Note---The views of the Silent Policeman shown
on the Corners of this
page exemplify the central location of Olean
In Western New York. Note the direction of the arrows.
Since the above pictures of the Silent Policeman were made the name
Buffalo has been substituted in the place of the Belmont arrow.
The Why and the Wherefore
The primary idea and purpose of the
publication of THE OLEANDER is to raise funds for the support of the
Olean Historical Association, an organization which was first suggested
by the Association of Old Timers. The proposition was heartily endorsed
at a joint meeting of the Kiwanis Club and the Old Timers on Jan. 26,
1921, at which meeting the following resolution was unanimously and
enthusiastically adopted: Resolved--that this meeting heartily approves
of the movement set afoot by the Association of Old Timers for the
organization of an Olean Historical Association the primary object of
whichis the collection and safeguarding in the Public Library of local
literature, pictures, and other matters of public interest, for the
educational and commercial benefit of coming generations of our city.
The Dean of the Old Timers, in association
with Secretary Hill, greets with Approval the charter of the Olean
Historical Association, Inc.
The Historical Association was granted a
charter by the Regents of the University of the State of New York,
under date of March 31, 1921, the charter members were: Louise K.
Ballard, Katherine E. Bradley, Clara H. Kinley, Evelene Wallis, William
M. Abrams, Jr., Frank N. Godfrey, John P. Herrick, B. U. Taylor and
Richmond C. Hill The officers subsequently chosen were: President, John
P. Herrick; vice-president, Mrs. Katherine E. Bradley; treasurer, Mrs.
Clara H. Kinley, and secretary, Richmond C. Hill. John G. Pelton later
was elected a past president of the Association, and Mrs. Marie Perkins
was chosen as librarian.
The first president of the Association of
Olean Old Timers, elected at its organization on Feb. 22, 1917, was the
late Wilson R. Page. The present officers are: President, John Sloane;
vice-president, W. C. A. Quiren; treasurer, H. W. Marcus; secretary and
historian, Richmond C. Hill, who constitute the executive committee.
In outlining the salient features of an
intelligent review of the past and existing conditions of Olean as a
civic, commercial and industrial center a few indisputable facts may
properly be presented as satisfactory evidence in a generally favorable
summing up. During the periods of its growth and development as a
village, town, and city, Olean has steadily expanded until it is
recognized today as one of the leading communities of the southern tier
of New York State. Among the evidences of its substantial character may
properly be mentioned:
The extent and importance of its leading
industries, which include the Pennsylvania R. R. shops, the Vacuum Oil
plant, the Clark Brothers plant, the Weston Mills, the Acme Glass
company and others.
The growth of its Educational department.
The extended importance of its two daily newspapers.
The amelioration in its street railway system.
The already established and daily growing
importance of automobiles, of various styles and characters, for
business and private uses.
The extension and growth of the business thorofares, notably on State
street; the development in East Olean and Boardmanville, and across the
river on Seneca Heights and vicinity.
Page: 4 -
PHOTOS (To be inserted at a later time)
AND THERE ARE OTHERS TO BE SEEN ELSEWHERE IN THE PAGES OF THE OLEANDER
They Can Tell
Any one of the Eight Olean Old Timers, whose
Portraits appear Herewith, can Furnish information as to the ages and
histories of the various structures and stores reproduced above.
The pictures will serve as a comparison with
the buildings, etc., which characterize Olean up-to-date. 1922-1923
C. D. Judd
Geo. T. Keith
W. W. Virginia
J. W. Davis
D. A. Pratt
E. W. Bevier
W. N. Deabold
T. H. Barnes
That there are good grounds for optimism can
hardly be questioned as far as local conditions are involved. The
solution of the various national industrial problems will surely come
sooner or later and a desirable normal condition will be restored.
As a result it is reasonable to assume that
there will be a revival of activity in Olean industries and a
consequent improvement in all branches of local affairs and general
One phase of encouragement for the future is
the continual operation of enterprises whose origin dates back to other
days familiar to members of the Association of Olean Old Timers, among
which may be mentioned as still active and alert, T. B. Barnes, Bell
Brothers (N. S. Butler), J. B. Black, J. H. Bradner, (R. O. Smith), F.
R. Brothers (Dr. J. V. D. Coon), Charles Cradduck, W. L. Crannell, P.
C. Foley, Luther Mfg. Co., (Luther & Sons), H. W. Marcus, Mayer
Brothers, O. S. McClure, Otto Miller, (Herman Scheultz), E. M. Oakleaf,
(F. R. Eaton & F. H. Oakleaf), Olean Hardware Co., (C. V. B.
Barse), A. M. Palmer, C. H. Rafferty, M. F. Riley, A. A. Swartz, W. H.
Simpson, P. J. Spindler, John Troy, B. U. Taylor, E. D. Westbrook, H.
C. Whipple, Smith & Seeley (F. W. Higgins), W. C. A. Quirin.
The coming of the automobile age has already
added greatly to the business and pleasure purposes of Olean and made
the city a most important center for the various branches of the new
vehicles of travel and traffic, and will continue to grow and expand.
Changes in the traffic arrangements of the
railroad systems reaching Olean from various directions have largely
increased the work of the local post office, especially in the matter
of transfer of mail in transit to points in this territory. In various
other ways the business of the post office calls for increased service
PHOTO: J. P. Herrick
Many Olean people interested in oil will
be interested to know what Mr. J. P. Herrick has to say about the
forecast. He made a report to the New York State Oil Producers'
Association recently, at which time he was president of the
association, but has since resigned to become president of the
executive committee. Mr. Herrick said in part: "A careful survey of the
oil industry throughout the world leads me to believe that the bottom
has been reached in crude prices, providing mid-continent producers
hold fast to their agreement for a partial shut-down in new drilling
and the agreement reached a few days ago by Wyoming companies operating
in the great Salt Creek field is not disturbed and the lid left on that
wonderful oil structure. The consensus of opinion at that moment is
that crude oil prices ought not to advance before next spring. However,
there have been so many false alarms in crude prices during the past
two years that is has become hazardous to even venture a prediction
either way. With Mexican oil fields partially out of the running, the
coal and rail strikes settle, the manufacturers flooded with rush
orders, the tariff bill a law, a big increase in demand for fuel oil
and a schedule calling for two million new automobiles a year, many
disturbing factors are being swept away like chaff before the wind.
Changes come quickly in the oil business. If I were to venture a
prediction it would be that the looked for upturn in crude prices will
come sooner than anticipated--say early in the new year."
Another factor which gives evidence of the growth of Olean, in the
matter of education, is a comparison of the registration in the public
schools. Ten years ago, Sept., 1912, the registration in the High
School was 422, and in the Grammar Schools 2,533, a total of 2,955. The
registration last year, Sept., 1922, for the High School was 808, and
the Grammar Schools 3,571, a total of 3,379.
PHOTO: N. V. V. FRANCHOT
FIRST MAYOR OF THE CITY OF OLEAN
Two Terms, 1894-95; 1896-97
PHOTO: View of Union Street, from Laurens to State Street, as it
appeared after the great fire of Jan. 16, 1866. Note the muddy roadway.
This was long before the days of automobiles and trolley cars. The
church spire on the left is that of the first Catholic Church.
In a publication of the especial character and
purpose of THE OLEANDER more than would be undesirable, although a few
of the outstanding facts of general interest may properly be enumerated.
That history began in 1804, when Robert
and Adam Hoops purchased a tract of 20,000 acres from the Holland Land
Company, and Robert Hoops built a log house on land which is now
occupied by East Olean. Adam Hoops was a government agent, and had been
a major in the Revolution. With hism came Cornelius Brooks, also a
Revolutionary soldier. Adam Hoops is spoken of as the real founder of
Olean, which was called Hamilton for many years, although the river
port, called "Olean Point" on the Allegany River, was extensively known
even in those early days. There was no formal change in the name of the
village, but it became commonly called Olean instead of Hamilton, so
that about 1836 the former title became permanent.
In the early part of the nineteenth century the Alle-
PHOTO: View of Union Street from Laurens to State Street, as it appears
up-to-date--end of 1922.
This is the same site as that shown at top of page after the great fire
of January 16, 1866.
Photo: An old time view of Olean, looking north-west, date
undetermined, showing the former high school building,
The Presbyterian church of early days, with the Strong residence
property on the left.
The Allegany River was navigable as far as
Olean Point, which was a very important gateway for the westbound tide
of emigration in the pioneer period of the Union. Cheap rates of
transportation filled many flat boats and lumber rafts in those days,
and Olean Point was a busy place in the open season. The first settlers
occupied their time in lumbering, rafting down the Allegany River,
hunting fishing, and cajoling the aboriginal Indians; agricultural
pursuits came later. To these settlers came the Quaker, Catholic,
Baptist, Presbyterian, Episcopal and Methodist missionaries, exhorters,
emissaries, and itinerant preachers, on foot and on horseback; services
were held in the homes, and later shanties and make-shift structures
were erected as church buildings, from which were evolved the fine
edifices of the present day.
After the early settlement days came a period
of comparative quietude, in which lumbering and some primitive farming
were the chief occupations, until in 1851 the Erie Railroad was built
and completed through the north end of the village, which resulted in a
limited business boom. Then in 1872, when the Buffalo and Washington
Railroad (now the Pennsylvania) was finished, Olean began to develop
and add to her importance. About the year 1875 the petroleum operations
in the Bradford territory began to affect this section, and Olean
became the principal oil center of the Bradford region. Olean's
population increased steadily, as shown by the following figures:
1851--899; 1855--1,611; 1860--2706; 1875--3,103; and the five years
from 1880 to 1885, saw the population doubled, from 3,500 to 8,650, due
to the oil developments. Into the growing town was infused a spirit of
enterprise, and many important improvements were the consequence.
Businessmen, who had large interests in the oil fields, settled in
Olean, thus emphasizing its advantages as a place of residence.
The foregoing in a general way is an epitome of the earlier history of
Olean. As a matter of record the following facts may be added:
The first industries established in Olean were a saw mill, on the banks
of Olean Creek in 1807, built by William Shepard and Willis Thrall, and
a grist mill built by Robert and Adam Hoops in 1809.
The first hotel was a log tavern, opened in 1811 by
Gregory on the site of the present Olean House.
The Post Office was established May 23, 1816, the first postmaster
being Horatio Orton, appointed by President Monroe in 1817.
The first store was opened in 1818 by Levi Gregory.
The first newspaper in Olean was the Hamilton Recorder, a weekly,
published in 1819.
The first school house was built in 1822-23 by Seth Simmons, and his
son, Ephraim, both carpenters, on the site now occupied by School No. 3.
The first local bank, the Bank of Olean, was established in 1840.
The first refinery built in Olean was that of Wing, Wilbur & Co.,
erected in 1877.
The first daily newspaper, the Olean Daily Times, in charge of the
writer, was published in 1879.
OLEAN AS A CITY
Olean was incorporated as a city April 25,
1893. Its mayors have served as follows: N. V. V. Franchot, 1894-1895;
96-7; G. H. Strong, 1898-9; J. H. Waring, 1900-1901; P. C. Foley,
1902-3; J. H. Waring, 1904-5; E. D. Westbrook, 1906-7; W. H.
Mandeville, 1908-9; P. C. Foley, 1910-11-12-13; W. H. Simpson, 1914-15;
Foster Studholme 1916-17-18-19; W. Z. Georgia, 1920-21; P. C. Foley,
- Country Club
- K. of C. Club
- City Club
- Y. M. C. A.
- School No. 10
- School No. 2
- School No. 3
- School No. 7
- School No. 4
Courtesy of the Chamber of Commerce
OLEAN IN 1922-1923
The officials of the city for the present year
(1922) and for 1923 are: Mayor--Peter C. Foley; President of the Common
council--C. P. Burley; Clerk--A. E. Turner; City Auditor--George M.
Mayer; City Attorney--Henry Donnelly; Superintendent of Streets--D. L.
Lawler; City Engineer--G. R. Miles; Chief of Police--J. C. Dempsey;
Chief of Fire Department--L. G. Rodgers; City Treasurer--F. P. Heberle;
Overseer of Poor--E. E. Bacon; Commissioner of Public Works--C. P.
Luther; Police Justice--D. W. Keating; City Physician--Dr. E. H.
Madison; City Historian--Richmond C. Hill; Sealer of Weights and
Measures--J. T. Williamson; Stenographer--Bernice Whitcomb.
The eleven aldermen, who constitute with
the Mayor, the Common Council, and the wards they represent are:
first--William Schultze; second--J. C. Miles; third--H. C. Perkins;
fourth--C. P. Burley; fifth--R. H. McGraw; sixth--John Wholeben;
seventh--H. C. Olson; eighth--W. S. Murphy; ninth--F. E. Brennan; tenth
--M. J. Wiggins; eleventh--H. W. Spencer.
The chief officers of the Department of Public
Health are: its director. Dr. W. E. McDuffie; City Milk Inspector and
Bacteriologist, Dr. J. P. Garen; Sanitary Inspector and Registrar, W.
H. Keeney; V. D. Clinic Physician, Dr. L. J. Atkins; Plumbing
Inspector, L. C. Rogers; Public Health Nurse E. Geraldine Gibbons, Sec.
The Park Commissioners are: E. H. Allen,
president; Mrs. Marcia B. Bradner, Joseph M. Streb, John Keim, E. W.
Fitzgerald, and clerk, Mary M. Seuling.
The Civil Service Commissioners are:
President--Henry J. Zimmerman; secrtary--Albert M. Gibbs, and P. F.
The Water Commissioners are: Geo. H. Ball,
president; Charles Warren, superintendent; H. W. Stone, clerk; C. E.
Banfield, and C. A. Shafer.
The Assessors are: Charles Breder, chairman,
and M. A. Brunner, and W. J. Quigley.
The Plumbing Board comprises: James E.
Shortell, president; P. J. Collins, and D. E. Sullivan.
The Board of Supervisors comprises: first
ward--E. W. Wheeler; second-- W. E. Lennon; third--B. J. Both;
fourth--C. C. Bisett; fifth---J. J. Connell; sixth--H. J. Zimmerman;
seventh--C. B. Cole; eighth--S. P. McLoughlin; ninth--James Hickey;
tenth--W. H. Nutting; eleventh--W. R. McGavis.
The trustees of the Board of Education are:
Dr. S. Judd Earley, Harry S. Coburn, Peter J. Spindler, John T.
Quilter, John F. Turner, Charles S. Smith, Raymond J. Dorson, J.
Grafton Murdock, and Samuel M. Gaylor. From these have been chosen the
following officers: President--S. Judd Early, D. S.; secretary--Harry
S. Coburn; treasurer--T. Clark Boyd; clerk and colletor, E. H. Keeney.
The administrative department consists of: William C. Greenawalt,
superintendent of schools; Fannie Stowell, secretary to Superintendent;
Mary Weinman, assistant secretary; Alexander D. Cobb, superintendent of
buildings; Benjamin W. Wilcox, assistant superintendent of buildings;
James L. McCready, attendance officer; C. A. Greenleaf, medical
inspector; Jane J. Dotterweich, R. N., school nurse; M. Lucile Sprague,
D. H., dental hygienist.
PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF OLEAN
The people of Olean have always taken a great
pride in their school. They have looked upon the schools as one of the
avenues through which their children could seek opportunities. They
have taken a keen interest in education and want the best that
available funds can secure.
The aim of the elementary school is to give pupils a perspective in the
rudiments of education so that, if they will be obliged to terminate
their technical training with the completion of the course in the
elementary school, they have obtained the most that a well balanced
elementary course of study can provide. In each revision of the
elementary course of study one circumstance governs to a larger degree
than any other and that is that a limited percentage of pupils who
complete the elementary course will also complete the high school
course. For this reason, if for no other, the elementary school has a
great responsibility. It must function first of all, in the interests
of those pupils who will not finish the high school course. Secondly,
the elementary course must be so organized that it will train pupils
properly for entrance to a high school.
