History of St. Charles County, Missouri
History of Cuivre Township
Old Settlers -- Wentzville -- For Whom Named -- Location, Etc. -- Foristell --
When Laid Out, and by Whom -- Churches in Township -- Biographical
pages 493 - 529
William Allen, of Henry county, Va., was married twice. The name of his second wife was Ann Smith. Susan married William Wells, who was probate judge of Henry county, Va. Robert was a talented man and fine orator, and represented his native county in the State Legislature for many years. He married Celia Mullens, and their son, William L., was State Senator in Mississippi for a number of years. Joseph S., the second son of Robert Allen, as a distinguished Methodist minister. He settled in St. Charles county in 1828. He was married twice, and by his first wife had one son named William. The name of his second wife was Rachel May, and they had William M., Robert L., Elizabeth M., John P., Joseph J., Susan A. and Rachel. William M. married Mary Shelton, and they had six children. Mr. Allen represented his county in the House of Representatives four years and four years in the State Senate. He was a prominent and influential citizen, and now resides in Wentzville, Mo. Robert L. was married first to Anna Pendleton, by whom he had five children. After her death he married Louisa B. Harnett, and they had three children. Mr. Allen was county judge of Warren county for some time, and represented that county in the Legislature two years. Elizabeth M. was married first to Henry Simpson, and after his death she married James D. May. She had three children. John P., who was a physician, married his cousin, Martha L. Allen, and they had one child. Joseph I. came to Missouri in 1850, and died soon after. Susan A. died unmarried. Pines, son of William Allen, was married first to Charlotte Bailey, of Tennessee, and settled in St. Charles county in 1829. Their children were Robert B., Mary J., Joseph J., John B., Charles C. and Martha L. Mr. Allen was married the second time to Nancy Hughes, of Virginia, and they had Lucy A., Susan M., Pines H., William M., Smith B. and Columbus S. Robert B. married Louisa Chambers and they had ten children. He was a prominent Methodist and an influential citizen. Mary J. married Marshall Bird, who settled in Missouri in 1833. They had seven children. Joseph J. married Sarah McClenny, and they had three children. John B. married first to Elizabeth Lacy, by whom he had four children. He was married the second time to Lucy Hartnett, and they had five children. Mr. Allen is an attorney and located near Flint Hill. He was a soldier in the Black Hawk War. Charles C. married Fannie Pendleton, and they had but two children. Martha L. was married first to John Taylor, and they had but one child. She was married the second time to Thomas H. Lacy. They had no children.
John Bowles emigrated from England, and settled in St. Mary's county, Md. They had seven children: William, John Baptist, Joseph, Jane, Susan, Henrietta and Mary. In 1789, John Baptist, Joseph, James and Mary, moved to Kentucky and settled in Scott county. Joseph married Alice Raley, and lived and died in Washington county, Ky. Jane married Ignatius Greenwell, and their son Robert married Maria Twyman and settled in St. Charles county, Mo. Mary married William Robert, and their daughter Elizabeth married John Burkman, who settled in Montgomery county, Mo. John Baptist married Henrietta Wheatley, and they had eight children: Walter, James, Leo, Clara, Elizabeth, Catharine, Matilda and Celicia. Walter married Rosa McAtee, and settled in St. Charles in 1828. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, and was living in 1875, in his eighty-seventy year. James married Susan Luckett, and settled in St. Charles in 1835. They had six children. Leo married Teresa McAtee and settled in St. Charles county in 1831. They had seven children. Clara married Dennis Onan and they lived in Kentucky. Catharine married Stephen T. McAtee, who settled in St. Charles county, in 1834. They had eight children. Mr. McAtee and his youngest son, George, died the same year and were buried in the same grave. Matilda married Walter Barnes, and they lived in Kentucky. Celicia married James W. Drury, who settled in St. Charles county, in 1835. They had 13 children.
Gen. Amos Burdine, as he was called, was a native of Kentucky, where he married Jennie Davidson, and came to Missouri in 1811. He settled in Dog Prairie, in St. Charles county, and built his cabin on the James Mackey claim. Soon after he came to Missouri, the earthquakes at New Madrid, Mo., occurred and the shaking of the earth caused the boards that composed the roof of his cabin to rattle so that he imagined there were Indians up there trying to get in. So rousing his sons (for it was at night), they secured their guns and began to fire through the roof, which they so completely riddled with bullets, that it would not afterwards turn rain. He was a believer in witches, as were many of the early settlers and used to brand his cattle in the forehead with a hot shoe hammer, to keep the witches from killing them. Burdine was a great hunter, and killer more deer than any other half dozen men in the vicinity. He used the skins of the animals he killed for beds and bed clothing, which was a common thing among the people of that day. The General could mimic the cry of any animal or bird and often imitated wolves and panthers, for the purpose of scaring deer out of the brush, so he could shoot them. A party of hunters heard him one day screaming like a panther, and imagining they were in close proximity to one of those ferocious animals they put spurs to their horses and rode for their lives. He gave names to nearly all of the streams in his vicinity, and Chain-of-Rocks on Cuivre owes is appropriate title to him. Burdine was a man of medium size, but his wife was very large and heavy. Some amusing anecdotes of this original character will be found under the head of "Anecdotes and Adventures." The General's wife died of cholera in 1832, and some years afterwards he moved his family to Arkansas.
John Castlio, of Tennessee, married a widow named Lowe, whose maiden name was Harrison. They settled in St. Charles county in 1806. The names of their children were Ruth, Lottie, Mahala, Sinai, John H., Nancy and Hiram. Lottie married William Keithley. Ruth married Frank McDermid, who was killed at Callaway's defeat. They had two children: Rhoda and Viletta. Mary married Benjamin Howell, and they had 11 children. Sinai married Absalom Keithley. John H. married the widow of Capt. James Callaway, whose maiden name was Nancy Howell. Nancy married Felix Scott. Hiram married when he was about grown. The names of John H. Castlio's children were John C., Fortunatus, Jasper N., Othaniel C., Hiram B. and Zerelda E.
James Campbell, of Scotland, settled in Essex county, Va., and married a Miss Montague. They had only one child, James, Jr., when Mr. Campbell died, and his widow married a Mr. Stubbs, of Richmond. James, Jr., married Lucinda S. Gantkins, of Virginia, and they had 10 children: Mary M., Thacker, Charles G., Nancy H., Catharine L., James E., Elijah F., John, Caroline and Lucy H. Mrs. Campbell died, and her husband was married a second time to Catharine Heihm, of Lynchburg. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, and died in 1872, in his eighty-fifth year. His widow was still living in 1875, but was blind and deaf.
Joseph Cannon married Nancy Sitlon, of North Carolina, and settled first in Tennessee, where he remained until 1811, when he removed to St. Charles county, Mo. During the Indian War he and his family lived in Kennedy's fort. Mr. Cannon was a great hunter and Indian fighter, and had a great many adventures. The names of Mr. Cannon's children were Phillip, Sarah, Rachel, Keziah and Nancy. Phillip married Elizabeth McCoy and they had 10 children: George, Julia A., Rachel, William R., Nancy, Ellen, John, David M., Sarah and Mathancer. Sarah married Jerry Beck, of Lincoln county, and is now a widow. Rachel married Raphael Florathay and lives in Iowa. Nancy married John Creech, of Lincoln county. Keziah died single.
Thomas Carter, of Virginia, married Judith McCrowdy, and their children were Jesse, Thomas, Edward, Lawson, Christopher and Dale. Thomas married Nancy Hutchings, of Virginia, and settled in St. Charles county in 1836. Christopher married Mary Soizes, whose father served several yeasrs in the Revolutionary War. They settled in St. Charles county in 1830. The names of their children were Frances, Rebecca, James, Jane, Christopher, Judith, Thomas M., Mary, George and Rolla. Thomas M. was the sheriff of Lincoln county in 1875.
The father of William Collins was an Englishman. At an early age William was bound out to learn the carpenter's trade, but becoming dissatisfied, he ran away and married. He married Jane Blakey, of Warren county, Va., and they had six children: George, John Reuben, Fanny, Elizabeth and William. John married Fanny Curtley and settled in Franklin county, Mo. George married Jane Eddings, of Warren county, Va., and settled in St. Charles county, Mo., in 1825. They had 17 children: Sarah, Elizabeth, Frances, Smith, Eliza, Nancy, Clarissa, James, Elijah, Thomas, William, Tandy, George, Sandy, Jane, Mary and Joseph. Sandy, Joseph and Mary died before they were grown. Elizabeth, Eliza and Clarissa married and remained in Virginia. Sarah and Nancy married and settled in Warren county, Mo. Smith married Emily Wyatt, and moved to Oregon. Thomas, William and Frances settled in Henry county, Mo.; Elijah settled in Arkansas, and George in Warren county, Mo.
Nicholas Collins, of England, married Margaret Long, of Virginia, and they had two children, John and Lucy. John married Elizabeth Yager of Virginia, and settled in St. Charles county in 1831. His children were Sarah, Lucinda, Mary, Ann, Elizabeth, William K. and John J., all of whom, except Sarah and John, settled in St. Charles county.
Elijah Carr was of Irish descent. He settled first in Hagerstown, Md., and in 1798 removed to Shelby county, Ky., from whence, in 1829, he removed to St. Charles county, Mo., where he died in 1832. He operated a distillery, and was a keen, shrewd, horse trader. His children were: Ruth, James and John. Ruth married William Boyd, of Missouri. James was a zealous member of the old Baptist Church, but joined the Missionary Baptists, when the division took place. He married Susan Jones, daughter of Silas Jones, of Shelby county, Ky., and they had nine children: Sally, Elizabeth, Helen, Mary R., John, William, Susan L., James and Eliza J. Mrs. Carr died in 1834, and he died in 1836. John Carr married Mary Dorsey, of Kentucky, and they had nine daughters. They lived at Louisville, Ky., where Mr. Carr died in 1865.
Robert Day,of England, emigrated to America and settled in Maryland, where he had two sons born, Frank and Robert. The latter died while a boy. Frank moved to Wythe county, Va., where he married Mary Frobish. They had 12 children: Nancy, Polly, Aves, Peggy, Elizabeth, Rebecca, Jane, Frank, Jr., Nathaniel, George, Nilen and James. Nancy was killed by a horse. Polly married in Kentucky, and settled in St. Louis in 1815. Aves died single. Peggy married Solomon Whittles, of St. Charles county, Mo. Jane married John Proctor, and settled in Warren county, Mo. Frank, Nathaniel and George all died, bachelors, in Missouri. Nilen married Susan Wilson. James married Emily Rochester, of Virginia, and settled in St. Charles county, Mo., from whence he removed to Lincoln county, Mo., where he still resides. When quite a boy and a young friend of his spent a night at Amos Burdine's, and slept on a bed that had a buckskin tick. During the night they felt something very hard and uncomfortable in the bed under them, and determined to find out what it was. They had no knives to cut the tick with, so they gnawed a hole in it with their teeth and drew out a buck's head with the horns attached, after which they did not wonder that they had slept uncomfortably. During the operation of drawing the horns out of the bed, the boys broke out several of their teeth.1   Mr. Robert Day settled in Dog Prairie, St. Charles county, in 1819 and spent the rest of his life there.
