers. The canal was chartered in 1786, and construction was commenced in 1793 and completed in 1800, under the direction of Col. John Christian Senf, a native of Sweden, as Chief Engineer. The Canal was in operation until about 1850.


The Santee Canal Company was chartered by act of March 22, 1786, organized the next day, with capital of £100,000 sterling, and the canal completed and opened to traffic from the Santee to the Cooper in 1800, being 22 miles, 20 feet wide at the bottom and 35 feet at the surface, 5 ½ feet deep, with 4 feet of water, capable of carrying boats of 22 tons burden. It ceased operations in 1850.


[Note: Second Marker Revised and Replaced by Marker 8-36, erected by Santee Cooper, 2005]




Old U.S. Hwy. 52, 5 mi. S of Moncks Corner

Originally granted to Sir Peter Colleton in 1679. Acquired in 1712 by Thomas Broughton, who erected the present mansion, said to be modeled after Seaton Hall in England, in 1714. Thomas Broughton was speaker of the Commons House of Assembly from 1726 to 1730 and Governor from 1735 to 1737.




Old U.S. Hwy. 52, 9 mi. S of Moncks Corner

[Erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936]


[Replaced by Marker 8-48, erected by Berkeley County, 2007]




Near St. James, Goose Creek Church, Snake River Rd., 0.2 mi. S of Old State Rd., Goose Creek; Originally erected on U.S. Hwy. 52, 14.4 mi. S of Moncks Corner, in Charleston County 

The Parish St. James was founded by Act of Assembly in 1706. The present edifice was begun in 1714, and completed in 1719. The royal arms of Great Britain can still be seen over the chancel, and here is preserved the Izard Hatchment, said to be one of only two in America.

[Erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936]


[Supplemented by Marker 8-47, erected by the Vestry of the St. James, Goose Creek Church, 2007]




U.S. Hwy. 17-A, N of Jamestown at the Santee River

Here, on May 6, 1780, Col. A. M. White was routed by Tarleton with the loss of 2 officers and 36 men killed and wounded and 7 officers and 60 dragoons taken; Tarleton lost 2 men. Two boys, Francis Deliesseline and Samuel Dupre, recaptured 14 of White's horses and delivered them to Maj. Jamison, Georgetown, refusing reward.

[Erected 30 April 1940]




S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-44, 4.9 mi. S of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 402, S of Moncks Corner

Home of Henry Laurens, who was born in Charleston in 1724 and died at Mepkin in 1792. President of the first and second councils of safety, 1775-1776; president First Provincial Congress of S.C. 1775; vice president of SC 1776; president of Continental Congress 1777-78; elected minister plenipotentiary to Holland 1779. Confined fourteen months in the Tower of London and exchanged for Lord Cornwallis; signed preliminaries of peace in Paris, with Adams, Jay, and Franklin, 1782.




S.C. Hwy. 402, .8 mi. S of its intersection with U.S. Hwy. 52, Moncks Corner vicinity

(Front) These ruins are all that remains of Biggin Church, built soon after the American Revolution as the parish church of St. John’s Berkeley Parish. This large parish, created in 1706 by the Anglican Church, was long and narrow, with distinct Upper, Middle, and Lower areas. The church here was named for nearby Biggin Creek, which flows into the Cooper River.
(Reverse) The first church on this site was a log building. It was replaced ca. 1710-15 by a brick church, which burned in a forest fire in 1755. A brick church covered in stucco, built here ca. 1767, was burned by the British in 1781. These ruins are of the fourth and last church here, used infrequently after the Civil War. This church burned in a forest fire before 1899.

Sponsored by the Berkeley County Historical Society and the Biggin Cemetery Association, 2013, replacing a marker erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, 1929-1936




Clements Ferry Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-98), .3 mi. SW of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 41, Huger

At this bridge, on July 17, 1781, British forces under Col. Coates, who was retreating from Moncks Corner, encountered pursuing Americans under Gen. Thomas Sumter. After the destruction of the bridge, Col. Coates sought refuge under cover of the buildings at Quimby Plantation, where, that afternoon, he defeated an attack by the Americans. Those who fell in this engagement are said to have been buried near the road.




Clements Ferry Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-98), 2.3 m. SW of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 41,

Huger vicinity

One quarter mile north, the first Church of England edifice outside Charleston was erected of cypress in 1703, largely through the efforts of Gov. Sir Nathaniel Johnson. The present brick structure was erected in 1763. The Parish of St. Thomas, of which this was a chapel of ease, was established by Act of Assembly, Nov. 30, 1706.




Clements Ferry Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-98), 7.4 mi. SW of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 41, S of Huger

Residence of Rt. Rev. Robert Smith, who was born in Norfolk England, 1732. He was consecrated in Philadelphia in 1795 as the first Episcopal bishop of South Carolina. He died in 1801 and was buried in St. Philip's Churchyard, Charleston, S.C. On this plantation, on January 1782, an engagement took place between Americans under Col. Richard Richardson and British under Maj. Coffin.




Clements Ferry Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-98), 11.9 mi. SW of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 41,

S of Huger

The Parish of St. Thomas was established by Act of Assembly Nov. 30, 1706. The first church was erected in 1708 and destroyed by forest fire in 1815. The present edifice was erected in 1819.




S.C. Hwy. 27, about 2.5 mi. S of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 176, W of Moncks Corner

According to tradition Methodists worshiped here under a brush arbor as early as 1800. On August 2, 1814, Phillip Keller deeded one acre for a Methodist Church and burying ground. Eden and Rebecca Green Thrower deeded an additional acre in 1839. A new wooden structure replaced the original building in 1846-47. The present church was built in 1958.

Erected by The Williams Family Association, 1963




S.C. Hwy. 6, .5 mi. S of Berkeley County-Orangeburg County line, N of Moncks Corner

About 1765-1767 Thomas Sumter, future hero of the American Revolution, kept a country store near this spot where the stream of colonial traffic to the Up Country divided in the fork where the Nelson's Ferry Road branched off from the Road to the Congarees.

Erected by The Cross Community Development Club, 1963




Old U.S. Hwy. 52, about 1 mi. SW of Moncks Corner

This land, part of Fairlawn Barony and known as Little Landing, was bought in 1767 by Sedgwick Lewis. His daughter Sarah married Keating Simons. They acquired the land in 1774 and are presumed to have built the present plantation house. Tradition has it that during the Revolution, Col. Wade Hampton took seventy-eight British prisoners and burned two boats with supplies and plunder at the nearby river landing.

Erected by Berkeley County Historical Society, 1978




S.C. Hwy. 45, about 1.5 mi. SE of Jamestown 

After receiving a proprietary land grant of 370 acres in 1705, French settlers laid out the town of Jamestown, c. 2 mi. N. By 1706, a church had been built known as the parish church of

St. James, Santee. Jamestown never prospered and a number of settlers left before the Revolution, moving to the nearby parishes of St. Stephen's and St. John's, Berkeley.

Erected by the Berkeley County Historical Society, 1985




S.C. Hwy. 45, 10 mi. W of St. Stephen

(Front) Brigadier General of S.C. Militia during the American Revolution, Francis Marion, was one of the partisan leaders who kept the war alive during the British occupation of the state. His elusive disappearances after surprise attacks against superior forces harassed and demoralized the enemy, earning for him the name, "Swamp Fox."



Francis Marion died Feb. 27, 1795, in his 63rd year, and was buried here at Belle Isle Plantation, home of his brother, Gabriel. His own plantation, Pond Bluff, was about 15 miles up river and is now under Lake Marion. He was born in South Carolina, the descendant of French Huguenot emigrants. The exact date and place of his birth are unknown.

Erected by South Carolina Department of Parks, Recreation, and Tourism, 1975, replacing a marker erected by the S.C. State Commission of Forestry, 1965  




Old U.S. Hwy. 52, about 3.2 mi. N of Goose Creek

In 1686 Medway Plantation was granted by the Lords Proprietors to John d'Arsens, Seigneur de Wernhaut. In 1689 the property came into the possession of Landgrave Thomas Smith, Governor of South Carolina November 1693 to October 1694. He died in November 1694 and is buried at Medway.

Erected 1965 to replace old marker destroyed 




S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-44, about 7 mi. S of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 402, between Moncks Corner and Goose Creek

Chapel of Ease to St. John's (Biggin Church), built about 1725 on land bequeathed by James Child, founder at this place, of the Town of Childbury. Strawberry Ferry was established here by Act of Assembly in 1705.




S.C. Hwy. 402, about 2.5 mi. N of Huger

Home and burial place of Sir Nathaniel Johnson, born in the County of Durham, England, in 1644; knighted in 1680, was a member of Parliament and Governor of Leeward Islands. He came to South Carolina in 1683 and settled at Silk Hope. From here he sent, in 1699, samples of silk to England. He was Governor of South Carolina from 1702 to 1709. Lord Cornwallis had his headquarters here for several months during the American Revolution.





Ten (10) markers, on Berkeley County line at major entrances:

1: S.C. Hwy. 6 at Berkeley County-Orangeburg County line, 7 mi. E of Eutawville

2: U.S. Hwy. 176 at Berkeley County-Orangeburg County line, 6 mi. SE of Holly Hill

3: Old U.S. Hwy. 52 at Goose Creek at Berkeley County-Orangeburg County line

4: S.C. Hwy. 41 at Berkeley County-Charleston County line, at Wando River near Cainhoy

5: U.S. Hwy. 17-A & S.C. Hwy.  41 at Santee River, N of Jamestown

6: S.C. Hwy. 27 at Berkeley County-Dorchester County line, near I-26

7: U.S. Hwy. 17-A at Berkeley County-Dorchester County line, at Summerville

8: S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-133, about 7.4 mi. E of Huger

9: S.C. Hwy. 45 at Berkeley County-Charleston County line, 6.5 mi. NW of McClellanville

10: U.S. Hwy. 52 at Berkeley County-Williamsburg County line, Santee River


[Text #1, ca. 1940]





This highway and markers were financed by Berkeley and Charleston Counties with the cooperation of the S.C. Highway Commission, Charleston Chamber of Commerce and through the Board of Commissioners.

The inscriptions on the highway historical markers in Berkeley County were compiled by Henry R. Dwight.


Board of Commissioners

Charleston County

Jenkins M. Robertson, Chairman

John Hertz


Berkeley County

J. Russell Williams


William F. Burguson, Sec. & Treas. M. Rutledge Rivers, Atty.


[Text #2, 1976]


This county was designated a court and land conveyance district in 1682, and an election district in 1683. It was named for two brothers, Lord John and Sir William Berkeley, both Lords Proprietors of

Carolina. Over the years, functions of this early county have changed. Modern Berkeley was created in 1882. Several boundary changes occurred 1893-1921.

Erected by Berkeley County Historical Society, 1976




S.C. Hwy. 402, NW side of Wadboo Bridge, Moncks Corner vicinity

Near this point was the SW corner of Wadboo Barony, a 12,000 acre tract about 4 miles square, granted in 1683 to James Colleton, son of an original Lord Proprietor, as part of the land due him as a landgrave of Carolina.  Colleton's heirs were Loyalists during the Revolution; the Barony was confiscated, divided, and sold to Patriot citizens.

Erected by Berkeley County Historical Society, 1976




S.C. Hwy. 6 at its intersection with S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-132, NW of Moncks Corner

The main Cherokee Path, which extended from the overhill towns of the Cherokee Indians in present Tennessee to Charleston, passed near here. In existence before 1730, this early trade and transportation route played a significant role in the expansion of the North American frontier.

Erected by Berkeley County Historical Society, 1977




S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-44 about 2.5 mi. below Wadboo Bridge, Moncks Corner vicinity

According to family information, Francis Marion, brigadier general of the S.C. Militia during the American Revolution, was born near here on Goatfield Plantation. He was a member of the First Provincial Congress, fought in the battles of Parker's Ferry and Eutaw Springs (both in 1781), and served eight years in the S.C. Senate. Marion died in 1795.

Erected by Berkeley County Historical Society, 1986




S.C. Hwy. 6, Cross

This post office, originally named Cross Mill, was established in 1879. Adam Cross, a local storekeeper and Civil War veteran, was first postmaster.

Erected by Berkeley County Historic Preservation Commission, 1992




Otranto Blvd. (extension of Otranto Rd., S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-542), at the railroad tracks, just SW of Goose Creek

Originally known as "Yeshoe," this plantation was granted in 1679 to Arthur Middleton, great-granduncle of the signer of the Declaration of Independence. Called "Otranto" after 1771, when it was bought by Dr. Alexander Garden, noted physician and botanist, for whom the "Gardenia" was named. In recent times, the estate was used as a hunt club.

Erected by Garden Club of Otranto, 1986




S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-315 about ¼ mi. N. of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 6, Pinopolis vicinity

This Baptist Church, constituted 1851, constructed the present building here in 1881 on land donated by A. D. Hare, a church trustee.

Erected by Berkeley County Historical Society, 1993




E side of Brushy Park Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-503), at Gate 1 of the Brushy Park Industrial Complex,

S of Moncks Corner

Built 1750-1790 at Otranto Plantation and used to process dye from indigo, an important S.C. crop from 1747 to 1796. Moved here 1979.

Erected by Berkeley County Historical Society, 1994




W side of U.S. Hwy. 52 at Crawl Creek, NW of St. Stephen

The grave of Thomas Walter (c. 1740-1789), pioneer botanist, is 9 mi. W at his Santee River plantation. A native of England, Walter came to S.C. by 1769. He collected and catalogued many plants native to the lowcountry. His catalog Flora Caroliniana, published in London in 1788, was the first botany of an American region to use the Linnaean classification system.

Erected by the Garden Club of S.C., Inc., 2003, replacing a marker erected in 1994




In front of Pinopolis Post Office on S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-5, Pinopolis

Plantation owners began this pineland village in the 1830s to escape lowcountry plantation summer nights, thought to cause "country fever" (malaria). By 1844 Pinopolis comprised about twelve homes. The village served as a shelter for refugees during the Civil War. The post office began in 1894 with Elizabeth Ravenel as postmaster. Pinopolis has two Historic Districts listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

Erected by Anne Sinkler Fishburne Foundation and Berkeley County Historical Society, 1995



Calhoun County


No #

In the collection of the Calhoun County Museum, Butler St., St. Matthews; Originally erected on U.S. Hwy. 21, 20 mi. N of St. Matthews

This stream was originally called Savannah Hunt, but German-speaking settlers about 1740 corrupted the first word and Savany Hunt became the permanent name.

[Erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936]




S.C. Hwy. 6, about 4 mi. SE of St. Matthews

George Sterling was granted 570 acres of land here on March 14, 1704. During the lifetime of his daughter, Mary Sterling Heatly Russell, the plantation was a stopping place for Indians and travelers on the Cherokee Path. The Rev. John Giessendanner held early religious services in the house (1750-1754).




Intersection of U.S. Hwy. 601 & S.C. Hwy. 419, NE of St. Matthews

Stands 0.4 mile NW of this spot. An act creating the parish in 1765 was disallowed by the king. A second act was approved in 1768. The first of four buildings, each on a different site, was erected in 1766. The present edifice was built in 1852. The congregation was incorporated in 1788 as a member of the Protestant Episcopal Church.




Intersection of U.S. Hwy. 176 and Jericho Rd., 2.5 mi. S of Cameron

Bishop Francis Asbury stopped in this region in 1801 and 1803. About 1811, a congregation was organized and by 1815 Jericho Meeting House was standing on land given by Jacob Felkel. The present building there was apparently erected before 1850. A low partition separating the men and women and a slave gallery were removed in 1890 and a porch was added. Two annexes were built later.




S.C. Hwy. 6, about 7 mi. S of St. Matthews

In 1737-38, the elder Rev. John U. Giessendanner from Orangeburg began Lutheran work in this area; this was continued by his nephew until 1749. By the 1760s, St. Matthew's Lutheran Church near here was in use. A later building erected at this site in 1826 was replaced by the present church in 1900.




Calhoun County Courthouse, S. Railroad Ave., St. Matthews

First settled in 1704, this region by 1733 included Amelia and lower Saxe Gotha townships. In 1765 much of it was made part of the new St. Matthew's Parish and was so named until 1865. Efforts in 1890 and 1896 led to an act signed on Feb. 14, 1908, forming a new county from parts of Orangeburg and Lexington, named for John C. Calhoun.

Erected by the Calhoun County Historical Commission




Cameron Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 33), 3 mi. NE of Cameron

Shady Grove Methodist Church was an outgrowth of Tabernacle Church, the parent Methodist body of this area. It was built in the early 1800s on land of Adam Holman, has a framework of hewn logs held together with wooden pegs, and has been remodeled three times. Ministers of Orangeburg Circuit, St. Matthews Circuit, and Cameron Charge have served Shady Grove.

Erected by the Calhoun County Historical Commission, 1970




1927 Old State Rd. (U.S. Hwy. 176), just SE of its intersection with Big Beaver Creek Rd.,

Sandy Run vicinity

(Front) This Lutheran church, one of the oldest in the state, is thought to have been organized ca. 1765. By 1774, the Rev. Lewis Hochheimer was minister here. The church was incorporated 1788 as "The German Lutheran Church of Salem, on Sandy Run" and located at the present site by 1806. The SC Synod has met here several times.