The aim and purpose of the high school course
of study is to offer students in high school an academic training
general in its scope and character, acquainting them theoretically with
the commercial, industrial, local and national institutions of our
country, assisting them in the development of an appreciation of the
cultural, and contributing toward the realization of a national
consciousness and a national ideal. Secondly, the high school course
offers such courses of study that will prepare adequately those
students who wish to continue their technical training in higher
Besides the features contained in a high
school course as outlined the Olean high school offers courses in
industrial education. The aim of this course is not to make a mechanic,
but to teach students something about different
Schools and Colleges
- St. Mary of the Angels
- St. John's
A new school building is in the Course of erection
- Olean High School
- St. Bonaventure's College
- St. Elizabeth's Academy
- Parochial School, 1923
PHOTO: DR. S. JUDD EARLY
President of the Board of Education
WILLIAM C. GREENAWALT
Superintendent of Schools
Industries with a view of enabling them to
select a suitable vocation to a better advantage.
The home-making courses carried on in both the
elementary schools and in the high school aim to supplement in a
technical way the education which girls receive in their homes. The
average girl becomes a home-maker. Education must recognize this fact
and should offer a certain type of training for it.
The function of the part-time school,
organized recently in this State by legislation act is to give students
who must leave school, on account of some misfortune before completing
the course of study an opportunity to supplement their vocational
training with related technical training.
The evening schools in Olean have three main
objectives. First, courses are offered in general commercial and
home-making subjects. Secondly, courses are offered to give instruction
in English and citizenship for those who feel that they can profit by
pursuing these courses. Lastly, courses in trade extension are offered.
These courses are organized for men who work in shops or in trades and
wish to learn something more technical than their daily employment
During the past few years great progress has
been made in this city in public health education. Two of the most
outstanding achievements along this line are the study of conditions
causing underweight in children in the first four grades of the
elementary schools. In the former an attempt is made to suggest or
prescribe a diet for pupils whose physical condition is below normal.
In the latter a dental hygienist brings the need of dental treatment
for individual pupils to the attention of parents.
Much of the success achieved in the health
department has been done through the excellent cooperation of the
various Parent-Teacher Associations of the city who made funds
available to supply milk and other food for some pupils in the several
schools, the Anti-Tuberculosis Society who made an open air school
possible, and the local chapter of the American Red Cross who assisted
in establishing the course in dental hygiene.
Recently the school district approved a city
wide building program. When this program is completed the serious
crowded condition in our schools will have been overcome and schools
will be so located that they will be accessible to all pupils.
The schools of a nation comprise one
institution upon which that nation has a right to depend for developing
and perpetuating a national feeling, a national spirit and a national
ideal. Olean will always pride itself in its contribution toward the
realization of this national consciousness.
THE PUBLIC SCHOOL SYSTEM
As explained by the President of the Board of Education
The development of Olean's Public School System has followed closely
the City's material advancement, industrial-
Photo: E. H. KEENEY
Clerk and Collector, Board of Education
ly and commercially the city has always
realized that the most potent factor in the advancement of any
community is the care with which it trains its boys and girls for
American Citizenship and increases their ability not only to make a
living but to live a well balanced, useful life among their neighbors.
The present group of well equipped schools
with the staff of competent principals and teachers is the outgrowth of
the old Olean District School. The historical records of the county
furnish meager information regarding the early educational advantages,
but the outstanding fact is that almost immediately after the founding
of the Village in 1803 a sustained effort was made to furnish some
schooling in the common branches to the children of the settlers.
The Olean Academy came into being through the
efforts of private citizens at about the time the Erie Railroad was
completed in the Village and was a recognition of the necessity of more
advanced institutions than could be furnished by the Common or district
School. Being a private enterprise a small tuition was charged and in
spite of discouragements the institution prospered and was well
supported by the surrounding country.
In 1868 Olean Union Free School District was
organized under the laws of the State and at the same time an
appropriation of $2,000.00 was made to purchase the Olean Academy
building which was later replaced by the High School now in use. From
these humble beginnings the present splendid school system has been
developed, growing from the single room log school building with one
teacher to an organization of about 150 teachers housed in ten
buildings and caring for the educational needs of more than 4,500 young
During the past year the District, under the
pressure of overcrowded conditions in practically all the schools,
HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATES-1922
(click on picture for full size image)
PHOTO: H. L. SACKETT
Top row-- Alice Brown, Thelma Brown,
Philip Austin, Helen Marlatt, Roy Reck, Mary Clare Crowley, Nathaniel
Jewell, Robert Clark, Charles Ducey, Ora Rogers, Metcalf Shaffer, Lloyd
Guile, Genevieve Dinsmore.
2nd--Louise Dawson, Betty Burger, Mildred Spears,
Wickwire, Rena Bergreen, William LeStrange, Cathryn Wilson, Melville
Follett, Wilhelmina Gallmeier, Robert McCartan, George Geuder, Gladys
Lax, James Gibney, George Vorhies.
3rd--Catherine Holmes, Mallie Forrest, Margaret
Helen Hickey, Clarence Redstone, Helen Coburn, Harold Foster, Marion
Buckley, Lillian Orcutt, Carl Schnell, Julia Slinker, Ora Sikes, Mae
4th--Margaret Larkin, Harold Woodfill, Helen Osborn,
Hazel Hand, Iola Mallery, Agnes Quigley, Marion Proudfoot, Katherine
Campbell, Olga Anderson, Florence Kick, Dorothy Schelterle, Vernice
Lampe, Catherine Karl, John Gavin
5th--Rose Pfeiffer, Raymond Fulmer, Marie Sweitzer,
Wixon, Maude Pennoyer, Nolia Coates, Gardiner Gibbs, Cora Allen,
Beatrice Hill, Helen Becker, Gertrude Havens, John Leahy.
Seated--Emily Tothill, Lawrence McNamara, Rose Duffy,
Principal of High School
voted favorably upon a bond issue of six
hundred thirty thousand dollars and made possible a comprehensive
building program covering the needs for more school room in the four
outlying districts of the city, together with a new grammar school on
Sullivan Street near the High School. In addition a new building to
care for the Physical and Manual training departments is being
constructed on the High School grounds.
The Olean Public Library is maintained as a
part of the school system as the result of a transfer to the District
of the Forman Library, more recently this library with additions has
been provided with a beautiful library building through the generosity
of Mr. Andrew Carnegie. The Board of Managers of the Library consists
of five members chosen by the trustees of the School District with the
Supt. Of Schools and the President of the Board of Education as
ex-officio members. The Board of Trustees of the Olean Library for the
present term are: W. C. A. Quirin, President; E. W. Fitzgerald,
vice-president; N. B. B. Franchot, treasurer; W. L. Pelton, secretary;
C. P. Luther, W. C. Greenawalt, and S. Judd Early.
The spirit of this generation which demands
the best in education for the youth of the entire community without
regard to circumstances, creed or race and the cooperation of all
citizens in support of this demand makes the future of Olean Schools
seem unusually bright.
Few Boards of Education in Cities the size of
Olean have the opportunity of the Olean Board to put into effect,
without partisan interference, the measures which make for a proper
expansion of the school' influence and service to our young people. The
Olean Board of Education feels its responsibility, recognizes the
opportunity and believes that the next few years will offer sufficient
proof of the Board's desire to aid in making Olean's Public Schools not
the largest but the best system in the State.
PHOTO: S. JUDD EARLEY.
WESTBROOK COMMERCIAL ACADEMY
In these days of enterprise and hustle, the
manufacturer or merchant
requires his office help to be efficient in every way, with a thorough
knowledge of modern business methods. Those how are the best qualified
are the ones who secure the positions and make good in them. It is with
this intention of fitting young women and men of today to take their
places in the business world that up-to-date commercial schools are
conducted, and in Olean we have such an institution in the Westbrook
Commercial Academy, where the highest standard is maintained.
This school was originally established in
Mansfield, Pa., in 1882 by
Prof. E. D. Westbrook, and was removed to Olean four years later. It
occupies the entire third floor of the Tower building on North Union
Street, having five large adequately equipped and well-lighted rooms.
The course of instruction embraces thorough training in all the
practical branches of business, including book-keeping, short-hand, and
typewriting, with spelling, penmanship, grammar and business practice
Prof. Westbrook gives his personal attention
to every detail of the
school, and carefully studies the individual characters of his
students. He has 125 students enrolled this year from Olean and
surrounding towns, who all seem busy and interested. The graduates of
the Westbrook Commercial Academy are widely distributed, and are to be
found in many of the largest commercial, financial and industrial
institution in the United States.
PHOTO: ST. MARY'S PAROCHIAL SCHOOL
Now in course of construction Corner South First and Henley Streets
A new school and convent are now being built on the lot adjoining the
church. Both buildings will be complete in every detail, and the
estimated cost will be upwards of $250,000. The old school property has
been sold to the city for a site for a new grade school: the contract
between the parish and the city calls for delivery of the site within
three years from March, 1922, for the sum of $32, 000.
President of the Council
Albert E. Turner--Acting City Clerk
E. E. Bacon
Overseer of the Poor
Fire Chief Rodgers
F. H. Heberle
THE OLEAN PUBLIC LIBRARY
Its History and Ideals, as set forth by the Librarian, Miss Maud
PHOTO: The Olean Public Library, South Union Street
The Olean Public Library, located as it is
near the Federal Post
Office, the City Hall, The first National Bank and opposite Lincoln
Park, and with both urban and inter-urban trolley cars passing its
doors, has few rivals in situation as an educational and civic center.
On March twenty-fifth of this year (1922) the library rounded out its
fifty-first year as an organization. It was first known as the Olean
Library Association and continued as such until March twenty-eighth,
1889, the name then being changed to "Forman Library," in appreciation
of Mr. George V. Forman's generous gift of the building and grounds on
South Union Street. During 1906 the matter of making the library a free
institution was discussed and measures taken to transfer the property
to the Board of Education, School District No. 1. On the completion of
this reorganization, the Olean Public Library was opened for service,
January 14, 1907. It was soon evident that the Library would need
larger quarters to accommodate the growing demands of its patrons.
Correspondence was begun with Andrew Carnegie, which resulted in a
cablegram being received, July second, 1908, stating that he would
contribute $40,000 for a new building, the local authorities to pledge
at least ten percent of that amount for annual maintenance. Additional
land was purchased and on September 21, contracts were let for the
erection of the present building. The following April the books and
equipment were moved into rooms on the second floor of the City Hall,
remaining there until the Carnegie building was ready for occupancy.
The corner-stone was laid, with appropriate ceremonies, July third,
1909, and the formal opening occurred May twenty-first, 1910.
Two days later the new building was opened for
registration of readers
and service has continued, without interruption, ever since. According
to the latest records, there are now 6750 registered borrowers, about
16,000 volumes on the shelves supplemented by some 2,000 pamphlets and
an extensive clipping collection. The Library is open daily from 9 A.
M. to 9 P. M., and its book collection and administrative methods
compare most favorably with similar institutions. The staff consists of
a librarian, three assistants and usually a student worker. The
resources of the library are freely used by many from neighboring
communities. A lecture room in the basement is frequently used by
literary, educational, civic and patriotic organizations and committees
and for various community gatherings, the average use being ten
meetings a month. In a large room on the upper floor, many attractive
exhibits are held from time to time. During the War, the Library was a
center for all kinds of war work, culminating in a reception on April
first, 1919 to Olean's returned heroes.
One of the large rooms on the second floor has
been equipped for the
special use of teachers. Between five hundred and six hundred books on
educational subjects and some thirty professional magazines, being on
the shelves. Adjoining this department is the Childrens' room, known as
the "George V. Forman" room. A small endowment fund has been set aside
for the purchase of books in this department.
While each year the Library receives from
patrons, friends and
publishers, a number of newspapers, periodicals, books and
miscellaneous material, the largest gift was the bequest of $2,000 from
Frank Wayland Higgins in 1907. This sum was used largely for the
purchase of reference and scientific books and the collection has been
further enriched by a number of handsomely bound sets, gifts from Mrs.
Frank Sullivan Smith, who also has presented a life-size oil portrait
of her brother, the late Governor Higgins. Another bequest of $100 was
received in 1919 from Mrs. Mary Herse.
One of America's foremost librarians and
thinkers, Mr. John Cotton
Dana, has said that "The library is the one public institution which
can serve as a center of pleasure and learning for all the city. To its
service all can give their sympathy and aid without restraint of
politics or creed, and without thought of difference in station or in
culture. Recreation, good cheer, research, business, trade, government,
social life, conduct, religion, all of these in every aspect can turn
to books for help." To be more specific--It is the helpful friend of
the young mother, who needs to know how to feed and care for her
children, the boy, who is constructing a radio station, the little
girl, who is making a dress for her doll, the high school student, who
is looking up material for debate, the carpenter, who desires to learn
more about his trade, the minister seeking information for his sermon,
the housewife, who wants a new recipe for dessert, the chemist, who is
searching for a certain formula, teachers interested in the latest
educational methods, and farmers making inquiries about markets or
tractors; each one of these has a claim upon the public library. In
fact, every kind of information is sought from the naming of the baby
to the writing of epitaphs. Aside, however, from meeting the practical
and intellectual needs of the community, the library is also one of the
chief recreational centers.
Life for most of us is sufficiently dull and
colorless and one of the
easiest means of escape from the monotony of daily routine is through
the pages of book, and preferably a good story. Fiction is but a form
of literature and many of the noblest thoughts, the finest types of
characters and greatest reforms have been presented through novels.
Thus the library's ideal is to help men live
"not by bread alone, but
by every word of God," who, through good books has been speaking to the
generations of men, not only for their instruction but even more for
PHOTOS: ANOTHER GROUP OF CITY OFFICIALS
W. H. Keeney
Dr. J. P. Garen
D. L. Lawler, Superintendent of Streets
H. S. Coburn
Trustee Bd. of Education
P. J. Spindler
Member Board of Education
Henry Donnelly, City Attorney
Dr. C. A. Greenleaf, City Physician
Community Service Activities
PHOTO: Miss Marian Luther
A notable addition to the training of the
young people of the city is
that afforded by the Community Recreation Service. The only way we can
hope to build for "that better day ahead" is to have specialized groups
in the community working for one certain object--others working for
others--but all working in harmony without spending too much time in
coordination of efforts. The Olean direction of: F. W. Forness,
president; Mrs. J. H. Bradner, vice-president; J. G. Lynch, treasurer;
E. W. Fitzgerald, secretary; F. J. Consedine, G. M. Hancock, F. T.
Heenan, Mrs. F. E. Larkin, Rev. C. C. Bentley and John T. Quilter, Miss
Marian Luther is executive secretary and field leader.
The items on the recreational program for the
winter of 1922-23 are to
be varied according to the needs of the community. Among the
opportunities included are indoor recreation, consisting of gymnasium
classes, games, folk dances, etc., for both adults and children. At
intervals social evenings and parties are to be put on by members of
the Recreation Center.
A most popular recreation is provided by games
volley-ball and indoor baseball. Recreation centers have been selected
in the different neighborhoods of the community, and twice a year
exhibitions are to be organized to demonstrate activities in progress.
The play-grounds laid out by the service are essential parts of the
children's life of the city, with complete equipment and congenial
supervision to ensure popularity with the kiddies. A skating rink is
one of the sport-exercise fostered, and also skiing, tobogganing and
hiking. At Christmas time a Community Christmas tree is planned, with
carol singing by the school children, aided by the churches of the
city. Boxes of candy and toys make glad the hearts of the children on
A Dramatic Club has been organized in Olean to
produce plays and to
foster good dramatic productions in Olean. A membership of over one
hundred gives assurance of success.
PHOTO: Community Service :: Indoor Exercises
Olean's Public Parks and Playgrounds
The additions, equipment, and improvements
made in Olean's public park
system have added materially to the attractiveness of the city and
provide pleasant recreation grounds, especially for the younger
generations. They are distributed in favorable locations and the
disposition of the city government is to increase their facilities and
add to their general attractiveness whenever possible. Money
judiciously spent on the parks in up-keep and floral ornamentation is a
good investment not only in adding to the pleasure of residents, but
also in creating a good impression of our city in the minds of visitors.
