MGS - Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence


Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence

MAY 20, 1775

Resolved: That whosoever directly or indirectly abets or in any way way form or manner, covutenances the invasion of our rights, as attempted by the Parliment of Great Britain, is an enemy to his country, to America, and the rights of man.

Resolved: That we, the citizens of Mecklenburg county, do hereby disolve the political bonds which have connected us with the mother country, and absolve ourselves from all allegiance to the British crown, abjuring all political connection with a nation that has wantonly trampled on our rights and liberties and inhumanly shed the innocent blood of Americans at Lexington.

Resolved: That we do hereby declare ourselves a free and independent people, that we are and of right to be, a sovereign and self-governing people under the power of God and the general Congress; to the maintenance of which independence we solemnly pledge to each other our mutual cooperation, our lives, our fortunes, and our most sacred honor.

Resolved: That we do hereby ordain and adopt as rules of conduct, all and each of our former laws, and the crown of Great Britain cannot be considered hereafter as holding any rights, privileges, or immunities amongst us.

Resolved: That all the officers, both civil and military in this county, be entitled to exercise the same powers and authorities as heretofore; that every member of this delegation shall henceforth be a civil officer, and exercise the powers of a justice of the peace, issue process, hear and determine controversies according the law, preserve peace, union and harmony in the county, and use every exertion to spread the love of liberty and of country, until a more general and better organized system of government be established.

Resolved: That a copy of these resolutions be transmitted by express to the President of the Continental Congress assembled in Philadelphia, to be laid before that body.


Abraham Alexander, Chairman

John McNitt Alexander, Secretary

Ephraim Brevard

Charles Alexander

Hezekiah J. Balch

Zaccheus Wilson

John Phifer

Waightstill Avery

James Harris

Benjamin Patton

William Kennon

Matthew McClure

John Foard

Neill Morrison

Richard Barry

Robert Irwin

Henry Downs

John Flennikin

Ezra Alexander

David Reese

William Graham

John Davidson

John Qureary

Richard Harris

Hezekiah Alexander

Thomas Polk

Adam Alexander


 Go Back

Copyright © 2000-2014 Mecklenburg Genealogical Society ~ All Rights Reserved

Last Updated: Monday, 10-Sep-2018 19:43:41 MDT


Some graphics by:

This site is generously

Hosted by RootsWeb

Hosted by RootsWeb

Counter: [an error occurred while processing this directive]