James Drummond, of England, settled in Fauquier county, Va., prior to the American Revolution and served in the patriotic army during the war. He had two sons, James, Jr., and Milton, who came to Missouri. James married Martha Lucas, of Virginia, and settled in St. Charles county, Mo., in 1834. He was a soldier in the War of 1812. He had seven children: Elias, Harrison, Mary, James, Catherine, William and Elizabeth. Mary married William E. Jackson, and settled in St. Charles county in 1835. Catherine married George M. Ryan, of Virginia, and is now living in St. Charles county. William and Elizabeth died in Virginia. Elias lives in St. Louis. Harrison married Elizabeth Wilkinson, and settled in St. Charles county in 1834. James settled in Mississippi.
John Dyer, of Greenbrier county, Va., married a Miss Roley, and they had six children: George, James, John, Polly, Pauline and Marktina. George married Margaret Hayden, of Kentucky, and settled in Pike county, Mo., in 1838; in 1840 he removed to St. Charles county. His children were: Rosana, Elvira, Mary J., William C., Eliza, Martin V., Lucy and Elizabeth. Rosana married Pleasant Colbert, of Lincoln county. Elvira married Dr. Sidney R. Ensaw, an Englishman, who settled in St. Charles county in 1836. Eliza married James McManone, of St. Louis county, who died, and she afterward married Frederick Grabenhorst, of St. Charles county. Martin V. is a Catholic priest and lives in New York.
John Emerson, of England, emigrated to America, and settled in St. Charles county, Md. His youngest son, Edward D., married Miss Downs, of Maryland, and settled in Pike county, Mo., in 1838. He was married three times, and raised a large family of children. His son, Daniel, married Catharine Smiley, and they had 13 children. His first wife died and he was married the second time to Ellen Boice, of St. Louis, who bore seven children. Mr. Emerson was captain of the militia in Pike county for four years. He moved to St. Charles county in 1840. When he was a young man, courting his first wife, he went to see her one day and got very wet in a heavy shower of rain that fell while he was on the road. When he got to the house he found no one at home, and so he built a fire and lay down before it and went to sleep. He slept some time, and was awakened by his buckskin pants drawing tight around his legs and body as they dried. They were so tight that he could not straighten himself, and while he was in that condition his sweetheart came. She laughed at him a little, and then procured him dry clothing in which to dress.
Joseph Grantham, of England, came to America and settled in Jefferson county, Va. The names of his children were: John, Lewis, Mary, and Jemima. John married Mary Strider, of Virginia, and they had one child, a son, which they named Taliaferro. He married Mary D. Ashley, daughter of Samuel Ashley, of the War of 1812, who was the son of Capt. John Ashley, a soldier of the Revolution. Mr. Grantham settled in St. Charles county, in 1835, and in 1836 he laid out the town of Flint Hill, which he named for Flint Hill, of Rappahannock county, Va. He built a house in the new town the same year, and kept it as a hotel. When the war with Mexico began Mr. Grantham enlisted and was commissioned captain of volunteers. He had six children: Samuel A., Charles W., Jamison M., Martha C., Mary C. and Maria.
James Hill, of Ireland, came to America and settled in Georgia. His children were: William H., Alexander, Middleton, Thomas, James B., Oliver and Jane. Alexander was in the War of 1812. He married Miss Nancy Henry, of Tennessee, when he first settled. In 1817 he removed to Missouri, and settled in Lincoln county. The names of his children were: Malcolm, James B., Jane and Thomas A. The latter married Isabella Brown, of North Carolina, and settled in St. Charles county, Mo. He had four children: William H., Andrew F., John A. and Middleton. Malcolm, son of Alexander Hill, settled in Texas, and his brother, James B., settled in Wisconsin. Thomas, son of James Hill, Sr., married Elizabeth Henry, of Tennessee, and settled in Lincoln county, Mo., in 1817. His children were: James A., Mary, Nancy J. and Thomas L. Nancy J. married John Wright, who settled in St. Charles county, and after her death he married her sister Mary. James Hill, Sr., was a great hunter and spent most of the time in the woods. He died at the age of 72 years.
Russell Hayden, of Marion county, Ky., married Mary Roper, and they had nine children: Ellen, Nancy, James K., Margaret, Leo, Joseph T., Eliza, Mary J. and William B. James K. married Penina Williams and settled in Pike county, Mo. Margaret married George Dyer, who settled in St. Charles county, Mo., in 1838. Mary J. married Richard Hill, who settled in Missouri in 1838. William B. settled in St. Charles county in 1838. He married Mary Freymuth.
Moses Higginbotham, of Tazewell county, Va., had 11 children. His third son, whose name was Moses, married Jane Smith, of Virginia, and settled in St. Charles county, Mo., in 1838. They had the following children: Hiram K., Elizabeth, Sidney, Ellen, George W. and Minerva. Hiram K. married Millie Evans, and raised a large family of children before his death. Elizabeth married William A. Hawkins, of Warren county, Mo. Sidney and Ellen both lived in Virginia, where they married. George W. married Sarah A. Byer, and is still living in St. Charles county. Minerva never married and is now living in St. Charles county.
George A. Kile was a native of Germany, where he married and had two children. He came to America with his wife and children and settled in Maryland, where they had six children more. George, the youngest, married Nancy Marshall, of Maryland, and moved to Kentucky, where he died, leaving a widow and eight children. The names of the children were Ephraim D., Hezekiah, Alexander M., Humphrey F., Lucretia P., Susan, Stephen W. and Alfred S. In 1837 Susan, Stephen W. and Alfred S. came to Missouri with their mother and settled in St. Charles county. Mrs. Kile died in August, 1872. Of the children we have the following record: Hezekiah was married twice; Stephen D. died a bachelor; Alexander was married twice, lost both of his wives and then went to Colorado. Humphrey was never married and is still living.
Hugh Logan, of Ireland, was one of the pioneers of Kentucky. He married Sarah Woods, of Virginia, and they had 10 children: Nancy, David, Ellen, Cyrus, Jane, Green, William C., Harriet, Sally and Dorcas. William settled in St. Charles in 1829 and died in 1844. He married Sarah B. Bell, of Virginia, and they had 11 children: Francis A., James F., Hugh B., Sarah W., Mary D., Samuel F., Maria E., Harriet J., Helen P., Charles J. and William C., Jr. Green Logan married Fannie McRoberts, of Lincoln county, Ky., and settled in St. Charles county, Mo., in 1829. His children were Sarah J., Auley M., George, Mary F. and Fannie G.
The original Lindsay family of the United States sprang from seven brothers, who came from England before the Revolution. Their names were William, Samuel, James, John, Robert, Joseph and Alexander. William married Ellen Thompson, of Ireland, and settled in Pennsylvania. Their children were James, Jane, Elizabeth, Samuel, William, Henry and Joseph. Henry Lindsay and his brother-in-law, Col. Robert Patterson, who married Elizabeth Lindsay, were the joint owners of the land on which the city of Cincinnati now stands. They built the first cabin there and dug a well 122 feet deep when they struck a large walnut stump, and being unable to remove it and having become dissatisfied with the location, they abandoned it. They were both in the battle of Tippecanoe. Henry Lindsay married Elizabeth Culbertson, and they had one son, William C., when Mrs. Lindsay died, and he afterwards married Margaret Kincaid, of Dublin, Ireland, who had settled in Greenbrier county, Va. By his second wife he had Ellen K., James, Nancy B., Preston, John K., Henry C. and Margaret J. William C. Lindsay settled in St. Charles county in 1817, and died in 1861. He was married twice, first to Mary Hamilton, and after her death he married the widow Lewis, whose maiden name was Maria Bell. Ellen K. died single in Kentucky. James died in Lincoln county, unmarried. Nancy married Alexander McConnell, of Indiana. Preston studied medicine, and married Jane Mahan, of Kentucky. John K. married Hannah Bailey, of Lincoln county, where he now resides. Henry C. was also a physician. He settled in St. Charles in 1835, and died three years after. Margaret J. married Dr. John Scott, of Howard county, Mo. William Lindsay, Jr., was married in Pennsylvania to Sarah Thmpson, and settled in Pike county, Mo., in 1829.
Joseph Lewis, of England, settled in Rock Castle county, Ky., and married Sarah Whitley, sister of William Whitley, the noted Indian fighter. They had eight children: Ruth, Sarah, Isabella, Mary A., Samuel, Joseph, William and Benjamin. Samuel, who was a brickmason, married Mary Day, and settled in St. Charles in 1816. His children were Joseph F., Victor, Andrew, Samuel, Jr., Avis, William, Mary A., Margaret J. and Adeline. Joseph, William and Benjamin, sons of Joseph Lewis, Sr., settled in Palmyra, Mo. The children of Samuel Lewis, with the exception of Andrew and Samuel, Jr., settled in St. Charles county.
John Murphy, of Ireland, settled in Virginia. He married Elizabeth Maling, of England, and they had three children: Alexander, Nancy and Travis. Alexander moved to Kentucky, and from there to Ohio, and died a bachelor. Nancy married John Gaff, of Fauquier county, Va. Travis settled in St. Charles county in 1834, where he lived until his demise. He married Sally Campbell, of Virginia, in 1799, and they had six children: Alfred, Eliza, John A., Rosanna, Julia and William A. Alfred lives in Georgia. Eliza married Richard B. Reeble, who settled in St. Charles county in 1833. John A. died at Independence, Mo. Rosanna married Henry Lawler, of Virginia, who settled in St. Charles county in 1834. Julia was married first to Humphrey Best, and second to John Overall, and now lives in St. Louis. William A. died single. Travis Murphy was a soldier in the War of 1812, and was never afraid to fight for his rights.
Zachariah Moore, of Maryland, with of English parentage. He married Elsie Born, and in 1810, with his wife and eight children, settled in St. Charles county, Mo., on the Missouri river. The names of their children were Elsie, Caroline, Creene, Maria, Thomas, Harriet, James D. and Elizabeth. Elsie married James Gillett, and moved to Texas, where they both died, leaving seven children. Caroline married James Beatty, who lives in St. Louis. Creene married John Boone, and they both died, leaving several children. Maria married Horace Moore, her cousin; they died without children. Thomas settled first in Texas, and afterwards moved to California. Harriet was married first to Mr. Dezane, and they had one child. After his death she married Cyrus Carter, and died, leaving two children by him. James D., better known as "Duke" Moore, married Catherine Ward, daughter of William Ward and Catharine Frazier. The father of the latter owned the land upon which the first battle of the Revolution was fought. He joined the American army and served during the war. Elizabeth Moore married Horace Beatty, and settled in Morgan county, Mo.