PHOTOS: Another Group of Representative Old Timers
L. P. Collins
W. L. Myrick
W. P. Hannifan
M. F. Riley
M. L Lee
O. W. McClure
Dr. M. C. Follett
J. B. Smith
L. H. Ballard
E. W. Conklin
The busy four corner--State Street, East and West--Union Street, North
and South-- The Post Office and First National Bank
The City Building, corner East State and North Union Streets, with
Masonic Temple and Olean House in the background
MAIN ENTRANCE TO ST. MARRY OF THE ANGELS' CHURCH
Olean, New York
Upper Group, Junior Holy Name Society :: Lower Group, Senior Holy Name
PHOTO: St. Mary of the Angels' Church
Among the religious missions of North America
which began their
activities in the seventeenth century, those which came from France
were without doubt the most active and successful in their efforts to
promote Christianity among the Aboriginal Indians. The influence of
these French Catholics is in evidence in the building of communities
that have developed during the last hundred years in which the Church
history and the general history of Western New York is
involved,--consequently also in the territory in which Olean is now a
very important centre.
The following outline is mainly derived from
"The History of the
Catholic Church in Western New York," by Rev. Thomas Donahue of
Buffalo, published in 1904.
Olean started off with an early boom, and some
of her over-sanguine
citizens fondly imagined that the town would rival Buffalo in growth
and in importance, on account of its location. It was the head of
navigation on the Allegany River, and offered facile transit to the
east. In those days of flat bottom boat travel the location was
promising, but as soon as railroad traffic began Olean resumed her
During the construction of the railroad many
Catholics were employed;
and these were visited occasionally by priests, who said mass for them
in their shanties, or in a hall or school building, when these were
The Rev. T. McEvoy, from Java, was the first
who is reported to have
said mass in Olean. The Rev. Fathers Doran, McIvers, Fitzsimons and
Walsh, also said mass here in the homes of the settlers before the
little church was built. There were only forty members when the
congregation was organized in 1850 by Father Doran, but the opening of
the railroad in 1851 brought more Catholics to the town.
The Rev. Joseph McKenna, who was located in
Cuba, collected money along
the railroad to purchase a lot and build a little shanty church in
Olean. He had three hundred dollars subscribed in the fall of 1853, and
he authorized Mr. McCarthy to secure a lot in his own name, because the
bishop was then absent from the diocese. Father McKenna said mass in
the poor little shanty. He had thought of putting up a building for
$100, but it was evident that this could not have been much of an
improvement over the little shanty used for services.
The congregation increased, and when the
Franciscans took charge in
1855, it was necessary to build a larger edifice, which was begun in
1858 and opened for services in 1860, under the patronage of St. Mary
of the Angels, so called after the famous shrine in Umbria where St.
Francis obtained the Indulgence of the Portuncula and which the saint
"loved better than any other place in the world." It was under the
direction of the Franciscan Fathers from St. Bonaventure's College
until 1876, when the late Rev. J. J. Hamel was appointed as its
In the history of the Catholic Church of western New York there have
been no more prominent figures than the two pastors who have controlled
the temporal and spiritual affairs of the principal parish of the
denomination in the town and city of Olean, and it is hardly possible
to overestimate the power for good which those two estimable clergymen
have exercised during the past forty-six years, not only in the parish
of St. Mary of the Angels, but in the community at large. The first of
this remarkable pari began the good work and carried it along with
extraordinary success until his greatly regretted demise in 1912. His
successor has, with increased opportunities, carried out the earlier
efforts of his predecessor in a wider field with a necessarily larger
measure of success. The two "wise and holy" men, whose names are
venerated by many thousands of citizens of both sexes, regardless of
creed, are V. Rev. J. J. Hamel, and Rev. E. J. Rengel.
The Rev. J. J. Hamel was born in Brooklyn, May
17, 1850, was graduated
from St. Bonaventure's College at Allegany with high honors, ordained
priest Aug. 2, 1875, and served for a time as assistant in St. Joseph's
Cathedral at Buffalo. In 1876, Nov. 24th, he was placed in charge of
St. Mary of the Angels' Church at Olean, being its first resident
pastor. Rev. Hamel enlarged the church shortly after taking charge, and
in 1879 gave additional room, so that it would seat 900 persons. He
also built a fine school and convent. The school was opened in 1890,
and now gives instruction to 400 children. Rev. Hamel was made dean of
the district comprised in Cattaraugus, Allegany and Chautauqua
Counties, by the Rt. Rev. James Edward Quigley, then Bishop of the
Dicese of Buffalo and later Archbishop of Chicago. While miniiistering
assiduously and wisely to the affairs of this district at large, and to
the parishes of Olean in particular, Rev. Hamel found time and occsion
to enlarge his experiences by travel abroad, visiting the Holy Land,
India, China, Japan, the Pacific Islands, and made three pilgrimages to
Rome. Father Hammel died Jan. 15th, 1912, regretted by thousands of
parishioners, friends and admirers. Of him and his influence it has
been written: "To the Rev. Father Hamel the City of Olean owed much.
V. Rev. J. J. Hamel, V. F., L. L. D.
Rev. E. J. Rengel, L. L. D.
The influence for good exercised under his
masterful and vigorous
police, the widening and broadening of the church, have all been
material factors in the growth and prosperity of the city."
After impressive services in Olean, his
remains were taken to Brooklyn
and buried in St. John's cemetery in that city with those of his
deceased parents, Jan. 15th, 1920, the body was exhumed and brought
back to Olean to his old parish, and placed in a vault in the new
Rev. Edward Joseph Rengel, the present pastor
of St. Mary of the
Angels' Church, was born in Lancaster, N. Y., Aug. 8th, 1869; he was
ordained June 29th, 1894, and was pastor successively at East Aurora,
East Pembroke, Andover and Ellicottville, until he was appointed to
Olean. He took charge April 10, 1912. Plans were prepared for the
erection of the new edifice by Emil E. Uhlrich of Cleveland. As the
space of the church property of Henley Street was limited, the
adjoining Gilligan property was purchased for the sum of $9000, to
provide room for the new building and also for a rectory. In response
to an appeal made for the necessary funds for a new church, $45,000 was
pledged in ten days and the balance of $50,000 required was assured by
the congregation assembled on Sunday, December 15th, 1912. The old
church was moved to the vacant lot which Father Hamel had purchased
from the Dotterweich Brewing Company during the Winter of 1913, and
immediately the work of grading and excavating was undertaken. In July
a contract was made with the Pennsylvania Marble & Granite Company
for the stone work at $56,000, and with William Stokes and Sons for the
general contract work complete at $52,000.
The corner stone of the new church was laid
with appropriate ceremonies
Nov. 2, 1913 by Bishop Colton. Archbishop Bonzano of Washington paid a
visit of inspection to the parish in September, 1914. On May 15th,
1915, the capstone on the last tower completed, was laid by Father
Rengel. A new bell, cast from the metal of the two old bells, was
consecrated on May 25th, 1915, by Very Rev. Dean O'Brien. The completed
new church was opened Sept. 26th by Monsignor Baker of Buffalo, (Bishop
Colton, who was especially interested in the church, having died May
13th.) The total cost of the church was $200,000. It was consecrated
June 29th, 1919, for which occasion the new stained glass had been put
in, completing the church structure in every detail. The consecration
was performed by Bishop Turner of Buffalo and the sermon was preached
by the Most Reverend Archbishop Hayes of New York City, a class-mate of
Father Rengel, it being the twenty-fifth anniversary of his ordination
to the priesthood. At the evening services Bishop Shahan of the
Catholic University preached the sermon.
St. Stephen's Episcopal Church
PHOTO: St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, South Barry Street
The Episcopal Church, St. Stephen's, of Olean,
was incorporated in 1830
by David Day, William W. Penfield, Horatio Orton, S. Russell and Rev.
W. W. Bostwick, a missionary . In connection with these names on the
early record appear also those of Ebenezer Lockwood, David Bockes,
William Lowe and Nathaniel Goodspeed.
In the year 1833 a plot of land on North Barry
Street was given by
Frederick A. Norton, to whom Olean owed many of her earlier
improvements, on the condition that a church building should be erected
within five years. Accordingly, the Episcopalians went to work to
complete their organization and erect their own church, which was well
under way in 1836. During the building the congregation worshipped in
the school house, which was blown down by a memorable tornado in 1834.
After this disaster they met in an unfinished second floor room in the
home of David Day--afterwards the Barse residence--located where the
present beautiful home of the late Governor Higgins was constructed in
more recent years.
In its early days the parish was small, but
comprised earnest workers,
and after tireless efforts the required amount, ($3,882.00) was raised,
and, on Sept. 7th, 1839, a new church entirely free from debt was duly
consecrated by Bishop DeLancy of Western New York. In 1842 a bell for
the church was purchased in Troy, N. Y., being brought to Olean on a
canal boat. It is related that the elevation of the bell was a great
event in the village, for nearly everyone in the community took part in
In 1862 during the rectorship of Rev. G. W.
Dunbar, the seating
capacity was increased and eight pews added. Then in 1839 a recess
chancel was added; this was during the rectorship of Rev. G. B. Seibt.
From October, 1878 to November, 1882, during Rev. J. J. Andrew'
rectorship, alterations were made in the church by removing the
gallery, adding new pews, building an organ room, and installing a new
In 1883 the Church debt was generously
cancelled by Mr. G. V. Forman.
The building was renovated and redecorated, and in 1884 the ladies of
the church purchased a site for a rectory on Clinton Street. Later it
was reported that a sum of $25,000.00 had been subscribed for a new
church building, and in the spring of 1885 the old church structure was
removed to the Clinton Street lot previously purchased for a rectory.
This old building was afterwards removed to the corner of East State
and Barry Streets, where it has been improved and is occupied by the
Christian Scientist organization.
On August 6th, 1889, an imposing ceremony
marked the laying of the
cornerstone of the new church edifice, in which numerous clergymen
participated, as well as the ministers of the local churches. On this
notable occasion the wardens were: C. P. Moulton and John Sloane, and
the vestrymen were: George V. Forman, N. V. V. Franchot, Frank W.
Higgins, C. S. Stowell, E. M. Johnson, M. B. Bennie, Manley A.
Blakeslee and Horace Beardsley, the only survivors of whom are Mr.
Franchot and John Sloane.
The Rev. J. W. Ashton was rector at this time
and had been since 1883,
coming to Olean from Philadelphia. He continued his rectorship until
May, 1914, when he resigned from active service. For his long, faithful
and efficient services, alike to the city and the community, he was
made rector emeritus of the parish. Dr. Ashton was succeeded by Rev. H.
Cowley-Carroll in 1915, who resigned in 1917. The next rector was Rev.
John N. Borton, who came Jan. 1st, 1918, and resigned the following
The present rector, Rev. Cedric Bentley, who
had been senior assistant
at Grace church, New York, assumed the duties of pastor Sept. 1st,
1919, since which time he has introduces modern measures of church
organization with increased efficiency. For example, the budget has
been augmented greatly, and the total gifts for outside purposes have
been considerably increased.
The affairs of the Chapel in
Boardmanville under the care of the parent
church, have taken on new life, with regular services and Sunday School
revision. In the past three years 179 have been confirmed and 250
baptized, and the number of communicants have increased from 515 to
On Jan. 1st, 1921, Olean was made by the
Bishop of the Diocese a center
of an Associate Episcopal Mission, which gives the rector of St.
Stephen's the charge of Bolivar, Franklinville, Hinsdale and adjacent
The position of choirmaster and organist is
efficiently filled by G.
Harold Brown, who was an Associate of Round College of Organists of
London, England. Rev. Bentley is a member of the Masonic Bodies.
A most important addition to the functions of
the church, and to the
advantage of the community will be the erection of a Parish House,
especially designed for the young people of the city. This new building
will be added in the rear of the present chapel, in such a way as not
to detract from the appearance of the edifice. It will be of brick
trimmed with sandstone, two stories in height and a basement, and will
be about 30 x 40 ft. in dimensions. The building committee is composed
of N. V. V. Franchot, John Sloane, R. A. Conklin and C. A. Wallace. The
architects are Godley & Sedgwick of New York City; Frederick Godley
of this firm is a son-in-law of Mr. N. V. V. Franchot.
The material and spiritual condition of St.
Stephen's Church augur well
for its future progress and prosperity.
The First Presbyterian Church
PHOTO: First Presbyterian Church
Corner of Laurens and Second Streets
At the dedication of the church building now
in use, August 28, 1913,
the following data was read: The region west of the Genesee river, at
an early period was visited by missionaries from various societies. The
first of the, it is believed, was Rev. David Perry of Richmond, Mass.,
representing the Berkshire and Columbia Missionary Society, in 1800.
The most distinguished missionary, however, who operated in what was
known as the "Holland Purchase," was Rev. John Spencer, familiarly
called "Father Spencer," a native of Connecticut, who served as a
soldier in the War of the Revolution. He died in 1826.
Another missionary in the same field was Rev.
William Stone. Born in
Guildford, Connecticut, likewise a soldier of the Revolution. Graduated
from Yale College in 1876 and being ordained, he came to New York
State, where he performed ministerial duties, assisting in organizing
the First Presbyterian Church of Olean, August 28, 1822. The meetings
are said to have been held in a room of a store then occupied by Hoyt
Webb, located upon the site now occupied by the Olean Hardware Company.
The members at that time were Cornelius Brooks, John Boardman, Anson
King, Sophia King, Norman Smith, Abigail Smith, Abigah Warren and
Bathsheba Warren. The same day, Anson King, Abigah Warren and Norman
Smith were chosen ruling elders, the first named as deacon and the last
as clerk. The society was received under the care of the Presbytery of
Bath, September 11, 1822. The extent of territory covered by the
Presbytery reached from Elmira to Olean, with a width of about
thirty-six miles. In 1828 it included twenty-five churches with fifteen
ministers. On request of the western members, a new Presbytery was
organized November 25, 1828, including the churches west of the
dividing line between the counties of Steuben and Allegany. The
original members were; Ministers--Rev. Robert Hubbard, Rev. Moses
Hunter, Rev. Reuben Hurd; churches--Ossian, Allen, Almond, Andover,
Angelica, Black Creek and Olean. This was known as the Presbytery of
Angelica and belonged to the Synod of Geneva. At a meeting of the
General Assembly in May 1834, this Presbytery, on account of its
geographical position, was detached from the Synod of Geneva and
annexed to the Synod of Genesee.
The Olean church was of slow growth. In
1828 and 1829 their
representative, Rev. John T. Baldwin, preached in Olean and
Franklinville. Subsequently the church lapsed in interest, but was
revived in 1836 under the ministerial care of Rev. Reuben Willoughby.
very interesting paper on the subsequent history
of the early days of
the church was prepared by Miss Maud D. Brooks of the Public Library
and should be embodied in a record of the Centennial Celebration held
October 28 - November 1, 1922, if such a record is published, as has
In an autobiography of William F. Wheeler of
Portville, which will be
referred to later in THE OLEANDER, he explained that: "As there was no
Presbyterian Church in the county (at that time, about 1839) it was
thought best to organize one in Olean, as that was, as it is now, a
central point. This was accomplished, he states, by people living in
Hinsdale, Allegany, Portville and Olean, and founded in 1839. With Mr.
Dusenbury he was active in the organization of the church, as was also
Judge Atkins, later his father-in-law, and they with their families
attended church regularly in the wagon-house in Olean purchased for a
church, Mr. Dusenbury paying on-half of the amount, and the rest of the
church--(of which he doubtless was the major part) contributing the
Undoubtedly the First Presbyterian Church of
Olean at the outset was
organized largely through the efforts of Anson King before mentioned as
attested by the "Confession o Faith and Covenant," which are preserved
in his handwriting.
The old record book of the "Society of the
First Presbyterian Church,"
states: "On December 9, 1841, Henry Bryan, William F. Boardman and
James G. Johnson were elected trustees. The book also contains the
records of the society from 1841 until 1883.
In 1842 there was a great revival in the
church, conducted by Rev.
Samuel G. Orton, one of the most powerful evangelists of the time.
There was a period of almost complete exhaustion during the years
1847-8, and it was at this time that Rev. Sylvester Cowles was again
called on for assistance in resuscitation, but this time he was called
as pastor. He was installed in 1849 and remained here until 1860--a
period of interest and service of 24 years in all. But he began with a
membership of 17 and a salary of $600, $100 of which was paid by the
But the church thrived, for five years later a
dated April 5, 1854, "for the purpose of erecting a church edifice,"
had on it the names of 42 subscribers, the largest single amount being
$300. The dedication of the church took place in 1856, the building
having cost $6,000.
