Native Peoples of Bruce County

Bruce County is home to the Chippewas of Nawash First Nation. They live in the area around "Neyaashiinigmiing" (Cape Croker) on the Saugeen Peninsula and also on the Bruce Peninsula, near "Namewiikwedong" (Owen Sound). Part of the "Anishnabek", their mother language is "Anishnabemowin", although some non-natives refer to it as "Ojibway".

This page is currently under construction.
If there is anything specific that you would like see on this page,
please contact me directly.


Cathy B.J. Moir