Capt. James Shelton was an officer in the War of 1812, and died in 1814. he married Frances Allen, daughter of William Allen, and they had Nancy M., Pines H., Mary M. and James N. Mrs. Shelton and her children came to Missouri in 1830. Nancy M. married William Frans and had four children. Pines H. was married three times, first to Rebecca Carter, second to Mary Wyatt and third to Mary Scales. He had ten children in all. Mr. Shelton represented St. Charles in the Legislature several terms, and was in the State Senate four years. He subsequently removed to Texas and served several terms in the Legislature of that State. He now lives in Henry county, Mo., and is an influential and highly esteemed citizen. Mary M. married William M. Allen, her cousin. James N. married Jane Carter, and removed to Texas, where he died, leaving a widow and several children.
Felix Scott, of Monongahela county, Va., settled in St. Charles county in 1820. He was educated for a lawyer, and represented St. Charles in the Legislature several times, and also in the State Senate, and was justice of the peace in Dog Prairie, for many years. He was a great fighter, but never was whipped. His son-in-law once challenged him to fight a duel, and Scott accepted the challenge. They were to fight with double-barrelled shot-guns, and Scott was not to fire until after his son-in-law had discharged his piece. When the fight came off, Scott waited patiently until his son-in-law had fired, and then instead of shooting him, he laid his gun down, and gave him a good pounding with his fists. In 1846, Mr. Scott removed to California and from there to Oregon. He was an ambitious stock-raiser, and exhibited some of his fine cattle at the Oregon State fair, but did not secure a premium. Determined not to be beaten in the future, he went to Bourbon county, Ky., and purchased a herd of blooded cattle, which he drove across the plains of Oregon. But when he was within a day's travel of home, he was killed by a man who accompanied him, and his murderer ran away with the cattle, and was never heard of again. Mr. Scott was married twice. The names of his children were Taswell, George, Presley, Herma S., Nancy, Ellen, Harriet, Julia, Felix, Jr., Maria and Marion.
Dr. John A. Talley, although not one of the pioneers of Missouri, is so well known, and has been engaged so many years in the practice of medicine and surgery in St. Charles county, that a sketch of his life will not be out of place in this connection. He was born in Cumberland county, Va., July 5, 1813. At an early age, he became well versed in the English classics and the principal Greek and Latin authors, having been thoroughly instructed in them by a private tutor at home; and at the age of 17, was sent to Randolph and Macon College, where, after a rigid examination, he was at once placed in the advanced classes. He remained at this institution two years, when he entered the University of Virginia, and graduated in medicine and surgery in 1840. Soon after receiving his diploma, he was appointed assistant surgeon at the alms house in Richmond, Va., where he learned the practical application of the theories which he had studied in college. He subsequently practiced a year and a half with his brother, Dr. Z. Talley, and in the fall of 1840 he started, on horseback, for Missouri, followed by his favorite pointer dog. He located in St. Charles county, and located at the house of Col. C. F. Woodson, who resided a few miles south of the present town of Wentzville. He soon gained a large and remunerative practice, and during the sickly season of 1844, he was kept so constantly in the saddle, that he could not procure the requisite amount of rest, and came near sacrificing his own life in his efforts to save others. In 1845, he married Pauline C. Preston, a daughter of Col. W. R. Preston, of Botetourt county, Va. The Preston family is one of the most distinguished and extensive in the United States, and from it have sprung statesmen, soldiers and scholars of the highest renown. Two sons resulted from this marriage: William P. and Edwin. The former graduated in medicine at the University of Virginia, and is now practicing his profession at Wentzville.
Among the thriving towns of St. Charles county, Wentzville occupies an enviable position. It is in Cuivre township, 21 miles from St. Charles, the county seat. The town was named in honor of Mr. Wentz, chief engineer of the old St. Louis, Kansas City & Northern Railway, under whose direction the village was surveyed and laid out in 1855. Among the earlier pioneers of the town was Mr. W. M. Allen, who came to Missouri from Rockingham county, N.C., in 1829. Mr. Allen has occupied a prominent position in the history of the place, and in conjunction with Mr. W. A. Abbington opened the first store in Wentzville. He still resides in the town.
Ferdinand Whitehead, Capt. Fritz Dierker, Rudolph Peters, W. A. Abbington, J. W. Savage and Willard Keithley came immediately following the completion of the village survey, although they were, prior to that time, residents of the county. Wentzville has many substantial buildings, possesses the usual number of churches, its public school system is excellent, and the town enjoys unusual prosperity. It is built upon both sides of the railway, and strangers are always favorably impressed with its appearance. A fine academy is located here, which, on account of its thorough course of instruction, is liberally patronized, not only by residents of the vicinity, but also from abroad. The town is surrounded by a very rich farming country, consisting principally of upland prairie land. The soil is rich and prolific, and immense quantities of grain are annually bought and shipped from the town.
The town of Foristell was laid out in 1857 upon property owned by J. A. Davis, who located there in 1836. The post-office, however, was Snow Hill, and owing to the confusion and inconvenience occasioned by this fact, the name was changed to Foristell in 1877. Among the oldest citizens who settled in and around the village at an early date were Dr. C. W. Pringle, who was born in the vicinity in 1824, and still survives, and is recognized as one of the leading men of the place; George Collins, Sr., who during his life was known as the largest slave-owner in the county; Elisha Elliott, deceased; Robert Gray, a North Carolinian; Lewis Martin, who owned the mills at Millville, a few miles from Foristell; James Miller and Judge Thomas M. Graves, at one time judge of the county court of Warren county and an old Revolutionary soldier. Harry Gray and Thomas J. Mason built a tobacco factory here in the early times, and Mr. Mason was looked upon as one of the leading men in that part of St. Charles county. The first house built on the town site proper was erected by a Mr. Raleigh. The first church was built in 1880. Foristell has no public school, the younger generation attending the district school, distant one mile west.
Among the enterprising men of the present day, who have occupied a conspicuous and honorable position in the history of the town is Pierre Foristell, after whom the town was named. Mr. Foristell is a wealthy farmer and cattle dealer, residing just across the county line in Warren county. Frederick Blattner settled in the town after the Civil War, and is one of the prominent men of the place, conducting a large general store. The village has no manufacturing interests, but is a busy trading point, large quantities of grain being annually shipped from that section.
Hickory Grove Christian Church -- Located in Foristell, was organized in October, 1847, by Rev. Robert Milns. The original members were Jesse Coleman, William M. Trout, Jeremiah H. Trout, William Sherman and Mary A. Coleman. Its present membership numbers 100. The names of the pastors who have ministered to this congregation are: Revs. Robert Milns and others until 1857, then Timothy Ford, D. M. Granfield, J. W. Mountjoy, John A. Brooks, Sr., J. W. Mason, E. B. Rice, Thomas Allen, G. W. Surber, W. B. Gallagher, J. J. Erritt, E. B. Cake and J. A. Headington, the present pastor. The present frame church building was erected in 1881, at a cost of $2,000. It is the only church of this denomination in St. Charles county. There are 50 scholars in the Sunday-school, Thomas J. Mason being its superintendent.
M. E. Church South -- Located at Wentzville, was organized in 1867, its consistuent members being J. N. Speein, P. H. Mays, Mrs. Meglason, E. L. Bryanl, Mary E. Bryan, Jane Bryan, J. G. Hiet, J. B. Hiet, Charles Walker and wife, Mary B. Walker, B. F. Walker, W. W. Walker and Mary M. Walker. The present membership is 80. The names of the pastor who have served this congregation are J. H. Pritchett, R. G. Savying, Thompson Penn, A. P. Linn, J. S. Allen, Louis Linn and H. M. Moore, the present pastor. This brick church was erected in 1883 at the cost of $5,000. There are 150 scholars attending the Sabbath-school, the superintendent being Charles J. Walker.
Evangelical Lutheran Church -- Located at Wentzville, was organized in 1873, with H. C. F. Westhoff, John H. Koenig, F. Coring and George Dierker as its constituent members. The present membership is composed of 22 communicants. The pastor who have served this church are P. Matascha and Theodore Messe. In 1873 there was a brick church erected, costing in the neighborhood of $1,500.
Immaculate Conception Church -- Was organized in 1874, and Joseph Neigel, Daniel Brine and Fritz Brinker were among its original members. The present membership is 50. The pastors who have served this church are Rev. Joseph Reisdorff and Rev. W. A. Schmidt. The present frame church was erected the same year of its organization (1874) at a cost of $1,500.
St. Joseph Catholic Church -- Located at Allen Prairie, was organized in 1852. Its constituent members were Anton Bartin, Stewart Bunker, Theodore Welmart and F. Uderbert. Eighty-five persons now compose the membership. Its pastors have been Revs. Joseph Beotkiss, C. Timbraup and Theodore Krainhard. The present church edifice was built in 1872. It is a brick building and cost $15,000.
St. Patrick Catholic Church -- Located at Wentzville, was organized in 1882. Its original members were Henry Norton, John Brine, Henry Fox and John Harrigan. The present membership is 20 families. Those who have served as rectors are Revs. Fathers J. J. Head and Joseph Hurrint. The present frame church was built in 1883, at a cost of $2,500.
Hon. WILLIAM M. ALLEN
(Retired Farmer and Merchant, Wentzville).
In any worthy history of St. Charles county the name that heads this sketch must always be given a place as that of the prominent representative citizens of the county. Mr. Allen was a son of Rev. Joseph Allen, who settled in this county from North Carolina as far back as 1829. His father (Rev. Mr. Allen) was a Virginian by nativity, and in 1811 was married to Miss Rachel M. May, just across the Virginia line in Rockingham county, N.C. William M. Allen, the subject of the present sketch, was born of this union in Henry county, Va., September 3, 1812. The family continued to reside in that county until their removal to Missouri, when William M. was about 17 years of age. The father became a well-known and high-respected citizen of this county. He is a minister of the M. E. Church, and also a successful farmer. He died here in 1833. Of the family of seven children he left, Hon. William M. Allen is the only one living. After William M. Allen grew up he became a farmer, or rather continued the occupation to which he had been brought up. Later along he also became interested in merchandising, and all in all, soon became one of the substantial citizens of the county. Mr. Allen has always shown commendable public spirit for the advancement of the general interests of the county, and particularly of this locality. He is the founder of Wentzville and has done a great deal to give it that prominence, as a local and prosperous business center, which it has attained. He had the town surveyed in 1855, and the plat duly recorded, according to the requirements of law. Afterwards he builtthe depot at this place, and accepted the appointment of station agent in order to get it established as a regular stopping place or station on the road. Mr. Allen built to first store house ever put up at this place, and has always taken a leading part, both in work and in contributing his means, in all movements to help the town along. Years ago he became well known as one of the public-spirited and influential citizens of the western part of the county. He was once elected to represent the county in the State Legislature, and two years later he was elected to the State Senate from this district, then composed of the counties of St. Charles and Lincoln. As a legislator Mr. Allen proved a sound, conservative and faithful representative of the people. A man of strong natural ability and good sober judgment, he was eminently qualified to pass upon all proposed measures of legislation affecting the welfare and prosperity of the State. Mr. A. resides at Wentzville, where he has a pleasant and comfortable home with his son. In 1832 he was married to Miss Mary A. Shelton, a daughter of James C. Shelton, then of this county, but formerly of Virginia. Mr. Allen's wife died in 1862. She had borne him eight children, five of whom are living: Rachel A., Tobitha S., Mary M., William H. and Nancy H. The mother was a worthy member of the M. E. Church South. Mr. Allen, though now two years past the allotted age of three-score and ten, is quite active, considering his age, and the vigor of his mind is unimpaired.