When Rev. Mr. Beaumont was pastor, the church
was repaired and a new
organ purchased, the total cost being
Photo: REV. W. BISHOP GATES
$4,000. In 1870 the manse was built, at a cost of $2,150, the lot on
which it was placed costing the church $1,167. In 1874 and 1880 the
church was enlarged, wings being added and other improvements made. In
1876 a great revival was held under the pastorate of the Rev. Mr.
Curtis, bringing 63 into the church.
The church celebrated its centenary Oct. 28 to
Nov. 1, 1922, inclusive
and was in all its features successful.
PHOTO: First Presbyterian Church
This building was replaced by the one on the preceding page.
THE CENTENNIAL CELEBRATION--1922
The celebration began Saturday evening, Oct.
28, with an informal
reception for members of the church and the members of the Centennial
Committee, by the elders and trustees.
It was opened more formally at the Sunday
morning service. A feature
was the sermon by the pastor, the Rev. William Bishop Gates on the
subject: "One Hundred Years That God Has Blessed.' In the evening the
Rev. Ruff, a former pastor, preached an appropriate sermon. The church
auditorium was tastefully decorated.
Monday, October 30, was known as Community
Day. In the afternoon tea
was served by the women of the Presbyterian Guild to all friends of the
church in the church parlors from 4 to 5 o'clock. A Community
Recognition was the event of the evening with W. L. Pelton presiding.
Addresses were made by Rev. G. R. Williamson, pastor of the first M. E.
church, Rev. J. W. Ashton, rector emeritus of St. Stephen's church and
Mayor Peter C. Foley, with a response by the Rev. W. G. Gates.
A delightful Church Dinner, preceded by a
concert, was served on
Tuesday afternoon to more than 300 members and friends at which
addresses were made by: Rev. J. Quincy Adams, Auburn Seminary; Rev.
Charles Scovel, delegate from the synod, and pastor of the Cortland
Presbyterian church; Rev. Robert McAlpine, delegate from Buffalo
Presbytery; Rev. Louis F. Ruf of Cleveland and Rev. Harry Burton Boyd
of Erie, Pa., the last two named having been former pastors of the
The concluding items on the excellent three
days' program were a
Devotional Service followed by a Church Family gathering at which
reminiscences, anecdotes and questions about old times were the
During the Centennial an exhibit of articles
of historical interest
were held in the church parlors. It included portraits of former
members, pictures of old time Olean, ancient documents and costumes and
articles of household furniture, including a collection from the Olean
One of the very interesting features of this
Centennial Celebration of
the Presbyterian Church, was the exhibit of old-time reminders, many of
which have been deposited in the Olean Historical Association's
collection in the Public Library building.
The First Methodist Episcopal Church
According to the records traced by former
Senator Frank N. Godfrey, the
First Methodist "class" was formed in this section in 1821, at a
meeting in the school house between Olean and Hinsdale, near the home
of Zachariah Noble and his daughter, Eunice, who were among the
members. As was customary in those das the simple services were
conducted as opportunity offered by circuit riders, who traveled on
horseback distributing religious literature and were entertained at the
homes of the farmers along the route they traveled. The home of Judge
James Brooks in Pleasant Valley was a favorite stopping place for these
In 1857 Olean became the headquarters of what
is now the Olean
district. The first quarterly meeting in the winter of 1820 was
conducted by Gleason Filmore, who was the first presiding elder, and
was held in George Martin's ball room in Olean. The class was formed in
Olean village, September 25, 1836, with twenty-two members in charge of
Rev. A. C. DuBois. The organization grew intermittently and in 1850
there were the names of fourteen presiding elders on the roster of the
Olean district. In that year Rev. Albert C. D. Wilbor was the presiding
elder in the Olean district. He was the father of Rev. C. D. Wilbor,
later for several years pastor of the church. The first sermon preached
by a Methodist minister in Olean territory was at the funeral of
William Shepard, September 23, 1809. The deceased was the father of
William B. Shepard, one of the early trustees of the church and
grandfather of Mrs. Barrows, whose death took place September, 1921.
The first official record traced was the
following, dated May 24, 1851:
"The male members of full age and congregation of the First Methodist
Church, Olean, will meet at this house, on Monday the 9th day of June
next, at four o'clock in the afternoon for the purpose of electing
trustees of said church;" which notice was read in church on the two
preceding Sabbaths. In response to this call a meeting was held in the
Baptist Church with James Brooks as chairman and C. H. Thyng, clerk.
The following were elected trustees: James Brooks, Reuben A. Brooks,
Thos. V. Oviatt, Henry K. Montgomery, Charles Thyng.
A meeting was held in February, 1852, called
by Rev. Schuyler Parker,
in the village school house, with James Brooks as chairman and C. H.
Thyng, clerk. The following revised Board of Trustees were elected:
Judge James H. Brooks, Charles H. Thyng, Thos. V. Oviatt, LeCompt
Moncy, David P. Godfrey and William Shepard.
PHOTO: First M. E. Church, Corner Union and Hamilton Streets
"The First Methodist Episcopal Church, Olean,"
was the name adopted and
it was resolved to build a church as promptly as possible, at a cost
not to exceed $2,000. The amount was not considered sufficient, and a
plan was evolved for the construction of the church on a lot that had
been purchased of Ansel Adams, the cost to be met by partial payments.
Those interested at that time were farmers living in Pleasant Valley,
except C. H. Thyng, who was a merchant in Olean Village.
The new church was completed by January, 1853,
and "slips," as the pews
were then called, were sold to raise money to pay part of the debt
incurred. The church edifice raised on the site occupied by the present
church was in 1882 removed to Ninth Street, where it is still in
service. The same year the new church was completed.
August 16, 1860, at a meeting of the trustees
a resolution was
considered and adopted that "a committee should have the unpleasant
duty of removing C. H. Thyng, former trustee and prominent church
member, from the house unless he ceased to disturb the meeting."
Another resolution adopted was, "that the corporators, and members of
the First Methodist Church Congregation and Society of Olean, have a
choice of the Minister who shall preach to us and receive our
patronage.: Rev. W. A. Willing and S. J. Noble appear to have acted at
this meeting as chairman and clerk, respectively.
To meet the expense of the new church, in 1854
each of six trustees
gave a note for $150 payable in six months. There was then only about
fifty members. In 1860 this number had increased to 82. In 1872 there
was a drop to only 28 on the roll on account of a division which ad
occurred as to the kind of Methodism which should prevail. From that
time on until 1880 the church grew in influence and membership, under
the pastorates of C. Burlingham, L. A. Stevens, E. B. Williams and L.
D. Chase. The membership had grown, which made it desirable that there
should be increased facilities, and the matter was put in the hands of
a building committee, comprising Charles Gillingham, George
Chamberlain, Anton Spreter, M. C. Follett, and F. W. Kruse. The two
latter are still living to testify to the obstacles and difficulties
that had to be overcome. The Bishop of the district assigned Rev. J. L.
Sooy to aid the committee in their undertaking, and Rev. Sooy proved to
be "just the man for the work." The building contract was let March 17,
1881, to Charles Gillingham and Company for the sum of $17,000. The new
church was dedicated March 19, 1882 by Bishop Simpson and Dr. Ives.
The cost of the building was increased from the first
contract price to
$26,000 at the time of dedication. Out of a subscription list of
$12,000 only $8,000 was realized, but by persistence the balance of
$14,000 was subsequently raised.
The present efficient and popular Minister of
the church is Rev.
Gilbert R. Williamson, who came here from Meadville, Pa., October 14,
1914, and who has been continued up to the present time and is serving
his ninth year.
PHOTO: REV. GILBERT R. WILLIAMSON
OLEAN AS HE SEES IT.
Dr. Williamson, the well-beloved minister of
the First Methodist church
of Olean, in a recent address, expressed the following opinion on the
community in which he has ministered most effectively both as a
convincing pastor and a good citizen:
Olean as a city is beyond the experiment
stage. She has arrived. Her
banks, her stores, her private residences, and her churches now rank
beyond the average in cities of twenty thousand population. Her schools
while up-to-date, in teaching staff and management, lack sufficient
room to accommodate comfortably all her pupils, yet we have taken the
steps to at once relieve any embarrassment here. Her parks and
playgrounds are assured, and her future seems from all human reckoning
to be secure.
In 1887 the Ninth Street M. E. Church was
organized, also the People's
Church of East Olean, with R. C. Grames as pastor.
However, seven years previous to that date, in
1882, when the new First
M. E. Church was dedicated by Bishop Simpson, he suggested that the old
church, instead of being sold, should be moved to a growing section of
the village of Olean and be used for Sunday School purposes as a
nucleus to a church organization later on. The old church had been
advertised for sale by the trustees, but as no bids were offered over
$300.00 it was concluded to adopt Bishop Simpson's recommendation.
The trustees, in company with Bishop Simpson
had looked over the
village, which at that time a population estimated at 4,000 inhabitants
and concluded that two vacant lots on Ninth Street owned by A. Bozard,
one of which he would donate, would be a very acceptable site. Mr.
Bozard was at that time superintendent of a Union Sunday School, made
up mostly of Baptists and Methodists, which was holding its sessions in
School Building No. 2 at the corner of State and Eleventh Streets.
The arrangement was made that the old
church should be moved upon the
Ninth Street site, remodeled to some extent, and used by the Union
Sunday School, at no expense to the Sunday School.
Mr. Bozard continued to act as Superintendent
for about two years, when
an election of officers occurred and a Methodist was elected to take
Mr. Bozard then left the Union Sunday School,
most of the Baptists
following with him. The Methodist then sent a committed to the Sunday
School Board of the First M. E. Church asking that a member of the
First Church be sent to Ninth Street to act a Superintendent. The Board
then organized a Methodist Episcopal Church Sunday School, with
officers and teachers, and assigned John W. Pratt as superintendent.
Mr. Pratt found a Sunday School of 35 members all told, with little or
no equipment for Sunday School work and a debt of some $25.55. The
officers and teachers went to work with great enthusiasm, and in less
than three years had paid the debt, bought all the Sunday School
supplies, furnished fuel to heat the church, purchased a Mason organ at
a cost of $75.00, and paid $100.00 on the church debt. The Sunday
School had increased in this time to an average yearly attendance of
PHOTO: HON. FRANK N. GODFREY
On January 11th, 1888, Dr. Buckley, editor of
the New York Christian
Advocate, dedicated the Ninth Street Church and on that occasion raised
by subscription $1,100.00 for
the purpose of building a church in East Olean, where, in the month of
March a lot was purchased. The church was built at a cost of $2500.00,
and dedicated July 29th, 1888.
In 1888 the People's Church became a part of
the Ninth Street charge
under R. C. Grames. On April 5th, 1892 a cyclone struck the People's
Church and damaged the building to such an extent that a new church was
built. The moving and changes in the old church had cost about
Previous to the appointment of R. C. Grames as
services in connection with the Sunday School had been rendered in 1887
to 1888 fall conference by D. C. Huntington, nephew of Dr. D. W. C.
Huntington. He was assistant pastor to Dr. Huntington, pastor of the
First M. E. Church. From 1888 until 1899 E. C. Swarts, assistant pastor
to Dr. Huntington, preached at Ninth Street and East Olean.
As a closing paragraph, it might be stated
that a mortgage of $200.00
was found on the lot Mr. Bozard had donated to the church, which the
trustees of the First M. E. Church had to pay to obtain a clear title
to the site of the Ninth Street Church. In the year 1889, the title to
the Ninth street property and the East Olean property had been turned
over by the trustees of First M. E. Church to the newly elected
trustees of the Ninth Street Church. All church history since 1889 will
be found in the records of the official Board of Ninth Street M. C.
The Ninth Street M. E. Church
The Ninth Street Methodist Church was
organized 1887, as was also the
Peoples Church of East Olean, with R. C. Grames as pastor. As related
elsewhere, in 1882, when the new First M. E. Church was dedicated, the
old church building was used for Sunday School purposes as a nucleus to
an anticipated church organization.
By an arrangement with A. Bozard, who owned
lots on Ninth Street, the
old church was moved there, remodeled to some extent and occupied by
the Union Sunday School Mr. Bozard in the earlier days was
superintendent of the Union Sunday School, made up mostly of Baptists
and Methodists, which was holding its sessions in School Building No. 2
at the corner of State and Eleventh Streets. Mr. Bozard continued to
act as Superintendent for about two years, when an election of officers
occurred and a Methodist was elected to take his place. A Methodist
Episcopal Church Sunday School with officers and teachers was organized
and the late John W. Pratt was chosen as superintendent. Mr. Pratt
found a Sunday School of thirty-five members all told, with little or
no equipment for the work and a debt of some $25.00. The officers and
teachers went to work with great enthusiasm, and in less than three
years had paid the debt, bought all the Sunday School supplied,
furnished fuel to heat the church, purchased a mason organ at a cost of
$75.00 and paid $100.00 on the church debt.
The Sunday School increased in the meantime to
an average yearly
attendance of 120 members.
On January 11th, 1888, Dr. Buckley, editor of
the New York Christian
Advocate, dedicated the Ninth street church, and on that occasion a
subscription of $1,100 was secured for the purpose of building a
Methodist Episcopal church in East Olean. In the month of March a lot
was purchased, the church was built at a cost of $2500.00, and
dedicated July 29th, 1888.
PHOTO: Ninth Street M. E. Church
In 1888 the People's Church became a part of
Ninth Street charge under
Rev. R. C. Grames. On April 5th, 1892 a cyclone struck the edifice and
damaged the building to such an extent that a new church was built. The
moving and changes in the old church ad cost about $2500.00.
Previous to the appointment of Rev. Grames as
services in connection with the Sunday School ad been conducted in 1887
to 1888 by Rev. D. C. Huntington, pastor of the First M. E. Church.
From 1888 until 1889 Rev. E. C. Swarts was assistant pastor to Dr.
Huntington and conducted services at the Ninth Street church and also
at East Olean. A mortgage of $200.00 was found to be unsatisfied on the
lot Mr. Bozard had donated to the First M. E. church which the trustees
of that church paid.
In the year 1889, the title to the Ninth
Street property and the East
Olean property had been turned over by the trustees of the First M. E.
Church to the newly elected trustees of the Ninth Street Church. The
church history since 1889 is to be found in the records of the official
board of Ninth Street M. E. Church.
People's Church M. E. Church
During the pastorate of Dr. Huntington at the
First Methodist Episcopal
Church, a hall known as "Muckey's Hall," stood on the site now occupied
by the Foote Flats, 651 East State street. The ceiling was so low, and
the ventilation was so poor that when a large gathering was assembled
in the room the air was almost suffocating. With such conditions the
task of speaking could only be laborious. In this place Dr. Huntington
came in the late spring of 1887 and held religious services. This was
Beginning from which grew the present society. These services were
continued at irregular intervals until D. C. Huntington, a nephew of
Dr. Huntington, finished college and became assistant pastor of First
Church, some time during July of the same year, and held regular
services in Muckey's Hall. These were the first regular services held
by Methodists in East Olean, and were continued until the first chapel
was dedicated. In the latter part of December, 1887, the site on which
the present church stands was purchased from J. S. Bishop, and in the
following January, a dedicatory service was held in the Ninth Street
Methodist Episcopal Church and subscriptions were taken for the purpose
of erecting a chapel in East Olean. About eleven hundred dollars was
pledged and paid at this time. The first chapel was built, lot and
building costing twenty-five hundred dollars, and at the dedication,
July 19, 1888, the remaining fourteen hundred dollars were provided
for. L. F. Lawton was the most liberal subscriber to this project,
donating five hundred dollars. Many other gave liberally according to
On subscription worth of special notice was
one of one hundred
twenty-five dollars, given by Ladies Aid Society, all of which was paid
within one year. Worship was continued in the new chapel until April 5,
1892, when, during the pastorate of the late R. C. Grames, the edifice
was demolished by a cyclone. After the cyclone services were held in
the school house until a hall could be erected for temperance and
church purposes. In this hall services were held in the school house
until a hall could be erected for temperance and church purposes. In
this hall services were held until the present church was dedicated,
July 16, 1893. Numerous improvements have been added from time to time,
notable among which was the installation through the help of the late
Andrew Carnegie, of a magnificent Moeller pipe organ, one of the finest
in the city.
At the present time the church and parsonage
stand free from debt and
plans are under way for adding new Sunday School and recreation rooms,
at an estimated cost of ten thousand dollars.
