Welcome to Pierce County, Nebraska Genealogy!


County Coordinator: Kathleen Carlson

State Coordinator: David Gouchenour                Assistant State Coordinator: Linda Ziemann

NEW: The hosted websites of Rootsweb are scheduled to changed over to read-only beginning in early 2024. This site has been hosted on Rootsweb for a number of years, but that time is coming to a close. USGenWebSites invited Pierce County to move our site there. Thank you Denise Wells!

I started a new site at www.usgenwebsites.org/NEPierce. I will be shutting down the rootsweb site and change it to direct people to the current site.

The Beginning of Pierce County


In 1859 the present Pierce county was created by Territorial Legislation. The county and Pierce City, the county seat, were named after Franklin Pierce, who was inaugurated in 1853, the fourteenth president of the United States.

Originally Pierce county contained fifteen townships, there being a jog in the northeast corner, but on February 5, 1875, Pierce county pulled a trick on Cedar county. It happened so very long ago very few, if any, old timers remember it.

In those far-off days Cedar county’s southern boundary was a straight line, while Pierce county’s northern boundary line dipped six miles south and then six miles east on the eastern side. One bright morning, Cedar county awoke to discover that the legistlature had amputated the southeast township and transplanted it on Pierce county. Cedar county’s representative in the legislature had never heard a word about it until the job was done.

In this way Pierce county straightened her northern boundary and Cedar county acquired a jog in her southern boundary. The part of the town of Randolph in Cedar county that extends over the line in Pierce county was nicknamed “Dog Town” and still bears that name. In addition to acquiring a whole township without cost, Pierce County acquired several miles of railroad for taxation purposes.

Two years later the Pierce county representative, together with representatives from other counties, fixed it so no county could acquire any portion of another county without the consent of both counties, so Cedar County was stopped from getting that township back.

SOURCE:“Along Pioneer Trails in Pierce County, Nebraska"

Neighboring Counties: Antelope, Cedar, Knox, Madison, Stanton, and Wayne.

Site Search


Towns Past and Present


Current Cities and Villages

Historical Cities

  • Birch
  • Bishop
  • Breslau
  • Colbergen
  • Crystal Lake
  • Lucas Siding
  • Marrowville
  • Moorehouse
  • Roseview
  • Roseville
  • Shannon
  • West Randolph
  • Willowdale

Ghost Towns


This page is proud to be a part of the NEGenWeb Project and the USGenWeb Project. We are grateful for our site host, USGenWebsites.

The Nebraska Gen Web Project The US Gen Web Project hosted by USGenWebSites