Buried in this cemetery is the Reverend Christian Theus, whose grave was moved here in 1932 from its original location near the Reformed Lutheran Church of the Congarees, once standing about 7 miles northwest in old Saxe-Gotha Township. From 1739 to 1789, Theus was pastor of the Congarees church and also the local school teacher.

Erected by the Congregation, 1983




Mt. Lebanon Rd., just SW of its intersection with Old State Rd. (U.S. Hwy. 176), Cameron vicinity

This is the original site of Mt. Lebanon Lutheran Church, organized January 13, 1844, as an extension of the St. Matthew's Church, Creston. Later, Mt. Lebanon Church moved to Cameron about 2 miles NW, dedicated its new building in 1917, and was renamed the Lutheran Church of the Resurrection. The congregation maintains the old cemetery here.

Erected by the Calhoun County Historical Commission, 1983



Charleston County



No #


Originally on U.S. Hwy. 52, 14.4 mi. S of Moncks Corner


[Moved; See Marker 8-6, in Berkeley County]


No #


2604 Ashley River Rd.

Built in part in 1706, the year the Church of England was established here by law. Enlarged 1723. Burned out and rebuilt 1764. Scene of early missionary work among the Negroes.

[Erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936]


No #


U.S. Hwy. 17 at S.C. Hwy. 20, 1 mi. N of John’s Island

1 mile. Once St. John’s Island. One of the earliest racing studs in the province started here at Fenwick Hall.  1779, Prevost’s British force occupied this island after their unsuccessful attempt on Charlestown. 1780, Sir Henry Clinton here disembarked the army which besieged and captured Charlestown.

[Erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936; Missing as of July 2009]





Began its first successful scheduled steam railroad service in America on December 25, 1830, and by 1833 its 136 miles from Charleston to Hamburg made it the world's longest railroad. Now a part of Southern Railway System.

[Erected by the American Society of Civil Engineers, 1970]




Bohicket Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 10-20), about 3 mi. E of S.C. Hwy. 700, Johns Island

Founded by early English, Scottish, and French settlers about 1710, this is one of the oldest Presbyterian congregations in South Carolina. The original sanctuary, believed to have been built about 1719, was enlarged in 1823.

Erected by the Congregation in 1960




Corner of East Bay St. & Longitude Ln., Charleston

Governor of Carolina, /1693-1694/Planter, Merchant, Surgeon,/arrived in Charles Town in 1684 with his first wife, Barbara Atkins, and sons, Thomas and George. A cacique by 1690, he was created Landgrave by the Lords Proprietors on May 13, 1691. He died in his 46th year on November 16, 1694. His brick town house with a wharf on Cooper River was here on the corner of East Bay & Longitude Lane.

Erected by his descendants and South Carolina Colonial Dames XVII Century, 1967




NW corner of Church & Broad Sts., Charleston

Construction having begun in 1797, this building was occupied by the Bank of South Carolina on December 10, 1798, making it one of the oldest bank buildings in the U. S. It served as a bank until 1835. The Charleston Library Society used it 1835-1916. It was owned and occupied for the next fifty years by the Charleston Chamber of Commerce. In 1967 it reverted to its first use and became a bank again.

Erected by The Citizens and Southern National Bank of South Carolina, 1967




Corner of Broad & Meeting Sts., Charleston

Here in the churchyard of/St. Michael's lie buried/two Signers of the/U. S. Constitution/CHARLES  COTESWORTH/PINCKNEY/(1746-1825)/Lawyer and Legislator/Major General, U. S. Army/Minister to France/Presidential candidate-/JOHN RUTLEDGE/(1739-1800)/Lawyer and Statesman/Governor of South Carolina/Chief Justice of the U. S./Their years of public/service, 1762-1825, saw/both State and Nation well/on the road to greatness.

Erected by the Society Daughters of Colonial Wars in the State of South Carolina, 1968

[Marker attached to church facade instead of on a post ]




146 Church St., Charleston

Here in the churchyard of St. Philip's are buried/CHARLES PINCKNEY/(1757-1824)/Signer of the United States Constitution and author of the famous/"Pinckney Draught"/Governor of South Carolina/U. S. Senator and Congressman/Minister to Spain/EDWARD RUTLEDGE/(1749-1800)/Signer of the Declaration of Independence/Delegate to First and Second Continental Congresses/S. C. Legislator & Senator/Governor of South Carolina.

Erected by South Carolina Society Daughters of American Colonists, 1969




U.S. Hwy. 17 at its intersection with S.C. Sec. Rd. 10-97, NE of Mount Pleasant

The Church Act of 1706 created Christ Church Parish. The first church, a wooden structure built in 1707, accidentally burned in 1725. A brick church was erected in 1726, and although the British burned it in 1782 and the interior was destroyed by Union Troops in 1865, the original walls still stand. In 1874, the church was restored and consecrated.

Erected by the Congregation, 1970




Hasell St. and Maiden Ln., Charleston

(Front) The first Trinity Church building was erected on this site in 1792. By 1813, Trinity had joined the S. C. Conference, and in 1874 it merged with Cumberland Church, the oldest Methodist church in Charleston, founded in 1786. In 1926, Trinity moved to its present location at 273 Meeting Street where the church and cemetery records are now located.



An Irishman from Belfast who was ordained by John Wesley, William Hammet was a missionary sent to America by the British Conference. He came to Charleston in 1791 from Jamaica and founded Trinity Methodist Church after a schism occurred within Cumberland Church between his followers and those of Bishop Francis Asbury. Hammet called his church the "Primitive Methodist Church" and was pastor of Trinity until his death in 1803.

Erected by Trinity United Methodist Church, 2005, replacing a marker erected in 1970 by the Pee Dee Chapter, Colonial Dames of the XVII Century




50 Broad St., Charleston

(Front) On December 9, 1773, the first Chamber of Commerce in the City of Charleston was organized on Broad Street at Mrs. Swallow's Inn. John Savage was its first President. After the Revolution and six months after Charleston was incorporated, the Chamber was reorganized. Of the postwar presidents, Alexander Gillon and John Lewis Gervais each served for a year, Edward Darrell for a number of years.

(Reverse) The Charleston Chamber of Commerce was organized in 1773 in a tavern near the eastern end of Broad Street. For many years after the Civil War, the Chamber occupied the Riggs Building, formerly at East Bay and Broad. It was later located on Meeting Street, and from 1916 to 1966, it occupied the Old Bank Building at 50 Broad Street. Its present home is the old West Point Rice Mill, built in 1861.

Erected by Governor Robert Gibbes Chapter Colonial Dames XVII Century, 1970 

[Marker attached to building facade instead of on a post ]




Confederate Cemetery, Carr St., Mount Pleasant

(Front) On June 18, 1812, the United States declared war against Great Britain. One of the first units to be mustered into service was the Third Regiment of South Carolina Militia, which was stationed at Haddrell's Point, west of here, to aid in the defense of Charleston harbor. Their barracks stood within the present town limits of Mount Pleasant, and they were equipped with State funds.

(Reverse) The 1812 monument in this cemetery originally marked a burial plot of the Third Regiment of State troops. The soldiers who were buried there apparently died from disease while stationed at Haddrell's Point, nearby. Before the Civil War, the monument is said to have stood at the corner of Pitt and King Streets. It was moved to this Confederate cemetery for protection from vandalism.

Erected by the United States Daughters of 1812, South Carolina Society, 1970




120 Charleston Blvd., Isle of Palms

(Front) Major General Charles Cornwallis established a brigade headquarters not far from this site on or around June 19, 1776. His brigade was part of a British army under the command of Sir Henry Clinton, which had occupied this island as a staging point for attacking the palmetto log fort on Sullivan's Island. This was Cornwallis's first major command in America.

(Reverse) Cornwallis's troops were prevented from crossing Breach Inlet on June 28, 1776, by the fire of S. C. Rangers on the opposite shore. The British were defeated and sailed for New York. Cornwallis returned in 1780 as second in command of the army that captured Charles Town. Left in command of the South, he finally surrendered at Yorktown on October 19, 1781.

Erected 2005, replacing a marker erected in 1972 by the South Carolina Society, Sons of the American Revolution




116 Broad St., Charleston

This house, built before the American Revolution, was the residence of John Rutledge (1739-1800), first Governor of the State of South Carolina. He was President of South Carolina, 1776-78, and Governor, 1779-82, signer of the U. S. Constitution, 1787, Chief Justice of South Carolina 1791-95, and Chief Justice of the United States, 1795. The house was altered in 1853 by P. H. Hammarskold, who added the ornamental iron.

Erected by the South Carolina Society, Daughters of Colonial Wars, 1973

[ Marker attached to building facade instead of on a post ]




Marion Square, Charleston

(Front) James F. Byrnes, American statesman, was born in a house on nearby King Street and grew up in this neighborhood. He attended St. Patrick's parochial school and Bennett public school, both on St. Philip Street. He died April 9, 1972 and is buried in Trinity Cathedral churchyard, in Columbia, South Carolina.

(Reverse) From humble beginnings, James F. Byrnes, born and brought up in this neighborhood, rose to eminence and handled affairs of worldwide importance. He served in both houses of Congress and as an associate justice of the U. S. Supreme Court. He was director of War Mobilization in World War II, Secretary of State and Governor of South Carolina.

Erected by Byrnes Centennial Committee, 1979




Ashley River Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 61), 9 mi. NW of Charleston 

(Front) Seat of the Drayton family for seven generations, this land was acquired in 1738 by John Drayton (c. 1715-1779) as the center of his extensive indigo and rice planting ventures. One of the finest examples of Georgian Palladian architecture in America, this is the only surviving colonial plantation house on the Ashley River.



This distinguished South Carolina family included among its members William Henry Drayton (1742-1779), Revolutionary War Patriot, Chief Justice of South Carolina, member of Continental Congress; Dr. Charles Drayton (1743-1820), Lieutenant Governor 1785-1787; and John Drayton (1767-1822), Governor of South Carolina 1800-1802, 1808-1812.

Erected by National Trust for Historic Preservation, 1984




Corner of Church & Broad Sts., Charleston

Organized before August 18, 1737, this Grand Lodge met in Charles Shepheard's Tavern, an early meeting place of the colony, once located on this corner.

Erected by The Grand Lodge of Ancient Freemasons of S.C., 1987




Elms Plantation Blvd., off U.S. Hwy. 78, about ½ mile from I-26, Ladson vicinity

Ralph Izard inherited The Elms after his father's death in 1749. During the Revolution he provided financial support to the Patriot cause. He also served as a foreign diplomat, advisor to George Washington, and US senator. The Elms, which remained in the Izard family for generations, was established here by Izard's great-grandfather (also named Ralph), who settled in SC in 1682.

Erected by The Elms of Charleston and Jacob Van der Ver Chapter, S.C. State Society of the National Society Colonial Dames XVII Century, 1995




S.C. Hwy. 41, about ¾ mi. N of U.S. Hwy. 17, Mount Pleasant vicinity

John Boone owned this land by 1694, and the plantation that developed here passed in 1864 to Dr. Peter P. Bonneau, signer of the Ordinance of Secession and Confederate Army surgeon. John D. Muller, Jr., a later owner, died in 1984 and set up a trust specifying that Laurel Hill be made available to benefit religious, charitable, scientific, literary, and educational groups.

Erected by Christ Church Parish Preservation Society, 1989




US Hwy. 17, about 1 mi. S of South Santee River bridge, NE of McClellanville

(Front) Distinguished planter-diplomat Thomas Pinckney owned nearby Fairfield and Eldorado plantations. A national figure, he was Governor of South Carolina; Minister to England; Envoy Extraordinary to Spain where he negotiated the "Pinckney Treaty," and major general in the War of 1812.



One of the earliest settlements in S. C. and refuge for French Huguenots, St. James, Santee, Parish was a major agricultural area containing a number of large-scale rice plantations. At nearby Peach Tree Plantation, Jonathan Lucas, Sr. introduced a water mill for beating rice around 1787, which gave an impetus to rice culture in this area.

Erected by St. James, Santee, Parish Historical Society, 1989




U.S. Hwy. 17 at entrance to Boone Hall Plantation, Mt. Pleasant

The country home of Charles Pinckney (1757-1824), Snee Farm stands about 0.7 mi. west of here. One of SC's signers of the US Constitution, Pinckney also served in the General Assembly and in Congress. He was elected Governor of SC four times and was appointed minister to Spain in 1801 by Thomas Jefferson. George Washington visited Snee Farm in 1791 during his presidency.

Erected by US Constitution Bicentennial Commission of SC, 1990




U.S. Hwy. 17, ¾ mi. N of Rantowles at Live Oak Plantation

3/4 mile on Live Oak Plantation at Sandy Hill Plantation, seven miles N.W, this Virginian made his home in the country through which he had led his American Cavalry. There, in 1791, he entertained his kinsman, George Washington, president of the United States.

Erected 1991 by The Arion Society of Charleston, replacing a marker destroyed in 1989




5 Clifford St., Charleston

(Front) This church grew from services held for German inhabitants in Charleston by Rev. Johann Martin Boltzius in 1734 and Rev. Henry Melchior Muhlenberg in 1742. The cornerstone of the first house of worship was laid in 1759; the second and present church building was dedicated in 1818. Dr. John Bachman, noted clergyman, naturalist, and author, served as minister of St. John's 1815-1874. During this time, he

(Reverse) helped his ornithologist and artist friend John James Audubon in producing Birds of America and the work entitled Viviparous Quadrupeds of North America. Bachman was influential in establishing the SC Lutheran Synod (1824), the Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary (1830), and Newberry College (1856). He died in 1874 and is buried in the church.

Erected by The Congregation, 1992




S.C. Sec. Rd. 10-54 at its intersection with S.C. Sec. Rd. 10-1493, John's Island

In 1898 Charleston County School District No. 11 bought this land from J. S. Hart and built a public school on the site soon after. School closed in the early 1920s.

Erected by Children and Grandchildren of Alumni, 1994




Corner of Charlotte St. and Pinckney St., McClellanville

(Front) McClellanville began in the late 1850s and early 1860s when local plantation owners A. J. McClellan and R. T. Morrison sold lots in the vicinity of Jeremy Creek to planters of the Santee Delta, who sought relief from summer fevers. The first store opened soon after the Civil War, and the village became the social and economic center for a wide area that produced timber, rice,

(Reverse) cotton, naval stores, and seafoods. Incorporated in 1926 and encircled by the Francis Marion National Forest and Cape Romain National Wildlife Refuge, McClellanville is best known for its shrimp fleet and seafood industries. Except for a period during the Civil War, two lighthouses in the Wildlife Refuge served as beacons to coastal shipping from 1827 to 1947.

Erected by St. James, Santee, Historical Society, 1995




302 Hibben St., Corner of Hibben and Church Sts., Mt. Pleasant

Erected about 1854 and originally a Congregational Church affiliated with Old Wappetaw Church, founded about 1699. Served as a Confederate hospital during the Civil War, then briefly housed the Laing School for freedmen during Reconstruction. Was accepted into Charleston Presbytery as a mission church and renamed Mount Pleasant Presbyterian Church in 1870.

Erected by the Congregation, 1996




on the Santee River, N of U.S. Hwy. 17, McClellanville vicinity

(Front) Erected in 1768, this edifice, officially known as Wambaw Church, was situated on the King's Highway. It is the fourth church to serve St. James Santee Parish. The parish, founded in 1706 at the request of French Huguenot settlers, was the second oldest in the colony. The Rev. Samuel Fenner Warren served as parish rector from 1758 until his death in 1789.

(Reverse) Thomas Lynch, Paul Mazyck, John Drake, Jonah Collins, Jacob Motte, Jr., Daniel Horry, and Elias Horry were appointed commissioners to build the church. The sanctuary combines elements of the Georgian and Classical architectural styles and reflects a  late-18th century trend toward a more sophisticated design for parish churches. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1973.

Erected by St. James Santee Historical Society, 1996




Poe Ave., near Ft. Moultrie, Sullivans Island

(Front) The CS H.L. Hunley, the first submarine to sink an enemy warship, left from a point near here on the evening of February 17, 1864, and proceeded out Breach Inlet toward the USS Housatonic, anchored nearby. The Hunley rammed a fixed torpedo into the Housatonic's hull below the waterline, sinking it within an hour with a loss of 5 Union sailors. The Hunley itself sank as well about 3.5 mi. offshore with its entire 9-man crew of Confederate volunteers.

(Reverse) The Hunley, named for  Horace L. Hunley (1823-1863), an early promoter of Confederate submarines, had already lost a 5-man crew in August 1863 and an 8-man crew, including Hunley, in October 1863 during trial runs in Charleston Harbor. Its last crew, commanded by Lt. George E. Dixon of the 21st Alabama, included Fred Collins, James A. Wicks, C. Simkins, Arnold Becker, and___Ridgeway of the Navy, C. F. Carlson of Wagner's Co., S.C. Arty., ____ White, and ____ Miller.