First Church of Christ Scientist
The theories and beliefs of Mrs. Baker
Eddy as set forth in her
publication "Science and Health" gradually found acceptance in Olean
over fifty years ago and it has been generally known as Christian
Science and has found a gradual increase in the number of believers.
The first demonstration in the case of healing from invalidism occurred
in 1886 and the interest has increased from year to year in a marked
degree. The first regular meeting was held with Mrs. Carrie R. Gale on
Laurel Ave. These meeting were continued for a number of years. In 1892
a Sunday school was started and in 1898 the First Church of Christ
Scientist, Olean, was organized with eleven members, with headquarters
for regular services in the city building. The first lecture was given
in 1902. In 1903 a hall was rented in the block, corner of West State
and First Streets. In 1905 the church society purchased the Millspaugh
property on North Barry St., the house being rented and the receipts
forming the nucleus of a church building fund. About 1906 the
Congregational Church building on the corner of East State and Barry
Street was purchased and the sale of the residence property was made to
the Y. M. C. A. The edifice thus secured was originally built by the
congregation of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church in 1839 and in 1888
moved to the present site and used by the Congregational Society. The
mortgage which was given by the Christian Science Society was fully
paid up this year. Various repairs and improvements have been made in
the building and regular meetings, conducted on the plan approved by
the Christian Science organization, are held.
First Evangelical Church
This thriving church was organized and erected
in 1880 and was
reconstructed in 1917, during the pastorate of E. L. Tiffany. Other
former pastors were: Rev. Pfeiffer, W. J. Schenck, 1886; E. F. Boller,
1889; J. Pries, P. Sachs, I. K. Devitt, C. Hardel, C. Minch and H.
Koch. R. M. Bunts, the present pastor, was selected in 1918 and
PHOTO: REV. R. M. BUNTS
Pastor First Evangelical Church
his administration many improvements and betterments have been made. A
new Moeller pipe organ was installed in 1919, and a new heating plant
was provided in 1920. The parsonage was remodeled in 1921, and a garage
built in 1922. This church is self-supporting and has been removed from
the list of Mission churches. Five very successful revival campaign
have been conducted, resulting in some four hundred conversions and a
three-fold increase in membership.
St. John's Church (Catholic)
The growth of the population of Olean
necessitated in 1896, another
Parish to serve many Catholics living in the northern part of the city,
and the Bishop of the Diocese was petitioned to give his consent to the
formation of such a Parish. In the absence abroad of Father Hamel, the
Rev. Thomas Haire was assigned the work of organizing the new
congregation of St. John's. A desirable site on upper Union street, on
land was purchased from the United States Leather Company for $2500.
And building a church and pastorial residence was begun in April, 1896,
on plans prepared by Architect Post of Buffalo. The cornerstone was
laid July 5, 1896, with ceremonies conducted by the Very Reverend Dean
Cannon of Lockport. Father Haire had charge of the church until his
death in September, 1899. Rev. Father James F. Mooney was appointed his
successor. Father Mooney was born Oct. 22, 1864. He was ordained to the
priesthood May 31, 1890, and officiated as priest of St. John's Church
for five years. He died Oct. 10, 1904. Father Charles Duffey acted as
assistant to Father Mooney. Father John F. Gardiner came to Olean
November, 1904, and has had charge of St. John's for eighteen years.
The Franciscans have aided Father Gardiner.
The First Baptist Church
Early in the summer of 1830 the Rev. Eliab
Going, a Baptist Minister
preaching at Angelica, Franklinville, and Hinsdale, organized a Baptist
membership in Olean Village (under the act of incorporating religious
societies) consisting of twelve members, preaching to them one Sunday
every month. Olean at that time had a population of four hundred, or to
be absolutely accurate, four hundred and four. This society
subsequently had three pastors: Rev's. Tillinghast, Rufus W. Griswold,
and B. L. Thomas. At a covenant meeting held in March 1844 at the home
of Jacob Yapp, it was voted to disband, all members receiving letters.
At no time the membership in this society exceeded forty members.
In July, 1836, Frederick A. Norton, who had
already donated a building
site to the Episcopalians, gave the Baptist society a plot of land at
the south east corner of State and Clinton streets with the proviso
that it should be occupied in five years or the gift contract would
become null and void. Consequently the Episcopalian were at that time
the largest land holders in the central part of the village. At that
time there was but one house of worship in Olean (Presbyterians),
various religious meetings of the Baptists and other denominations
being held in the school house or the several homes. The Baptist
members at a meeting in the school house decided to erect a suitable
house of worship. The undertaking seemed difficult. Money was scarce.
It was deemed wisdom to wait. Removals and death had weakened their
numbers. They were unable to comply with the conditions of the gift and
so lost their building site. Land was less valuable then than now,
money less plentiful.
In the spring of the year 1845 the Rev. Samuel
W. Titus, a young
Baptist Minister from Humphrey, came to Olean to conduct a funeral
service. He made a very favorable impression not only on all the
Baptists present but on many others. They invited him to come over and
preach to them some time (he had already organized the church at
Humphrey.) He came early in 1846. He found some fifteen families here
of Baptist principles and began to talk church organization.
In April, 1846, in a house owned by Elkanah
Day the church was
definitely organized under the name First Baptist Church of Olean, with
twenty members. They joined the Baptist Association the following
summer with twenty-seven members. They reported 656 members at the
association held in 1922. May 1, 1847 they bought Foote's Exchange. Dr.
Lambert Whitney and Rev. S. W. Titus had borrowed $100.00 of G. W.
Smith, giving their joint note to Judge Chamberlin. The building was
moved its width east and served as the meeting house until 1860, when
it was sold to Seth W. Warren.
A new church, built in 1860, was constructed
at a cost of $6000.00 and
dedicated in 1862. This church edifice was destroyed by fire with all
its contents March 1, 1883. The corner stone of the present church was
laid August 28, 1883, and the dedication services were held December
10, 1884. It was built at a cost of $40,000, with a membership of 252.
Rev. D. T. MacClymont was pastor, Dr. Teddie of Newark, N. J., preached
the sermon. Three pastors served the first society.
The following have been resident pastors since
the first three already
named: Rev. S. W. Titus, Robert Fisher, Ezra Crane, Rev. William
Tilley, Levi Stowell, Asa L. Farr, William N. Tristle, William Q.
Tower, S. M. Calkins, William Mudge, L. W. Olney, D. D. Brown, J. B.
Smith, David G. MacClymont, Rutger Dox, Frederick Fowler, Thaddeus G.
Cass, C. W. Bacheldor, Will C. Gates, Percival H. Lynch and Dr. A. F.
Houser, the recently chosen minister.
PHOTO: The First Baptist Church, South Street, Opp. Lincoln Park
At the time the engagement of Cr. Houser was
made to become pastor of
the church there was a definite understanding that one of the first
important undertakings should be the erection of a building to
accommodate the Bible School of the church, for which he and Mrs.
Houser had already outlined plans. The proposition was discussed among
the church members and real enthusiasm was aroused in relation thereto.
There were numerous consultations of the leaders and a strong
organization was effected to push the project to its completion. At the
annual business meeting of the church in January, Dr. Houser presented
the name of Dr. F. H. Devine of Brooklyn as a safe and sane leader to
conduct the financial campaign and secure pledges for the amount
required to carry out the building plan. As the result of conferences
of representatives of various branches of the church work, an active
corps of workers headed by W. K. Page was organized. The appeal for
subscriptions to the fund made during Sunday, February 25th, when the
amount desired, $50,000, far exceeded the most sanguine expectations,
so the erection of a new building during the spring of this year, 1923,
(The Editor is indebted to Mrs. H. Austin for much of the information
published in the foregoing.)
REV. A. FRANK HOUSER
Pastor First Baptist Church, South Street
FIRST CHURCH OF CHRIST SCIENTIST
Corner Barry and East State Streets
ST. JOSEPH'S SYRIAN CATHOLIC CHURCH
Corner Fourth and Reed Streets
IMMANUEL LUTHERAN CHURCH
Corner Fourth and Laurens Streets
(Other matters relating to Olean Churches will be found on a later page)
Olean's Banking Institutions
Very much of the development of business
enterprises and the general
prosperity, in a commercial and industrial sense at least, of a growing
city, one for example endowed with the natural advantages which Olean
enjoys, depends upon the character of its banking institutions, which
care for and foster its financial needs and general monetary
requirements. In this essential particularly Olean has been singularly
fortunate, inasmuch as her leading banking institutions, founded on
substantial principles, have been directed with unswerving integrity
and the most judicious foresight.
The First National Bank is claimed, and
doubtless the claim is founded
on absolute fact, to be the oldest National Bank in Cattaraugus County.
It began business as a co-partnership, with the title of the Bank of
Olean, as a branch of the Cuba Banking Company (then operated over in
Allegany County ), the chief members being William F. Wheeler, Nelson
S. Butler and Lafayette F. Lawton, the cashier, who came from Cuba, and
with him from Cuba as bookkeeper also came Augustus T. Eaton, the only
one left of the originals in later years. This was in 1870. A year
later in September, 1871, its name was changed and it became the
Chartered First National Bank of Olean. The presidency of William F.
Wheeler of Portville at that pioneer period led later to the infusion
of considerable Portville energy and enterprise, particularly of
members of the Wheeler and Dusenbury families, and of the Westons of
Weston's Mills. "See personal record in the Portville Chapter, Part Two
of THE OLEANDER.) On its board of directors were also at various
periods George McIntosh, Col. J. G. Johnson and his son, Elisha M.
Johnson. Of the old time directors and operative staff all went to
their eternal rest, save directors James F. Johnson and Wilson R. Page,
whose names until very recently were in the list of still active Old
Prominent in the direction of the affairs of
the bank today are William
A. Dusenbury, President, a young member of that family, and Wallace
Weston, Jr., how upholds the business prestige of the Westons of
Weston's Mills at the new Weston Factory on State street.
The first home of the Bank, when known as the
Bank of Olean, was
located on the second floor of the building on the west side of Union
Street now occupied by the store of the F. R. Brothers Company. This
was in 1870, during which year a new building on the same side of the
street (No. 107), a little southward, was being erected, and into this
the bank's equipment was moved in 1872, and there the steadily
increasing business of the institution was conducted until its present
substantial building was completed and occupied in 1916. With its
commanding exterior and commodious yet withal compact and convenient
interior arrangement, most Oleanders of today and many others from near
and far, are now familiar. They have noted likewise the apparently
impregnable Security and Safe Deposit vaults, and the bank rooms and
the general offices above the banking floor. One especially notable
item in the divisions of the building is the Corporation Room on the
front of the mezzanine floor. This conveniently placed and
appropriately equipped enervator is not entirely set aside for the
bank's use, but may be secured for other and appropriate meeting
purposes by permission of the bank's officers.
PHOTO: The First National Bank ~ A Night Scene
PHOTO: A View from the Roof of the Exchange National Bank, looking
FRANK L. BARTLETT
Born December 25, 1858
Died December 6, 1922
For his memorial record, see later pages
PHOTO: Exchange National Bank
Olean's Banking Institutions
The building now occupied and the business
transacted therein by
Olean's other big monetary institution, the Exchange National Bank, is
constructed and conducted on a considerably expanding scale, being at
the same time equally stable and wisely administered, although on a
somewhat different plan. While, of course, Olean men have had much to
do with its growth and continuous expansion, it has received very much
of its impetus from elsewhere as will be noted presently. The Exchange
National Bank originated with the State Bank of Olean, which was doing
business in the early seventies of the nineteenth century, some years
before the advent of the oil era in this territory. C. V. B. Barse was
the president of the State Bank, and his son Mills W., was the cashier.
The bank was located on the east side of Union Street, adjacent to the
Mayer's Meat Market. Its business was taken over, continued and
expanded by the Exchange National Bank which was incorporated in 1878
and which in 1882 bought new quarters in the rear part of the building
on the south west corner of Laurens and Union Street, erected for and
by the Olean Oil Exchange and other business in connection with the
petroleum oil trade and developments. At that time the chief officials
of the Exchange Bank were: President, C. V. B. Barse; Vice-President,
Mills W. Barse; Teller, C. S. Stowell; Bookkeeper,
Mark M. Holmes
President of the Exchange National Bank
I. E. Worden
Vice President of Exchange National Bank
H. F. Klee
Cashier of Exchange National Bank
F. L. Bartlett; Assistant Bookkeeper, C. D. Clark; Clerk, G. E. Follett.
With substantial Oleanders as officials of the
bank came a strong
infusion of the newcomer element supplied from the serried ranks of the
little army of oil men, producers, speculators and the like, prominent
among whom were George V. Forman, R. W. Evans and N. V. V. Franchot,
who came rapidly to the front in the business, and other affairs of
Olean. Mr. Forman, especially was a man capable of directing, wise in
council, and an all round good citizen, willing at all times to aid in
any effort in behalf of the community or any meritorious enterprise
likely to be of value to it. He became a local leader, and his later
removal to Buffalo was a distinct loss to Olean.
Into the early affairs of the Exchange
National Bank came from another
quarter a young man destined to be a dominate force in the up building
of the bank's business and prominent in other affairs of Olean. This
young man, who was raised on a farm and by no means ashamed of the
fact, came to Olean from Belfast, Allegany County, going first to Cuba
and clerking in the First National Bank in that brisk little burg. But
he didn't stay very long in Cuba, for he was "wanted in Olean." He
probably did not realize then how much his persistence, patience and
general ability was needed in Olean. At any rate he came to Olean in
1880 and took a modest position in the Exchange national Bank and until
his death the bank's president and the financial arbiter of very many
important fiscal matters and manufacturing enterprises in the busy,
bustling city of Olean. Space will not permit the publication of a list
of the positions he efficiently filled in the larger communistic
affairs of Olean; his name, appeared on dozens of rosters of officers,
prospectuses, and subscription lists of all kinds, and for all
purposes, philanthropic and otherwise, it is almost needless to say
this was Frank L. Bartlett. He was a quiet but effective booster, but
never a boaster. He was willing to be behind, and push hard and
steadfastly for any worthy project, and in all cases of true merit he
was as liberal "as they make them."
Frank L. Bartlett, whose comparatively sudden taking off was very
lamentable in many ways, especially as far as it affected the Exchange
National Bank. As far as its financial and material developments were
concerned, these features had been so well founded under his
administration that it was not entirely impossible for others who had
been trained in big methods to continue the business without any loss
of prestige or efficiency. In the readjustment which followed Mr.
Bartlett's death a selection of officials at the annual meeting,
January 9, 1923, was made which met with very general public approval.
The following re-arrangement was made: The board of directors was
enlarged from nine to twelve members. Those re-elected were N. V. V.
Franchot, senior vice-president for many years, who was chosen
Chairman. The new directors selected were former Justice Fred W. Kruse
who had just retired from the bench of the Appelate Division Fourth,
Department of the Supreme Court; John H. Bradner, and Henry F. Klee in
the place of G. Howard Strong, who had removed from the city and
declined re-election; A. I. Williams, M. F. Quinn, I. E. Worden and M.
The consequent election of officers resulted
as follows: President,
Mark M. Holmes; Vice-Presidents, M. F. Quinn and I. E. Worden and Henry
F. Klee who succeeded Mr. Holmes, as Cashier; Assistant Cashier, E. G.
Mark M. Holmes, especially qualified by business
financial ability, was born in Sharon Township, Potter County, Pa.,
January 8, 1876. He came to
Olean's Banking Institutions
Olean as a boy with his parents and went to school in this city. He
worked for two years in order to provide the money to go through high
school and graduated from the Olean High School in the class of 1895.
In the same graduating class were his two brothers, Ralph C. Holmes,
now vice-president of the Texas Oil Co., and Earl D. Holmes who is in
the hardware business in Caspar, Wyo.
Mr. Holmes went to work immediately after leaving
school and in June,
1896, he entered the employ of the Exchange National Bank. He began at
the bottom of the ladder in the bank and worked his way through the
successive positions until January, 1911, when he was made assistant
cashier. On January 14, 1919 he was made cashier. Messrs. Worden and
Klee are well qualified for the positions they occupy.
