Carter County Officials and Merchants 1847

Submitted by Glen Haney - bud at ncweb.com

CARTER COUNTY.

Formed, 1837.

County seat, GRAYSON.

Terms of County Court, Second Monday in each month, except May and Nov.

Justices of the Peace, George W. Kouns, James M'Guire, Thomas Scott, James Lampton, Harris W. Thompson, Hiram L. Booton, John. B. Lawhorn, James Offill, Zachariah Tyril, Nat. Dawson, Thos. Williams, John Plummer, Rich. P. White. Sheriff, Charles W. Honaker, Tygret's creek. Deputy Sheriff, Chas. N. Lewis, Barit's creek. Clerk, Joseph R. Ward, Grayson. County Attorney, James R. Botts, do. Jailer, Larkin Dawson, do.

Coroner, George W. Ward, do.

Constables, Elias P. Davis, do.; Ephraim Kebby,

Barit's creek; Wm. L. Evans, Robt. Henderson, Tygret's do.; John T. Horton, Little Sandy, and one vacancy.

Notaries Public, none.

Surveyor, James W. Thompson.

Commissioners of Tax, Philip Strother, Grayson.

Attorneys at Law, B. B. Throop, A. H. Frizell, D. R. Wise, Jas. R. Botts and Joseph R. Ward, *Grayson*.

Physicians, Andrew P. Landsdown, James Debard and Wm. L. England, Grayson.

Principal Merchants, John Seaton, Mores Everman, B. F. Crawford, Joseph Throop & Co. Wm. Jones, Benjamin F. Shepherd, Grayson; J. B. Tyree, Olive Hill.