Erected by Palmetto Soldiers Relief Society, 1997




Erected: 1997 to 2013




Barnwell County




TARLTON BROWN (1757-1845)

Boiling Springs Rd., (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-39), between Lyndhurst Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-121) and June Ln., Boiling Springs

(Front) The grave of Tarlton Brown (1757-1845), militia officer, state representative, and state senator, is located here.  Brown, a native of Virginia, moved to S.C. at an early age and settled in what was then Orangeburg District, near Briar Creek and Savannah River. He enlisted as a pvt. in the S.C. militia in 1776, was commissioned a lt. in 1778, and promoted to capt. in 1780.

(Reverse) Brown, who served in the Revolution under Gens. Francis Marion and Andrew Pickens, wrote his memoirs in 1843, first published in 1862. After the war Brown served as coroner and sheriff of what was then Winton Co., then in the S.C. House 1792-97 and in the Senate 1797-99, resigning to become sheriff of the new Barnwell District, a position he held 1799-1804; he died in 1845 at age 88.

Erected by Barnwell Co. Museum and Historical Board, 1998



Boiling Springs Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-39), near its intersection with Lyndhurst Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-121), Boiling Springs

(Front) Boiling Springs Academy was founded by the Boiling Springs Academical Society in 1823, with trustees Hansford Duncan, John Fowke, James Furse, William Gillette, Gideon Hagood, Fredrick Hay, Lawrence Hext, James Higginbotham, Jennings O'Bannon, and Angus Patterson. The academy building, along with its records, was burned by Federal troops in February 1865.

(Reverse) The academy was reopened, and the present one-room school building constructed, in 1908, largely through the efforts of Boiling Springs teacher Olive Hay. Students from grades one through seven attended the academy until it closed in 1947. The academy, which was purchased by Boiling Springs Presbyterian Church in 1969, now serves as a community center.

Erected by Barnwell Co. Museum and Historical Board, 1998




Boiling Springs Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-39), 1 mi. W of S.C. Hwy. 3, Boiling Springs

(Front) This church was organized in 1842 by Rev. James H. Thornwell on authority from the Charleston Presbytery; F.J. and W.A. Hay were its first elders. By 1846 Rev. Samuel H. Hay preached on alternate Sundays here and at a new church in Barnwell; this congregation soon merged with the new one as Barnwell Presbyterian Church.

(Reverse) In 1896 Rev. F.L. Leeper and Dr. W.S. Hay, appointed by the Presbytery, reorganized Boiling Springs as a separate congregation with O.B. Hay and J.M. Gantt as elders and J.C. Fowke as deacon. The present sanctuary was built in 1897 by Hay Gantt and other members; the Sunday School building was built in 1955.

Erected by Barnwell Co. Museum and Historical Board, 1998




177 Wall St., Barnwell

(Front) This church, officially organized in 1868, had its origins in the antebellum Barnwell Baptist Church, which was located on this site until about 1854, when it built a new church on another lot. At that time several free blacks and slaves who were members of Barnwell Baptist Church asked to use the old 1829 sanctuary for worship and meetings. The congregation agreed, and the group met here informally until 1868.

(Reverse) In 1868 seven black members of Barnwell Baptist Church asked the congregation for letters of dismissal, which were granted so that they could formally organize Bethlehem Baptist Church.  The old Barnwell Baptist Church sanctuary served Bethlehem Baptist Church until it was demolished in 1898. Some material was salvaged to build the present sanctuary, which was renovated in 1981.

Erected by Barnwell Co. Museum and Historical Board, 1999




Patterson Mill Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-20), between Snelling and Martin

(Front) This church, originally located 8/10 mi. W on the old Augusta-to-Charleston road, was founded in 1789 by twelve charter members, with Rev. Nathaniel Walker as its first pastor. Lower Three Runs was a mother church to at least five congregations organized in present-day Barnwell or Allendale Counties between 1802 and 1849.

(Reverse) The second sanctuary here, built in 1833, was demolished in 1865 by Federal troops who used the timbers to bridge Lower Three Runs; it was never rebuilt. In 1868 Rev. C.A. Baynard and 213 members joined Tom's Branch Baptist Church, renamed Lower Three Runs to preserve the history and traditions of the mother church.

Erected by the Congregation, 2001




E side of Solomon Blatt Ave. (S.C. Hwy. 3) between Pascallas and Reynolds Sts., Blackville

The county courthouse was on this site from 1871 to 1874. In 1869 Republican state senator Charles P. Leslie, a native of New York, sponsored an act to move the county seat from Barnwell to Blackville. Court was first held in a church until a two-story brick courthouse was built at a cost of $8000. After the county seat returned to Barnwell the courthouse housed Blackville Academy, later a public school.

Erected by the Barnwell County Council, 2001




Intersection of Main St. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-70) and Wall St., Barnwell

(Front) Barnwell County, originally Winton County, was created out of Orangeburgh District in 1785. Renamed Barnwell District in 1798 for John Barnwell (1748-1800), a S.C. militia officer in the Revolution and afterwards, it became Barnwell County in 1868. The first courthouse was built at Boiling Springs in 1789 and was replaced by a courthouse built here in 1800. Later courthouses here were built in 1819 and 1848.

(Reverse) The 1848 courthouse was burned by Federal troops in 1865. Court was held at Barnwell Presbyterian Church 1865-69 and again 1874-78. The county seat moved to Blackville 1869-73 but returned to Barnwell permanently in 1874. This courthouse, the fourth on this site, was built in 1878-79 and enlarged in 1901 and 1921. The nearby sundial, donated by state senator J.D. Allen (1812-1880), was erected in 1858.

Erected by the Barnwell County Museum and Historical Board, and the Barnwell County Council, 2001




E. Main St. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-59), near Collins Ave. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-14), Hilda

Hilda, in the “Sleytown” section of Barnwell County, was chartered in 1910. It grew up around a depot built here in 1903, soon after the Atlantic Coast Line R.R. extended its line through the area in 1897. H.C. Hutto was its first intendant, or mayor, and G.W. Delk, J.H. Delk, D.A. Dyches, and W.M. Dyches were its first wardens. According to tradition, Hilda was named for the friend or daughter of someone associated with the railroad.

Erected by the Frank J. and Lucy Cook Hartzog Foundation, 2002




Collins Park, corner of Main St. (S.C. Hwy. 70) and Marlboro Ave. (S.C. Hwy. 3), Barnwell

(Front) Barnwell, originally called “Red Hill” and later “the Village,” was founded in 1800 when a courthouse was built on land donated by Benjamin Odom. Both Winton County and its new county seat were renamed for John Barnwell (1748-1800), a S.C. militia officer in the Revolution and afterwards. Barnwell was incorporated in 1829 with the town limits extending ¾ mi. from the courthouse. The heart of the city is the Circle, with its unique 1858 vertical sundial.
(Reverse) Barnwell is perhaps best known for the dedicated public service of its citizens as governors, legislators, and jurists. The city is also known as the home of the “Barnwell Ring,” a powerful group of twentieth-century Barnwell politicians who included Joseph Emile Harley, lt. governor 1934-41 and governor 1941-42; Edgar A. Brown, president pro tem of the S.C. Senate 1942-72, and Solomon Blatt, speaker of the S.C. House 1937-46 and 1951-73.
Erected by the City of Barnwell and the Collins Park Committee, 2002




3572 Dexter St. (U.S. Hwy. 78), Blackville

(Front) This church, the first African-American Baptist church in Barnwell County, was founded in 1866 when Rev. James T. Tolbert preached in Blackville under a brush arbor; the first sanctuary was built in 1868. The church hosted the first state convention of black Baptists, held here in 1875, and built its second sanctuary by 1887. The present sanctuary was built here in 1976.
(Reverse) This is the mother church of eight churches founded 1867-1922: Ebenezer, Frost Branch, Pilgrim Rest, St. Peter, Sunshine, Tabernacle, Shrub Branch, and Central. Macedonia Baptist Association, which promoted the education of area blacks, opened Macedonia School nearby in 1890. Macedonia High School was built here in 1954 and taught grades 1-12 until 1970, when it became Macedonia Middle School.

Erected by the Barnwell County Museum and Historical Board, 2002



corner of W. Main St. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 6-33) and David St., Williston

(Front) This Greek Revival house was built between 1833 and 1850 and features a wide gable-front form unusual for the period. John Ashley and then Elijah Willis owned this land before 1850; the house was likely built by the Ashley family. Williston, chartered in 1858, was named for the Willis family, which gave land for a depot on the S.C. Rail Road, for a church (now First Baptist Church), and for a school.
(Reverse) The town’s oldest house occupies a prominent location between the S.C. Rail Road and the Augusta-Charleston Road. As Gen. W.T. Sherman’s Federal army advanced through the area on February 8-9, 1865, Gen. Judson Kilpatrick used this house as his headquarters before burning most of the town and proceeding to Aiken and Columbia. The house was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2004.

Erected by the Barnwell County Historical and Museum Board, 2007




corner of Main & Jefferson Sts., Barnwell

(Front) This building, constructed in 1887 as the Bank of Barnwell, was home to a succession of banks for 116 years. The bank occupied the first floor, and the law offices occupied the second floor, with additions in 1950 and 1961. This was the Bank of Barnwell 1887-1909, Western Carolina Bank 1909-1932, the Bank of Barnwell 1932-1963, State Bank and Trust from 1963 to the late 1970s, then housed several bank branches until First Citizens Bank of S.C. was the last, 1995-2003.

The law firm of Edgar A. Brown (1888-1975) occupied the second floor for more than sixty years, with later partners since. One partner, Herman Mazursky, was Barnwell’s longest-serving mayor. Brown, one of the powerful politicians in “the Barnwell Ring,” is best known as president pro tem of the S.C. Senate 1942-1972. The City of Barnwell renovated this building in 2008, with city hall on the first floor.
Sponsored by the City of Barnwell, 2012




Dunbarton Blvd., between Cemetery Rd. & Turkey Creek, Barnwell

(Front) This park, built and opened in 1933 with funding from the Reconstruction Finance Corporation (RFC), was named for Cornell G. Fuller (1895-1972), mayor of Barnwell 1932-38 and chair of this and other New Deal-era public projects in Barnwell. The park included a swimming pool and bathhouse, dance pavilion, tennis courts, and baseball stadium. The minor league Albany (N.Y.) Senators held spring training at Fuller Park for several years in the 1930s and 1940s.
(Reverse) Fuller, an Ohio native, was a contractor and early innovator in building roads of asphalt instead of concrete. He moved his company to Barnwell in 1928 and paved 50 miles of the state’s earliest asphalt roads, in Barnwell County. In 1932 Fuller, with S.C. Senator Edgar A. Brown and Perry  A. Price, founded the Bank of Barnwell. When the Barnwell County Public Library was founded in 1953 Fuller and his wife Effie Barber Fuller donated their house as the new library.
Sponsored by the City of Barnwell, 2012



inrersection of Dunbarton Blvd. & Jackson St., Barnwell

(Front) This high bluff was called Red Hill in the colonial era. It overlooks Turkey Creek, which flows into the Great Salkehatchie River. The Charleston-to-Augusta road, along an old Indian trail, crossed the creek nearby. The waters of Turkey Creek and White Oak Springs, just north of this site, were incentives for the early settlement and development of what would later become Barnwell.
(Reverse) McHeath’s Tavern, the first business in what became Barnwell, was built nearby before the Revolution. The town, a county seat since 1785 when Winton District (later Barnwell District, and then Barnwell County) was created, was long called Barnwell Court House. Two cemeteries a short distance east, both established about 1800, include the graves of some of Barnwell’s earliest families.
Sponsored by the City of Barnwell, 2012



Beaufort County





800 Carteret St., Beaufort

(Front) Beaufort College, a college preparatory academy founded in 1795, occupied this Greek Revival building from 1852 to 1861. The school opened in 1804 at Bay and Church Sts. but closed in 1817 after a yellow fever epidemic, reopening in 1820 at Newcastle and Craven Sts. This building, designed by John Gibbes Barnwell II featured two classrooms, two offices, and a library modeled after the one at S.C. College, now the South Caroliniana Library at the University of S.C.

(Reverse) Beaufort College closed its doors in the fall of 1861 when Beaufort was occupied by Federal troops. For the rest of the Civil War it was a school for former slaves and part of a hospital complex serving both freedmen and Federal soldiers. It also served as headquarters of the Freedmen's Bureau here during Reconstruction, then became a public elementary school in 1909. In 1959 the University of S.C. acquired this building for its new Beaufort campus.

Erected by the Beaufort Historical Society and the Beaufort College Board of Trustees, 2001




Trask Parkway (U.S. Hwy. 21), just E of Sheldon Dr., Sheldon community

(Front) Sheldon Union Academy, later Sheldon School, opened in 1893 on this site and educated the black children of rural Sheldon community for almost fifty years. The original Sheldon Union Academy board, which founded and governed the school from 1893 to 1918, included S.T. Beaubien, M.W. Brown, P.R. Chisolm, H.L. Jones, S.W. Ladson, F.S. Mitchell, and N.D. Mitchell.


Sheldon Union Academy, founded by an independent group of community leaders, was a private school until 1918. That year its board deeded the property to Beaufort County, which built a new public school on this site. Sheldon School, which taught grades 1-7, closed in 1942 when the county consolidated its rural black schools.

Erected by the Committee for the Preservation of African-American Landmarks, 2001




2226 Boundary St., Beaufort

(Front) Battery Saxton, constructed here in 1862, was in the second line of earthworks built by Federal troops occupying Beaufort during the Civil War. Laid out by the 1st New York Engineers with the assistance of black laborers, it held 3 8-inch siege howitzers and was occupied 1862-65 as one of two batteries anchoring a line from Battery Creek to the Beaufort River, the remnants of which are visible here just south of U.S. Hwy. 21 (known as Shell Rd. during the war).
(Reverse) Battery Saxton was named for Brig. Gen. Rufus Saxton (1824-1908), a native of Massachusetts. Saxton, an ardent abolitionist, served for most of the war in and around Beaufort in the Union Dept. of the South. As military governor of the Ga. and S.C. sea islands 1862-65 he led the way in educating freedmen and in raising and training black units for service in the U.S. Army. Saxton was later assistant commissioner of the Freedmen's Bureau for S.C., Ga., & Fla., 1865-66.
Erected by the Historic Beaufort Foundation, 2001




Goethe Rd. between Hilderbrand Rd. and Schultz Rd., Bluffton

(Front) This is the site of two schools that served the black community of southern Beaufort County for most of the twentieth century. Bluffton Graded School, a small frame building constructed about 1900, was followed in 1954 by an elementary and high school named for Michael C. Riley (1873-1966), longtime trustee of Beaufort County School District # 2.

(Reverse) From 1954 to 1970 the elementary school educated Bluffton’s black students in grades 1-8 and the high school educated Bluffton’s and Hilton Head’s black students in grades 9-12. After county schools were desegregated in 1970, it was an elementary school for Bluffton’s black and white students until 1991. A new Michael C. Riley Elementary School opened nearby that same year.

Erected by the Michael C. Riley High School Alumni Association, 2002




1113 Craven Street, Beaufort

(Front) This house was built circa 1810 for Milton Maxcy (1782-1817), who came here from Massachusetts in 1804. Maxcy and his brother Virgil, who founded a school for young men in Beaufort, later taught at Beaufort College. In the 1850s Edmund Rhett (1808-1863), lawyer, planter, state representative, and state senator, bought the house and extensively remodeled it in the Greek Revival style, featuring an elaborate two-story portico.


Edmund Rhett, along with his brother Robert Barnwell Rhett (1800-1876), lawyer, state representative, state attorney general, U.S. congressman and senator, was an outspoken champion of state rights and Southern nationalism from the 1830s to the Civil War. This house, long known as "Secession House," was the scene of many informal discussions and formal meetings during the 1850s by the Rhetts and their allies advocating secession and Southern independence.

Erected by the General Richard Anderson Camp # 47, Sons of Confederate Veterans, 2005




Rose Hill Way on the Colleton River, just off Fording Island Rd. (U.S. Hwy. 278), Bluffton vicinity

(Front) This plantation was part of the barony of Lords Proprietor Sir John Colleton; his descendants sold this portion to Dr. James B. Kirk in 1828. Kirk was one of the wealthiest cotton planters in antebellum St. Luke’s Parish. He gave Rose Hill to his daughter Caroline (1817-1864) in the 1830s when she married her cousin Dr. John W. Kirk (1803-1868), also a physician and cotton planter.
(Reverse) The Kirks began building this Gothic Revival house shortly before the Civil War. The house was unfinished for many years until John Sturgeon III (d. 1978) bought it in 1946; architect Willis Irvin completed much of the interior in 1946-49. It was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1983, damaged by a fire in 1987, and restored by the White family in 1996-2007.