These stores occupied part of the site, corner Union and Laurens
On which the new Exchange Bank building was erected
Two Scenes near the Corner of West State and North Union Streets
Night view of the façade of the Olean Trust Company
The Olean Trust Company
This valuable and prosperous institution
located on the west side of
North Union Street about midway between Laurens and State streets, was
developed from the Olean National Bank, organized in 1910. It began
business with the present title September 1, 1914, with John P. Herrick
as President; Thomas H. Quinn, Vice-President; C. A. Keener,
Its present staff-principals comprise:
President, Thomas H. Quinn;
Vice-President, C. L. Bockmier; Secretary, Carl E. Dittrich; Treasurer,
H. C. Carpenter. The members of the Board of Directors are: W. A.
Dusenbury, William A. Flynn, William J. Foss, M. J. Haugh, M. M.
Holmes, Dr. T. B. Loughlen, and Quinn have served continuously since
the date of organization. The late F. L. Bartlett and F. C. Olds also
served on the Board of Directors from the date of organization until
their deaths in 1922.
President Quinn is a leading official in the
various branches of the
extensive operations of what are generally known as the Quinn
Interests, which include the manufacture of wood and other fine
chemicals, oil production, lumber manufacturing and the operation of
general stores in the State of New York, Pennsylvania, Indiana, Ohio
and Washington, with home offices in the Exchange National Bank
Building of Olean, which business is more fully described elsewhere in
Vice-President Bockmier was born and raised in
Allegany and started his
banking career February 1913 with the Manufacturers and Traders'
National Bank, Buffalo New York. In August 1915 he took a position with
the Bradford National Bank at Bradford, Pa., with which institution he
was actively identified until joining the forces of the Olean Trust
Company in August 1918. He was made Secretary of that institution
January 21, 1920 and on December 13, 1922 he was advanced to his
present position of Vice-president.
Carl Dittrich has been with the Trust Company
from the date of its
organization and was made assistant Secretary January 16, 1918;
Treasurer, January 21, 1920 and Secretary, December 13, 1922.
The present treasurer, H. C. Carpenter, has
likewise been with the
Trust Company fro the date of its organization with the exception of
two years service in the World War. He was advanced to the position of
treasurer December 13, 1922.
In addition to conducting a general banking
business the Trust Company
performs various responsible functions, the Trust Company performs
various responsible functions. It is legally empowered and qualified to
act as Executor under wills or as Administrator where there is no will
or with a will annexed: also as Guardian of a minor or incapable person
and as Trustee to serve in various capacities for bond issues and in
any fiduciary capacity. Likewise it is competent to assume the duties
of Receiver or Assignee in the case of business embarrassments. By
reason of its stability and the experience of its officials in handling
estates and trusts and assuming other legal financial responsibilities
and for the further fact that its fees are no higher than those allowed
to an individual, its efficiency as a corporate executive trustee is
becoming more popular and more extensively used by more people as time
goes on. Its officials are prepared at all time to discuss
confidentially any and all problems relating to estates, trust or any
phase of the banking business and without obligation or charge.
The banking institutions of Olean have always
commanded public favor
and high universal esteem both for their impartial and wise business
methods and the impeccable character of those having control and
direction of their affairs. It is rare indeed to find in a city of the
size of Olean three banking institution each so well equipped for the
adequate and effective transaction of their respective business, as the
First National, the Exchange National and the Olean Trust Company. Both
the First National and the Exchange are now installed in splendid and
substantial buildings and all three institutions have a roster of loyal
and reputable adherents and customers, whom the officials of each
strive to deal with to their mutual satisfaction. In architectural
style the two largest bank building are imposing and artistic, although
in most respects different in exterior appearance. Their dominating
policies are not precisely the same, neither are they equal in the
extent of their financial transactions as the official figures show.
The Exchange Bank has more space, as well as more capital, in and with
which to transact its operations, but on the other hand as joint bank
and office building the First National can justly claim some equality.
Both Banks have had a long, successful and honorable
career, as the
records show, and while both of them are institutions of which not only
Olean but Cattaraugus County may well feel proud, both of them are very
largely indebted to Allegany county for the public favor and well
earned prosperity they enjoy, proof of which fact will be demonstrated
later in this article.
Frank L. Bartlett, president of the Exchange
National bank of Olean
died Tuesday morning, December 6, at 2:30 o'clock at the Hotel
Biltmore, New York city. Death was due to cholemia and uremia.
With him at the time of his death were his
wife and daughter, Nancy,
and M. M. Holmes, cashier of the bank.
Mr. Bartlett had been in ill health for the past
four or five months,
his illness becoming serious and later critical only recently.
In his death Olean has lost one of its most
powerful men, both as a
citizen and as a financier. His various activities during life
indicated that he found happiness in providing pleasure for others. As
a banker he was know throughout the state, principally on his
reputation in banking circles.
His loss was a heavy blow to the community and
continue to be felt for years to come. He had always been an optimistic
advocate of the city's advancement and believed implicitly in the
future prosperity, aiding liberally with his person al influence and
resources, every worthy enterprise having for its object the building
up and stability of the community.
Frank Laverne Bartlett, youngest son of Ebenezer
Bartlett was born
December 25, 1858 near Belfast, N.Y. He was educated in the public
schools and grew up on the farm. In 1879 he took a position as clerk in
the First National bank of Cuba and on June 14, 1880 came to Olean,
where he held a similar position in the Exchange National bank. In five
years he worked his way through successful promotions to the position
of cashier, being elected to that office, November 21, 1885. He had
found his true vocation and had so established his value as a financier
upon his associates that on January 9, 1895 he was elected president of
the bank and continued in that position until the time of his death.
He was made an honorary member of the Veteran's
Division, Pennsylvania Railroad system, at a meeting held on September
10, 1921, at Rock City. That honor was conferred upon him in
recognition of the great value of his services.
Through his deep interest in the local plant
of the Pennsylvania
Railroad company he was instrumental securing for that company
additional property in Olean which led later to enlarging the shops. He
took a similar interest in the activities of the Vacuum Oil company,
Clark Brothers and many other industries in the city.
Two of Mr. Bartlett's economic hobbies were the
development of the
Hamilton Country club and the Higgins Memorial hospital. Through his
untiring efforts he brought about the existence and maintenance of the
club and aided in making the hospital one of the most modern. He was
president of both the country club and the hospital.
He also took a great interest in the Randolph Home
at Randolph, N.Y.,
and had been chairman of the endowment fund committee for a number of
Mr. Bartlett was a director of the old Olean
Board of trade and since
the formation of the Chamber of Commerce had been active in that
He was a member of the Olean flood abatement
commission and his efforts
aided greatly in bringing the miles of dyking in Olean to realization.
Up until last year Mr. Bartlett was president
of the Bankers'
Association of Cattaraugus and Allegany counties and was instrumental
in its organization. Last year he declined to accept the presidency.
As previously said Mr. Bartlett was well known
in banking circles
throughout the state, but he was prominently known in both New York
city and Buffalo. He was a member of the Bankers' Club in the
metropolis, and on his frequent trips to New York dined with prominent
bankers of that city.
Nearly every year Mr. Bartlett would leave in the spring with his
family for Lakewood, N.J., where he sojourned and realized his
recreation in golf. He was also
frequently seen on the links at the Hamilton County club.
At the bank Mr. Bartlett was infallible. He
arrived at the office early
and as a rule stayed long after the institution closed. He was known as
a man who was quick to make a decision and usually his interviews were
brief as a result of this characteristic. He was literally wrapped up
in his life's work and although he often said that he would retire he
kept on, until his recent illness compelled him to spend many days in
He was prominently identified during the World
War with the Liberty
loan campaigns in Cattaraugus county and gave considerable of his time
to put them "over the top."
In politics he was a Democrat, although he was
not a politician and
never allowed his name to be presented for public office. He always
made a study of the candidates, both state and national, also of the
party platforms. At one time he was asked to become a candidate for the
office of mayor of Olean and although it seemed his election would be
certain he emphatically declined to enter the race.
He loathed ostentatious publicity and as a
result many of his
benefactions were unknown except in some instances to his most intimate
friends. Needless to say many of these benefactions will continue
unknown to the general public of Olean.
Under Mr. Bartlett's alert and wise
management, the Exchange National
bank has had a most successful history. Now handsomely located in one
of Olean's most imposing and attractive buildings, with a capital of
$1500,000, it challenges comparison with any bank in the United States
or situated in a similar locality.
Mr. Bartlett was instrumental in bringing the
addition to the bank and
the adding of five stories to the building, together with the
construction of the buildings now occupied by the Olean Electric Light
& Power Company and the Derby-McCarthy company.
Mr. Bartlett was a director of the Olean
Housing corporation and the
Park Improvement association.
He was a member of Olean Lodge, No. 252, F.
& A.M., St. John's
Commandery, No 24, Knights of Templar, Ishmailia Temple, Nobles of the
Mystic Shrine, Buffalo; Olean Lodge No. 471 I.O.O.F., City Club.
Mr. Bartlett was a member of the congregation of the
church and contributed a large amount toward the erection of the new
R. C. HILL
A SECOND MEMORIAL SERVICE
Further tributes to the memory of Frank L. Bartlett
were paid at a
second memorial service held in the Presbyterian Church on the evening
of Friday, June 9, 1923, at which every profession and walk of life was
represented. The Rev. William Bishop Gates, pastor of the church,
presided and introduced the speakers. Dr. Boothe C. Davis, President of
Alfred University, of which Mr. Bartlett was a fellow trustee, read a
memorial prepared by former Justice Edward W. Hatch of Friendship,
N.Y., also a trustee of the University. This memorial related that Mr.
Bartlett was born on Christmas morning, 1858, at the home of his
parents, Ebenezer and Corinthia Bartlett, in the town of Belfast,
Allegany county. The father descended from a family distinguished in
the annals of New England, some of the Bartlett ancestors having fought
in the war of the Revolution. One of these, Josiah Bartlett, was one of
the signers of the Declaration of Independence. Like his son the father
was born in the town of Belfast in 1824 and died in November, 1910. He
was a farmer and quite a remarkable man. He conducted a successful
business retiring about 1895. Mr. Bartlett's mother, who originated in
Steuben county, came with her family to Belfast in 1839 and was
educated in the district schools of Belfast, finishing her education at
what was then the Seminary at Alfred, afterwards becoming part of that
notable University. She still survives at the age of 93.
With this sturdy parentage, Mr. Bartlett
derived some of the sterling
qualities which characterized the days of his manhood.
He was educated in a district school of
Allegany county, where he began
his studies in 1876. After leaving school he obtained a position as
bookkeeper in the First National Bank of Cuba, serving a year or so
without compensation. He early mastered the elements of banking as
applied to the then country bank system and was then appointed by C. V.
B. Barse, President of the Exchange National Bank of Olean, to the
position of janitor in the institution.
Judge Hatch noted that to "the end Mr.
Bartlett's story reads like a
tale from the Arabian Nights," as after successive promotions from
various positions to that of cashier within five years, five years
later he was chosen President of the bank.
Among his other endowments and qualifications
he quickly comprehended
business propositions and analyzed almost by intuition any proposal
that came to him either in a matter of finance or relating to general
business. He was independent in political and commercial action and,
"he walked a highway of his own and kept the company of his
self-respect." He declined political preferment and was content to
remain a private citizen, actuated only by a consuming desire to
ameliorate the condition and make happier the people of his locality
and ; to build the financial institution of which he was the head as a
bulwark for the needs of the people, in which work he experienced great
His private benefactions are numerous but
seldom made public. He
founded the Hamilton Country Club which became his special care and was
the scene of his occasional recreations. He was a true patriot and
during the great war did a remarkable service in organizing various
forces in the county of Cattaraugus for the general welfare of the
republic and its share in the great conflict.
The progress of his life's work was one of
upward growth and his
courage was not daunted by any obstacles, growing stronger as the years
of his service advanced.
Dr. Davis followed with an earnest tribute of
appreciation of Mr.
Bartlett's various public activities, especially those incident to the
World War and the various Liberty Loan campaigns and remarking that he
was convinced as head of the Alfred University that Mr. Bartlett
revealed in every respect the ideal qualifications for a University
trustee and was induced, reluctantly , to accept the place on the Board
of the University. Thereafter he became a dynamic force in the conduct
of its affairs and as an illustration, at the second meeting of the
Board he proposed one of the most important and far reaching measures
ever put before it. The degree of Doctor of Laws was conferred upon him
in June, 1922.
Mr. Job E. Hedges of New York, who had been a
friend of Mr. Bartlett
for many years, paid his tribute in a brief address that was marked by
sound philosophy epigrammatically expressed.
FRANK LAVERNE BARTLETT
Born December 25, 1858
Died December 6, 1922
The prime mover in the establishment of a hospital in Olean, and
President of the Board of Directors of the institution from the
time of its incorporation until his death.
PHOTO: THE LATE FRANK WAYLAND HIGGINS
Several of Olean's citizens have attained
especial prominence in public
life. Prominent among them none have gained higher honor than the late
Frank Wayland Higgins, who in early life was active in the civic and
business affairs of Olean and whose career in the state legislature was
progressive, popular and distinguished. He was born at Rushford,
Allegany County, Aug. 18, 1856, coming to Olean with his father O. T.
Higgins, a most estimable citizen and business man. His chief
enterprises were in the lumbering business resulting in successful
investments in the early days of the development in Oregon and in the
neighborhood of Duluth.
His Son, Frank's business career in Olean was
marked with gratifying
success, and his ability and activity in affairs of state by his
advancement in various legislative capacities, principally in the
Senate 1893 to 1902, where he acted on several important committees,
later as Lieutenant Governor in 1902-1904 and finally as Governor of
the Empire State 1904 to 1906, passing away Feb. 12, 1907.
The accompanying portrait of Governor Higgins,
an excellent likeness,
is a reproduction in half tone of a life sized painting by Thomas C.
Corwen of New York, which is housed in the Historical room of the
Public Library, the gift of his sister, Mrs. Clara A. H. Smith.
PHOTO: Higgins Memorial Hospital : :
Group of buildings, from Main
On Saturday evening, January 12th, 1895, the
first discussion of an
Olean Hospital project was held in the pleasant parlors of the Olean
House, and a temporary organization was perfected. There were present
at this meeting Rev. Dr. J. W. Ashton, Rector of St. Stephen's Church,
Wm. M. Irish, F. L. Bartlett, F. W. Kruse, Mrs. F. W. Higgins, Mrs. C.
C. Green, Mrs. S. J. Mudge, Mrs. C. H. Doran, Mrs. D. W. Sheehan, Miss
Kelsey, Miss Johnson, Miss Bussell, and Miss Lorini.
Mr. Irish presided and F. D. Leland acted as
secretary. Dr. Ashton
talked earnestly of the necessity for such an institution, and said he
felt assured of success is all the members of the community would
co-operate. Means of raising money for the project were discussed, and
arrangements were made to give a bazaar at the Academy of Music the
evenings of Feb. 13th, `4th , `5th and 16th, Mr. Leland having donated
the use of the Academy for that purpose on those dates.
Following this memorable meeting, various
drives were made for money,
fairs and entertainments were also given until sufficient funds were
accumulated to purchase what was known as the Dean property at Coleman
and First streets. This old residence was remodeled somewhat to make
what at that time was considered a very well equipped hospital, and
adequate for many years to come; this was in 1898. A number of rooms in
the building had been equipped and furnished by various organizations
in Olean, and much enthusiasm was manifested at the opening of the
Olean General Hospital, Incorporated, also in 1898.
Later it was realized that Olean needed a much
larger and better
equipped institution, as the city was growing so rapidly. A generous
gift of $65,000 from Mrs. Clara A. H. Smith, in memory of her brother,
Governor Frank Wayland Higgins, made possible the erection of a new
building, and the land and some equipment was paid for out of the sale
of the old hospital on Coleman street. The new building was erected on
Main street in Boardmanville, and was a handsome and substantial
structure. Among others who contributed generously at the time of the
erection of the new hospital was Mrs. Kate C. Higgins, who gave
$10,000. On the completion of the building there still remained a
deficit of $10,000, and it was learned recently that Mr. F. L. Bartlett
gave his check at that time, for the full amount, desiring that no
publicity be given as to his donation.