(Farmer, Post-office, Gilmore).
November 11, 1838, was the date of Mr. Amptmann's birth, and Bezerk, Arnsberg, in Prussia, the place; he was a son of Casper and Tracey (Schultz) Amptmann, both of old families in that part of Prussia. In 1847, when Joseph was about eight years of age, they immigrated with five of their children -- Frank, Gertrude, Joseph, Henry and Peter -- to America, settling in St. Charles county. The mother died the first year of their arrival, and the father married a second time, to Miss Catherine Lenk. To them were born three children: Casper, Lizzie and Mary. Casper Amptmann followed farming in this county until his death, which occurred suddenly (caused by heart disease) in July, 1873. Joseph was the third in the family of eight children, and completed his majority in St. Charles county, following the saddler's trade. He visited Wisconsin, Iowa and Minnesota, but upon returning resumed his farming operations. He served in the State militia, and his third brother died during the war, after having served three years in an Illinois volunteer regiment, and then re-enlisting. In 1865 Mr. Amptmann was married to Miss Mary Summer, formerly of Germany. Already Mr. Amptmann had engaged in farming and this he afterwards kept up and with good success; he has become one of the substantial farmers of Cuivre township; he has over 400 acres of fine land and has his place well improved. He and wife have nine children: Emily, Nettie, Henry, Anna, Nora, John, Joseph, Mary and Leonidas.
(Dealer in Clothing, Boots and Shoes, Furniture, Coffins, Agricultural Implements, Etc., Foristell).
At the age of 19, Mr. Blattner came over to America, from Switzerland, and landed in New Orleans November 20, 1840, two years before his parents immigrated. He served his time at steamboat building in St. Louis and built the first boats constructed there. In the fall of 1843 his parents came to this country and Frederick accompanied them to Warren county, buying a tract of land in Hickory Grove Prairie. The following spring he returned to St. Louis, where he followed his trade until the fall of 1848; then going back to his parents, in Warren county, on the farm he had previously purchased, he began merchandising, milling and manufacturing in Warren county. In 1861 he embarked in merchandising in Foristell, or, as it was then called, Millville, Mo. In 1868 he removed his family to Foristell, discontinuing his merchandising enterprise in Warren county. His milling business was continued until 1875. It is unnecessary to go into the details of Mr. Blattner's career in business and industrial affairs. Suffice it to say that it has been one of unqualified and marked success. From a young man comparatively penniless and in a strange land and speaking a foreign language, he has risen by the strength of his own character and the virtue of his own industry and intelligence to the position of one of the wealthy and influential citizens of St. Charles county; he is a large property holder in this county and also has valuable property interests in St. Louis. Mr. Blattner has been married twice; his first wife was a Miss Marie A. Uckley, of Montgomery county; she died December 25, 1852, leaving him two children: Edward and Johanna. Edward is married and engaged in the livery business at New Florence. Johanna is unmarried and still at home. Mr. Blattner was married in April, 1853, to his present wife; she was a Miss Marie E. Wehrley, of St. Louis. They have seven children: Frederick, who is married and is a grain and stock dealer at Wellsville; William B., who is married and a merchant at Foristell; Caroline, Elizabeth, Andrew and Allie, the last four being still at home. Mr. Blattner was a son of Andrew and Elizabeth (Wehrley) Blattner, of Switzerland, and who settled in Warrent county, Mo., in 1843. The father was a farmer by occupation and died there in 1875; he had been a soldier in the Swiss army before coming to this country. The mother died in 1875. Frederick was the eldest of their family of three children.
WILLIAM B. BLATTNER
(Dealer in General Merchandise, Dry Goods, Groceries, Notions, etc., Foristell).
Mr. Blattner was the third in his father's second family of children, mentioned in the preceding sketch, and was born in Warren county, January 24, 1856. His youth was spent in the neighborhood schools and assisting his father in the mill or on the farm. Going to Jones' Commercial College of St. Louis, he took a regular course there, and became thoroughly conversant with the affairs of business and commercial laws and usages. He engaged in his present business in 1875, and has had an entirely successful career thus far. He carries a stock of about $3,000, and has built up a large trade. He is one of the popular young business men of this part of the county. Mr. Blattner is a worthy member of the I.O.O.F. The history of the family was given in his father's sketch, which precedes this, and it is therefore unnecessary to repeat here what has been said there.
GEORGE M. CANNON
(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Foristell).
The family name of the subject of this sketch is one among the first in the history of the settlement of the middle-eastern part of Missouri. Mr. Cannon's grandfather Cannon settled in St. Charles county, and on the same farm where the grandson now resides, as far back as 1811. This has been the family homestead continuously ever since that time, through three generations of the family and for a period of nearly three-quarters of a century. The senior Cannon removed from Tennessee with his family to his county, and lived here until his death, at a ripe old age. Further mention of his settlement in the county and his life as one of its first pioneers is made in the historical part of this work, so that it is unneccessary to dwell here upon the circumstances and events of his long residence as a citizen of the county. Philip S. Cannon, his son, and the father of the subject of the present sketch, was yet at a tender age when the family came to Missouri, having been born in Tennessee in 1809. After he grew up in this county he was married to Miss Elizabeth McCoy, of another pioneer family earlier in the county than his father's. She was born n 1812. They reared a family of 10 children, namely: Julia A., George M., Rachel, William, John (deceased), Daniel M., Nancy (deceased), Ellen (deceased), Nathaniel and Sarah A. The father was a farmer by occupation, in which he had substantial success. He left a comfortable estate at his death, which occurred April 3, 1856. The mother died July 12, 1849. George M. Cannon was born on the homestead where he now resides November 30, 1830. Reared on the farm, he thus acquired that taste for farm life which subsequently influenced him to continue in it as his permanent calling. He has therefore remained a farmer from youth up, and being a man brought up to habits of industry and to a frugal manner of living, he has, of course, been a success as a farmer. For a number of years, besides farming in a general way, he has made something of a specialty of raising stock, and has had a satisfactory experience in this industry also. Mr. Cannon owns the old family homestead of 310 acres, and besides this has a place of 140 acres near by, and 230 acres in Pulaski county. June 30, 1858, he was married to Miss Sarah C. Lewis, a daughter of James and Elizabeth (Gross) Lewis, of this county. Mr. and Mrs. Cannon have 10 children: John E., who is a practicing physician near Clarksville, Texas; Nancy E., Sarah E., James T., George R., Philip S., Oma May, Daniel W., Albert B. and Lucy A., all but the eldest still at home with their parents. From infancy up Mr. C. has been absent from the county but once to remain any length of time, which was from 1853 to 1856, when he was in California. He and wife are members of the Presbyterian Church.
WILLIAM C. DYER
(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, St. Paul).
Mr. Dyer is a worthy representative of the old and respected family of North Missouri whose name he bears. The family are originally from Virginia, but now have branches in Kentucky and Missouri and several other States. Mr. Dyer's father, George Dyer, came from the Kentucky branch of the family. Early in life he moved to Arkansas and then to Washington county, Mo. Later along he came north to Montgomery county and then to Pike county, but finally settled in St. Charles county in 1839. He was a farmer by occupation, and one of the well respected citizens of Cuivre township. He was for a long time constable of the township, and during the war enrolling officer for this part of the county. He died here in 1864. His wife was Miss Margaret Hayden before her marriage, from Lebanon, Ky. She died in 1849. They had a family of nine children, four of whom are living. William C. was born while they resided in Pike county, February 20, 1838. He grew uponthe farm in this county, and in 1861 enlisted in the Home Guards, Union service, in which he contined until the close of the war. After the war he resumed farming, to which he had been brought up, and dealing in stock. August 15, 1861, Mr. Dyer was married to Miss Margaret McMenomy, a daughter of Patrick and Annie McMenomy. Eleven children were the fruits of this union, ten of whom are living, namely: George, Annie, Patrick, Martin, Frederick, Bernard, William, Mary, Lawrence and Fenelon. Mr. and Mrs. Dyer and family are members of the Catholic Church. Mr. Dyer has been satisfactorily successful as a farmer and stock dealer, and has a comfortable property. He has a good farm of nearly 400 acres, nearly all of which is under fence and well improved. He is one of the prosperous farmers and well respected citizens of the township.
AUGUST E. FORDERHASE
(Grain Dealer and Postmaster, Foristell).
Among the active and energetic business men of Foristell the subject of the present sketch occupies a worthy and well organized position. He ships about 30,000 bushels of grain annually -- some 20,000 bushels of wheat and the balance principally oats. Mr. Forderhase has acted as postmaster of Foristell since the spring of 1871, when he was appointed to the office by Postmaster-General John A. J. Cresswell. He has made an efficient postmaster, a satisfactory and popular servant with both the post-office department and the public in and around Foristell. Mr. Forderhase was a son of Henry A. and Marie (Suhre) Forderhase, who came from Prussia and were among the first settlers of Hickory Grove Prairie in Warren county. The father was a farmer by occupation, and died there in 1862. The mother died in 1848. August E. was the third in the family of four childre, three of whom are living. He was born in Warren county, August 13, 1846. He received a district school education as he grew up, and also attended the Central Wesleyan College at Warrenton for about a year. He then obtained a situation in a store in Wright City, where he clerk for two years, and came thence to Foristell. Here he afterwards clerked for Frederick Blattner for two years, and in 1869 he and E. M. Pringle formed a partnership and engaged in general merchandising at this place. Mr. Forderhase continued in the firm until 1876, when he sold out and built a business house of his own, where he opened a general stock of merchandise. He conducted this store for about four years and then disposed of it also. He has ever since been engaged in the grain business. During the war Mr. F. served about a year in the Forty-ninth Missouri regular U.S.A. April 15, 1875, he was married to Miss Cornelia M. Blackwell, a daughter of the Rev. Harleigh and Cathern A. (Banker) Blackwell; the father was a native of Kentucky, but her mother a native of New York. Mrs. F. was born and reared in St. Charles county, where she was also educated and married. Mr. and Mrs. F. have no children. They are both church members.
EDMUND C. GANNAWAY
(Teacher and Deputy Assessor, Post-office, Wentzville).
