c n k

Kentucky Counties

County Created Parent County County Seat Named After
County  Location
County Coordinator
Adair 1801 Green  Columbia John Adair
8th Governor of Kentucky (1820-1824)

Allen 1815 Barren and Warren Scottsville John Allen (1771-1813)
Hero of the Battle of Frenchtown in the War of 1812


Anderson 1827 Franklin, Mercer and Washington Lawrenceburg Richard Clough Anderson  Jr.
Kentucky and United States Legislator
(1817 - 1821)


Ballard 1842 Hickman and McCracken Wickliffe Bland Ballard (1761-1853)
Hero of the Battle of Fallen Timbers and Battle of River Raisin


Barren 1798 Green and Warren Glasgow The Barrens: A region of Grassland in Kentucky

Bath 1811 Montgomery Owingsville Medicinal spings located within the county

Bell 1867 Knox and Harlen Pineville Joshua Fry Bell,
Kentucky legislator, (1862-1867)

Boone 1798 Campbell Burlington Daniel Boone (1734-1820)

Bourbon 1785 Fayette Paris House of Bourbon  European Royal House

Boyd 1860 Carter, Lawrence, Greenup Catlettsburg Linn Boyd
United States Congressman
(1835-1837, 1839-1855)
Lieutenant Governor of Kentucky


Boyle 1842 Mercer and Lincoln Danville John Boyle Cheif
Justice of the Kentucky Court of Appeals (1810-1826_


