Click on picture above


Welcomes You


Laclede County was formed in 1849 from Camden, Pulaski, and Wright Counties. Named after Pierre Laclede, founder of St. Louis, it borders Webster and Wright Counties on the South, Dallas County on the West, Camden County on the North, and Pulaski and Texas Counties on the East as one of 24 counties that make up Southwest Missouri. It is located in the beautiful Ozark Mountains and has everything from farmland and pasture to rugged, forested hills. It lies about 155 miles southwest of St. Louis on I-44.

The first white settler in this area was Jesse Ballew in 1820 when he built his log cabin on the east side of the Gasconade River. Other early settlers include Henry Anderson, William Montgomery, William Gillespie, William Tweedy, Leonard Eastwood, Jesse Williams, Spencer O'Neil, Josiah Tygart, Aaron Span, and James Campbell. Laclede County was surveyed between 1835 and 1840 before becoming an actual county February 24, 1849. The county seat, now Lebanon, was first called Wyota for the early Indians of the area, but was changed to Lebanon at the request of a local minister, in honor of his hometown of Lebanon, Tennessee.

search this site the web
search engine by freefind

Surrounding Counties

Pulaski, Camden, Dallas, Texas, Webster, and Wright

Genealogy is all about chasing your own tale.

This and That

 Laclede County Research Helps

Lebanon/Laclede County Library

Ozarks Genealogical Library

  Naturalization Records, 1816-1955 

 Laclede County Cemeteries

   Land Patents

  Missouri State Penitentiary

Death Penalty, USA


Message Board & Queries


Lebanon Daily News
The Lebanon Daily News will print queries in the Letter to the Editor section of the newspaper

1996, 1997, 1998, 1999,

2000, 2001, 2002, 2003

Laclede County Lookups




This web page is part of the MOGenWeb. Although believed to be correct as presented, if you note any needed corrections, changes, additions, or find
any links provided on this page are not functioning properly please contact the site coordinator for prompt attention to this matter. All Right reserved.
Copyright 2017
 Site Coordinator: Dianna G. Curtis

Last updated: 20 May 2017