Mr. Gannaway, who was born and reared in this county, engaged in teaching here, after he had completed his course at the State University, and continued teaching for about eight years, or, rather, he has continued it up to the present time. He has established a wide and enviable reputation as a teacher, and his services are in request wherever he is known. Meanwhile, he was chosen to serve the people in the office of justice of the peace, and he exercised the duties of this office to the entire satisfaction of the public for several terms. He is still serving as justice for Cuivre township. In 1878 he was appointed deputy assessor, and is now a candidate for election for the office of county assessor. Mr. Gannaway is well known in the county as one of its worthy and popular citizens. In the spring of 1876 he was married to Miss Maggie E. Luckett, a daughter of John C. Luckett. Mr. and Mrs. G. have three children: Frank L., Pearl M. and George Vest. Mr. Gannaway has a good farm in the vicinity of Wentzville of nearly 200 acres, where he carries on farming. He resides in the town of Wentzville, and has a comfortable residence property here. He is a native of St. Charles county, born in this county, October 27, 1853. His father is Robinson Gannaway, formerly of Virginia, and a farmer by occupation. His mother was a Miss Martha M. Ferney (now dead) before her marriage. The father still resides in this county, where he settled in 1850. There are two children of their family, besides Edmund C., both of whom are living.
HENRY G. GROVE
(Merchant and Farmer, Post-office, St. Paul).
Mr. Grove is a native of Germany, born in Hanover, February 2, 1837. His father was Christopher Grove, a judicial magistrate of the Graffchart of Hanover, and mayor of Harsum. He died there in 1842. Mr. Grove's mother was a Miss Gertrude Rohlman before her marriage. Mr. Grove was reared in his native country and came to America in 1847, at the age of 10 years. He first located at St. Louis, where he learned the blacksmith's trade for about four years, and then traveled and worked at his trade in different parts of the Eastern States for several years. In 1856 he came to St. Charles county and located near the present post-office of St. Paul. Here he was engaged in farming and merchandising, and has met with satisfactory success. He has 200 acres of good land, and carries an excellent stock of merchandise at his business house. In 1856 he was married to Miss Catharine Wenzel, a daughter fo Peter Wenzel, formerly of Bavaria, Germany. Ten children have been the fruits of this union and of these seven are living, namely: Theresa, John, Gertrude, Josephene, Lena, Frank and Caroline. Henry C., Henry J. and William are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Grove are members of the Catholic Church, and he is a member of the Farmers and Mechanic's Association, and the Catholic Knights of America, and the Patrons of Husbandry. Besides his farm Mr. Grove has 150 acres of good land in another tract. He is one of the worthy and respected citizens of Cuivre township, and he has made all he is worth by his own industry and good management, a fact greatly to his credit.
LEO W. HAYDEN
(Farmer, Post-office, St. Paul).
Among the well-to-do farmers and respected citizens of Cuivre township is the subject of the present sketch, Mr. Hayden. His father, William B. Hayden, came to Missouri from Kentucky in 1838, and located first in Montgomery county. Subsequently he removed to Lincoln county and then to St. Charles, where he married and settled permanently. His wife was a Miss Mary Freymuth, of a respected German family that settled in this county in an early day. Mr. Hayden, Sr., became comfortably situated in life, and reared a worthy family of eight children. Leo W., the oldest in the family of children, was born July 4, 1847, and was reared on the farm in this county. He received a common-school education, and about the time of arriving at the age of 29 engaged in farming for himself. April 24, 1877, he was married to Miss Mary C. Corley, a daughter of Henry and Rosa Corley, of this county. Mr. and Mrs. H. have three children: Beatrice, Henry and Mary Rose. Both parents are members of the Catholic Church. Mr. Hayden's farm is a tract of 446 acres, about 300 acres of which he has well improved.
JAMES R. HAYDEN
(Dealer in General Merchandise, Post-office, St. Paul).
The Hayden family, as all know who know anything about the people of North Missouri, is one of the old and highly respected families of this section of the State. The family came originally from Maryland, but several branches were located for a time in Kentucky, coming thence to this State. Mr. Hayden's father, William B. Hayden, came from Kentucky to Missouri when a young man in 1840. He first located in Montgomery county, but afterwards resided in Pike and Lincoln and finally settled permanently in St. Charles county in 1845. He married here the following year Miss Mary B. Freymuth, a daughter of John C. Freymuth, an early settler in this county from Prussia. After his marriage he engaged in farming and subsequently became one of the substantial farmers of Cuivre township. He died here November 16, 1878. His wife had preceded him to the grave nearly seven years, dying January 15, 1872. Both were exemplary members of the Catholic Church. They reared a family of eight children, five boys and three girls, all of whom are living. James R. Hayden, the subject of this sketch, was the second of their children and was born on his father's homestead in this county, June 8, 1849. Reared on the farm, he remained with the family until 25 years of age, when he built on and improved his farm, building one of the best barns in the county. He was married September 7, 1876, to Miss Rosa P. Bowles, a daughter of John B. and Mary Jane (nee Onan) Bowles. In 1881 Mr. Hayden engaged in merchandising at St. Paul, and has been in the business here ever since. He carries a good stock of goods and has an excellent trade. Mr. and Mrs. Hayden have two children, Mary M. and Albert. Another, Lula, is deceased. Mr. and Mrs. H. are members of the Catholic Church.
HENRY F. HIGGINBOTHAM
(Ticket, Freight and Express Agent, and Telegraph Operator, Foristell).
Mr. Higginbotham was reared on his father's farm in this county and continued at home with the family until he was about 19 years of age, when he went to Pendleton, in Warren county, and entered the telegraph office there to learn telegraphy. He had received a good district school education, and of a natural quick, active mind, and closely attentive to his work, he soon mastered the art of telegraphy. Indeed, his progress and proficiency as an operator were unusually rapid, and by the following fall he was warmly recommended by his preceptor, Mr. W. E. Bon Durant, as being fully qualified to take charge of an office. The office at Foristell becoming vacant about this time, he made application for the position, and being indorsed for the place by Mr. Bon Durant, as well as being known to the superintendent of telegraphy on the Wabash, he was given the appointment, and has had charge of this office ever since. He has made a thoroughly efficient operator, and has given entire satisfaction to the road and telegraph management and to all concerned. Appreciating the fact that to make himself useful or of any value as a railway agent, he should understand the general principles of book-keeping and the modus operandi of depot business, he familiarized himself also with these, and has thus been able to discharge the duties of his position as ticket, freight, and express agent with efficiency and dispatch. As is well know, Mr. Higginbotham is one of the most active and capable station agents along the line of the Wabash, and of deserved popularity in the community where he is located, no less than with the officers and operators fo the road. Like most of the representatives of old families in this part of the State, Mr. Higginbotham is of Virginia ancestry. The Higginbotham family is one of the well known and highly respected families of the western part of the Old Dominion. His father, George W. Higginbotham, was born and reared in that section of Virginia, a native of Henry county. On his mother's side Mr. Higginbotham is a representative of the Dyer family, another old and respected family of Virginia. His mother, whose maiden name was Miss Sarah A. Dyer, is a first cousin of Col. D. P. Dyer, of St. Louis. Mr. H.'s parents came to Missouri in 1840, and settled in St. Charles county. His father is a substantial farmer and well respected citizen of the county. Henry F., the subject of this sketch, is the eldest of five children. The others are: Edward M., who is a farmer of Custer county, Neb.; Walter B., who is still at home with his father; Robert W. is a clerk in the drug store of his uncle, William Dyer, of Jonesburg, and Charles P., who is still at home with his father. Henry Fountain Higginbotham, obtaining his position at Foristell, was married to Miss Emma Schatz, a daughter of John G. Schatz, of this place, on the 7th of July, 1880. Mr. and Mrs. H. have two children, Florence Eugenia, born July 15, 1881, and Clarence Leroy, born July 7, 1882. The latter died July 17, of the same month. Thus,
"A tiny bud unblossomed yet
The Virgin Mother blessed;
It feel to earth. She picked it up
And pinned it on her breast."
GARNER B. HITCH
(Farmer, Post-office, Wentzville).
Mr. Hitch learned the carpenter's trade early in life and worked at it in St. Louis for a time. From there, in 1850, he went to California, where he followed his trade, principally in the line of making machinery for mining purposes. He formed a partnership with Mr. Mabie, and for several years the firm of Mabie & Hitch did a large business in the manufacture of machinery. He was also interested in mining and continued in California for over five years. He then returned to Missouri and settled in St. Charles county, where he had been partly reared. He was married here shortly afterwards to Miss Mollie T. Hand, formerly of Virginia. She survived less than two years, leaving no issue. His present wife was a Miss Alice Griffin, of Louisville, Ky. Of this union there are also no children, but they have become the foster-parents fo four orphan children. Mr. Hitch has followed farming uninterruptedly since his return from California and has a comfortable homestead of 300 acres. His parents, Garner B., Sr., and Mary (Barbee) Hitch, were from Virginia to Missouri, and came out in 1837. His father had served through the War of 1812, and died in St. Louis county in 1840. The mother survived to the advanced age of 90. Garner B., Jr., was the third of their family of ten children, and was born in Fauquier county, Virginia, March 17, 1829. In 1842 he came from St. Louis county, to which his parents had brought him, to St. Charles county, but he returned to the former county in 1848. Thence he went to California.
JUDGE JAMES HUMPHREYS
(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, St. Paul).
Judge Humphreys was a lad about nine years of age when his parents, James and Anna (Bailey) Humphreys, immigrated to the United States from England. He was born in Warwickshire, England, February 9, 1831. The family located at St. Louis in 1840, where the father followed his trade, rope making, for over 20 years. He then retired from active labor and removed to St. Charles county, where he died in 1864. His wife was a sister to the noted William Bailey, the manufacturer of the first railway steam engine ever operated on the present principle of traction. Judge James Humphreys was principally reared in St. Louis, where he continued until about 1864, when he came to St. Charles county, and here he engaged in farming. A year before coming to this county he was married to Miss Hannah Martin, a young lady of St. Louis, but formerly of Massachusetts. Judge Humphreys has followed farming continuously in this county ever since his settlement here in 1854, for a period, now, of over thirty years. He is one of the neat, enterprising farmers of Cuivre township. He has become well and favorably known over the county as one of its highly respected and popular citizens. In 1882 he was elected to the county court, and is now serving the people in that responsible position. Judge Humphreys is a man of sterling, sound good judgment, perfectly upright in all his dealings and purposes, as his past irreproachable life shows, and a man in whom the people have the utmost confidence. He has made a capable, impartial, and discriminating judge, and is always at the post of duty whenever public business requires his time and attention. As long as the affairs of the county are kept in the hands of Judge Humphreys and his associates no uneasiness of the people need be felt for their faithful and economical management.
REV. FATHER THEODOR KRAINHARD
(Rector of the Church of St. Joseph, Josephville).
