Morton County


Morton County NDGenWeb is a free genealogical site about the history of the county. We hope you find helpful clues for your research of ancestors and relatives of Morton county.

Please consider contributing your pieces of Morton county family history. Corrections, updates, and additions to this site are always welcome. Our combined efforts can keep this a great site for all who visit!

County Coordinator: Norma Hass

Co-Coordinator: YOU? Morton County NDGenWeb needs a local co-coordinator to provide more helpful responses to queries. Are you familiar with the area? Do you have a family tree connection to the county? Are you experienced at researching in Morton County? If your answer to any one of these questions is "YES" please consider volunteering to be a co-coordinator. For more information about the position, please review Helps and Resources for CCs and contact the State Coordinator.

State Coordinator: Michelle Savre

Assistant State Coordinator: Mike Peterson


Morton County was created by the 1872-1873 territorial legislature.

Morton County was named for Oliver P. Morton, Governor of Indiana during the civil war and a U. S. Senator from Indiana at the time the county was established.

Morton county extended from the eighth standard parallel on the south to the tenth standard parallel on the north, and from the twelfth guide meridian on the west to the Missouri river on the east."
      Collections of the State Historical Society of North Dakota, Volume 5, page 185

The government was organized March 23, 1878, but the 1879 legislature attached the eastern portion of Morton County to Burleigh County. This effectively nullified the organization of the Morton County government. The 1881 legislature returned the detached portion to Morton County and the government was reorganized on February 18 of that year.

The County seat was originally in Lincoln 1878-1879, and it was moved to Mandan in 1881.

Design by Templates in Time