Annagh Civil Parish Townlands, Churches and Graveyards, County Mayo, Ireland

When the Griffith's Valuation was conducted in 1856, Annagh Civil Parish had Roman Catholic Churches in Friarsground, Hazelhill and Lugboy Demesne. There were graveyards in the Townlands of Coolnafarna, Friarsground and Kildarra. I have listed Ballyhaunis on this list, but keep in mind that Ballyhaunis appears to be incorporated into the Townlands of Abbeyquarter and Hazelhill.

Of Special Note October 2013: a Heritage Book came out recently on Brackloon- A Trip Down Memory Lane. Seamus Kenny, a contributor who was also involved in the creation of this heritage book aptly described its content as follows "The acclaimed book celebrates the folklore, humour and history of this old postal and school district on the Ballyhaunis to Loughglynn road. The book covers family histories, localized events and life in a rural west of Ireland coping with the everyday events of going to school, working in the fields and keeping in contact with friends and relatives home and abroad. The publication offers extensive informed details relative to social and political events such as Land wars, the Famine, emigration inclusive of information relative to the landed gentry of the Dillon family in Loughglynn inclusive of the Costelloe and De Freyne families in the area. The book contains information about related details in such localized areas as Loughglynn, Gortaganny, Agahamore, Bekan and Knock while also noting other local towns of Dunmore, Tuam, Ballaghadereen and Castlerea as examples." This book is available through Mayo Books. I think that anyone with ancestors along the Mayo/Roscommon border would enjoy reading this book.

  1. Abbeyquarter
  2. Aderg
  3. Agloragh
  4. Arderry
  5. Ballyhaunis (Town of )
  6. Ballybaun
  7. Ballybeg
  8. Ballyglass Lower
  9. Ballyglass Middle
  10. Ballykilleen
  11. Ballynastockagh
  12. Bargarriff
  13. Barheen
  14. Ballaveel
  15. Bunduff
  16. Carrickacat
  17. Carrickmacantire
  18. Carrow Beg
  19. Carrow More
  20. Carrowhawny
  21. Carrowkeel East
  22. Carrowkeel West
  23. Carrowmore West
  24. Carrowneden
  25. Cartron
  26. Churchpark
  27. Classaghroe
  28. Cloonbullig
  29. Cloontumper
  30. Coolnafarna
  31. Cornacarta
  32. Corraun
  33. Cossallagh
  34. Cottage
  35. Culnacleha
  36. Curries
  37. Derreens
  38. Derrintogher
  39. Derrylea
  40. Derrynacong
  41. Derrynamuck
  42. Drumnaderry
  43. Drumbaun
  44. Farnaun
  45. Feamore
  46. Friarsground
  47. Garraun
  48. Gorteen
  49. Gortnageeragh
  50. Grallagh
  51. Hazelhill
  52. Holywell Lower
  53. Holywell Upper
  54. Kildarra
  55. Killunaugher
  56. Kiltybo
  57. Knockanarra
  58. Knockbrack
  59. Knockroe
  60. Largan
  61. Lecarrow
  62. Leo
  63. Levallyroe
  64. Lisduff
  65. Lugboy Demesne
  66. Lurgan
  67. Moat
  68. Moneymore
  69. Pattenspark
  70. Pollacappul
  71. Redhill
  72. Scregg
  73. Spaddagh
  74. Tonregee
  75. Tullaghaun
  76. Tulrohaun
  77. Woodpark