Bracken 1796 Campbell and Mason Brooksville

Breathitt 1839 Clay, Estill and Perry Jackson

Breckenridge 1799 Hardin Hardinsburg

Bullitt 1796 Jefferson and Nelson Shepherdsville

Butler 1810 Logan and Ohio Morgantown

Caldwell 1809 Livingston Murray

Calloway 1822 Hickman Murray

Campbell 1795 Harrison, Mason and Scott Alexandria and Newport

Carlisle 1886 Graves and Ballard Bardwell

Carroll 1838 Gallatin, Henry and Trimble Carrollton

Carter 1838 Greenup and Lawrence Grayson

Casey 1806 Lincoln Liberty

Christian 1797 Logan Hopkinsville

Clark 1792 Bourbon and Fayette Winchester

Clay 1806 Madison, Floyd and Knox Manchester

Clinton 1835 Wayne and Cumberland Albany

Crittenden 1842 Livingston Marion

Cumberland 1798 Green Burkesville

Daviess 1815 Ohio Ownesboro

Edmonson 1825 Grayson, Hart and Warren Brownsville

Elliott 1869 Carter, Lawrence, and Morgan Sandy Hook

Estill 1808 Clark and Madison Irvine

Fayette 1780 Kentucky Co., VA Lexington

Fleming 1798 Mason Flemingburg

Floyd 1799 Fleming, Mason, and Montgomery Prestonburg

Franklin 1794 Woodford, Mercer and Shelby Frankfort

Fulton 1845 Hickman Hickman

Gallatin 1798 Franklin and Shelby Warsaw

Garrad 1796 Madison, Lincoln and Mercer Lancaster

Grant 1820 Pendleton Williamstown

Graves 1823 Hickman Mayfield

Grayson 1810 Hardin and Ohio Leitchfield

Green 1792 Lincoln and Nelson Greensburg

Greenup 1803 Mason Greenup

Hancock 1828 Daviess, Ohio and Breckenridge Hawesville

Hardin 1792 Nelson Elizabethtown

Harlan 1819 Knox Harlan

Harrison 1793 Bourbon and Scott Cynthiana

Hart 1819 Hardin, Barren, Munfordville

Henderson 1798 Christian Henderson

Henry 1798 Shelby New Castle

Hickman 1821 Caldwell and Livingston Clinton

Hopkins 1806 Henderson Madisonville

Jackson 1858 Rockcastle, Madison, Owsley, Clay, Laurell
and Estill

Jefferson 1780 Kentucky County, VA Louisville

Jessamine 1798 Fayette Nicholasville

Johnson 1843 Morgan, Floyd, and Lawrence Paintsville

Kenton 1840 Campbell Covington, Independence

Knott 1884 Perry, Floyd, Letcher, Breathitt Hindman

Knox 1799 Lincoln Barbourville

LaRue 1843 Hardin Hodgenville

Laurel 1825 Whitley, Clay, Knox, and Rockcastle London

Lawrence 1821 Floyd and Greenup Louisa

Lee 1870 Owsley, Wolfe, Estill, and Breathitt Beattyville

Leslie 1878 Harlan, Perry, and Clay Hyden

Letcher 1842 Perry and Halan Whitesburg

Lewis 1806 Mason Vanceburg

Lincoln 1780 Kentucky Co, VA Stanford

Livingston 1798 Christian Smithland

Logan 1792 Lincoln Russellville

Lyon 1854 Caldwell Eddyville

Madison 1785 Lincoln Richmond

Magoffin 1860 Floyd, Morgan, and Johnson Salyersville

Marion 1834 Washington Lebanon

Marshall 1842 Calloway Benton

Martin 1870 Lawrence, Floyd, Johnson, and Pike Inez

Mason 1788 Bourbon Marysville

McCracken 1824 Hickman Paducah

McCreary 1912 Wayne, Whitley, and Pulaski Whitley City

McLean 1854 Muhlenberg, Ohio and Daviess Calhoun

Meade 1824 Hardin and Breckinridge Brandenburg

Menifee 1869 Powell, Wolfe, Cumberland, Green, and Barren Frenchburg

Mercer 1785 Lincoln Harrodsburg

Metcalfe 1860 Monroe, Barren, Adair, Cumberland, and Green Edmonton

Monroe 1820 Barren and Cumberland Tompkinsville

Montgomery 1796 Clark Mount Sterling

Morgan 1822 Floyd and Bath West Liberty

Muhlenberg 1798 Christian and Logan Greenville

Nelson 1784 Jefferson Bardstown

Nicholas 1799 Bourbon and Mason Carlisle


1799 Hardin Hartford

Oldham 1823 Henry, Shelby, and Jefferson LaGrange

Owen 1819 Scott, Franklin, Gallatin and Pendelton Owenton

Owsley 1843 Clay, Estill, and Breathitt Booneville

Pendleton 1798 Bracken and Campbell Falmouth

Perry 1820 Clay and Floyd Hazard

Pike 1821 Floyd Pikeville

Powell 1852 Clark, Estill, and Montgomery Stanton

Pulaski 1798 Green and Lincoln Somerset

Robertson 1867 Nicholas, Bracken, Mason, Fleming, and Harrison Mount Olivet

Rockcastle 1810 Pulaski, Lincoln, Madison, and Knox Mount Vernon

Rowan 1856 Fleming and Morgan Morehead

Russell 1825 Cumberland, Adair, and Wayne Jamestown

Scott 1792 Woodford Georgetown

Shelby 1792 Jefferson Shelbyville

Simpson 1819 Allen, Logan, and Warren Franklin

Spencer 1824 Shelby, Bullit, and Nelson Taylorsville

Taylor 1848 Green Campbellsville

Todd 1819 Christian and Logan Elkton

Trigg 1820 Christian and Caldwell Cadiz

Trimble 1836 Henry, Oldham, and Gallatin Bedford

Union 1811 Henderson Morganfield

Warren 1796 Logan Bowling Green Gen. Joseph Warren of the Revolutionary War.
Warren County

Washington 1792 Nelson Springfield

Wayne 1800 Pulaski and Cumberland Monticello

Webster 1860 Hopkins, Union, and Henderson Dixon

Whitley 1818 Knox Williamsburg

Wolfe 1860 Owsely, Breathitt, Powell, and Morgan Campton

Woodford 1788 Fayette Versailles