Of all the missions in this life which men are called to fulfill, there is not one that calls for the exercise of qualities so high and noble as those demanded in the priesthood. Of course men of the highest type are always found in this pre-eminent and sacred calling, for from the first followers of the Saviour there have, now, and then, been those among His disciples who have betrayed themselves as unworthy of the high commission with which they were intrusted. But this does not alter the rule, nor does it lessen any appreciable extent the respect and consideration with which the priesthood has always been regarded. "The priesthood," Atterbury truthfully says, "hath in all nations, and in all ages, been held highly venerable." And this is as it should be. Men called from among their fellows for the duties of this high office on account of the superior gifts of mind and of their deep, earnest piety, and prepared by long years of training, moral, mental and religious, for the sacred services they are to perform; men set apart from all others and forever divorced from the secular affairs of the world, solemnly and sacredly plighted to a life of celibacy, and renouncing forever the worldly comforts and happiness of home and family; in a word, men turning their backs once for all on everything which the generality of mankind regards as nearest and dearest and most to be desired, so far as this life is concerned -- family, the pursuit of wealth and personal advancement -- and pledging themselves alone to the service of God and the church, and of mankind through the church, they must needs have that high resolve of character and those noble instincts and impulses, which, combined with their high mental endowments and their learning, together with the sacred nature of their office, can not but challenge the profound consideration, the respect and confidence, and the admiration of those around them. Hence it is that in every community the parish priest is always looked up to as a safe and wise counsellor in sorrow and misfortune, and in all the affairs of family, as well as in religious matters. It is he who carries the key to the trust and confidence of his parishioners, and who wields a justly potent influence in the community. Such is the character of man the good Father is, who is the subject of this sketch; and such the position he holds in this community. The highest tribute that could be paid him as a man and priest is to say that he is in every way eminently worthy of his sacred office; and this can be said with truth and without qualification. He record in the priethood has been one of earnest piety and of untiring zeal in the cause of religion and of the church; and one of ability and marked success as a priest. He is only less admired by those who know him for his learning and eloquence, than he is loved for his religious devotion and his unceasing labors for the good of those who are brought under his benign influence. Rev. Father Krainhard is a native of Germany, born in the Kreis of Wiedenbruk, on the 1st of May, 1841. He was a son of Johann T. Pollmeier and Katharine Brunsick, and was the fourth in their family of six children. The parents followed him to America in 1868, and settled in St. Charles. His general education was acquired in different State schools in Prussia. Three years he visited the school at Marienfeld; five more at Herzebruck. Then he went for the higher branches of science one year and a half to Guetersloh; from thence he came to Rietburg, and visitedthe college four years and a half. After having visited Reit school, at Felgte, half a year, he spent two years in the college at Warendorf; he obtained the certificate of maturity at the State's examination in the fall of 1863, and later visited the academy at Paderborn two years and a quarter. There he was made acquainted with philosophical and theological sciences. In the fall of 1855 he left his native country for America to devote his life to the work of mission in the United States. Seven days before Christmas he arrived in New York and immediately went to the seminary of St. Francis of Sales, near Milwaukee, where he completed his theological studies. Then he offered his services to the Archbishop Peter Kenrick, of St. Louis, and was ordained July 18, 1866, by the Rt. Rev. Fahan, Bishop of Nashville, now Archbishop of Chicago. His bishop sent him to St. Charles to assist the pastor at St. Peter's Church. From thence he was transferred to St. Joseph's Church, at Josephville, September 19, 1868, and in this position he has continually remained until now. His parents died in 1880, the father six months after the mother.
RUSSELL B. LEWIS, M.D.
(Physician and Surgeon, Flint Hill, P.O., Wentzville).
For 35 years continuously Dr. Lewis has been actively engaged in the practice of his profession at Flint Hill and throughout the surrounding vicinity. Though so long engaged in a large and arduous country practice, where the hardships and exposures are out of all comparison more severe than those incident to a city practice, or practice in a large town and thickly populated community, he is still active and zealous in the work, and makes no hesitation when a call comes, to attend the suffering, but goes promptly in obedience to what he believes one of his most sacred duties, regardless of personal comfort or interest. Ever faithful thus to his duties as a physician, and a man of kindly bearing, and the most generous, unselfish impulses, he has very naturally become not only well established as a leading physician of the county, but to occupy a place in the esteem, and it may truthfully be said, the affections of the people of his community, which only such a life as he has led, and such a man as he is, could win. Dr. Lewis has been very successful as a physician, judging success in the profession as it should be judged, by the good one does. The people have confidence both in his ability and in his humane solicitude for those who come under his care and treatment. In his time he has performed many extremely difficult cures, successes that in a large city would have made him a reputation worth a fortune. But he has not sought fame or wealth in his practice, but rather to do his simple duty to suffering humanity, whenever and wherever called, in a plain, unobtrusive and conscientious manner. Thus, while perhaps he has not made as great a name in his profession as perhaps he otherwise might have done, yet he has the consciousness of having been true to himself, true to the public and true to his profession, and of having never sacrificed anything for personal advancement, a consciousness that is worth more to a true and just man than all the empty honors and wealth that the world has to bestow. Dr. Lewis is a native of Kentucky, born March 31, 1823. His father was Russell Lewis, a leading merchant of Frankfort, Ky., and sheriff of Franklin county, that State, but originally of Boston, Mass. he died when Russell B. (the Doctor) was in infancy. The mother, whose maiden name was Maria Bell, born and reared in Frankfort, Ky., subsequently became the wife of William C. Lindsay, who removed with her family to Missouri, in 1829, and settled in St. Charles county. The mother died in this county April 12, 1883, at the advanced age of 83 years. Russell B. Lewis, the only child by his mother's first marriage, was reared in this county, and received a common district school education. Subsequently, after attaining his majority, he taught school in the county for 18 months, and then went to Kentucky, where he studied medicine under Dr. Theophilus Steele, of Versailles. After a course of preparatory study with Dr. Steele, he took a course of lectures at Transylvania Medical College, of Lexington, Ky. Concluding his course there he returned to Missouri and completed his medical education at the Missouri Medical College, under the presidency of Dr. McDowell, from which institution he graduated in 1849. He then located at Flint Hill, and has been actively engaged in teh practice here ever since. Dr. Lewis owns a good farm on which he resides, and the management of which he superintends. He has been married twice. His first wife was Miss Mildred Myers, a daughter of George Myers, of this county, to whom he was married April 4, 1849. She died April 21, 1870, leaving two children, Mary M., now the wife of Rev. Henry Kay, pastor of the M. E. Church South, of Montgomery City; and Mildred Bell, a young lady still at home. To his present wife Dr. Lewis was married January 11, 1876. She was a Miss Anna Chinn, of Frankfort, Ky., a daughter of Judge Franklin Chinn, of that city, and was educated at the Shelbyville High School, of Kentucky. Of this union there are four children: Madge, Jennie, Russell B. and Lizzie V. The Doctor and his wife are both church members.
(Farmer, Post-office, St. Paul).
Mr. McMenamy was born in Ireland, in March, 1838. When he was about 12 years of age the family immigrated to America and located in St. Louis, where they resided about two years. The family with the exception of the father who died on his arrival there from Ireland, in 1852, then came to St. Charles county. Here, during the war Mr. McMenamy, Jr., the subject of this sketch, served for a time in the Home Guards, Union service. Already he had engaged in farming in the county and he has ever since kept this up. Mr. McMenamy by industry and good management has acquired a comfortable property. He has a good farm of over 300 acres which is well improved and well stocked. In 1863 he was married to Miss Isabella Bowles, a daughter of Walter and Rosa Bowles of this county. Mr. and Mrs. McM. have been blessed with 11 children, nine of whom are living, namely: Patrick W., Rosa A., Mary F., Litticia, Margaret T., Peter J., Perpetua, Bernadetta and John A. Mr. and Mrs. McM. are members of the Catholic Church.
BENJAMIN F. MOORE
(Farmer, Post-office, O'Fallon).
Mr. Moore's grandparents on his father's side were early settlers of Kentucky from Virginia, coming out to the Blue Grass State when his father, Benjamin Moore, Sr., was yet in early boyhood. The latter grew up in Kentucky and became a well-to-do farmer and respected citizen of Harrison county. He died while on a visit to his son, Benjamin F., in this county, in 1871. He was married twice, his first wife having been a Miss Thompson, who left him two children at her death, both now grown and married. His second wife was a Miss Patsey Dance, also of Harrison county, Ky. Eight children were the fruits of the last union, including the subject of the present sketch. Four are living. Benjamin F. was the second in this family and was born on his father's homestead in Harrison county, Ky., January 1, 1837. Reared on a farm in his native county, he continued at home until he was about 21 years of age, when he came out to Missouri and located in St. Charles county. Shortly afterwards the war broke out and he enlisted in the Southern army, serving under Price until the summer of 1863. He was principally in the recruiting army of the service. In 1864 Mr. Moore went West, and for five years following was mainly engaged in freighting on the plains. He returned to St. Charles county in 1868, and the same year was married to Miss Mildred Custer, a daughter of Hiram Custer, of this county, and descended from the old Custer family of Virginia. Mr. Moore at once went to farming after his return to the county and has been engaged in this occupation ever since. A man of industry, good habits, economical and a good manager, he has of course done satisfactorily well as a farmer. He now has a comfortable homestead of over 300 acres, substantially improved and well stocked. Mr. and Mr. M. have four children: Lizzie D., Frank C., Edna B. and Elon H. His wife is a member of the Presbyterian Church.
JUDGE BENJAMIN C. T. PRATT
(Farmer and Stock-raiser, Post-office, Wentzville).
In early life Judge Pratt was a civil engineer, and although he retired from that profession while still a young man, he had already attained to enviable prominence. Born in Wareham, Plymouth county, Mass., February 23, 1834, his parents shortly afterwards removed to Binghampton, where he was reared and educated, and where he studied civil engineering. His being almost devoted exclusively to mental culture in and outside of institutions of learning, he early passed through the usual curriculm of studies, and indeed, before he was 20 years of age had studied civil engineering, and became proficient and a licentiate in that profession. He then at once came West, believing that there were opportunities for a successful career for young men in his calling in this then new country not to be met with in the East. His experience here indicated his good judgment. Locating at St. Louis, he was in that city only a short time before he was appointed civil engineer for the North Missouri Railroad Company, and in pursuance of his appointment he made the survey of the road from St. Louis to the Iowa line. This route was adopted by the company and his work has since been declared by the ablest civil engineers of the country to be one of the best selected and located routes, the geography and conformation of the country considered, in the West. His work was well and successfully done, and has never been criticised by an respectable authority. Young Pratt was then appointed superintendent of the construction of the road, and pushed the work of building it forward with vigor until 1858, when he resigned his position to engage in farming in St. Charles county, where he had bought a large body of land. Here he improved a fine farm and has been successfully engaged in farming and stock-raising ever since that time. He has a handsome place of some 500 acres, and is one of the substantial citizens of the county. Judge Pratt has from time to time held various official positions, including that of associate justice of the county court for a number of terms. November 6, 1868, he was married to Miss Ellen T. English, a daughter of Dr. Benaia English, a leading physician of this county for many years, and a former representative of the county in the State Legislature, but originally of Vermont. Mrs. Pratt, Dr. English's daughter, was highly educated, and besides liberal instruction in other institutions, had the benefit of a collegiate course at St. Charles, where she graduated. The Judge and wife became the parents of seven children, namely: Edwin, who died in infancy; Addie, Sarah, who died in young womanhood, and after she had become the wife of Henry T. Keithley; Bennie, Lela, Henry and Albertena. Judge Pratt's parents were Hampton K. Pratt and Sarah (Tobey) Pratt, both born and reared in Wareham county, Mass. They removed to Binghampton, N.Y., in 1836, where the father opened the first hardware store established at that place, and which he carried on with success for some 25 years. The mother died there in 1862 and in 1863 he, the father, came West to Macoupin county, Ill., and two years later to St. Charles county, where he died in 1878. There were three children, the two besides the Judge being Sarah, who is the wife of Henry Wiggins, a prominent merchant of Brooklyn, N.Y., and Addie, who is the wife of William H. Scobill, a leading lawyer of Burlington, N.Y.