Erected by the Gen. Richard H. Anderson Camp #47, Sons of Confederate Veterans, 2007



Penn Center, Martin Luther King, Jr., Dr. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 7-45), St. Helena Island

(Front) On the night of August 27, 1893, a huge “tropical cyclone,” the largest and most powerful storm to hit S.C. until Hurricane Hugo in 1989, made landfall just E of Savannah, Ga. With gusts as high as 120 mph and a storm surge as high as 12 ft., the worst of the storm struck the Sea Islands near Beaufort – St. Helena, Hilton Head, Daufuskie, Parris, and smaller islands were devastated.
(Reverse) The storm killed more than 2,000 and left more than 70,000 destitute in coastal S.C. and Ga. Losses in lives and property were most catastrophic among blacks who were former slaves or their descendants. Clara Barton and the American Red Cross launched a massive relief effort, the first after a hurricane in U.S. history. Donations in 1893-94 fed, clothed, and sheltered thousands.

Erected by the Beaufort County Historical Society, 2008



209 Dillon Rd., Hilton Head Island

This church, founded in 1886 by former members of First African Baptist Church, is one of the oldest surviving institutions remaining from the town of Mitchelville, a freedmen’s village established here by the United States Army in 1862. The present brick sanctuary, covered in stucco, is the third to serve this congregation. It was built in 1972 and renovated in 2005.

Erected by the Congregation, 2011




Beach City Rd., just SW of its junction with Dillon Rd., Hilton Head Island
(Front) This Civil War fort, named for Gen. Joshua Blackwood Howell (1806-1864), was built by the U.S. Army to defend Hilton Head Island and the nearby freedmen’s village of Mitchelville from potential Confederate raids or expeditions. That village, just east of here, had been established by Gen. Ormsby M. Mitchel in the fall of 1862 and was named for him after his death.
(Reverse) This fort was an enclosed pentagonal earthwork with a 23’ high parapet and emplacements for up to 27 guns. It was built from August to November 1864 by the 32nd U.S. Colored Infantry and the 144th N.Y. Infantry. Though Fort Howell never saw action, it is significant for its design and its structural integrity. It was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2011.

Erected by the Hilton Head Island Land Trust, Inc., 2011



Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island, 187 Gumtree Dr., Hilton Head Island
(Front) This house, built in 1930, is typical in materials and methods of construction of those built on the S.C. Sea Islands from the end of the Civil War to the mid-20th century. It was built on land bought after 1865 by William Simmons (ca. 1835-1922). Simmons, born a slave, had served in the U.S. Army during the war, enlisting in the 21st U.S. Colored Infantry as Ira Sherman.
(Reverse) William Simmons’s granddaughter Georgianna Jones Bryan (1900-1989) built this house in 1930 for her brother, William “Duey” Simmons (1901-1966). It illustrates everyday life and the persistence of Gullah culture in an African-American farm community until after a bridge was built from the mainland in 1956. It was renovated in 2010-11 as the Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island.
Erected by the Gullah Museum of Hilton Head Island, 2011



corner of Church & North Sts., Beaufort

(Front) Early attempts to establish a Presbyterian church in Beaufort, in the 1740s and 1880s, were unsuccessful. The first permanent congregation was founded in 1912 by 16 charter members. In 1921, when it acquired this lot, Rev. A.P. Toomer put up a sign with the Old Testament verse “the people had a mind to work.” This Colonial Revival church, built in 1928-29, was designed by architect James H. Sams (1872-1935).
(Reverse) Notable architectural features include simple clapboard siding and clear arched windows. Members completed the interior, with Rev. F.B. Mayes (minister 1929-1949) as chief carpenter and Elder J.W. Logan in charge. The 1947-48 chancel arches were built by the craftsmen who built the U.S. Naval Hospital. In 1988 First Presbyterian gave funds and members to help found Sea Island Presbyterian Church.
Sponsored by the Congregation, 2012




70 Beach City Rd., Hilton Head Island

(Front) This church, organized in 1862, was first located in the town of Mitchelville, a freedmen’s village established on Hilton Head by the United States Army. Rev. Abraham Murchinson, its first pastor, was a former slave. The congregation numbered about 120 members when it was organized in August 1862.

(Reverse) The church moved to the Chaplin community after the Civil War and was renamed Goodwill Baptist Church. It moved to this site by 1898 and was renamed Cross Roads Baptist Church before retaking its original name; it is the mother church of five Beaufort County churches. The present building was built in 1966.
Sponsored by the Congregation, 2012



at Bay Point, 3/10 mi. from Land’s End Rd., St. Helena Island

(Front) These batteries, built by the U.S. Army in 1898 in response to the Spanish-American War, were part of Fort Fremont, which defended the coaling station and dry dock at the Port Royal Naval Station on nearby Parris Island. The fort, built 1898-99, was named for Maj. Gen. John C. Frémont (1813-1890), explorer, 1856 Republican presidential candidate, and Union Civil War general.
(Reverse) The fort active 1898-1911, covered 170 acres and was manned by a Coast Artillery company numbering 112 men. It was armed with three 10” guns, two 4.7” guns, and submarine mines. Fort Fremont, which never saw action, was decommissioned in 1911 and sold in 1930. Part of the fort was acquired by Beaufort Co. in 2004, and listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2010.

Sponsored by the Beaufort County Historical Society, 2013




at Steel Bridge Landing, U.S. Hwy.17 N over the Combahee River at the Beaufort Co.-Colleton Co. line, Gardens Corner vicinity

(Front) On June 1-2, 1863, a Federal force consisting of elements of the 2nd S.C. Volunteer Infantry (an African-American unit) and the 3rd Rhode Island Artillery conducted a raid up the Confederate-held Combahee River. Col. James Montgomery led the expedition. Harriet Tubman, already famous for her work with the Underground Railroad, accompanied Montgomery on the raid.


(Reverse) Union gunboats landed 300 soldiers along the river, and one force came ashore here at Combahee Ferry. Soldiers took livestock and supplies and destroyed houses, barns, and rice at nearby plantations. More than 700 enslaved men, women, and children were taken to freedom in perhaps the largest emancipation event in wartime S.C. Some freedmen soon enlisted in the U.S. Army.

Sponsored by the South Carolina Department of Transportation, 2013




601 New St., Beaufort

(Front) This church, founded in 1865, grew out of an antebellum praise house for black members of the Baptist Church of Beaufort. During the Civil War, after the Federal occupation of the town, it hosted a school for freedmen. Rev. Arthur Waddell (1821-1895), its founding pastor, had come to S.C. from Savannah, Ga. In 1867 Rev. Waddell and two black ministers from Savannah formally organized this church.
(Reverse) In 1885 the congregation, with more than 900 members, built this “handsome and commodious” Carpenter Gothic church. Rev. Waddell continued to serve this church until he retired in 1894. At his death in 1895 First African Baptist was described as “one of the most aristocratic colored churches.” Robert Smalls (1839-1915), Civil War hero, state legislator, and U.S. Congressman, was its most prominent member.

Sponsored by the Beaufort County Historical Society, 2013




706 Newcastle St., Beaufort

(Front) This building was built ca. 1896 by the David Hunter Post No. 9, Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.). The G.A.R., founded in 1866, was a fraternal society for veterans of the Union army and navy, with white and black posts. David Hunter Post was founded in 1888 by African-American veterans, many of them former slaves on Sea Island plantations who had been soldiers in the United States Colored Troops in the Civil War.

(Reverse) The post was named for Gen. David Hunter (1802-1886), who had organized the nucleus of the 1st S.C. Volunteers (Colored) in 1862. Robert Smalls (1839-1915), Civil War hero, state legislator, militia general, and U.S. Congressman, was a post officer. The post hosted annual Decoration Day services at Beaufort National Cemetery and the Sons of Union Veterans of the Civil War continue that tradition.
Sponsored by the Beaufort County Historical Society, 2013




210 Dillon Rd., Hilton Head Island

(Front) This one-room frame school, built ca. 1937, was the first separate school building constructed for African-American students on Hilton Head Island. It replaced an earlier Cherry Hill School, which had held its classes in the parsonage of St. James Baptist Church. After the black community on the island raised funds to buy this tract, Beaufort County agreed to build this school.
(Reverse) This was an elementary school with one teacher, with an average of about 30 students. It had grades 1-5 when it opened in 1937, adding grade 6 the next school year. The black community helped pay for maintenance of the school and also supplemented teacher salaries. Cherry Hill School was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2012.
Sponsored by St. James Baptist Church, 2013



Berkeley County




Old Mt. Holly Rd. & U.S. Hwy. 52, Goose Creek

(Front) Medway, established in 1686, features a 1704-05 brick house which is one of the oldest in S.C. The Lords Proprietors gave 12,000 acres on Back River to Johan W. van Aerssen (1632-ca. 1687), a Dutch Huguenot. In 1688 van Aerssen’s widow Sabina married Thomas Smith (ca. 1648-1694), who acquired the plantation in 1691 and built a one-story brick house here ca. 1692. Smith, who was later briefly governor of S.C. 1693-94, is buried at Medway.
(Reverse) Edward Hyrne acquired Medway from Thomas Smith’s son, but the house burned in 1704. Hyrne built a new brick house in the same style. Later owners added a second story and other additions from the 1820s to the 1870s. The Stoney family owned Medway from 1833 to 1930, when Sidney (1903-1948) and Gertrude Legendre (1902-2000) bought it. The Legendres restored the house and grounds, and Medway was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1970.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2009, replacing a marker erected in 1965




U.S. Hwy. 52 just E of its intersection with Colonel Maham Dr., Cross vicinity

The grave of Thomas Walter (c. 1740-1789), pioneer botanist, is 9 mi. W at his Santee River plantation. A native of England, Walter came to S.C. by 1769. He collected and catalogued many plants native to the lowcountry. His catalog Flora Caroliniana, published in London in 1788, was the first botany of an American region to use the Linnaean classification system.

Erected by the Garden Club of S.C., Inc., 2003, replacing a marker erected in 1994




French Santee Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 45) near Wambaw Creek Bridge at the Berkeley County-Charleston County line, Honey Hill vicinity

(Front) On February 24, 1782, at Wambaw Bridge 6 mi. N, a force of British cavalry, regular infantry, and Loyalist militia under Col. Benjamin Thompson surprised, defeated, and scattered part of Gen. Francis Marion's brigade of S.C. militia and Continental dragoons, under Col. Archibald McDonald and Maj. William Benison. The Americans lost 44 killed and captured; the British, none.


When Marion, who had just left the S.C. Assembly to return to the army, learned of the disaster, he took a regiment of Continental dragoons and marched toward the Santee River. On February 25th Thompson surprised Marion's force and drove it from Tidyman's plantation near Wambaw Creek. The Americans lost 32 killed and captured; the British lost 1 man captured in two days' fighting.

Erected by the Berkeley County Historical Society and the U.S. Forest Service, 1997


8-34 [should be 8-33]


Ranger Dr. (S.C. Hwy. 6) at Country Pond Ln., S of Cross

John J. Cross (1810-1890) bought 500 acres here in 1844 and soon expanded Moss Grove into one of the most productive cotton plantations in antebellum Berkeley District. This house was built ca. 1880 for Cross’s son Adam (1844-1906), who farmed here and served as postmaster while also operating a store, cotton gin, grist mill, rice mill, saw mill, and turpentine still.

Erected by the Berkeley County Historical Society, 2002




Mendel Rivers Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 45), just E of its junction with U.S. Hwy. 52, St. Stephen

(Front) St. Stephen’s, built 1767-69, is a fine example of the rural churches built in the S.C. lowcountry before the Revolution. “The Church is one of the handsomest Country Churches in So. Ca. and would be no mean ornament in Charleston,” the Rev. Frederick Dalcho wrote in his 1808 history of S.C. Episcopalians.
(Reverse) Essentially Georgian in style, St. Stephen’s features a gambrel roof with curvilinear gables and ornate interior woodwork such as its high pulpit. Services were suspended many times over the years. The church was last restored and regular services resumed in 1955. It was designated a National Historic Landmark in 1970.

Erected by the Berkeley County Historical Society, 2004




Macbeth Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-52), just W of its intersection with U.S. Hwy. 52, Macbeth

(Front) This church grew out of services held as early as 1811, at first in a brush arbor and later at a campground nearby. Ministers riding the Cooper River and Berkeley circuits served this congregation for many years. The first sanctuary here was given to the Methodists by area Episcopalians in 1847. Called Black Oak, it had been built in 1808 as a chapel of ease for Biggin Church.
(Reverse) In 1852 Charles Macbeth (1805-1881), the planter and politician for whom this community was named, donated a 15.3-acre tract to the congregation. The cemetery, which dates from the 1830s, includes the graves of Revs. John Bunch, who served 1837-38, and William J. Hutson, who served in 1870. The present sanctuary was built in 1927, during the pastorate of Rev. D. Tillman Rhodes; it was renovated in 1977.

Erected in Memory of Barbara Weeks Goodrich by Family, Friends, and the Berkeley County Historical Society, 2004



SANTEE CANAL {Marker #2]

Stony Landing Rd., Old Santee Canal State Park, Moncks Corner vicinity

(Front) This canal, twenty-two miles in length, connects the Santee and Cooper Rivers. It was chartered by act of March 22, 1786, with capital of £100,000 sterling. Construction began in 1793 and the canal was completed by 1800, under the direction of Col. John Christian Senf, a native of Sweden, as Chief Engineer. The canal was in operation until about 1850.
(Reverse) The Santee Canal was opened to traffic from the Santee River to the Cooper River in 1800. It was 22 miles long, 20 feet wide at the bottom and 35 feet wide at the surface. It was 5 ½ feet deep, carrying 4 feet of water, and was capable of carrying boats with loads of up to 22 tons. The canal ceased operations about 1850.

Erected by Santee-Cooper, 2005, replacing a marker erected before 1954




Mendel Rivers Ave. and Brick Church Cir., St. Stephen

(Front) Lucius Mendel Rivers (1905-1970), lawyer, state representative 1933-36 and U.S. Representative 1940-70, was born in nearby Gumville and grew up on the family farm on Bonneau Road (now Mendel Rivers Avenue). Rivers attended the College of Charleston and the University of S.C. School of Law, practicing law in Charleston before winning a special election to the S.C. legislature in 1933.

(Reverse) Rivers served as a lawyer for the U.S. Justice Dept. 1936-40 before being elected to Congress. A firm supporter of the military, Rivers was re-elected for fifteen terms. He was instrumental in expanding the Charleston Navy Base after World War II and served as chair of the House Armed Services Committee 1965-70, during the Vietnam War. He is buried at St. Stephen Episcopal Church.

Erected by the Charleston Harbor Pilots, Maybank Shipping Company, and the William Gilmore Simms Literary Society, 2005



Berkeley County Library, 325 Old Moncks Corner Rd., Goose Creek

(Front) This African-American community grew up around a Methodist church founded during Reconstruction by a freedman named Casey or Caice. Its early services were under a tent, but a log cabin served as its first permanent church. In 1868 T.W. Lewis and other trustees bought a 25-acre tract between S.C. Hwys. 176 and 52. After a frame church replaced the cabin, Rev. William Evans (1822-1887) became the first permanent ordained minister at Casey Methodist Church.

(Reverse) Casey Methodist Church was destroyed by arson in 1977; the adjacent cemetery is all that remains. Casey School, a three-room frame school built next to the church in the 1930s, taught area children in grades 1-7 until it burned in 1966. The Goose Creek Branch of the Berkeley County Public Library was built on the site in 1991. The Casey Fellowship Hall, across Moncks Corner Road from the church, was also a vital institution in the Casey community for many years.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2006




Intersection of Main St. and Old U.S. Hwy. 52 North, Moncks Corner

(Front) Berkeley Training High School, first called Dixie Training School, stood here from 1920 until the 1980s. The first public school for blacks in Moncks Corner was founded in 1880. It held classes in local churches until its first school was built in 1900. The three-room school built here 1918-1920 at a cost of $6,700 was one of almost 500 in S.C. funded in part by the Julius Rosenwald Foundation 1917-1932.



Rev. James Van Wright led a local effort to fund and build the school, with its slogan “A Dollar or A Day.” Rev. Harleston, the first principal, was succeeded in 1921 by R.A. Ready (d. 1952), principal for 29 years. The school, at first including grades 1-11, became Berkeley Training High School in the 1930s. It moved into a new school on U.S. Hwy. 17 in 1955 and closed in 1970 when county schools desegregated.

Erected by the Alumni and Friends of Berkeley Training High School, 2006



Boulder Bluff Elementary School, 400 Judy Dr., Goose Creek

(Front) Springfield Plantation, an inland rice plantation, was established here by Paul Mazyck (d. 1749), a planter and merchant who combined two large tracts on Foster Creek, a branch of Back River. His father Isaac, a French Huguenot planter, had come to S.C. in 1686. Paul Mazyck, who owned more than 40 slaves by the time of his death, grew rice and other crops here and also owned several businesses in Charleston.

