Decatur County KS Township History

Decatur County Township History

Original Township Map 1880
These were set up for the first county election on Dec.15, 1879.

Township Formation History
Thanks to Reva Marshall and the Decatur County Clerk for providing us with this information.

The first election was help February 3, 1880.  There were 6 precincts or townships set up for the election.  They were Grant, Beaver, Bassettville, Oberlin, Prairie Dog and Jennings.  The following gives townships and dates they were formed.

Center and Custer were formed in 1880.
Olive was formed in 1882.
Garfield was formed in 1884.
Logan was formed in 1885
Allison, Harlan, and Lincoln were formed in 1886.
Altory, Cook, Liberty, and Summit were formed in 1887.
Finley was formed in 1889.
Sherman was formed in 1890.
Pleasant Valley and Dresden were formed in 1892.
Lyon was formed in 1894.
Sappa was formed in 1902.
Roosevelt was formed in 1908.
Oberlin City was separated from Oberlin Township in 1908.  

Back to Decatur County History   Back to Decatur County Home Page

2001-2003 Sharleen Wurm and   Ardie Grimes
This site was  established Oct 2001 by Sharleen Wurm and Ardie Grimes and is dedicated to free access to records, documents and photos of historical and genealogical value. Documents contained herein may be copied for personal, non-commercial use as long as this message remains on all copied material.   These records, documents and photos may not be reproduced, published or re-published for any reason, in any format,  including electronic (web pages or CD's) and print, without prior written consent of the contributors or copyright holders.

Last updated Sunday, February 02, 2003