Dawson County, NEGenWeb Project - Lexington Genealogy Society

Dawson County NEGenWeb Project

P.O. BOX 778
LEXINGTON, NE. 68850-0778
EMAIL: ebrummet@q.com

Lexington, the County Seat of Dawson County, is located in the south central portion of the county. Dawson County was created in 1860 from Buffalo County, and bordered by Custer, Buffalo, Lincoln, Frontier, Gosper and Phelps counties.

The Lexington Genealogical Society meets on the 4th Tuesday of every month at 7:30 p.m., at the Lexington Public Library, located at 907 N. Washington, Lexington, Nebraska. Everyone is welcome to attend.

Membership is $10.00 per individual. The membership year is January 1 through December 31. Membership benefits include a subscription to the Quarterly newsletter, "Lexington Genealogical Society Newsletter". Unlimited queries are published free to members. Queries are $1.00 to non members.

To apply for membership, you may use the Membership application form.

Local research by members of the society is available. The minimum fee for this research is $5.00 plus photocopying costs and postage. Requests for research may be placed by email at ebrummet@q.com, please put "Lexington Genealogy Society" in the subject line and be specific in the nature of the research you are requesting. Be sure to include any contacts that you have already made in the county, including the County Court House, Dawson County Historical Society, or any other county society. If a contact has already been made, knowing about it will help to cut down on our research time. We will check all our resources in Dawson County and when research is completed an email will be returned assessing costs of said research.

Please send a SASE , and $5.00 minimum, if research is sent by regular mail.

Resources include:
  • Cemetery listings
  • Dawson County Courthouse
  • Marriage Index: 1873 - 1942

  • 1860 Federal , Nebraska Territory
  • 1870 Federal, Nebraska
  • 1880 Federal, Nebraska (Custer, Part., Dakota, Dawson, Dixon, and Dodge Counties)
  • 1880 Federal, Nebraska (Franklin, part, Frontier, Furnas, Gage, Gosper, Greeley, and Hall Counties)
  • 1885 Schedules of the Nebraska State Census
  • 1900 Federal, Nebraska (Custer, Dawes, and Dawson Counties, ED's 86, 87, 88)
  • 1900 Federal, Nebraka (Dawes County, E D's 78-85, Dawson County , Deuel County E D's 96-99)
  • 1900 Fedral , Nebraska (Garfield, Gosper, Grant, Greeley, and Hall Counties)
  • 1910 Federal, Nebraska (Dawson and Deuel Counties)
  • 1910 Federal, Nebraska (Garfield, Gosper, Grant and Greeley)
  • 1920 Federal, Nebraska (Cedar, frontier, Chase, Dawson, Gosper)
  • 1930 Federal, Nebraska (Custer, Dakota, Dawson, Gage, Garden, Garfield, Gosper, Grant and Greeley)

Various Newspapers from the area on microfilm , ranging from 1874 through August 26, 1999.

Return to the Dawson County NEGenWeb Resource page.
The HTML coding, compilations, and layout copyrighted © Connie Snyder 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003.