(Reverse) A two-story house once stood here, with a large oak avenue in front and an ornamental “pleasure garden” behind it. Paul Mazyck’s son Alexander (d. 1786) inherited Springfield; his widow Elizabeth owned 100 slaves in 1790. The plantation was sold out of the Mazyck family by 1846. Its 940 acres were divided into tenant farms for the next hundred years until it was developed for housing in the 1950s.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2007




Dogwood Park, 460 Liberty Hall Rd., Goose Creek

(Front) Howe Hall Plantation, an inland rice plantation, was established here by Robert Howe, who came to S.C. in 1683. His first house here was later described as “tolerable.” Howe’s son Job (d. 1706) built a brick plantation house here once described as “commodious” but spent most of his time in Charleston. Howe served in the Commons House of Assembly 1696-1706 and was Speaker 1700-05. He died of yellow fever in 1706.


Howe Hall Plantation was later purchased by several planters, including Thomas Middleton in 1719 and Benjamin Smith in 1769. By the late antebellum period James Vidal owned it and other nearby plantations. During Reconstruction Vidal sold parcels to African American societies and to individual freedmen. This area became an African American farming community for many years. Dogwood Park was created here by the Goose Creek Recreation Commission in 1990.

Erected by the Goose Creek Recreation Commission, 2007



Howe Hall AIMS Elementary School, 115 Howe Hall Rd., Goose Creek

(Front) Howe Hall Plantation was established here by Robert Howe about 1683 and passed to his son Job Howe (d. 1706), Speaker of the Commons House of Assembly 1700-05. Later owned by such prominent lowcountry families as the Middletons and Smiths, it was owned by James Vidal before the Civil War. During Reconstruction Vidal sold parcels to African American societies and individual freedmen for small farms.


Howe Hall became an African American community made up of small family farms in the 1870s. It was nicknamed “Hog Hall” by locals who belittled the area’s lower status when compared to the old plantation. Howe Hall Elementary School, serving grades 1-8, consolidated several local black schools and was built here in 1954. Integrated in 1967, it has been Howe Hall AIMS (Arts Infused Magnet School) Elementary since 2002.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2007




S. Live Oak Dr. (U.S. Hwy. 17-A), 1.4 mi. N of its intersection with St. James Ave. near Carnes Crossroads, Moncks Corner vicinity

(Front) Varner Town (or Varnertown) is a distinct Native American community including descendants of the Etiwan, Catawba, Cherokee, Edisto, and other area tribes. This community, located near Carnes Crossroads and Goose Creek, was named for William Varner (d. 1927) and his wife Mary Williams Varner (d. 1924).
(Reverse) Several Indian schools served this community. The Varner School, also called the Varner Indian School, was built here in 1939 and closed in 1963. The church nearby has been the center of the community for many years. Nearby Williams Cemetery was named in memory of William W. Williams, an Indian ancestor.

Erected by the Berkeley County Historical Society, 2007



101 Woodward Rd., Goose Creek

(Front) This inland rice plantation has its origins in a 1683 grant. In 1726 Nathaniel Moore and his wife sold a 900-acre parcel to Isaac Mazyck (d. 1736). Mazyck’s son Benjamin (d. 1800), a rice planter, cattleman, and merchant, consolidated several nearby plantations and lived here until his death, when his son Stephen (1787-1832) inherited the plantation. Stephen’s widow Mary sold it to Dr. Charles L. Desel in 1834.

(Reverse) Dr. Charles Lewis Desel (1795-1855), a planter and physician, owned this plantation for more than twenty years. His friend Rev. John Bachman (1790-1874), a Lutheran minister and naturalist, brought artist and naturalist John James Audubon (1785-1851) here several times to hunt and observe birds and wildlife. Liberty Hall declined after the Civil War, and was leased as a hunting preserve from 1912 to 1943.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2007




Lake Greenview Park, E. Pandora Dr. between Wells Rd. and Paslay Dr., Goose Creek

(Front) Boochawee Hall, created in 1683 by a 2,400-acre grant, was owned by two colonial governors, father and son. James Moore (d. 1706), a trader and planter, served on the Grand Council and later led “the Goose Creek Men,” an anti-proprietary faction. Appointed governor in 1700, Moore commanded an expedition to Florida, burning St. Augustine in 1702. Moore, replaced as governor by Sir Nathaniel Johnson in 1703, returned to the council and held a seat there until his death.

(Reverse) James Moore Jr. (d. 1724) served three terms in the Commons House of Assembly and as an officer in the Tuscarora War (1711-13) before commanding the provincial forces in the Yemassee War (1715). Moore was appointed governor when the proprietary government was overthrown in 1719. He was essentially a caretaker until he was succeeded by provisional royal governor Francis Nicholson in 1721. Moore was Speaker of the House in the first Royal Assembly at his death.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2007




City of Goose Creek Department of Public Works, 200 Brandywine Blvd., Goose Creek

(Front) This plantation was once part of Boochawee Hall, owned by Governor James  Moore (d. 1706). Moore left 615 acres to his daughter Rebecca, who married Thomas Barker (d. 1715) in 1709. Barker, who planted inland rice here, served one term in the Commons House of Assembly. In 1715, at the outset of the Yemassee War, Barker raised and commanded a company defending Goose Creek. That spring Capt. Barker and 26 of his men were killed in a Yemassee ambush.

(Reverse) Rebecca Moore Barker married planter William Dry (d. 1740), who served six terms in the Commons House of Assembly and was its Speaker 1728-29. In 1785 William Loughton Smith (1758-1812) acquired the plantation; he was a state representative and later U.S. Congressman and U.S. minister to Portugal. Button Hall was owned by two of Smith’s grandsons after the Civil War, when it was subdivided and sold or rented to freedmen for small farms.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2007




Vestry Ln., just off Snake River Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-208), Goose Creek

(Front) St. James, Goose Creek was one of the first Anglican parishes in the lowcountry, created by the Church Act of 1706. The first church here , built in 1707, was a frame building. This Georgian brick church, covered in stucco, was completed in 1719. Described in 1855 as “a romantically situated ancient church,” it was restored after the Charleston Earthquake of 1886, in 1907, and in 1955.
(Reverse) Exterior features include a hipped roof and a pediment with a relief of a pelican feeding her young, symbol of the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, which sent missionaries here from London. Interior features include a tall pulpit, the Royal arms of George I, and a hatchment, or arms, of the Izard family. This church was designated as a National Historic Landmark in 1970.

Erected by the Vestry of the St. James, Goose Creek Church, 2007


[Supplementing Marker 8-6, erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936]




Intersection of Old U.S. Hwy. 52 (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-791) & Avanti Ln., N of Goose Creek

(Front) One of two chapels of ease for St. James, Goose Creek Parish stood here on the road to Moncks Corner, about 7 miles from the 1719 parish church. The chapel of ease was a brick building with a cruciform plan. It was completed by 1725, during the tenure of the Rev. Richard Ludlam, but was already in ruins by 1820.



Bethlehem Baptist Church, founded in 1812, built a frame church on this site. Described as “a neat wooden church adjoining the ruin” just before the Civil War, it was moved 4.5 miles NW in 1880. The church was renamed Groomsville Baptist Church for the Groom family, which donated the land. Cemeteries laid out here by the Anglicans and Baptists are contiguous and intermingled.

Erected by Berkeley County, 2007


[Replacing Marker 8-5, erected by the South Carolina Historical Commission, ca. 1929-1936]




at the entrance to Mount Holly Aluminum, 3575 St. James Ave. (U.S. Hwy. 52), Goose Creek

(Front) In 1682 the Lords Proprietors granted 3,000 acres here, on a branch of the Back River, to Joseph Thorogood (d. 1684). Though Thorogood only owned the plantation two years and his widow Jane sold it after his death, it was called “Thorogood” for most of the 19th century. By the 1720s Andrew Allen owned Thorogood, established a profitable rice plantation here, and was also engaged in the local fur trade.


Thorogood passed to John Deas (d. 1788) and his son John, Jr. (1761-1790). It, Mount Holly, and Cyprus plantations remained in the Deas family until 1824. Subdivided after the Civil War, this area was the core of an African American farming community. H. Smith Richardson bought it as a hunting plantation in 1937, renaming it Mount Holly. Mt. Holly Aluminum has produced aluminum as its plant here since 1980.

Erected by Mt. Holly Aluminum, 2007



125 St. James Ave., Goose Creek

(Front) This area has been called Goose Creek since the late 17th century. For almost 200 years after the Lords Proprietors granted large tracts to English, French Huguenot, and other planters, their plantations dominated the landscape. After the Civil War most plantations were subdivided into small farms, many of them owned by freedmen and their descendants. Rural farming communities grew up around area crossroads from the late 19th century to the mid-20th century.


World War II and the Cold War brought dramatic growth to this area with the U.S. Ammunition Depot and Naval Weapons Annex in 1941 and 1959, respectively. The population grew so quickly that local leaders hoping to manage the influx chartered and incorporated the City of Goose Creek in 1961, with Hilton W. Bunch as its first mayor. In 1966 a building here, originally a laundry, was converted for use as the third Goose Creek City Hall, serving the town from 1974 to 1999.

Erected by Advance Auto Parts, Inc., 2007




Russellville Rd./Old Mill Rd., St. Stephen

(Front) St. Stephen Colored School, the first public African American school in St. Stephen, was built here in 1924-25. A three-room frame building, it was one of almost 500 schools in S.C. funded in part by the Julius Rosenwald Foundation 1917-1932. It opened with grades 1-7, but burned in 1935. A brick elementary and high school with grades 1-10 replaced it. Grades 11 and 12 were added in 1936-37 and 1948-49.


A nine-room brick high school was constructed here in 1944-45, with Woodrow Z. Wilson as its last principal. It closed in 1954, and its students transferred to the new Russellville High School. The elementary school, with grades 1-7, was replaced by a new St. Stephen Elementary in 1966. The buildings here were torn down in 1965, and their bricks and lumber donated to Allen A.M.E. Church.

Erected by the Alumni and Friends of St. Stephen Colored Elementary and High School, 2008



                                               THE VILLAGE OF PINEVILLE

                                                Matilda Cir. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 204), just S of its junction with S.C. Hwy. 45, Pineville

(Front) Pineville, established in 1793-94, was one of the first planters’ retreats in the South. James Sinkler built the first summer house here in 1793. Pineville, named for its “religiously preserved” pines and known for its “sweet and balmy air,” became a village in 1794 after John Cordes, Peter Gaillard, John Palmer, and Peter, Philip, and Samuel Porcher built houses here as well.

(Reverse) By 1830 Pineville had more than 60 houses, a chapel, an academy, a library, and a race track. Frederick Porcher wrote in 1858, “the prestige of its ancient fame remains.” Union troops burned most of the village in 1865, except the chapel, library, post office, and Gourdin House (ca. 1820). The Pineville Historic District was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

Erected by The Village of Pineville, 2008



Old Mt. Holly Rd., just S of its intersection with U.S. Hwy. 52, Mount Holly
(Front) Mount Holly Station, a depot on the Northeastern Railroad between Florence and Charleston, was built here about 1853. It was named for nearby Mount Holly Plantation, carved out of Thorogood Plantation shortly before the American Revolution by John Deas, Jr. (1761-1790), a planter and state representative. The railroad tracks crossed the main oak avenue to the plantation, just south of  the station and platform.



Otranto (or Porcher) was the next station toward Charleston, 19 mi. SSE. After the Civil War this vicinity, which kept the name Mount Holly, was a predominantly white rural community, in contrast to black rural communities nearby at Casey, Howe Hall, and Liberty Hall. Rice plantations were replaced by subsistence farms worked by families, tenants, or sharecroppers. Mount Holly was incorporated into the City of Goose Creek when it was created in 1961.

Erected by the Goose Creek Tea Ladies, 2009




The Oaks Plantation Golf & Country Club, 130 The Oaks Ave., Goose Creek

(Front) The Oaks, an inland rice plantation, was established here by Edward Middleton (d. 1685) on a 1678 grant from the Lords Proprietors. Middleton, a planter who came to S.C. from Barbados, received 1,630 acres on Yeaman’s Creek, later renamed Goose Creek. Middleton served in several colonial offices, including as a member of the Grand Council. The Oaks passed to Middleton’s son Arthur (1681-1737), also on the Council, later President of the first Royal Council.

(Reverse) Arthur Middleton’s son Henry (1717-1784) served in the Continental Congress 1774-75 and was briefly its President. He later served in the Provincial Congress and first General Assembly of S.C. The original house here burned in 1840, long after the Middletons sold the property. The present house was built 1892 for Maine businessman Edwin Parsons, and renovated in 1930 by New York banker Charles Sabin. It has been The Oaks Plantation Golf & Country Club since 1964.

Erected by the Rotary Club of Goose Creek, 2008




Bloomfield Park, off Westview Dr., Goose Creek

(Front) Broom Hall Plantation, later called Bloom Hall and still later Bloomfield, was first granted to Edward Middleton in 1678. By 1710 this property passed to Benjamin Gibbes (d. 1722), who named it for Broom House, his ancestral home in England. Gibbes’s widow Amarinthia later married Peter Taylor (d. 1765), a longtime member of the Royal Assembly and rice planter, who built a large two-story brick house here.
(Reverse) Broom Hall passed to Thomas Smith (1720-1790), member of the Royal Assembly and the Provincial Congress. An 1828 visitor called its gardens “the most interesting spot I have seen in Carolina.” Sold to Henry Arthur Middleton in 1856, the house was virtually destroyed by the Charleston earthquake of 1886. Later owned by Westvaco, Broom Hall was subdivided for residential development in 1980.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2008



Crowfield Golf & Country Club, 300 Hamlet Cir., Goose Creek

(Front) Crowfield Plantation, on the headwaters of Goose Creek, was originally granted to John Berringer in 1701. John Gibbes (1696-1764), a member of the Royal Assembly, sold it in 1721 to Arthur Middleton (1681-1737), also a member of the Royal Assembly. Middleton’s son William (1710-1785) built a large two-story brick house here ca. 1730, naming it for Crowfield Hall, his great-aunt’s English manor.
(Reverse) William Middleton grew rice and indigo, raised cattle, made bricks, and laid out an elaborate formal garden. Rawlins Lowndes (1721-1800) bought Crowfield during the American Revolution; he sold it in 1783, describing it as “that elegant most admired seat.” The house was virtually destroyed by the Charleston earthquake of 1886. Later owned by Westvaco, Crowfield became part of the Crowfield Golf & Country Club in 1990.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2008



Goose Creek Municipal Center, 519 N. Goose Creek Blvd., Goose Creek
(Front) One of the earliest major trading paths in the Carolina colony, dating from the first decade of English settlement 1670-1680, ran nearby. The colonists traded guns and ammunition, cloth, rum, and other goods for furs and skins, trading with the Catawbas, Coosas, Westos, and Yamasees in the lowcountry and the Cherokees, Creeks, Choctaws, and Chickasaws farther in the backcountry.



The “Goose Creek Men” were English planters, some who came to S.C. from Barbados. They settled nearby, soon became wealthy through the Indian trade, and conducted an illegal trade in Indian slaves and with pirates. The Goose Creek Men formed a faction opposing the Lords Proprietors between 1670 and 1720. Two of them, James Moore, Sr. (d. 1706) and his son James Moore, Jr. (d. 1724) served as governor of the colony.
Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2008



Intersection of Foster Creek Rd.. & Tanner Ford Blvd., Hanahan

(Front) Bowen’s Corner, an African-American farming community from the mid-19th century through the late-20th century, was originally part of a rice plantation established along Goose Creek in 1680. That tract was granted by the Lords Proprietors to Barnard Schenckingh (d. 1692). It was later owned by Benjamin Coachman (d. 1779), member of the Royal Assembly. By 1785 it passed to John Bowen (d. 1811), a state representative, for whom Bowen’s Corner is named.
(Reverse) Bowen and later absentee owners through the antebellum and post-Civil War era often employed slaves and freedmen as overseers or managers, giving them an opportunity to work toward self-sufficiency. “Bowen’s Old Place” was subdivided into small farms after the war. By 1936 the Bowen’s Corner community, between the railroad and the Goose Creek Reservoir, was centered on Bethel A.M.E. Church and Bowen’s Corner School, for grades 1-8, which closed in 1954.
Erected by the City of Hanahan, 2008



at the intersection of The Oaks Ave. and NAD Rd. (Naval Ammunition Depot Rd.), Goose Creek

(Front) The first bridge here, in use by 1680, had a raised road at either end and was built from split logs with the flat sides up, covered by sand or clay. Traffic over Goose Creek increased significantly after St. James, Goose Creek Church was built 200 yds. S in 1714-19. By the 1750s the bridge had to be replaced every few years. In 1780 British troops occupying The Oaks Plantation nearby guarded the bridge, a strategic point on the road to and from Charleston.
(Reverse) The bridge was torn down and replaced by a larger covered one shortly after the Revolution. A later covered bridge, built in 1851, was 200 ft. long, on brick piers, with a plank floor and cypress shingle roof. It was burned in 1865 by Confederates attempting to delay Federals in the area. Another bridge here, built some years after the Civil War, was uncovered, with a simple railing. By 1925 a new U.S. Highway 52 included a bridge upstream and W. of this crossing.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2008



Cypress Gardens Rd. at the Spring Grove Plantation Clubhouse, Moncks Corner

(Front) Spring Grove, an inland rice plantation on the Back River, was part of a 1706 grant by the Lords Proprietors to John Barnwell. By 1727 the tract passed to planter and state representative Joseph Wragg (d. 1751) as part of his Dockton plantation. Spring Grove was not a separate plantation until 1793, when it included 1,406 acres, owned by planter and state representative George Keckley (d. 1829).
(Reverse) Spring Grove remained in the Keckley family until 1843, when it was purchased by William Bell, who owned Cypress Grove and Pine Grove plantations nearby. Bell’s son sold it soon after the Civil War. Spring Grove was later owned by the E.P. Burton Lumber Co., then the Cooper River Mining & Manufacture Co., and later the Pine Grove Hunting Club. It was subdivided for development as Pendley Homes in 2003.