Again it seemed that the new hospital would
meet all needs of the city
for years to come, but barely three years had elapsed before the
hospital became so crowded that additional room was required. In 1915
Mrs. Higgins again contributed generously so that the Nurses' Lodge was
erected as a memorial to her son, Orrin Thrall Higgins. In 1916 the
present poser house was built, giving room in the basement of the main
building for additional rooms. The funds for this building were raised
by the board of directors, in addition to another gift from Mrs.
This year, 1922, another beautiful and useful
building had been added
to the hospital, and is to be used for maternity quarters. The building
is beautiful in itself, and its importance to the community can be
readily understood. At the formal opening of the maternity building,
September 13th, Dr. Gilbert R. Williamson spoke in behalf of the
Kiwanis Club, which had inaugurated the drive for money to meet the
necessary expenses. Mr. M. G. Fitzpatrick made a fitting response,
accepting the presentation of the building on behalf of the trustees of
the Hospital board, in place of Mr. Bartlett, President of the board,
who was unavoidably absent. Mr. Fitzpatrick gave a resume of the
history of the Olean Hospital, and complimented those people of Olean
who have contributed generously and often to maintain and improve it.
It is certain that now Olean has a hospital which ranks with the first,
located in adequate buildings which are a credit to the city and worthy
of the purposes of the institution.
Mr. Bartlett turning the first sod on the site of the [General]
Hospital main building
FRANK WAYLAND HIGGINS
Born August 18, 1856
Died February 12, 1907
Governor of New York, 1905 - 1906
A distinguished citizen of Olean, in whose memory the main building of
Higgins Memorial Hospital was given in 1912 by his sister, Mrs. Clara
A. H. Smith
JAMES F. JOHNSON
Born November 2, 1831
Died December 8, 1922
For sixty-seven years a resident of Olean, who
gave evidence of his
sympathy for unfortunate and
Suffering humanity by bequeathing practically all of his considerable
fortune to the Hospital.
By the will of James F. Johnson, for many
years a resident of Olean,
who died in the Olean General Hospital December 8, 1922, the
institution was made the beneficiary of a trust created out of the
estate after the payment of certain bequests, the income of which was
to be used in defraying the cost to poor but worthy persons either in
or out of the hospital who reside within the limits of the city of
Olean. The amount of this trust it is estimated will amount to about
$150,000. The executors and trustees under the provisions of the will
of Squire Johnson are Frederick W. Kruse and Allen J. Hastings. The
will was written by Mr. Johnson himself in 1910, which also made
certain bequests to Charles S. Hubbard, his brother-in-law, who had
been associated with him in a business capacity for many years.
EDGAR G. DUSENBURY (of Portville, N.Y.)
Born October 31, 1941
Died December 25, 1920
Banker and leader in industry who was generous in his benefactions to
many philanthropies and institutions, including the Higgins Memorial
Hospital, in which he always maintained a deep interest.
Wards in the Maternity Building : : Higgins Memorial Hospital
Group of Nurses, Higgins Memorial Hospital
Top row, from left to right: Gretchen Nind, Gladys
Woodard, Mrs. Ethel H. Bates, (Superintendent), Maybelle Renfrew,
Officials of the Higgins Memorial Hospital
Iva L. Hastings, Esther B. Fitzgibbons.
Second row: Catherine Taylor,
Bessie Hanchett, Louise Barkhill, Helen Warren.
Third row: Bertha White, Irene Richard, Fannie Ellis, Gladys
Marie Markert, Theresa Ringbauer.
Fourth row; Queen Ives, Margie Morrow, Helen Levett, Anastasia
Lunora Stillman, Gladys Crandall.
Officers for 1923 - Edward H. Wright,
President; Malachy G.
Fitzpatrick, Vice-president; Helen M. Seely, Secretary; Allan B.
Executive Committee - Allan B. Williams, Mary
A. Sheehan, Mark M.
Board of directors - William A. Dusenbury,
Malachy G. Fitzpatrick, Mark
M. Holmes, Thomas B. Loughlen, M. D., Martin F. Quinn, Helen M. Seely,
Mary A. Sheehan, Allan B. Williams, Edward H. Wright.
Officers of the Olean General Hospital
Visiting Staff for 1923 - Dr. J.
P. Garen, President; Dr. Earl D. Kilmer, Vice-President; Alice B.
Woodard, R.N., Secretary and Treasurer.
Members of the Olean General Hospital Visiting
Staff for 1923 - Dr. J.
Ross Allen, Dr. Leslie Atkins, Dr. F. H. Bartlett, Dr. J. P. Boothe,
Dr. E. B. Burdick, Dr. W. A. Cowell, Dr. J. P. Garen, Dr. C. A.
Greenleaf, Dr. Clifford Hackett, Dr. Mary B. Jepson, Dr. J. A. Johnson,
Dr. John Kane, Dr. Earl D. Kilmer, Dr. T. B. Loughlen, Dr. W. E.
MacDuffie, Dr. Donald MacDuffie, Dr. J. E. K. Morris, Dr. R. B. Morris,
Dr. W. B. Potter, Dr. A. L. Runals, Dr. A. E. Smith, Dr. C. W. Stewart,
Dr. L. W. Tindolph, Dr. Benj. Van Campen, Dr. Duncan Wormer.
Hospital Staff and Other Assistants for 1923 -
Ethel H. Bates, R.N.,
Superintendent; Pauline L. Osgood, Night Superintendent; Iva L.
Hastings, R.N., Operating Room Supervisor; Gladys Albro, R. N.,
Maternity Supervisor; Gretchen E. Nind, R.M., Training School
Instructor; Alice B. Woodard, R.N., Case Record Clerk; Winifred C.
Fitzgibbons, Secretary; Elizabeth S. Warner, Admitting Clerk; Catherine
Hartnett, Housekeeper; Maybelle Renfrew, Dietitian.
In the group picture of the Higgins hospital
staff printed on another
page the Doctors Morris are prominent. The Doctors, John E. K. and
Raymond B., father and son, each of whom enjoys a wide spread
reputation as a physician and surgeon. The senior member of this
capable partnership came to Olean from Eldred in 1885, after he had
graduated from the Buffalo General Hospital in Buffalo. Raymond B., the
son, received his medical education and graduated from the Johns
Hopkins Hospital in Baltimore. Among other connections they represent
the Pennsylvania Railroad in this territory. They have well equipped
offices on the corner of First and Laurens Street.
Another practitioner in the group is Dr.
Donald A. MacDuffie who limits
his practice to treatment of the eyes. He began work in Olean in 1913,
and conducted a general practice work for five years, the remainder of
that he specialized in Eye Work. In connection with the offices at 126
N. Union Street, Olean, N.Y., he has a complete optical department. The
Lens-Grinding Room is equipped with four large grinders where three
skilled mechanics are employed who turn out work accurately and
promptly. The stock and equipment of this atelier makes it the most
complete of its kind in this state.
Individual references in regard to others on
the Hospital staff who are
pictured in the group will be found on later pages.
Higgins Memorial Hospital
The Maternity Division
THE MATERNITY BUILDING
The views on the right show the interior arrangements of the Maternity
With a group of infants shown below.
DOCTORS OF THE HOSPITAL STAFF
Top row (standing) J. P. Garen, (President) J. E. K.
Morris, T. B.
Second row (seated) F. H. Bartlett, C. A. Greenleaf, L. W.
Third row (seated) E. A. Smith, E.
Dodd, W. B. Potter, W. E. MacDuffie, E. D. Kilmer, H. E. Shaver.
Fourth row (seated) D. L. Wormer, J. A. Johnson, R. B. Morris,
Kane, J. Boothe.
Bottom row, J. W. Cowell, D. MacDuffie, J. Ross Allen.
Among the many contributors to the material
and financial needs of the
Hospital and especially of the Maternity Division none have been more
generous or more actively interested than Mrs. Fannie E. Bartlett, who
during the life of her late husband manifested in many ways her
solicitude for the successful functioning of that important division of
the Hospital services. Her special attention has been given to the
needs of the maternity division and to all that appertains to the
successful conduct of its important work.
in their annual report for 1922 the Directors
of the Higgins Hospital
referring to Mrs. Bartlett said:
From the inception of the Olean General
Hospital Mrs. Frank L. Bartlett
has felt a particular deep interest in the maternity department,
furnishing not only all the baby clothes and blankets for all the 1921
babies that have been born in the hospital up to Dec. 31st, 1922 and
the necessary renewals, but most if not all the fittings and
furnishings of all the private rooms and wards of this department. We
are assured that she is not weary in well doing and proposes to
continue the good work; all praise to the spirit which does not falter
at such rapidly increasing and continuing service.
Also in reference to the philanthropy of Mrs.
Kate C. Higgins.
In 1915 Mrs. Kate C. Higgins gave the Nurses'
Lodge to the hospital
through her generous gift of approximate $36,000. The Nurses' Lodge is
a memorial to Mrs. Higgins' son, the late Orrin Thrall Higgins. In 1916
the present power plant was built, which relieved the basement of the
main building from the laundry and heating plant, making available some
very valuable rooms. Mrs. Higgins contributed $21,000 to the erection
of this plant.
The various branches of medical and surgical
practice are well
represented in Olean by men and women of authenticated capacity and
acknowledged skill. Some of them follow reliable line of long accepted
ideas, while others are specialists, practicing by more modern methods
and goodly measures of patronage partially by reason of beliefs
conceived by patients themselves suffering from various forms of
afflictions. Besides those who appear in the group picture of the staff
shown on page 63, there are sill some who are regarded as reliable
specialists. For example:
Dr. Carroll W. Perry is a leading authority on
the efficacy of
Osteopathy, and who incidentally is or has been much interested in the
affairs of prominent fraternities. He originated in 1884 at
Elizabethtown, N.Y. of American parentage, of English, Welch and Dutch
ancestors. In due time he graduated from the Saranac Lake High School,
class of 1902 and after active participation in several branches of
athletics, he made his entry into professional life from the class of
1906 of the American college of Osteopathy, Kirksville, Mo. A year
later he became an assistant in the Helmer Infirmary, New York City;
thence practicing his professional creed at Niagara Falls and
Salamanca, N.Y. Since 1911 he has been established in Olean, his office
now being at 517-518 Exchange Bank Building. As results of his
fraternal affiliations he is a Past President of the Alpha Chapter
Theta Psi Fraternity; Past President of the Olean Kiwanis Club; Past
Grand of Olean Lodge 471 I.O.O.F., Past Chief Patriarch Allegany
Encampment 102; Past District Deputy Grand Patriarch, Cattaraugus
District, Encampment Branch I.O.O.F. Among other organization of which
he is a member of the New York Osteopathic Society, and of the First
Presbyterian Church, Olean, N.Y.
PHOTO: Carroll W. Perry, D.O.
Dr. W. B. Eldridge came to Olean in 1911;
being the oldest Chiropractor
in point of service in this part of the state, located in a private
residence next to where the Clinic is now. After moving into larger
quarters four times, he is now located in the Riley and Wands Bldg. He
was personally acquainted with the founder of Chiropractic, Dr. D. D.
Palmer, even before he discovered the principles of Chiropractic, so
having seen the work grow from its small beginning of six students in
the first class until now. There is estimated to be over 20,000
Chiropractors in the U.S. alone, all within the short space of 25
years. When he first came to Olean his work was new and untried, and
being so different from the methods then in use, was consequently
frowned upon until people began to rid of the ailments, and told their
friends about it, and then the work grew, until now, the records in his
office show that over one thousand eight hundred of Olean's population
have been to his office for chiropractic adjustments at one time or
W. B. Eldridge, D.C.
F. B. Weaver, D. D. S.
Dr. Fenton B. Weaver was born at Elmira, N.Y.
in 1892. He graduated
from the public school and Elmira Free Academy, also from the
University of Buffalo in 1018. He seen service on the Mexican Border
and was with the Dental Reserve Corps in the World War. One year was
spent in Rochester Dental Clinic in children's work and Army Dental
Surgery. One year he was associated with Dr. J. B. West of Elmira,
N.Y., studying Diseases of the Mouth and Teeth, specializing in
Pyorrhia and Extraction. Coming to Olean in June 1920 he was associated
with the Skaden Dental Office until the completion of the New Exchange
Bank. His office is now located at 508-09 Exchange National Bank
J. A. Johnson, M.D.
J. P. Garen, M.D.
Dr. J. A. Johnson graduated from the New York
College. He spent one year at the Rosewell P. Florence Hospital of New
York City. Later he took and eighteen months course in the New York
Post Graduate Hospital. His office is located at 182 1-2 N. Union
Street, where he specialized in Pediatrics-(care of infants). He is
active in the Red Cross, Public Health Center, acted as advisory
physician at the Infant Welfare Station. He served with the A. E. F. in
France from April 1, 1918 to March 17, 1919. He acted as Health
physician of Olean from 1916-1922.
The efficient work and service which Dr. S.
Judd Early is rendering to
the City's Educational Department is duplicated in his professional
occupation as a dentist of long experience and with a large constantly
growing clientage, which is emphasized by the steady expansion of his
waiting list. His skill and good judgment even in the most difficult
cases are manifested fully by the satisfactory results achieved. It
goes without saying that his office and operating rooms are fitted up
with the most approved furniture and appliances as complete as can be
found at the highest class dentistry in this or even in the largest
city establishments. He is located at 602-603 Exchange National Bank
Dr. W. Irving Hewitt, located at the corner of
First and Sullivan
streets were he has lived and practiced his profession for the last
twenty-eight years. He at first established the Olean Sanitarium at his
present location. He was the first physician in western New York who
employed and used in his profession electricity from a medical
standpoint. His offices are fully equipped with the most modern
electrical appliances used at the present time. He is a prominent
citizen and is always ready and willing to contribute to the best
interests and welfare of all interests, advancements and prosperity of
the city of Olean. He is well known throughout the country and enjoys
high standing with his associates and the general public.
Dr. Mary B. Jepson, a native of Syracuse,
graduated from the Cortland
Normal School, and later a teacher of languages and history, Dr. Mary
B. Jepson early in life began the study of medicine and after
graduating from the Hering Medical College of Chicago, she was assigned
to a position as resident physician at the Women's Homeopathic Hospital
in Philadelphia, where she saw active service for three years. In 1898
she started practice in Olean where she soon acquired a most desirable
reputation and a continually growing list of patient, of her sex of
course. She is the only woman practitioner in Cattaraugus County and
adjoining territory, except Jamestown. Dr. Jepson is much interested as
a citizen in the development and growth of Olean, while she is a
faithful member of the Presbyterian church. She maintains a comfortable
home at 21 N. Second street, with a sister, Miss Lena Jepson, and has
her professional head-quarters at the same address.
(continued on a later page)
W. I. Hewitt, M.D.
M. C. Follett, M.D.
S. J. Early, D.D.S.
THE OLEAN SANITARIUM
J. P. Boothe, M.D.
A. I. Runals, M.D.
Earl D. Kilmer, M.D.
J. D. Repp, M.D.
Mary B. Jepson, M.D., D.S.
S. E. Lewis, D.D.S.
J. P. Boothe, M.D.
BENJAMIN UNDERHILL TAYLOR
By the death of Benjamin Underhill Taylor-"B.
U. Taylor" as he was
widely and familiarly known, not only in the community which he labored
constantly for a quarter of a century to benefit, but in church and
other circles elsewhere, his energy and eloquence will be sadly missed.
It was always characteristic of him to enter heartily into the spirit
of a meeting whether secular or sacred and he was never at a loss to
say the right thing in the right place, whatever the occasion.
After several months of failing health and in
spite of all that could
be done for his relief, his death occurred on July 21st, 1923, at his
home on West Sullivan street, where the funeral services were held the
following Tuesday, with the Rev. G. R. Williamson in charge; burial
being in the family plot in Mount View Cemetery.
Surviving him are his widow, to whom as
Harriet M. McFarland, he was
married in 1882 at Grand Menan, New Brunswick. Also seven daughters,
Mrs. Charles E. Foster of Los Angeles, Cal., Mrs. Jerome H. King, of
Youngstown, O., Mrs. Ray W. Sherman of Elmira, N.Y., Mrs. Hartley F.
Pratt and Mrs. Howad C. E. Becker, of Olean, N.Y., Mrs. Kirby W.
Martindale of Albany, N.Y., and Mrs. John W. Larkin of Boston, Mass.
And one son, B.U. Taylor of Fort Worth, Texas. Also three brothers, E.