CHARLES W. PRINGLE, M.D.
(Physician and Surgeon, Foristell).
Dr. Pringle's father, Capt. Norman Pringle, from Connecticut, was one of the pioneer settlers of Warren county. Indeed he came here before the county had an existence in name, away back in 1820, and settled in what was then a part of Montgomery county, but what afterwards was included in the territorial limits of Warren county, when the latter was organized. He was a man of sterling worth, strong intelligence, and became a man of consideration in the county. He had served in the War of 1812, and came of an old and respected family of Connecticut, originally of Scotch descent. He was a tanner by trade and followed that in Connecticut until his removal to Missouri. Here he devoted himself mainly to farming, settling at Hickory Grove, and attained to comparatively easy circumstances. He served as postmaster at Hickory Grove for a long time and until his death. He was for many years a worthy member of the Masonic fraternity. His wife was a strict Presbyterian. She preceded him to the grave by about two years. She was a Miss Sallie Kellogg, and was of Irish descent, but herself was born and reared in Connecticut. Nine children were the fruits of their long and happy married life. Of these Charles W. was the youngest, and was born at Hickory Grove, March 14, 1824. He was primarily educated at a private school kept by Prof. C. W. Pritchett. Afterwards he began the study of medicine, Dr. H. C. Wright being his local preceptor. After a regular course of preparatory study, in 1848, he matriculated at the Missouri Medical College under the presidency of the famous Dr. McDowell. After a regular course of two terms under Dr. McDowell he was regularly and honorably graduated, and at once returned to Warren county and located on his farm, about a mile north-east of Foristell, where he engaged actively in the practice of his profession. He continued located there at work in the practice and superintending his farm until 1872, when he removed to the town of Foristell, where he has ever since given his whole time and attention to his profession. Dr. Pringle has had a successful career as a physician, and stands not less favorably as a citizen than he does in his profession. October 18, 1844, he was married to Miss Meroe S. Edwards, the second daugther of Moses and Sallie (Spires) Edwards of this county. The Doctor and Mrs. Pringle have been blessed with 12 children, 10 of whom are living: Edward M., who is married and is a merchant in Foristell; Mark S., married and a farmer in Warren county; Sallie H., the wife of John M. Bird, a farmer of that county; John E., also married and a regular graduate and practitioner of medicine in Lincoln county; Virgil K., a telegraph operator at Walloola Junction, Washington Territory; Charles M., married and a farmer of Warren county; Cyrus E., engaged in the practice of medicine with his father; Lucy N., Julia O. and Meroe A., the last three at home. Adelbert and Mattie, the second and youngest child respectively, are deceased. The Doctor and wife and several of their children are members of the Christian Church; the Doctor is also a member of the A. F. and A. M.
EDWARD M. PRINGLE
(Dealer in General Merchandise, Lumber, Grain and Live Stock; also, Notary Public, Foristell).
Though hardly yet a man of middle age, Mr. Pringle has already achieved a degree of success that would do credit to one late in the evening of life and whose whole energy and intelligence had been well enlisted in business and industrial affairs. Born in Warren county September 18, 1845, he did not enter actively into business life until about 15 years ago. Yet within that comparatively short period, by his own energy and intelligence alone, he has placed himself in a prominent position among the leading business men of St. Charles county; he is one of the principal general merchants of the western part of the county, and also one of the leading dealers in lumber, grain and live stock. Of general merchandise he carries a stock of about $3,00 and of lumber about $2,000, and also owns his business buildings and places of business; his annual sales in these two lines aggregate over $40,000. Of grain he ships about 80,000 bushels a year, and of live stock about $2,000 worth per annum. These facts speak for themselves and require no comment. Mr. Pringle resides at Foristell and has an elegant and beautiful home, the handsomest place, by all odds, at this point. He is a man of culture and high character, as well as of superior business qualifications, and stands well not only at Foristell, but wherever he is known; he is the eldest son of Dr. Charles W. Pringle, whose sketch precedes this, and was reared on his father's farm, in Warren county, near Foristell. After taking the usual course in the district schools he entered the University of St. Louis, where he received an advanced general education. Afterwards he followed farming for about a year, and then in 1868 was appointed station agent at Foristell. This position he held for some 12 months, but finding it too confining and that it afforded no opportunity for a field of business activity commensurate with his ambition he resigned it to enter into business life on his own account. He engaged in buying and shipping grain and live stock from this point and at once met with marked success; this he ever since continued; he also formed a business partnership in general merchandising with A. E. Forderhase, the two continuing in business together for about seven years, when Mr. P. bought his partner's interest and still continued the business. Later along he also opened a large lumber yard, and has conducted this with success for several years. Mr. Pringle has served in the commission of notary public for about 12 years and transacts a great deal of business in this line for his neighbors and acquaintances in St. Charles and Warren counties. March 17, 1874, he was married to Miss Anna G. Webb, a daughter of James T. and Sallie A. (Forney) Webb, of St. Charles county. They have three children: Edward C., Warren T. and John H. Mr. and Mrs. P. are members of the Christian Church.
REV. FATHER WILLIAM A. SCHMIDT
(Pastor of St. Mary's Church, Dardenne).
Father William Alexander Schmidt was born in Linn Creek, Camden county, Mo., June 13, 1855. His parents, Fred and Rosalie (nee Saettele) Schmidt, came to America from Baden, Germany, in 1849, and settled at Linn Creek a short time afterwards. At the age of 13 young Schmidt began a private course of classical studies at Alton, Ill., which he pursued there for four years. He then went to Quincy, that State, where he continued his studies for two years more. In 1874 he entered upon a philosophical course in the Diocesan College at Ruma, Randolph county, Ill., and he subsequently pursued his theological studies at the Arch-Diocesan Seminary of Milwaukee, in St. Francis, Wis. Three years from the time he entered upon his theological course he had completed all his preparatory studies, and was accordingly ordained a priest in 1878, his ordination being for the Arch-Diocese of St. Louis. Immediately thereafter he was appointed assistant priest of St. Mary's Church, at St. Louis, where he served until 1879, when he was sent to the mission of Lake Creek, in Pettis county, Mo. While there he also attended the charges at Spring Fork, in the same county, and Cole Camp, in Benton county. In November, 1880, Father Schmidt was recalled from the Lake Creek mission and appointed pastor of St. Mary's Church at Dardenne, in St. Charles county, of which he has ever since had charge. As a priest he is a man of thorough learning and profound piety, and is earnestly and sincerely zealous in the cause of religion and the church. In the chancel and in all the relations of his holy office, as well as his walk and talk in private life, his conduct and character are in conformity with the duties and proprieties of his station, and happily illustrate the benign influence of Christianity upon its true followers. He is an able and eloquent pastor, and is greatly esteemed, not only by his own parishioners, but by the people of the community at large.
JOHN SCHATZ   AND   JOHN H. SCHIERMEIER
(Of Schatz & Schiermeier, Dealers in General Merchandise and Grain, Foristell).
The above named firm was organized January 1, 1883, when they bought out the general merchandise stock of A. E. Forderhase at this place and engaged in their present business. They carry a stock of about $6,000 and do an annual trade of about $20,000. In the grain line they handle about 16,500 bushels of wheat and about 6,600 bushels of oats. These facts show that they hold a position among the leading business firms of the western part of the county. Both are men of thorough business qualifications, ample experience and unquestioned energy and enterprise, and the successful career they have thus far had can hardly fail to continue in the future.
MR. SCHATZ is a son of John G. and Mary E. (Kiburz) Schatz, his father a native of Wurtemberg, Germany, but his mother originally from Obererlisbach, Switzerland. They early came to this country and resided in St. Louis for a number of years. The father is now retired and both live in Foristell. John Schatz, the subject of this sketch, and the eldest of five children, was born in St. Louis, April 26, 1855. He was principally reared at Foristell, and after his school experience in youth went out to the cigar maker's trade, which he followed until 1875. He then began clerking in a store at Foristell, and continued clerking until he engaged in his present business. November 14, 1883, he was married to Miss Minnie, a daughter of Paul and Francisca Oehler, of St. Louis. Mr. S. is a member of the I.O.O.F.
JOHN H. SCHIERMEIER, the junior member of the above named firm, was born in St. Charles county, February 1, 1861. His parents were William and Catherine (Kronsbein) Schiermeier, both originally of Hanover, Germany. His father became a substantial farmer of St. Charles county, and served with courage and fidelity in the Union army during the Civil War. John H. was reared on the farm in this county and educated at the Central Wesleyan College at Warrenton. He then engaged in clerking in the store of E. M. Pringle at Foristell. However, before entering the college he had followed clerking for about two years in the store of E. H. Meier, at New Melle. In all he had clerked for over four years before engaging in his present business.
(Dealer in General Merchandise, and Farmer and Stock-raiser, Josephville, P.O.).
The career of Mr. Schmucker presents a striking example of the success of German thrift -- German industry, intelligence and economy -- in agricultural and business affairs in this country. He commenced with as little to start on as the poorest of poor native Americans. But he is now one of the substantial citizens of St. Charles county. He has a large business in the general store line, and a fine farm in addition, which is well improved and well stocked. His tract of land contains over 600 acres, nearly all of which is under fence and improved. His residence is a substantial and commodious brick, and the other improvements correspond favorably with his dwelling. He also owns the business house occupied by his store, an excellent brick building, well adapted to his business. Mr. Schmucker has a large trade and is doing a flourishing business. He was born in Ostraeden, in Prussia, November 1, 1832, and was a son of Heinrich and Elizabeth Schmucker, both of old Prussian families. There were five other children in the family besides Henry, the subject of the present sketch. Only three of the others, however, are now living. In 1836 the family immigrated to America and settled in Warren county, where the father engaged in farming. They resided there for over 20 years and then removed to St. Charles county, in 1857. The father served in the home guards during the war, as did also Henry, who enlisted in Co. K, of the Missouri cavalry, under Col. Bates, this being the regular Union service, however. He remained out until the close of the war. After the war Mr. Schmucker, the subject of the present sketch, resumed farming, which he had previously followed, and has continued in this industry and merchandising ever since. In 1857 Mr. S. was married to Miss Frederika Panke, formerly of Germany. They have had eight children, six of whom are living: Marie, Heinrich, Elizabeth, Kathe, Joseph, Vina and Saluma.
