Nye County Genealogy

We've Moved!!!

Our new Address is
Please change your bookmarks

Welcome to

Home | Queries | Nye Place Names | Nye Resources

Part of NVGenWeb

Nye County was created in 1864 from Esmeralda County and is the largest county in the
State of Nevada consisting of 18,294 square miles. It was named in honor of James Warren Nye,
Governor of Nevada Territory and a United States Senator from Nevada. Approximately 70% of Nye
County land is owned by the Federal Goverment.

The County Seat was originally Ione (an old mining camp 1865), then Belmont (1867), but was moved to
Tonopah by an act of May 1, 1905.

View/Post Queries

Nevada Research Resources

Nye County Research Resources

Other Valuable Research Resources

Visit Nye County's Neighbors
Click on a county to visit.
Use your browser's "Back" button to return!

This page was created on October 23, 1997.
Nye County Footer

Joy Fisher

Eureka County White Pine County Lander County Churchill County Mineral County Esmeralda County Lincoln County California Clark County