Erected by Pendley Homes, 2008




Foster Creek Park, adjacent to Goose Creek Primary School, 200 Foster Creek Rd., Goose Creek

(Front) In April 1715 Yamasee warriors killed government agents and traders who had come to meet with them at Pocotaligo, in present-day Beaufort County. Others killed colonists and raided plantations and farms at Port Royal, initiating the Yamasee War. Catawbas and Cherokees soon launched raids on other white towns and settlements, and many whites in Goose Creek fled to Charleston or barracaded themselves in their houses.
(Reverse) Capt. Thomas Barker, who lived 1.5 mi. N, left Goose Creek on May 15 with 102 militia, intending to meet the Congarees near the Santee River. He and 26 men were killed in an ambush on May 16. On June 13 Capt. George Chicken and 120 cavalrymen of the Goose Creek militia ambushed a war party 20 mi. W near Wassamassaw, killing 40-60 and scattering the rest. The Catawbas would not threaten Goose Creek again.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2008



at the intersection of State Rd. (U.S. Hwy. 176) and Jedburg Rd., Jedburg vicinity

(Front) Wassamassaw, with several variant spellings during the colonial era, is a Native American word thought to mean “connecting water.” It first referred to the large cypress swamp here, but eventually referred to the community that grew up nearby in the Anglican parish of St. James, Goose Creek. Plantations laid out by the English and later by the Huguenots flourished before the Revolution.
(Reverse) The swamp was almost impassible for most of the colonial period, but the Wassamassaw Road ran just below the swamp between here and Goose Creek. A Chapel of Ease was built nearby shortly after the Yamasee War of 1715, and a free school was founded in 1728. The “Wassamassaw Cavalry,” a militia company founded in 1857, later saw Confederate service as Company D, 2nd S.C. Cavalry.

Erected by Berkeley County, 2009



112-114 Westover Dr., Goose Creek

(Front) Abraham Fleury, sometimes called Abraham Fleury Sieur De La Plaine, settled here about 1680. He was one of the first French Huguenot planters in Carolina. The Huguenots, Protestants who

escaped the persecution of Catholic France, immigrated with encouragement from the Lords Proprietors, who promised them opportunity and religious freedom. They later assimilated into the

predominantly Anglican society of the lowcountry.


(Reverse) This tract was often called Cherry Hill after it was merged into that plantation before the Revolution. In 1858 freedman and planter Lamb Stevens (1766?-1868) added it to his extensive

holdings. Stevens, born into slavery in N.C., later purchased his freedom and moved to S.C. He owned as many as 30 slaves, some of them relatives he bought in order to protect them and

their families. Lamb died in 1868 at the age of 102.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2010




at the Naval Weapons Station Charleston, Goose Creek

(Front) The first plantation here was established in 1731 by Alexander Vanderdussen (d. 1759), British army officer and member of the Royal Assembly. William Johnson (d. 1818), later a planter and state representative, bought it in 1769. Johnson demolished Vanderdussen’s ruined house

and built a new one, which he named “White House,” on the old foundation. He grew rice and indigo here for many years.

(Reverse) Johnson, an ardent Patriot, served in the Provincial Congress and the S.C. House of Representatives during the Revolution. He was an artilleryman during the Siege of Charleston in

1780, was held prisoner in exile for more than a year, then was reelected to the S.C. House several times after the war. White House eventually fell into ruins, and in 1941 the U.S. Navy acquired this property for its Naval Weapons Station.

Erected by the City of Goose Creek, 2010




at Hanahan Elementary School, 4000 Mabeline Rd., Hanahan

(Front) This plantation was established in 1701 by a grant of 500 acres near Goose Creek to Lewis Lansac from the Lords Proprietors. In 1757 the original grant, with an additional 1,000 acres that had been owned by the Wilson and Godin families, was acquired by rice planter and legislator Peter Manigault (1731-1773). Manigault named his plantation for a stream that ran through his rice fields down to Goose Creek.
(Reverse) Peter Manigault’s two-story house sat on a nearby ridge on the bank of Goose Creek. Manigault, longtime member of the Commons House of Assembly, was Speaker of the House 1765-1772 and at his death the wealthiest man in North America. His son Gabriel (1758-1809), a planter and legislator, was best known as an amateur architect. W.J. Sineath acquired the 633-acre core of the plantation in 1833 and renamed it “The Oaks.”

Erected by the Town of Hanahan, 2010




320 N. Live Oak Dr., Moncks Corner

(Front) Berkeley Training High School, located here from 1955 to 1970, replaced a four-room wood school 1 mi. S at Main St. and Old U.S. Hwy. 52. That school, built in 1918-1920 at a cost of $6,700, had been partially funded by the Julius Rosenwald Foundation. The new brick school, built here in 1955 at a cost of almost $400,000, opened with an enrollment of more than 500 students in grades 8-12.

(Reverse) Joseph H. Jefferson, Sr. (1919-1983) was the only principal of Berkeley Training High School at this location, from 1955 to 1970. By the 1964-65 school year this school reached its peak of 723 students in grades 8-12. Its enrollment was reduced to grades 9-12 in 1965-66 and then to grades 10-12 in 1968-69. Berkeley Training High School closed in 1970 after the desegregation of Berkeley County schools.

Erected by the Berkeley Training High School Alumni Association, 2010



1315 Ranger Dr. (S.C. Hwy. 6), Cross vicinity

(Front) This church, one of the oldest Methodist organizations in Berkeley County, was formally organized about 1825. Circuit riders had preached in the area for more than forty years, and services held under a brush arbor here inspired participants to form a congregation and build their first church, a pole building.

(Reverse) By 1843 the church built a large frame sanctuary, later remodeled in 1914-16. During Reconstruction its black members left to form their own congregations, among them Jerusalem Methodist Church. The present brick sanctuary, its construction delayed by the Santee Cooper project, was built in 1938 and dedicated in 1939.

Erected by the Congregation, 2011




Rembert C. Dennis Blvd. (U.S. Hwy. 52), just S of Edward Dr. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 8-757), Moncks Corner

(Front) Fairlawn Barony, sometimes called “Fair-Lawn,” was granted to Peter Colleton, whose father John had been one of the original Lords Proprietors of the Carolina colony. John’s grandson John (1679-1754), known as “The Honorable,” was a planter and member of the Grand Council and the first Colleton to live in S.C. He built a large brick house here, later described by his granddaughter as “of course very magnificent.”


(Reverse) In April 1780, after their victory at Moncks Corner, British and Loyalist troops occupied Fairlawn and built an earthwork fort 1/2 mi. E. On November 17, 1781, Patriot militia under Cols. Hezekiah Maham and Isaac Shelby, on orders from Gen. Francis Marion, attacked the outpost commanded by Capt. Neal McLean. They took about 150 prisoners. The house, used as a hospital and storehouse, was burned. Contemporary accounts, however, disagree on which force burned it.

Sponsored by the Berkeley County Historical Society and the General Marion’s Brigade Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 2011



Calhoun County





Fort Motte Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 419) near its intersection with Adams Rd. (S.C. Sec. Rd. 9-80), Fort Motte

(Front) The first church built by African Americans at Fort Motte grew out of services held by slaves at nearby Bellville, Goshen, Lang Syne, and Oakland plantations. It was formally organized in 1867 by Caleb Bartley, Israel Cheeseborough, Cudjo Cunningham, Anderson Keitt, William McCrae, John Spann, and Harry Stuart.
(Reverse) Rev. S.A. Evans, the first minister, was succeeded by Rev. Henry Duncan, who served until his death in 1905. The sanctuary, built in 1869 on land donated by Augustus T. and Louisa McCord Smythe, was remodeled in the 1970s and the 1990s. Mount Pleasant School educated students here from the 1870s into the 1920s.

Erected by the Congregation and the United Family Reunion, 2002



McCord’s Ferry Rd. (S.C. Hwy. 267), Lone Star vicinity, between Lone Star and Elloree

The Good Hope Picnic, a celebration of the end of the planting season, is the oldest African-American event in the Lone Star community. Founded in August 1915 by farmers to market their produce and held on the second Friday in August, it has often included games and music. Members of several African-American churches in and around Lone Star helped found the picnic and still support it.

Erected by the Good Hope Picnic Foundation, 2008



Charleston County





U.S. Hwy. 17 N at Hamlin Rd., NE of Mt. Pleasant

Coil baskets of native sweetgrass and pine needles sewn with strips of palmetto leaf have been displayed for sale on stands along Highway 17 near Mount Pleasant since the 1930s. This craft, handed down in certain families since the 1700s, originally was used on plantations in rice production. Unique to the lowcountry it represents one of the oldest West African art forms in America.

Erected by the Original Sweetgrass Market Place Coalition and the Christ Church Parish Preservation Society, 1997




James Mitchell Graham Hwy. (U.S. Hwy. 17 N), near Fifteen Mile Landing Rd., about 14 mi. northeast of Mt. Pleasant between Woodville and Awendaw

Congregationalists from New England built a church near here around 1700. Troops from both sides camped on the grounds during the American Revolution. Burned by the British in 1782, it was rebuilt in 1786. The building was abandoned during the Civil War and its members organized Presbyterian churches in Mount Pleasant and McClellanville.

Erected by the Christ Church Parish Preservation Society and the St. James, Santee Parish Historical Society, 1998



JACOB BOND I'ON (1782-1859)

at the entrance to the I'On Community, Mathis Ferry Rd., Mt. Pleasant

(Front) Jacob Bond I'On (1782-1859), planter, U.S. Army and militia officer, and state legislator, is buried in the family cemetery 1/2 mi. north. I'On, a contemporary of John C. Calhoun at Yale University, represented St. James Santee Parish in the S.C. House 1810-12, then resigned to become a captain in the 2nd U.S. Artillery, serving with distinction during the War of 1812.

(Reverse) I'On, described at his death in 1859 as "a representative of the true Carolina gentleman," was elected to the S.C. Senate in 1816, serving until 1831 and representing first St. James Santee Parish, then Christ Church Parish; he was President of the Senate 1822-28. He was also intendant, or mayor, of Sullivan's Island in 1823 and a delegate to the Nullification Convention of 1832-33.

Erected by the I'On Company, 1998



Intersection of U.S. Hwy. 17 N and Long Point Rd., Mt. Pleasant

Boone Hall Plantation, established in 1681 by a grant to Major John Boone, remained in the family for 130 years. The plantation, purchased by the Horlbeck family in 1817, produced primarily Sea Island cotton. A cotton gin, smokehouse, and nine slave cabins, all built of brick made here, survive from the antebellum period. The present main house at Boone Hall was built for Thomas A. Stone in 1936.

Erected by Boone Hall Plantation and Gardens, 1999




intersection of Rifle Range Rd. and Coleman Blvd./Ben Sawyer Blvd. (S.C. Hwy. 703), Mt. Pleasant

A U.S. Navy rifle range was built near here during World War I on the site of an old S.C. National Guard firing range. Included were 100 targets, 2 armories, a 600-seat mess hall, 12 barracks and auxiliary buildings. After 1919 the 100-acre site leased from George F. Goblet, now Harborgate Shores, was used by the National Guard, Army Reserves, and Citadel cadets until 1937.

Erected by the Christ Church Parish Preservation Society, 1999




Emanuel A.M.E. Church, 5th Ave., Maryville, S of Ashley River Rd., (S.C. Hwy. 61), NW of Charleston

The town of Maryville, chartered in 1886, included the site of the original English settlement in S.C. and the plantation owned by the Lords Proprietors 1670-99. When the old plantation was subdivided into lots and sold to local blacks in the 1880s, they established a town named for educator and community leader Mary Mathews Just (d. 1902). Though Maryville was widely seen as a model of black "self-government," the S.C. General Assembly revoked the town charter in 1936.

Erected by the City of Charleston, 1999




Eastern end of Fort Lamar Rd., James Island

(Front) Riversville, an antebellum village of fourteen acres, with seven lots on Savannah (later Secessionville) Creek, was established here in 1851 by Constant H. Rivers (1829-1910), who believed that the sandy soils and marsh breezes of James Island would protect inhabitants from the "malarious gases" common to the coast during the summer months.



The village, renamed Secessionville by early 1861, gave its name to the battle fought nearby on June 16, 1862, in which Confederates repulsed numerous Federal assaults on an earthwork built across the peninsula and crushed Union hopes for an early occupation of Charleston. A water battery overlooking the marsh to the northeast was one of several earthworks built here in 1862 and 1863.

Erected by Chicora Foundation, Inc., 1999




Corner of Pinckney St. and Rutledge Ct., McClellanville

(Front) Archibald Hamilton Rutledge (1883-1973), educator, man of letters, and the first poet laureate of S.C., was born at this site, in a house known to the Rutledge family as "Summer Place."  Rutledge, who grew up here and at Hampton Plantation, taught English for 33 years at Mercersburg Academy, in Mercersburg, Pa.  By the 1920s he was well known for his poems, nature articles, hunting tales, essays, and other writings.

(Reverse)  Appointed poet laureate in 1934, Rutledge retired in 1937 to the family home at Hampton Plantation, where he graciously received many visitors (Hampton, 7 mi. N, is now a state historic site).  He is perhaps best known for Home by the River  (1941), his affectionate memoir of Hampton and the people, wildlife, and landscape of the Santee Delta.  Rutledge died here in 1973 and was inducted into the S.C. Hall of Fame in 1984.

Erected by the St. James-Santee Parish Historical Society, 2000




Church Flats Rd., off S.C. Hwy. 162 just W of Stono Plantation Dr., Meggett vicinity

(Front) St. Paul’s Parish, one of the ten original parishes of colonial S.C., was created by the Church Act of 1706. The first parish church was built in 1708 on a bluff overlooking the Stono River. The parsonage and outbuildings were destroyed during the Yamasee War of 1715. After St. John’s Colleton Parish was created in 1734, a new parish church for St. Paul’s was built 8 mi. NW in 1736.


Foundation ruins and a few graves are all that remain of the first St. Paul’s, Stono. Robert Seabrook (1652-1710), buried here, served as high sheriff of Colleton County in 1698; as a captain of militia in 1706; and as a member of the Commons House of Assembly 1706-09, serving as Speaker in 1706. His wife Sarah (d. 1715) and their son Benjamin (d. 1717) are also buried here.

Erected by the Charles Towne Chapter, Colonial Dames of the XVII Century, 2002




King St. and Royall Ave., Mt. Pleasant

(Front) Laing School, located here from 1868 to 1953, was founded in 1866 by Cornelia Hancock, a Quaker who had served as a nurse with the Union Army during the Civil War. First housed in Mount Pleasant Presbyterian Church, Laing Industrial School was named for Henry M. Laing of the Friends’ Association for the Aid and Elevation of Freedmen. The 1868 school, destroyed by the Charleston earthquake of 1886, was replaced by a school which stood here until 1954.
(Reverse) Early instruction at Laing, with its motto, “Try To Excel,” combined academics with instruction in industrial, farming, and homemaking skills. A new Laing Elementary opened at King & Greenwich Streets in 1945; the high school remained here until a new Laing High opened on U.S. Hwy. 17 North in 1953. Laing High closed in 1970 with the desegregation of county schools. That building later housed Laing Middle School when it opened in 1974.

Erected by the Laing School Alumni Association, 2002




204 Royall Ave.,  Mt. Pleasant

(Front) This church, founded during Reconstruction, has been at this site since 1890. The first sanctuary serving this congregation was located on Hibben St. and built on a lot leased from the town of Mount Pleasant in 1877. After moving here and building a new church under the pastorate of Rev. F.E. Rivers in 1890, the congregation grew so quickly that it built its third sanctuary, a large frame church, by 1895.

(Reverse) A 1911 storm during the pastorate of Rev. Frank Woodbury nearly destroyed the sanctuary, which was essentially rebuilt. Later renovations, including the application of a brick veneer in 1961 during the pastorate of Rev. J.A. Sabb, Jr., gave the church its present appearance. Friendship A.M.E. Church also hosted the graduation exercises of nearby Laing School for many years until the school closed in 1953.

Erected by the Congregation, 2001




E side of U.S. Hwy. 17N, just N of Long Point Rd. Mt. Pleasant

The earthworks nearby are remains of the 1861 fortifications built to defend Mount Pleasant. They extended east 2.5 miles from Butler’s Creek at Boone Hall Plantation to Fort Palmetto on Hamlin Sound.  Supporting this line were Battery Gary and those at Hobcaw Point, Hog Island, Hibben Street, and Venning’s and Kinloch’s Landings. Federal troops occupied the town 18 February 1865.

