Osage County, Missouri


Welcome to the
Osage County, Missouri
Genealogical Web Site

Welcome to the Osage County, Missouri website.  The site has a new look to it, but the great resources that the original host, Vinnie, gathered are still here.  A big THANK YOU, Vinnie, for all your efforts and for your generosity.  My name is Winnie Brooks.  I am the new host for the Osage County page.  If you would like to contribute your information to this page, please let me know.  If you would like to host a county, contact Larry Flesher.

   Initially settled by French trappers venturing west from St. Louis in 1735, the Louisiana Purchase on the 30th of April 1803 created the Louisiana - Missouri Territory.  Missouri gained Statehood on the 10th of August 1821.  The first capital was Saint Charles, 1821-1826.  Today the capitol is Jefferson City, 1826 - present.  The Pioneer settlers came westward as early as 1810 purchasing land in Franklin County.  The earliest settlers (1818) were from Virginia, Tennessee and Kentucky.  By 1820, the land was part of Gasconade County which had been carved from Franklin County.  Osage County was subsequently formed in 1841 from Gasconade County.  In 1855, the bottom part of Osage County was given to form the top half of the new Maries County.     Today, Osage County consists of twelve townships:  Bonnots Mill, Chamois, Crook, Folk, Frankenstein, Freeburg, Koeltztown, Linn, Loose Creek,  Meta, Rich Fountain, and Westphalia.  The county seat, located in the center of the county, is Linn.  The courthouse is shown here.  It is located on E. Main Street.  The phone number is 573.897-2139.  You can read a detailed history of the county here.


Old Query System
Related Surname Index

References and
Volunteer Lookups


Message Board
and New Queries

Mailing List


Historical Society



Missouri Reference Links

Osage County Library

Osage County Genealogy Resources



mologo gif

Thanks for visiting.  You are the [an error occurred while processing this directive] visitor since November 14, 1996