Divide Co, North Dakota

Search billions of records on Ancestry.com

Welcome to Divide County, North Dakota

About the NorthDakotaGenWeb Projec

Divide County History

Divide County is located in the Northwest corner of North Dakota.

In 1873 Wallette Co in Dakota territory was created which included Divide Co, however, it was never organized due to a lack of settlers. In 1883 Wallette Co was divided into Buford and Flannery Counties. In 1891 they became Williams County. In 1910 Williams was divided into Williams and Divide County after a vote of the citizens

The population in 1911 was 6000 reaching a peak of 9627 in 1920. The population in 1997 was 2899.

The County seat is Crosby named for S.A. Crosby of Portal who first plotted the townsite.

Divide County Map

Divide County Archives    go to   http://www.usgwarchives.net/nd/divide/divide.htm

Divide County Library Crosby, N.D.

Hours 8:30 A.M. to 5 P.M. Monday -Friday 10 A.M. to 1 P.M. Saturday Phone 701-965-6305

The library has an excellent collection of Divide County newspapers on microfilm.

The following are Divide County resources located at the Ward County Public Library, Minot, North Dakota
Phone  701-852-5388

Notes and Indexes of Deaths in the Divide County.   These records are from the same source as the ones listed under the Divide County Library. The records are also from the same newspapers as listed under the Divide County Library.Census Records

Vital Records for North Dakota

 ND Public Death Index

Back to the NorthDakotaGenWeb Project 

Last update Dec 7 2017

by  Bob Hill  rchillportal@gmail.com