Erected by the Christ Church Parish Preservation Society, 2003




Hampton Plantation State Park, 1950 Rutledge Rd., at its intersection with U.S. Hwy. 17, McClellanville

(Front) Hampton Plantation, 2 mi. NW, was established by 1730 and was one of the earliest rice plantations on the Santee River, in an area settled by Huguenots and often called "French Santee." The house, built in the 1730s for Elias Horry, later passed to his granddaughter Harriott Horry, who married Frederick Rutledge in 1797. The plantation remained in the Rutledge family until 1971.
(Reverse) One of Hampton's best-known owners was Archibald Rutledge (1882-1973), educator, man of letters, and first poet laureate of S.C. He wrote of life there in Home By The River (1941), calling it "the mother plantation of this old plantation country." Designated a National Historic Landmark in 1970, it has been Hampton Plantation State Park since the state acquired it in 1971.

Erected by the St. James-Santee Parish Historical Society, 2001




at the Felix Pinckney Community Center, 4790 Hassell St., North Charleston

Liberty Hill, established in 1871, is the oldest community in what is now North Charleston. In 1864 Paul and Harriet Trescot, "free persons of color" living in Charleston, owned 112 acres here. They sold land to Ishmael Grant, Aaron Middleton, and Plenty and William Lecque for a settlement for freedmen. These men donated an acre of the southeast corner to "the African Church," now St. Peter's African Methodist Episcopal Church.                               

Erected by the City of North Charleston and the North Charleston Heritage Corridor, 2005




Park Cir., North Charleston

Park Circle is the focus of the master plan for North Charleston, designed by W.B. Marquis in 1912. One of the first modern planned communities in S.C., this 1500-acre development was completed shortly before World War II and grew with the wartime activity at the Charleston Navy Yard. Its four major avenues – Buist, Dupont, Montague, and Rhett – radiate from within Park Circle and were named for the developers who acquired and planned the neighborhood.

Erected by the City of North Charleston and the North Charleston Heritage Corridor, 2002


10-4 [should be 10-43]


54 Hasell St., Charleston

(Front) This house, built ca. 1712, is believed to be one of the oldest houses in Charleston. It was built for William Rhett (1666-1723), a merchant, sea captain, militia officer, and speaker of the Commons House of Assembly famous for capturing the pirate Steed Bonnet. In 1807 Christopher Fitzsimons (d. 1825), a merchant and planter, bought the house, renovating and enlarging it and adding its piazzas.
(Reverse) The asymmetrical plan of the house includes a central hall with two large rooms on the western side and two slightly smaller rooms on the eastern side. With the relative decline of “Rhettsbury” in the early 20th century the house was a boarding house during the 1920s and 30s. Its restoration by Mr. and Mrs. Benjamin R. Kittredge, Jr., who bought it in 1941, was one of the first in this part of Charleston.

Erected by the Historic Charleston Foundation, 2002




5 & 7 President’s Place, Charleston

(Front) “The Parsonage,” the home of Rev. James B. Middleton (1839-1918), stood here at 5 Short Court (now President’s Place) until 1916. Middleton and his siblings, born slaves, were taught to read and write by their father, Rev. James C. Middleton (1790-1889). After the Civil War the elder Middleton, his son Rev. Abram Middleton (1827-1901), and Rev. James B. Middleton organized and served as pastors of many Methodist churches in the lowcountry.


This house, the home of the Frazer and Izard families, was built at 7 Short Court (now President’s Place) by 1872. Anna Eliza Izard (1850-1945), niece of Revs. James B. and Abram Middleton, was a graduate of the Avery Normal Institute and taught school here for many years. Mamie Garvin Fields (1888-1987), a Middleton descendant, described life at 5 & 7 Short Court in Lemon Swamp and Other Places (1983).

Erected by the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture, 2004




Corner of Meeting and Queen Sts., Charleston

The original Mills House Hotel, later the St. John Hotel, stood on this site for 115 years. Built in 1853 for Otis Mills and designed by architect John E. Earle, the hotel was described in 1857 as “costly in furniture, rich in decoration,” and favored by “all the fashionable gentry.” For many years one of Charleston’s most popular hotels, it was torn down in 1968. The present Mills House Hotel, designed to resemble the original, was completed in 1970.

Erected by the Mills House Hotel, 2004



Junction of Poe Ave. and Palmetto St., adjacent to Battery Jasper at Fort Moultrie National Monument, Sullivan’s Island

(Front) On June 28, 1776, a British and Loyalist force seeking to capture Charleston advanced to Sullivan's Island with 9 ships and 2,500-3,000 infantry. The American defenders, 435 men under Col. William Moultrie of the 2nd S.C. Regiment, occupied a fort nearby, built from palmetto logs. Still unfinished when the fighting began, it is sometimes referred to as "Fort Sullivan" in contemporary accounts.

(Reverse) As Adm. Peter Parker's ships shelled the fort its log walls absorbed or deflected the British shells and the Americans lost only 37 men killed or wounded. Moultrie's shells damaged every ship, inflicted 219 losses, and forced Parker's withdrawal. A British land attack at Breach Inlet also failed. The first major Patriot victory of the war also gave S.C. its nickname, "The Palmetto State."

Erected by the Fort Sullivan Chapter, National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution, 2005




West Broad St., Lincolnville, W of Ladson

(Front) Lincolnville School, the first public school for black students in this community, stood here from 1924 to 1953. Built at a cost of $6,100, it was one of more than 5000 schools in the South funded in part by the Julius Rosenwald Foundation between 1917 and 1932. Four teachers taught grades 1-7 in a frame school with four classrooms and an auditorium, on a four-acre lot on Broad Street.



In 1953 Lincolnville School was covered with brick veneer and expanded to become Lincolnville Elementary School, with four classrooms, a library, and a cafeteria/auditorium. Students attended grades 1-7 there until Charleston County schools were desegregated in 1969.

Erected by the Lincolnville Elementary School Alumni Association, 2008




4246 Savannah Highway (U.S. Hwy. 17), just N of its intersection with S.C. Hwy. 162, Rantowles

(Front) The Stono Rebellion, the largest slave insurrection in British North America, began nearby on September 9, 1739. About 20 Africans raided a store near Wallace Creek, a branch of the Stono River. Taking guns and other weapons, they killed two shopkeepers. The rebels marched south toward promised freedom in Spanish Florida, waving flags, beating drums, and shouting “Liberty!”
(Reverse) The rebels were joined by 40 to 60 more during their 15-mile march. They killed at least 20 whites, but spared others. The rebellion ended late that afternoon when the militia caught the rebels, killing at least 34 of them. Most who escaped were captured and executed; any forced to join the rebels were released. The S.C. assembly soon enacted a harsh slave code, in force until 1865.

Erected by the Sea Island Farmers Cooperative, 2006




5 Pitt St., Charleston

(Front) This was the home of sisters Carrie (1881-1974), Mabel (1885-1979), and Anita Pollitzer (1894-1975), longtime activists for women’s rights. Anita, an artist and wife of press agent Elie C. Edson, played a pivotal role in the passage and ratification of the 19th Amendment, which allowed women to vote. She was national secretary, then chair of the National Woman’s Party (the forerunner of the National Organization for Women) from 1921 to 1949.
(Reverse) In 1918 Carrie Pollitzer, co-founder and assistant principal of the S.C. Kindergarten Training School, led a successful effort to enroll women in the College of Charleston. Mabel, a science teacher at Memminger High School, organized an early school lunch program there. She also served as chair and publicity director of the state National Woman’s Party and helped found the first free public library in Charleston County, which opened in 1931.

Erected by The Center For Women, 2006




River Rd. at Burden Creek Rd., John’s Island

(Front) The Battle of Burden’s Causeway was the climax of a Federal expedition against John’s Island, July 2-9, 1864. 5000 Federals under Brig. Gen. John P. Hatch crossed the Stono River and advanced along it. By July 6th they occupied a strong position here, where a bridge on Burden’s Causeway crossed Burden’s Creek.



Fewer than 2000 Confederates under Brig. Gen. B.H. Robertson opposed the Federals. Brief skirmishing and shelling occurred on July 7th and 8th. On July 9, 1864, the Confederates attacked, were repulsed, were reinforced, and attacked again. Hatch, compelled to withdraw, evacuated John’s Island late that night.

Erected by the Carolina Historical Site Preservation Foundation, Inc., and Secession Camp #4, Sons of Confederate Veterans, 2006




just off East Shore Dr., Oakland Subdivision, James Island

This Confederate earthwork, named for the owner on whose plantation it was built, was constructed in 1863. It and other works on the north bank of the Stono River were intended to help defend Charleston’s western approaches along the Charleston & Savannah Railroad. In late 1864 Battery Haig was armed with two 24-pounder rifled cannon. It and the rest of the Confederate defenses of Charleston were abandoned when the city was evacuated February 17, 1865.

Erected by the South Carolina Battleground Preservation Trust, 2006




N. Shelmore Blvd. at Maybank Green, I’On Village, Mount Pleasant

(Front) In 1697 David Maybank II (1660-1713) acquired 200 acres along Hobcaw Creek from the Lords Proprietors. Maybank, a carpenter, built a house on this site which he named Hobcaw Plantation. The plantation passed to his daughter Susannah (1700-1746) and her husband Capt. Jacob Bond (1695-1766), planter and member of the Commons House of Assembly. After Bond’s death the plantation was owned by his daughter Rebecca Bond Read (1730-1786).



Rebecca and James Read’s son Dr. William Read (1754-1845) was a deputy surgeon general in the Continental Army, serving under both George Washington and Nathanael Greene. This was one of Read’s several lowcountry plantations; his principal residence was in Charleston. In 1819 Read’s cousin Jacob Bond I’On (1782-1859), planter, army officer, and legislator, hosted President James Monroe and Secretary of State John C. Calhoun at Hobcaw Plantation.

Erected by The I’On Company, 2007




Meeting St. (U.S. Hwy. 52), Charleston, just N of its intersection with Mt. Pleasant St. and just S of its intersection with Cunnington St.

(Front) Magnolia Cemetery, established in 1850, was named for Magnolia Umbra Plantation, dating back to 1784. The ca. 1800 house built by Col. William Cunnington serves as the cemetery office. This is a fine example of the “rural cemetery” movement, with winding streets and paths, a lake, view of the Cooper River and marsh, and magnolias, live oaks, and other landscaping.

(Reverse)  Charleston architect Edward C. Jones designed the cemetery plan, and stonecutters William T., Edwin R., and Robert D. White sculpted many of its fine gravestones and monuments. Notable persons buried here include William Gregg, Robert Barnwell Rhett, William Gilmore Simms, George A. Trenholm, and Horace L. Hunley and three crews of the Confederate submarine H.L. Hunley.

Erected by the Magnolia Cemetery Trust, 2007




W. Aviation Ave., just E of its intersection with S. Aviation Ave., W of I-26 at Exit 211A, North Charleston

André Michaux (1746-1802), botanist to Louis XVI of France, lived here 1786-96. He established a botanical garden 300 yards north in order to export native American trees and plants to France. Michaux was the first to import the camellia, crape myrtle, mimosa, parasol tree, and sweet olive to North America and the gingko and tea plants to this area. His son closed the garden in 1803.

Erected by the Michaux Garden Committee of the Charleston Horticultural Society, 2008




533 Pinckney St., McClellanville

(Front) The McClellan family for which McClellanville was named acquired this land shortly before the American Revolution. A 490-acre tract on Jeremy Creek was originally granted to John Whilden in 1705. In 1771 master carpenter Archibald McClellan, Sr. (1740-1791) bought the tract, built a house on the marsh, and named it Point Plantation. He planted an avenue of live oaks that still stand and expanded the plantation to 1350 acres, primarily raising cattle.

(Reverse) Point Plantation passed to Archibald McClellan, Jr. (1764-1846), then to his sons William and Archibald. Archibald J. McClellan (1814-1880) grew cotton and produced lime and salt here after his brother’s death. By the 1850s he and Richard T. Morrison (1816-1910) leased, then later sold, lots to area planters. The village here was named for the McClellan family by 1860. The old house at Point Plantation burned in 1902 and was replaced by the present house.

Erected by The Village Museum, 2008




Seaside Plantation Dr. between Secessionville Rd. and Planters Trace Dr., James Island

(Front) This was one of several Confederate earthworks constructed on the southwest portion of James Island in the summer of 1863. It was a significant part of the “New Line” or “Siege Line” intended to defend Charleston from Federal attacks up the Stono or Folly Rivers. This line replaced the 1861-62 lines that ran across James Island from Clark Sound to Wappoo Creek.
(Reverse) In April 1864 Battery Number 5 was manned by Company H of the 2nd S.C. Artillery, commanded by Capt. W.H. Kennady. Its armament at that time was three 24-pounder smoothbore cannon and one 12-pounder smoothbore cannon. This battery and the rest of Charleston’s defenses were evacuated February 17, 1865. Battery Number 5 was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

Erected by the South Carolina Battleground Preservation Trust, 2008



3923 Azalea Dr., North Charleston

(Front) Since 1937 this has been the campus of the Jenkins Orphanage, established in Charleston in 1891 by Rev. Daniel Joseph Jenkins (1862-1937). Jenkins, a Baptist minister, founded this orphanage for African American children with aid from the city. Housed in the old Marine Hospital on Franklin Street downtown 1891-1937, it also included an institute to teach and train children between the ages of 3 and 20. More than 500 lived there by 1896.
(Reverse) The Jenkins Orphanage Band played concerts across the U.S. and Europe for more than 30 years to help fund the orphanage. The band, taught by Hatsie Logan and Eugene Mikell, is prominent in the early history of jazz; alumni Cat Anderson, Freddie Green, and Jabbo Smith played for Duke Ellington, Count Basie, and others. The orphanage moved here in 1937, and its offices and dorms were built by the City of Charleston. Those historic buildings burned in the 1980s.
Erected by the Daniel Joseph Jenkins Institute for Children, a program of the Orphan Aid Society, Inc., 2008



adjacent to Schooner Dr., Lighthouse Point, James Island

(Front) This two-gun Confederate artillery battery and magazine is all that remains of Battery Haskell, a large fortification built on Legare’s Point in 1863 to help defend James and Morris Islands. This two-gun battery was just behind the left flank of Battery Haskell, named for Capt. Charles T. Haskell, Jr. of the 1st S.C. Infantry, mortally wounded on Morris Island July 10, 1863.

(Reverse) Battery Haskell, “a massive open work,” was built for twelve guns. In early 1865 its armament was one 8-inch smoothbore cannon, one 32-pounder smoothbore cannon, and two 10-inch mortars. It and the rest of Charleston’s defenses were evacuated February 17, 1865. Battery Haskell was gradually demolished from the 1920s to the 1960s for farm use and later for residential development.

Erected by the South Carolina Battleground Preservation Trust, 2008




at the Southeasternmost curve of Robert E. Lee Blvd., Ft. Johnson Estates, James Island

(Front) This four-gun Confederate artillery battery was one of several earthworks built on the southeastern shore of James Island in the summer of 1863. Built between Battery Simkins and Battery Haskell, this  battery was named for Capt. Langdon Cheves, an engineer who designed Battery Wagner on Morris Island and who was killed during the Federal assault there on July 10, 1863.

(Reverse) The battery assisted in the defense of James and Morris Islands, and its armament in 1863 was four 8-inch smoothbore naval guns. A magazine explosion on September 15, 1863 killed five men and wounded two. Battery Cheves and the rest of Charleston’s defenses were evacuated February 17, 1865. The battery was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.

Erected by the South Carolina Battleground Preservation Trust, 2008




at the L.  Mendel Rivers Library, 9200 University Blvd., Charleston Southern University Campus, North Charleston

(Front) The Elms, an inland rice plantation on the headwaters of Goose Creek, was owned by the Izard family for more than 150 years. In 1704 Ralph Izard (d. 1711), member of the Commons House of Assembly, bought a 250-acre tract here, expanding it to more than 500 acres. His son Ralph II (d. 1743) also served in the Assembly and on the Royal Council. The first to plant rice at The Elms, he enlarged it to more than 2,700 acres.
(Reverse) Ralph Izard III (1742-1804) lent money to the Patriot cause and later served in the Continental Congress. A state representative after the war, then U.S. Senator, Izard was briefly President Pro Tempore of the Senate. An 1818 visitor to The Elms described its “avenue of lofty elms & of loftier live oaks.” Its ca. 1718 house, later rebuilt after a fire, was virtually destroyed by the Charleston earthquake of 1886.

Erected by the City of North Charleston, 2008




S of Ft. Johnson Rd., Patriot Plantation, James Island

(Front) Redoubt Number 3, built here in 1861-62, was one of six identical Confederate earthworks built across the center of James Island, known collectively as the East Lines. Intended to help defend Charleston from Federal attacks up the Stono River, they were 60 yds. square and built for two guns each. In November 1863 this redoubt was armed with a single 24-pounder smoothbore cannon.