JOHN A. TALLEY, M.D.
(Physician and Surgeon, Wentzville).
Among the old and well known families of Central Virginia is that of which the subject of the present sketch is a representative. The Talleys came to Virginia from the south of Scotland prior to the Revolution, and since then branches of the family have become dispersed throughout nearly all the States, particularly of the South and West. Dr. Talley was a son of William P. and Francis (Daniel) Talley, of Cumberland, Va., and was born in that county July 5, 1813. There were eight other children of the family, but only three of the others are now living. The father was a substantial farmer and respected citizen of Cumberland county, and served he people in the office of justice of the peace for a number of years. Dr. Talley spent his early youth on his father's farm, and afterwards entered Randolph-Macon College, where he concluded his general education. He then began the study of medicine under his brother, Dr. Zach. Talley, and in due time entered the medical department of the University of Virginia, where he graduated with honor in 1840. Two years later he came to Missouri and located in St. Charles county, where he at once engaged in the active practice of his profession. Dr. Talley has been engaged in the practice in this county almost continuously since that time, or for a period of over 40 years. He has long held the position of one of the old and well established physicians of the county, and has been quite successful in his practice. In 1853 he was nominated for and elected to the Legislature, where he served the people with marked ability and public fidelity. He was one of the active men of the county in forwarding the building of the North Missouri Railroad, and was one of the prominent directors of the company. In 1845 Dr. Talley was married to Miss Paulina C. Preston, a daughter of William R. and Elizabeth (Cabel) Preston, of this county, but formerly of BOttetourt county, Va. The Doctor and wife have been blessed with five children, but only two of them are now living: William P. and Edwin P. The Doctor is located in Wentzville, where he has valuable town property. He is a prominent member of the Masonic order.
WILLIAM P. TALLEY, M.D.
(Physician and Surgeon, Post-office, St. Charles).
Dr. Talley is a son of Dr. John A. Talley, whose sketch appears on a former page, and was born in this county December 3, 1846. He early displayed a taste for studies of a medical character, and while yet a youth decided to devote himself to the profession of medicine. He was educated with that object in view, and took a course at St. Charles College. Immediately after completing his college course he began the regular study of medicine under his father, and later matriculated at the medical department of the State University of Virginia. After a regular course of lectures at that institution he graduated with honor in the class of '68. Subsequently he took a post-graduate course at the St. Louis Medical College, in which he also received a diploma of graduation. In the fall of 1869 Dr. Talley commenced the regular practice of his profession in this county. Having a marked natural aptitude for the practice and being a physician of thorough qualifications, he soon established himself in the confidence of the public and acquired a good practice. His career in the medica profession has been one of steady and uninterrupted success. In 1874 Dr. Talley was married in Marshall county, Miss., to Miss Lucy P. Talley, a distant relative of his, born and reared in that State. She was the daughter of Joseph H. and Josephene Talley. The Doctor and Mrs. Talley have two children: Josephene H. and Pauline. Two others are deceased, who died at tender ages.
CHARLES J. WALKER
Mr. Walker's parents, Warren and Mary B. (Mays) Walker, were early settlers of St. Charles county. They were from Rockingham county, N.C., and came to this county in 1831. His father became a successful farmer of the county, and one of its highly respected citizens. There were seven in the family of children besides Charles J., but only three of the others are living. Charles J. Walker, the subject of this sketch, was born on his father's homestead in this county June 30, 1846. His earlier years were spent on the farm, and in boyhood he attended the neighborhood schools. Subsequently young Walker took a course at Central College, in Fayette, Mo., and also attended for two terms at Pritchett Institute, of Glasgow, in Howard county, this State. In 1868 he entered Dartmouth College, N.H., where he took a regular course and graduated with honor in 1870. Meanwhile he had decided to devote himself to the profession of the law, and he now entered upon his studies with that object in view. But receiving about this time a flattering offer of a professorship in Pritchett Institute, at Glasgow, Mo, he accepted it, and for four years afterwards was engaged in teaching in that institution. During this time his leisure was occupied with the study of law, and on quitting teaching in 1874 he was prepared to enter upon the practice of law, and was duly admitted to the bar. Since then he has been located at Wentzville continuously, and has been engaged in the practice of his profession at this place and in the courts of St. Charles and neighboring counties. Mr. Walker is a prominent landholder of the county, and to some extent his time and attention are occupied with his real estate interests. He is a man of thorough general education and well grounded in the law, and has already proved himself to be an attorney of marked ability. A man of irreproachable habits and of cultured, pleasant manners, he is, as would be expected, highly esteemed in the county, and wields a marked influence on those around him. December 29, 1880, Mr. Walker was married to Miss Hattie Shore, of Trenton, Ill., a daughter of Bejamin Shore, deceased, formerly of St. Charles county. Mrs. Walker is a lady of superior culture and refinement, and presides with rare grace and dignity over her refined and elegant home at Wentzville. Mr. and Mrs. Walker have an attractive home at this place, and a comfortable and tastily built residence, neatly furnished and set off with a handsome yard and pleasant surroundings. They have two children: Mary S. and Charles J.
WARREN W. WALKER
(Farmer and School-teacher, Wentzville).
An outline of the history of the Walker family in this county has been given briefly in a sketch of Charles J. Walker, which precedes this. It is therefore unnecessary to occupy space here with the record of the different removals of the family, and their final settlement in this county. Warren W. Walker, an elder brother to Charles J., was born on the old family homestead in this county July 4, 1838. He was brought up to the occupation of a farmer and in youth availed himself to the full benefit to be had in the occasional schools kept in the neighborhood. Having a marked natural taste for study and mental culture, he succeeded in acquiring more than an average education in the general English branches. Later along he became a school-teacher and has followed that occupation more or less continuously up to the present time. Mr. Walker has also been interested in farming all this time, and has shown himself to be a good manager of the affairs of the farm. He has an excellent place of about 300 acres, not all of which, however, is in cultivation. Mr. Walker was married in 1863 to Miss Mary M. Allen, a daughter of Hon. William M. Allen, whose sketch appears on a former page of the present volume. Five children are the fruits of this union, namely: Warren A., Eddie S., Lizzie, Minnie and Charles H. He and his wife are members of the M. E. Church. Excepting two years spent in Howard county, including 1881, Mr. W. has been a continuous resident of St. Charles county from his birth.
HENRY W. WILLIAMS
(Druggist and Proprietor of the Commercial Hotel, Foristell).
Mr. Williams, born and reared in St. Charles county, had good advantages for mental culture and received more than an average general education. After taking a course in the district school he attended the Wentzville Academy, and from there matriculated at the State Normal school in Kirksville, where he familiarized himself with the higher branches. Following this he returned to his native county and engaged in teaching, carrying on farming also at the same time. He continued to teach during the school months of each year until 1879, when he withdrew from that occupation and on the 1st of July engaged in the drug business at Foristell, also opening his present hotel on the 1st of March, 1881. He is still interested in farming, and has a place of 80 acres of well improved land adjacent to town. In the drug line he carries a good stock of about $800 value and has an annual trade of over $2,000. His experience in the drug business has been one satisfactory to himself, and his trade has steadily increased from the first. The Commerical House, the hotel of which he is the proprietor, and which he conducts, is liberally patronized, especially by commercial travelers who have given it the name of being one of the best houses in a small town on the line of the Wabash Railroad. Mr. Williams was born in this county, May 25, 1850, at Millerville. His father was Samuel W. Williams, a native of Virginia, born in Amelia county, on the 29th of June, 1818. His mother was a Miss Martha L. Johnson before her marriage; was born in that county December 2, 1821. They were married there August 28, 1839, and removed to Missouri the same year. They settled in St. Charles county, where they made their permanent home. The father died here August 26, 1854. The mother is still living and is now a resident of Foristell. The father was a farmer and tobacco dealer, and became comfortably situated. He was one of the well known and well respected citizens of the county. Henry W. was the sixth in the family of eight children, all of whom are living and are now themselves the heads of families. They are: Napoleon E., John P., Mary L., Samuel R., Marshall W., Sarah A., Martha W., and the subject of this sketch. Henry W. Williams was married October 23, 1881, to Miss Margaret E. Gilkey, a daughter of Richard E. and Caroline (Dyer) Gilkey, of St. Charles county. They have one child, Martha E., born August 10, 1882. Mr. W. is a member of the Christian Church, and his wife of the M. E. Church South.
DUDLEY C. WRAY
(Railway Station Agent, Gilmore).
Young Wray is well known as one of the efficient and popular station agents in the employ of the Wabash. He was born and reared in this county, and has therefore been known to the people in this part of the county from childhood. In boyhood he was studious and received a good average education in the ordinary English branches. At an early age he evinced a predilection for business life, not desiring to make a farmer of himself. A good penman, quick at figures, and apt and active in attending to business matters, he soon became well qualified for business work after obtaining an opportunity to learn it. He has been the regular agent at this place since the spring of 1882, but had previously had valuable experience in railroad matters. October 25, 1882, he was married to Miss Lula P. Savage, a daughter of J. W. and Ruth K. Savage. They had one child, Heether S. Mr. W. is a son of J. W. and Mary S. (Bond) Wray, his father originally from North Carolina, but his mother from Virginia. His father came here in 1829, where he was afterwards married. Both parents are still living, and are residents of this county. His father is a successful and retired farmer. Both are old and exemplary members of the M. E. Church South. They reared five children, all of whom are living. Dudley C., the eldest of the five now living, was born June 25, 1859.
(Dealer in Agricultural Implements, Wagon Maker and General Blacksmithing, Foristell).
Mr. Young came to Foristell in 1879 and established a blacksmith shop at this place. Since then, although absent a year shortly afterwards, he succeeded in building up what may be fairly termed a large business, considering the size of Foristell and the trade of the surrounding country. He has added a full line of agricultural implements to his business, and manufactures wagons and other vehicles as well as doing general blacksmithing and repairing. He employs three men, and has an annual business of over $6,000. Mr. Young is a native of Ireland, but of Scotch origin on his father's side. He was born in the county Down, July 16, 1853. His father, James Young, was a farmer of that county, and came there when a young man, from Scotland. His mother, formerly a Miss Mary Clint, was born and reared in the county Down. Both are still living, residents of that county. They are Protestants and members of the M. E. Church. Alexander was the fifth of nine children. While yet in boyhood he was sent across into Cumberland, England, where he had some relatives, and was there brought up to the blacksmith's trade. Subsequently, after growing up and starting out for himself, he engaged in the stationary business at Claytonmore, England. However, he soon resumed his trade, and until 1879 worked at it in different parts of England, Ireland and Scotland. He then came to America and established himself at Foristell. July 14, 1881, he was married at St. Louis to Miss Sarah J. Ferguson, a daughter of Alexander and Mary A. Ferguson, formerly of Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. Young have two children: Minnie and James A. He and wife are members of the M. E. Church.
1. Pioner Families of Missouri
Transcribed June 2003 by Deborah Heimann -- Co-ordinator for the St. Charles County, Missouri USGenWeb pages.