About Nelson County

Nelson County was named for Nelson E. Nelson, a North Dakota legislator. The 1990 population was 4,410 for an area of 982 square miles.


The largest towns:


Aneta - population 314, named for Anna Roseta Mitchell, the postmaster's wife


Lakota, the county seat - population 898


McVille - population 559 (pronounced "Mack-Ville")


Michigan - population 413


Petersburg - population 219


Tolna - population 230


The county economy is primarily agricultural with the production of cereal grains as the main crop. Two major economic centers of North Dakota are located outside of the county: Devils Lake in Ramsey County, about 25 miles west of Lakota and Grand Forks, about 60 miles east.


Neighboring County USGenWeb Pages:

Walsh County

Grand Forks County

Eddy County

Benson County

Griggs County

Steele County

Ramsey County




Interested in adopting Nelson?
Please email the State Coordinator

NDGenWeb State Coordinator

Michelle Savre


This page is part of North Dakota GenWeb

The US GenWeb Project, Nelson Co, North Dakota

Last Modified:

Saturday, July 27, 2013

3:12:12 PM