H. Taylor of
Group of Old Timers, resting on the lawn of Dr. Stephen
California style residence, on Memorial Day, 1923
Standing, left to right: W. C. Duke, John Sloane, W.
K. Page, F. H.
Godfrey, F. d. Leland, H. W. Richardson, N. I. Jones, S. McClure
Seated, left to right: Willard Reazs, J. Shaner, Dr. Boothe,
Davis, R. C. Hill, Thomas Barnes, F. B. Georgia, B. U. Taylor
Cliftondale, Mass., F. E. Taylor of Bolivar, N.Y. and C. A. Taylor of
Olean, N.Y., and eight grandchildren.
Mr. Taylor was born in Lenneus, Maine,
September 11th, 1854. When
seventeen years of age he left home for Boston, Mass. Where he learned
the building business from the beginning, specializing in the
bricklaying and mason trade. For thirty-six years he has been one of
Olean's most active and progressive business men. He first occupied an
office at the corner of Wayne and Third Street, but for about
thirty-five years had conducted his business in a building owned by him
on North Union Street, where his office came to be one of the
best-known land-marks of the business section. From a small beginning,
by his untiring energy he built up the extensive business now housed in
the Coleman Street warehouses: also a large contracting business.
He always took a keen and active interest in
all the affairs of the
city: being a member of the Board of Education from 1897 to 1900, and
serving four terms as President of the Chamber of Commerce, from 1911
to 1915; retaining his membership an acting as a Director to the time
of his death. Largely due to his efforts and influence, several new
industries were located in Olean, including the Clark Bros. Co. machine
shops from Belmont, the Van Atta Co., Dunlop Silk Mill and American
For thirty six years he was a faithful member
of the First Methodist
Episcopal Church of Olean, President of the Genesee Conference Epworth
League for two terms, 1895 to 1899, and aiding in the organization of
many Epworth League Chapters in Olean District. For over thirty years
he was a member of the Official Board of his church and also secretary
and treasurer of Olean District Board of Stewards. Also for many years
a trustee of the Blocher Home for the Aged near Buffalo. To all of
these offices he brought the same interest and enthusiasm that he
bestowed upon his own affairs.
Mr. Taylor was a member of the Olean Masonic
Lodge and Scottish Rite
Bodies in this city and in Buffalo. He was a charter member of the
I.O.O.F., joining Commonwealth Lodge in Boston, Mass. In 1874. He was
also a member and much interested in the Olean Historical Association
and the Association of Olean Old Timers. A Director of the Olean
General Hospital and the New York State Coal Dealers Association , and
for two years Coal Administrator of Cattaraugus County. He also held
membership in the New York State Association of Builders and the Retail
Lumber Dealer' Association of Western New York, where his counsel and
influence will be greatly missed, as in his personal business known as
the B. U. Taylor Co. which is being continued.
PHOTO: The Mountain Clinic Hospital - A Most Worthy Institution
For twenty years a wise man, a practical
philanthropist, a skilled
physician and surgeon in our midst fostered the idea of a refuge for
suffering humanity which was to be one of the most attractive, well
planned and most perfectly equipped, model and modern institutions in
this part of the country. Through its portals were to assemble the sick
and suffering of the land, there to receive adequate medial and
surgical treatment, administer with most compassionate sympathy, with
skillful and unremitting solicitude, care and attention. There those
afflicted with a curable malady, disease or injury were to be cared for
and maintained in a most efficient and effectual manner without regard
to race, creed or color.
And so it came about that on the first day of March,
DR. STEPHEN MOUNTAIN
DR. WM. H. MOUNTAIN
DR. G. B. JACKSON
PHOTO: DR. HARRY MADISON
nineteen hundred seventeen, the first turf was turned on the corner of
East State and Barry Streets were the ideal enterprise was capably
materialized into a three story brick, tile and concrete fire-proof
building in the heart of the city - environed by good park air and
under heaven's unobstructed light.
The Mountain Clinic Hospital
This great institution which soon became
famous and appreciated was
completed in one year at a cost of one hundred thousand dollars. It was
formally opened for the public service in March, 1918, with a capacity
for patients of thirty-five beds, ten private rooms and two
semi-private rooms. Each of these apartments were equipped with a
lavatory, has numerous electric appliances for convenience of
treatments, electric signal service and every modern detail of
equipment necessary to do the best possible work in the most desirable
and scientific way.
During the first year over seven hundred
patients were served at the
hospital. The second year over on thousand were admitted. The demand
for more space was so great that an enlargement of the hospital became
necessary. An addition to the main building was made in nineteen
hundred nineteen, at a cost of forty thousand dollars. A beautiful
space for obstetrical patients was provided, also a large hall room for
men, making a total bed capacity of fifty. On the third floor is a
spacious assembly hall where lectures and scientific meetings are
In the erection and operation of the Mountain
Clinic Hospital by
William H. Mountain and Stephen V. Mountain - doctors of medicine - a
wonderful undertaking has been put in operation.
The Clinic X-Ray Laboratory
The Clinic Chemical Laboratory
The Clinic Roof Sun Parlor
MISS MARY JUANNE SHEEHAN
Superintendent of the Clinic since the Opening in 1918
David A. Mountain Home for Aged Physicians
This country has been slow to realize the
importance of providing
sufficiently for those how, having given their lives for the welfare
and advancement of mankind, are in their later years incapacitated and
unable to perform the duties of their vocation, perhaps even to provide
for their own needs. War pensions have been granted to soldiers and
sailors; civil pensions are given to superannuated Federal employees,
teachers, policemen, and firemen are pensioned in several states and
cities as are also civil employees in some cities. Ministers of certain
denominations are provided for in old age and a few industries provide
pensions for aged employees.
The bulk of people, however, face old age
without the certainty of
means whereby they must sustain life properly after their powers fail.
Even those who have some property are harassed when incapacitated
through age by the thought that it may not last them to the end of life
if the end should be postponed for long.
To no body of people does old age bring
greater need than to the
physicians who have served long and faithfully, giving of their time
and money to aid the poor and near poor, weakening their physical
powers by excessive work and exposure, and compelled to bear heavy
expenses to keep up the standards of professional life. Many break down
in what should be the prime of life while many others reach old age
without adequate means of support. The people think well of their
doctors, but they realize all too little the economic burdens which
keep generous hearted men from accumulating resources against the time
when through accident, disease, or old age they are no longer able to
It is a happy announcement to the physicians
of the country and their
friends is about to be softened by the establishment of a great
memorial home where physicians who are aged, incapacitated, or infirm
may pass their final years in comfort, surrounded by all of the means
of contentment and physical care that their grateful friends may
provide and in the companionship of others of their own professional
interests and of libraries and laboratories where they may keep up
their interests in their life's vocation.
LOCATED IN WESTERN NEW YORK
In the valley of the Genesee river in western
New York where the
romance of Indian life left an imperishable impress stands the site of
a former Indian village, from which it received its name. Among the
pioneers of this valley was David Mountain, who developed out of the
forests a splendid farm on the slopes of the hill two miles from the
village. Here he raised a large family and inspired them all with the
zeal for higher education. The whole resources of the newly developed
land were spent in their education. For fifteen years this farm
The David A. Mountain Farm, in Western New York, which has been
presented by the two physician sons, Drs. William H. and Stephen V.
Mountain, as a home for aged and infirm physicians, the same to be a
Memorial to their father, David A. Mountain.
from one to three of the family in college. Six members graduated from
higher institutions of learning. Two
of them became physicians and surgeons of distinction, and these two
have now taken to heart the problem of their fellow practitioners and
have opened they way to a hopeful future for those who are aged and
infirm. The old home farm of two hundred acres which has been developed
by modern methods and equipment to a high state of cultivation has been
presented by the two physician sons, Dr. William H., and Stephen V.
Mountain of Olean, New York, founders of the Mountain Clinic, as a home
for aged and infirm physicians, the same to be a memorial to their
father, and to be known as the David A. Mountain Memorial.
PHOTO: David A. Mountain and Family. This picture was taken in
The gift has been made to an organization called the Physicians' Home,
Inc. of which Dr. Robert T. Morris is president; Dr. Ralph Waldo, Vice
president; Dr. Silas F. Hallock, 26 East 65th St., New York City,
secretary, and Dr. Albert G. Weed, 152 West 57th St., New York City,
treasurer. In addition the Board of Directors includes Drs. Warren
Coleman, Max Einhorn, Wolff Freudenthal, Francis Huber, and Stephen V.
It is the intention of the Board of Directors
to occupy the farm house
at once and to build a modern house a soon as possible. Plans for the
erection of buildings contemplates an expenditure of $250,000 as a
beginning. Under the present tentative plans, there will be two large
dormitories in one of which will be installed laboratories for
experimental purposes. Golf links, tennis courts and croquet grounds
are being laid out and there will be a complete gymnasium, including
swimming tanks, bowling alleys and billiard rooms. Provision has been
made by the Board of Supervisors of Allegany County in which the
institution is located for construction of a paved road from the
village to the farm. Many additional features will develop as the plan
In addition to the dormitories and sanitarium,
the Board of Directors
may find it advantageous to build small cottages where physicians and
their wives may live by themselves and yet have the advantages of the
facilities of the institution.
It will doubtless happen, too, that many
physicians, who have small
amounts of money may desire to purchase with it the privilege of care
for the rest of their lives, thus making their small savings
permanently provide for their care throughout old age. The home will
offer also a resting place for doctors whose health may have become
broken in their work. It will combine, therefore not only the features
of an institutional home, but also of a sanitarium.
Meeting, as it undoubtedly will, a great
social need, this institution
may be expected to grow to large proportions. Many developments
unthought of a present, will take place, bringing nearer and nearer the
ideal of social security to those who have done so much to make others
The Mountain Clinic Nursing Staff
Dr. Laurence Gregory Raub
Dr. Laurence Gregory Raub is an original
Oleander, having graduated
from the High School in 1917 as president of his class. He completed
his medical studies at the University of Michigan where he gained
distinction as instructor of Clinical Dentistry. To this he has later
added skill and efficiency in Oral Surgery and in addition to being
especially well equipped with all the latest inventions and medical
requirements of modern methods of dentistry. Although his office
adjoins the Clinic building he is recognized as an important member of
the Clinic staff. He is entirely competent to handle all the up-to-date
requirements in that line of practice.
Dr. Frank E. Howard
Dr. Howard came to the Clinic, as a member of the staff, from Cuba, New
PHOTO: The Marcus Metro Station, Corner of North Union and Main
ANCIENT AND MODERN LANDMARKS
Casual visitors to a town or city are quick to
especially notice novel
structures along the various thoroughfares which are quite familiar and
a little heeded by the local residents. The pictures shown on this page
will serve as timely reminders.
Entrance to Oak Hill Park, Corner Fourth and Putnam Streets
Union Street, Olean, Looking North
View of State Street, Looking West
Dignitaries of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church
The early history of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church, with a view
main edifice, will be found on page 25.
Dr. J. W. Ashton, Rector Emeritus
Rev. C. C. Bentley, Rector
Rev. B. M. Rutledge, Assistant Rector
Relating to Olean Churches
On the bottom of page 33 will be found a statement that "Other matters
relating to Olean churches will be found on a later page."
By reason of many combinations of adverse circumstances and
several errors were passed without being noticed until too late to make
the necessary corrections. They are (1) On page 27, there occurs a
repetition of facts in connection with the Centennial Celebration of
the First Presbyterian church, there being two paragraphs which
practically comprise the same matter.
(2) On Page 29, at the bottom of the page, the word dedicated is
(3) The paragraph below the picture of the Ninth Street M. E. church on
page 30, beginning with the words, "In 1888" is a repetition of the
paragraph which appears in the previous column at the top of the same
The succeeding paragraph in the second column of page 30 should read:
"As already stated, at the People's church in East Olean, preaching
At the conclusion of the article in relation to the Ninth Street M. E.
church the following paragraph should have been added:
The present pastor, in 1923 is the Rev. Arthur Partington, who came
here from Kenmore, in the Buffalo district of New York in October 1922.
He has already infused a desirable spirit for the advancement of the
interests of this branch of the M. E. church in this locality.
In the record of St. Stephen's Episcopal church an omission was made of
the fact that the position as assistant to the Rector is capably filled
by Beecher Rutledge and that G. Harold Brown has since resigned as
choir master and organist.
BETTER LATE THAN NEVER
The above old-time saying may well apply to this issue (Part One) of
the Oleander, which is a tangible evidence of progress in a partial
accomplishment of the plan formulated at the outset. The subscribers
will be furnished with their quota of Part Two, in due course.
While there has been a considerable increase in
building operations in
recent years, especially in various streets in Olean's 10th and 11th
wards, the most notable addition now within the city's area, increases
in population and building developments have been brought about by the
enterprise of the Olean Housing Corporation in laying out a city
addition and establishing attractive domiciles on Seneca Heights, to
the south, across the Allegany River, covering a territory of some 150
acres, now officially included as a part of the Second Ward.
The superior character of this splendid and
comprehensive addition to
Olean's new city area is evidenced by the pictures shown on this and
following pages of this Part One of the Oleander Review and Outlook.
PHOTO: One of the products of community co-operation, a close-up of a
corner of Seneca Heights.
New school - completed Fall of 1924
A. W. E. Schoenberg, Architect
A close-up of a Spanish - American bungalow on York Street
Three distinct expressions of the Colonial type
There are many home sites available with old Mt. Hermans a near
English and Colonial architecture - neighbors on York Street
Olean Housing Corporation
"The Builder of Seneca Heights"
A. E. EWING, President
J. P. HERRICK, Vice-President C. L. BOCKMIER, Treasurer H. C.
E. W. FITZGERALD, Chairman A. E. EWING J. P. HERRICK
C. L. BOCKMIER W. A. DUSENBURY A. D. EWING E. W. FITZGERALD
J. P. HERRICK M. M. HOLMES E. H. WRIGHT
Serves Olean and Vicinity
THE OLEAN BRADFORD AND SALAMANCA RAILWAY COMPANY,
(100) miles of track serves the Olean and adjacent territory with
frequent trolley passenger service.
Also interchanges freight, both package and car-load, with all the
steam railroads in this section.
A detail description of the operation of the O. B. & S. Railway
System will appear in a subsequent Part of THE OLEANDER.
Without successful utilities a community
cannot be a good place in
which to live and do business. Public Utility service is so much a part
of modern living conditions that the utilities and the communities they
serve go forward or backward together.
No agency has played a more important part in
the removal of burdens
from the toilers' backs than electricity. Utility service takes the
energy from coal or rapid running water and delivers it at your home or
office, or store or factory as electricity to make your work easier, to
save your time, to add to your comfort.
In terms of convenience, labor saving and
human happiness, the value of
electric service cannot be calculated. It can only be appreciated when
you try to think what living would be without it.
Good service to the public is the aim of the
OLEAN ELECTRIC LIGHT & POWER CO.
The New Olean House
As far back as the most ancient Old Timer can
recall, and years before
that time the Olean House has been the principal hostelry of the City
of Natural Advantages. During the past few months remarkable
improvements and enlargements have been in progress, a complete
illustrated description of which will appear in Part Two of the
The reading public of Olean and the
surrounding territory comprises a
great population of those who are deeply interested in vicinity
happenings and incidents and in the general developments of week-day
public affairs. There is no journal which covers the ground more
accurately, comprehensively and completely than the
BUFFALO EVENING NEWS
The tremendous volume of its afternoon and
night circulation, which is
constantly growing, is an unquestionable evidence of its merit.
The midnight edition devotes ample space to
agricultural affairs --
including the latest market reports, notices of meeting s and other
valuable information and news from the Western New York localities.
This great newspaper also has a complete radio section together with a
magazine and woman's page, two pages of stories and special features; a
page of the very latest pictures; a page of comics, featuring fun, not
silliness; two pages of sport news with Karpe's Comment, a big sport
feature; services of the two greatest news gathering agencies, the
Associated and the United Press, a score of special writhers and
hundreds of correspondents.
The Mid-Night Edition, mailed late in the
evening, will reach you by
carrier in the morning within a few hours after the edition is off the
press, and the subscription price is but 50 cents a month. Treat
yourself to the best in the line of newspapers by SENDING YOUR
SUBSCRIPTION TODAY to the---
BUFFALO EVENING NEWS
216 Main Street