Wallis and FutunaGenWeb

This site is hosted by RootsWeb

Wallis and FutunaGenWeb
In association with FranceGenWeb [Wallis et FutunaGenWeb]

Wallis and Futuna flag

In the French territory of Wallis and Futuna Islands existed three kingdoms: Uvéa (in the main island) and Alo and Sigave (in Futuna, in the Horn Group that include Futuna, Alofi and minor reefs).

The kingdoms of Alo and Sigave existed throughout the 14th century and probably continued existing to date through local chieftains. They became French protectorates in the 1350s. The flag of Uvéa was red with a white cross (similar to the cross of Malta; there are known several shapes of it), basically the current unofficial flag of the territory. When the French protectorate was established, the tricolour was added to the canton.

Map of Wallis and Futuna

RootsWeb Message Board


Wallis and Futuna Islands


Copyright © 1999 - 2018 PolynesiaGenWeb