(Reverse) The East Lines stretched south from a tributary of James Island Creek, on Croskey Royall’s plantation, to Clark Sound, on the Rev. Stiles Mellichamp’s plantation. By late 1863, stronger earthworks, called the New Lines, were built nearer the Stono River, making these lines obsolete. This redoubt and the rest of Charleston’s defenses were evacuated February 17, 1865.

Erected by the South Carolina Battleground Preservation Trust, 2008




221 Yates Ave., Riverland Terrace, James Island

(Front) Fort Pemberton, a large five-sided Confederate earthwork on the James Island side of the Stono River, was built in the spring of 1862 to defend Charleston from a Federal attack via Elliott’s Cut and Wappoo Creek. Named for Maj. Gen. John C. Pemberton, commander of the Dept. of S.C. and Ga., it was designed for as many as twenty-one guns but never held more than eight.
(Reverse) Fort Pemberton was described in 1865 as “a large well-built work, heavily armed.” In June 1864 it was manned by Co. B, 15th Battalion S.C. Heavy Artillery, commanded by Capt. Guignard Richardson. Its armament at that time was two 32-pounder banded rifled guns and two 32-pounder smoothbore cannon. It and the rest of Charleston defenses were evacuated on February 17, 1865.

Erected by the South Carolina Battleground Preservation Trust, 2008



3790 Ashley Phosphate Rd. at Windsor Hill Blvd., North Charleston

(Front) This inland rice plantation was established in 1701 by a grant of 500 acres to Joseph Child. The original grant was between the headwaters of Goose Creek and the Ashley River, and Child soon acquired an additional 300 acres. His son Benjamin added acreage and continued planting rice. In 1749 Benjamin and Hannah Child’s daughter Mary inherited Windsor Hill and married rice planter John Ainslie (d. 1774).
(Reverse) John and Mary Ainslie built a two-story house here about 1750. In 1776 their daughter Hannah married William Moultrie, Jr. (1752-1796). The plantation declined by the 1830s, and the house burned in 1857. Gen. William Moultrie (1730-1805), victor at the Battle of Sullivan’s Island in 1776 and governor 1785-1787 and 1792-94, was first buried here but reburied on Sullivan’s Island, at Fort Moultrie, in 1977.

Erected by the City of North Charleston, 2010




Folly Beach Community Ctr., 55 Center St., Folly Beach

(Front) Folly Island was occupied by Union troops April 1863-February 1865. Gen. Edward A. Wild’s “African Brigade” camped nearby from November 1863 to February 1864. The two regiments in Wild’s brigade were the 55th Massachusetts, made up largely of free blacks, and the 1st North Carolina, made up of former slaves.


A cemetery was laid out nearby for soldiers in Wild’s Brigade who died here in 1863-64. Most graves were removed after the war. In 1987 relic hunters discovered additional graves of U.S. Colored Troops. In 1987-88 archaeologists removed 19 burials and published their findings. These soldiers were reburied with full military honors at Beaufort National Cemetery in May 1989.

Erected by The Friends of the 55th Massachusetts, 2010




King St., at the NW corner of Marion Square near Hutson St., Charleston

(Front) The British capture of Charleston in May 1780 was one of the worst American defeats of the Revolution. On March 30-31 Gen. Henry Clinton’s British, Hessian, and Loyalist force crossed the Ashley River north of Charleston. On April 1 Clinton advanced against the American lines near this site, held by Gen. Benjamin Lincoln’s Continentals and militia. The 42-day siege would be the longest of the war.
(Reverse) As Gen. Charles Cornwallis closed off Lincoln’s escape routes on the Cooper River, Clinton advanced his siege lines and bombarded Charleston. On May 12, 1780, in front of the American works near this spot, Lincoln surrendered the city and his force of 6,000 men, after what one British officer called “a gallant defense.” The British occupied Charleston for more than 2 1/2 years, evacuating Dec. 14, 1782.

Erected by the South Carolina Societies of the Daughters of the American Revolution and Sons of the American Revolution, and the Maj. Gen. William Moultrie Chapter, Sons of the American Revolution, 2010



104-106 Line Street, Charleston

(Front) This church, located on Beaufain Street for 91 years, was organized in 1847 to give free blacks and slaves in antebellum Charleston a separate Episcopal congregation of their own. The Rev. Paul Trapier was its first minister, and the church met in the St. Philip’s Episcopal Church parsonage, then in Temperance Hall, before acquiring a lot at the corner of Beaufain and Wilson Streets.

(Reverse) A stuccoed brick church on Beaufain Street was completed and consecrated in 1849. In 1940 Charleston Housing Authority bought the historic church and lot to build the Robert Mills Manor housing project. The congregation bought this lot on Line Street from the city and dedicated this sanctuary in 1942. Three African-American cemeteries have been on this site: one “Colored,” one Baptist, and Calvary Episcopal.

Erected by the Congregation, 2010




Burke High School, 144 President St., Charleston

(Front) This school, founded in 1910, was the first public high school for African-Americans in Charleston. It succeeded the Charleston Normal & Industrial School, a private school at Bogard & Kracke Streets, which had been founded in 1894 by Rev. John L. Dart. The new Charleston Colored & Industrial School, built here at President and Fishburne Streets by the City of Charleston, opened in January 1911 with 375 students.

(Reverse) David Hill became the first African-American principal in 1919. The school was renamed Burke Industrial School in 1921 in memory of J.E. Burke, vice chairman of the public school board. By 1930 Burke, with 1,000 students, had a full elementary and high school curriculum in addition to its vocational curriculum. Burke merged with Avery High School in 1954, was accredited, and was renamed Burke High School, in a new complex on this site. It was rebuilt in 2005.

Erected by the Burke High School Foundation, Inc., 2010




135 Cannon St., Charleston

(Front) Cannon Street Hospital, established here in 1897, served the African-American community of Charleston until 1959. Officially the Hospital and Training School for Nurses, it occupied a three-story brick building constructed ca. 1800. Dr. Alonzo C. McClennan (1855-1912), then one of only six black physicians in Charleston, was one of its founders and also edited The Hospital Herald 1898-1900.


By 1956 Dr. Thomas C. McFall, director of the Cannon Street Hospital, led a campaign to build a new hospital. McClennan-Banks Memorial Hospital, which opened on Courtenay Street in 1959, was named for Dr. McClennan and Anna DeCosta Banks (1869-1930), first head nurse of the Cannon Street Hospital. The old hospital here was torn down in 1961; the new hospital closed at the end of 1976 and was torn down in 2004.

Erected by the Waring Historical Library, Medical University of South Carolina, and the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture, College of Charleston, 2010




134 Meeting Street, Charleston

(Front) Institute Hall, built here in 1854, stood until 1861. An Italianate building, it was designed by Jones and Lee for the South Carolina Institute, a progressive organization promoting “art, ingenuity, mechanical skill, and industry.” The Grand Hall, Charleston’s largest public space, seated 3,000 and hosted fairs, exhibits, concerts, balls, and conventions. It hosted the 1860 Democratic convention, which split over the mention of slavery in the platform.


Abraham Lincoln’s election as president in Nov. 1860 was the catalyst for a secession convention in S.C. The convention met in Columbia on Dec. 17, but moved to Charleston the next day. On Dec. 20, 1860, S.C. became the first state to secede from the Union. That night delegates signed the Ordinance of Secession before a huge crowd in the Grand Hall. Institute Hall later burned in the “Great Fire” of Dec. 1861.

Erected by the Fort Sumter-Fort Moultrie Historical Trust and the S.C. Civil War Sesquicentennial Advisory Board, 2010




46 Reid St., Charleston

(Front) A cemetery established here in 1841, also known as “God’s Acre” and later “the German Cemetery,” was maintained by St. Matthews Evangelical Lutheran Church until about 1860. That church, founded in 1840 by the rapidly-growing community of Germans in Charleston, was originally the German Evangelical Church of Charleston. Its founders purchased land here for a cemetery shortly before they built their church at the corner of Anson and Hasell Streets.
(Reverse) Hampstead Cemetery, laid out between cemeteries owned by the African Society and the Hebrew Congregation, sold half-plots and quarter-plots to church members and others. Yellow fever epidemics in 1849, 1852, and 1856 killed so many Germans that the cemetery was almost full by 1857, when the church dedicated Bethany Cemetery, a new cemetery in North Charleston, near Magnolia Cemetery. Several graves found herre in 1982 were removed to Bethany in 2009.
Erected by the Housing Authority of the City of Charleston, 2011



Huger St., just SW of Rutledge Ave., Charleston

(Front) Hampton Park Terrace, an early 20th-century planned suburb, was laid out in 1912 along Huger Street between Rutledge and Hagood Aves. Its success coincided with the economic boom that following the opening of the Charleston Navy Yard in 1901. It was also aided by its location immediately south of Hampton Park, a large municipal park built on the site of the 1901-02 Charleston and West-Indian Exposition.

(Reverse) Developers praised “the open fresh beauty of Hampton Park Terrace” and called it

“the ideal home overlooking both river and Park.” Most houses dates from 1912 to 1922 and include excellent examples of the American Foursquare, Colonial Revival, Prairie, Craftsman, and Bungalow

styles. The Hampton Park Terrace Historic District was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1997.

Erected by the Hampton Park Terrace Neighborhood Council, 2011




222 Calhoun Street, Charleston

(Front) This church, built in 1797 in the meeting-house form, was dedicated in 1798 and completed in 1809. It is the oldest Methodist church standing in Charleston. Originally at the corner of Pitt and Calhoun Streets, Bethel Methodist Church was a congregation of white and black members, both free blacks and slaves. Many blacks left the church in 1833 during a dispute over seating. Though some later returned, many did not.
(Reverse) In 1852 the congregation moved this building west to face Calhoun Street, to make room for a new brick church, completed the next year. This church, called “Old Bethel,” was used for Sunday school before its black members acquired it in 1876. They kept the name Old Bethel and moved the church to this location in 1882. Old Bethel Methodist Church was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.

Erected by the Congregation, 2011



4611 Towles Rd., Meggett

(Front) Plainsfield Plantation, on this site, and Pawletts Plantation, nearby, were established ca. 1690 by Joseph Blake (1663-1700), one of Carolina’s Lords Proprietors and governor of the colony 1694 and 1696-1700. Blake, who had come to the colony ca. 1685 and was soon a member of the Grand Council, named his plantations for locales in his native Somersetshire, England.
(Reverse) Blake was governor when he purchased Sir John Berkeley’s proprietary share in 1694. Blake, a Dissenter who supported religious liberty and citizenship for French Huguenots and other non-English settlers, died in office. The “Goose Creek Men,” planters who opposed his and the Proprietors’ policies on settlers and Indian trade, took control of the government after Blake’s death.
Sponsored by The Society of First Families of South Carolina 1670-1700, 2011



just N. of Rifle Range Rd., Mt. Pleasant vicinity

(Front) This plantation cemetery predates the American Revolution. It was established by early members of the Hamlin, Hibben and Leland families. James Hibben (d. 1835), one of the founders of Mount Pleasant, is buried here. Generations of both white and black families are interred here. In 2003 this cemetery was listed in the National Register of Historic Places.

Thomas Hamlin established Copahee Plantation here in 1696. Later divided into Copahee and Contentment Cottage, it is now known as Hamlin Farms. In 1881 African American farmers bought 31 ten-acre lots from the Hamlins and founded the Hamlin Beach community. White and black descendants still live here today.
Sponsored by the Christ Church Parish Preservation Society, 2011



INLAND RICE FIELDS, ca. 1701-1865

Palmetto Commerce Parkway, NW of Ashley Phosphate Rd., North Charleson vicinity

(Front) Embankments and ditches dating from the early 18th century are still visible here and show the elaborate layout of rice fields that were part of Windsor Hill and Woodlands plantations. Before the American Revolution, lowcountry planters grew rice in inland fields that did not use the tides for flood waters.
(Reverse) Windsor Hill was established ca. 1701 by Joseph Child (d. 1717), and Woodlands was established ca. 1800 by Thomas Parker (d. 1821). The remnants of these rice fields are a tangible reminder of the skill and labor of the enslaved people who constructed them, many of whom had been rice farmers in Africa.
Sponsored by Charleston County, 2012




Historic Charleston Foundation,40 E. Bay St., Charleston

(Front) Early on May 13, 1862, Robert Smalls, an enslaved harbor pilot aboard the Planter, seized the 149-ft. Confederate transport from a wharf just east of here. He and six enslaved crewmen took the vessel before dawn, when its captain, pilot, and engineer were ashore. Smalls guided the ship through the channel, past Fort Sumter, and out to sea, delivering it to the Federal fleet which was blockading the harbor.

(Reverse) Northern and Southern newspapers called this feat “bold” and “daring.” Smalls and his crew, a crewman on another ship, and eight other enslaved persons including Smalls’s wife, Hannah, and three children, won their freedom by it. Smalls (1839-1915) was appointed captain of the U.S.S. Planter by a U.S. Army contract in 1863. A native of Beaufort, he was later a state legislator and then a five-term U.S. Congressman.

Sponsored by Historic Charleston Foundation and the Afrrican American Historical Alliance, 2012




701 E. Bay St., Charleston

(Front) This five-story commercial building, built ca. 1882 as a textile mill, was known as the Charleston Manufacturing Company, then Charleston Cotton Mills, in its early years. Leased to the American Tobacco Company in 1903, the plant was sold to that company in 1912. Popularly called “the Cigar Factory,” it produced cigars such as Cremo and Roi-Tan until it closed in 1973. The Cigar Factory was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1980.



By the end of World War II the factory employed 1,400 workers, 900 of them black women. In October 1945, 1,200 workers walked out over discrimination and low wages. Strikers sang the gospel hymn “I’ll Overcome Someday.” Later revised as “We Shall Overcome,” it would become the anthem of the Civil Rights Movement. The strike ended in March 1946 with a settlement giving workers raises and promising better treatment.

Sponsored by the Preservation Society of Charleston, 2013




741 King St., Charleston

(Front) This school, built in 1919 and designed by local architects Benson & Barbot, was the fifth public elementary school in the city. It opened for the 1919-1920 school year with an enrollment of 600. In 1955 the Charleston Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) petitioned the Charleston school board to desegregate all public city schools, including this one.


In 1960 nine parents, with support from the NAACP, applied for their children’s transfer to four white schools, including James Simons Elementary School. Denied by the board and on appeal, they sued in federal court in 1962 and won their case the next year. On September 3, 1963, eleven black students entered this school and Memminger Elementary School and Charleston and Rivers High Schools.

Sponsored by the Preservation Society of Charleston, 2013



281 King St., Charleston

(Front) This three-story Art Deco building, built in 1930-31 was a 5- and 10-cent store owned by S.H. Kress & Co. until 1980. Kress, with about 400 American stores, designed its own buildings. This store features a yellow brick facade with colorful and decorative glazed terracotta details typical of Kress’s Art Deco designs. A 1941 two-story addition faces Wentworth Street. McCrory Stores bought this building in 1980, operating it under the Kress name until 1992.


On April 1, 1960, the lunch counter here and those at the Woolworth’s and W.T. Grant’s stores on King St. were the targets of the city’s first civil rights “sit-in.” Black students from Burke High School were denied service but refused to leave. Arrested for trespassing, they were later convicted and fined. This youth-led protest was the beginning of a broader civil rights movement in Charleston.

Sponsored by the Preservation Society of Charleston, 2013




Ashley Ave., Charleston

(Front) Civil rights marches along city streets such as Ashley Ave. were a dramatic part of strikes at two hospitals from March 20 to July 18, 1969. Black workers, most of them women, walked out of the Medical College Hospital (MCH) on Doughty St. and Charleston County Hospital (CCH) on Calhoun St. over discrimination and low wages. Some picketers were arrested, the state of S.C. refused to sanction a union, and talks stalled.
(Reverse) The Southern Christian Leadership Conference joined the strike in its first major campaign since the death of Martin Luther King, Jr. Protests were marred by violence, and Gov. Robert McNair called out the National Guard and set a curfew. In May King’s widow Coretta Scott King led 5,000 marchers down Ashley Ave. A settlement at MCH in June and CCH in July gave workers raises and promised better treatment.

Sponsored by the Preservation Society of Charleston, 2013




River Rd. & Royal Oak Dr., Johns Island

(Front) The Progressive Club, built in 1962-63, was a store and community center for Johns Island and other Sea Islands until it was badly damaged by Hurricane Hugo in 1989. The club had been founded in 1948 by civil rights activist Esau Jenkins (1910-1972), who worked to improve educational, political, economic, and other opportunities for blacks on the island and in the lowcountry.
(Reverse) Jenkins, Septima Clark (1898-1987), and Bernice Robinson (1914-1994) founded the first Citizenship School in 1957 to encourage literacy and voter registration. Its success led to many similar schools across the South, called “the base on which the whole civil rights movement was built.” The Progressive Club was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2007.

Sponsored by the Preservation Society of Charleston, 2013