Schools Begin Operation 2
           Johnson County Historical &

    Genealogical Society

This is as appears in the August 15, 1946 edition of The Paintsville Herald 
and cannot be reproduced in form or manner
5 County Schools Begin Operation

Submitted by   Walter Preston

Total Enrollment Is 986 Students

     The three twelve-grade consolidated schools and the two eighth-grade consolidated schools of Johnson County opened Monday with a total enrollment of 986 pupils, approximately 150 more than on the opening date in 1945, it was announced today by Superintendent Verne P. Horne.

     Meade Memorial, Oil Springs and Flat gap, the 12-grade schools, reported a total of 769 pupils, while Thealka and West Van Lear had 277.

     John Grant Wheatley has been assigned as music instructor for the three high schools. Other Teachers are:

Meade Memorial

Russell Boyd, principal
D. J. Gambill
Juanita Kocio
George W. Butcher
Paul Hayes
James G. Maynard
Frances Conley
Ellen Dutton
Louise Dutton
Ruth Salyer
Chas. Price
Mae Best
Pauline Hayes

Oil Springs

Frank Webb, principal
Wm. Stapleton
Virginia Johnson
Nolan Vaughan
Alva Rice
O. A. Hamilton
Erma Rice
Louise May
Virginia Horne
Imogene Stafford
Garcie Preston 
Edith Crace

Flat Gap

Luther Wright, principal
Mervin L. Williams
Arvin Skaggs
Con Bailey
Flossie Howard
Foster Meade
Arville Bailey
Roy Ross 
Harriet McKenzie


H. G. Chandler, principal
W. R. Conley
Ruth S. Sparks
Angie L. Ward
Imogene Ward 
June Conn

West Van Lear

Raymond Conley, principal
Kathryn Jones
Mildred Ann Preston
Mae Meade 
Edna Earle Stafford



This page last updated on:  November 22, 2009
Please contact the Webmaster with comments or questions: 
All Material on this site is Copyrighted 2000-2010