1945 City School
           Johnson County Historical &

    Genealogical Society


(This is as appears in August 23, 1945 edition of The Paintsville Herald
and cannot be reproduced in form or manner)

City Schools Begin Tuesday, Sept. 4th

Faculty For Paintsville High and Graded School, One Of Best In Many Years

Paintsville High School and Graded School will begin Tuesday, September 4 at 9:00 a. m. 

Registration of High School students will be in accordance with the following schedule:

Seniors will register on Thursday, August 30 at 9:00 a. m.

Juniors will register on Thursday, August 30 at 1:00 p. m.

Sophomores will register on Friday, August 31 at 9 a. m.

Freshmen will register on Friday, August 31 at 1 p. m.

The faculty for Paintsville High School for 1945-1946 will be comprised of:

Alice Jane Montgomery
Alphretta Archer
Oran Teater
Garnett Cooper
Lydia Alexander
Mary McClafferty
W. L. Perkins, coach
Lorraine Wiley 
Mae Williams, Librarian. 

Teachers for Junior High School are:

Faye Holbrook
Elaine Kirk
Helen Pack
Mary L. Stafford
Hannah Ward 
Ethel Conley

Teachers for Graded School will be:

Fanny Louise Hampton, 4th grade
Helen Irene Thomas,      4th grade
Alice Stewart,                   4th grade
Lillian Williams,               3rd grade
Madge Stafford,             3rd grade
Elizabeth Dameron,      3rd grade
Christine Murray,            2nd grade
Ruth Gunning,                2nd grade
Mavis Patrick,                 2nd grade
Elizabeth Pack,              1st grade
Mayme Dyer,                 1st grade
Claudia Butler,               1st grade

Nelson Gullett is Attendance Officer
Elizabeth Williams, Secretary 
J. Matt Sparkman, Superintendent.

Back to SCHOOLS           HOME


Copyright  2001-2010

This page created by Ann Lemaster-Applegate   Proud member of the Johnson County Historical Society. 
All material copyrighted and MAY NOT be duplicated in any manner.

This page last updated on:  November 22, 2009
Please contact the Webmaster with comments or questions: 
All Material on this site is Copyrighted 2000-2010