Dover-Foxcroft Historical society
Preserving the rich heritage of Dover and Foxcroft, Maine

Inside the Oberserver Building Museum

Observer Building Museum

Originally constructed as a tenement in 1854, the Observer Building became the home of Piscataquis County's oldest weekly newspaper in the early 20th century.  In 1995, the building was deeded to the Historical Society and became its flagship museum building and headquarters.

The Observer Building's unique prow-shaped roof was reportedly built by ships' carpenters imported especially from the coast of Maine to make the building fit its small, flat-iron shaped lot.

Today, the Observer Building houses an eclectic collection of artifacts, photos, memorabilia, and historic objects.  Under construction is a research library where genealogists and historians will be invited to delve into the Society's substantial collection of historic records and its extensive photo collection.

The Observer Building is on the National Register of Historic Places.

Observer Building Museum

The Observer Building Museum is located in the heart of downtown Dover-Foxcroft, Maine.

Summer Hours for 2009
Thursdays:  1:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
Fridays:  10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

Or by appointment:
Call (207) 564-0820 or (207) 564-3576 to schedule

For More Information, contact
Jack and Nancy Battick, Co-Curators
Phone:  (207) 564-3576

Want to revisit some past exhibits? 

Click on the exhibit you would like to visit.

75 Years of Wedding Gowns  1900-1975

Great Whiskers of Dover and Foxcroft Photo Exhibit

Images of 19th Century Childhood Photo Exhibit

We are proud of our museum and our collection of historical artifacts, but our museum is best seen in person, so stop on by!