Aglish Civil Parish Townlands, Churches and Graveyards, County Mayo, Ireland

When the Griffith's Valuation was conducted for Aglish Civil Parish in 1857, there was a Roman Catholic Chapel in the portion of the Town of Castlebar that lies within the Townland of Garryduff, a Convent and Convent Chapel in the Town of Castlebar within the Townland of Gorteendrunagh and a church of unknown affiliation in the Town of Castlebar within the Townland of Knockaphunta. Graveyards were present in the Townlands of Ballynew and the Town of Castlebar within Knockaphunta. There was a burial ground in the Town of Castlebar within the Townland of Knockacroghery. There was also a Wesleyan Methodist Meeting House on the Green (or Mall) in the Town of Castlebar that resides in the Townland of Knockaphunta.

I have included "Castlebar" in this townland list even though it is a Town because it was one of the most significant market Towns of County Mayo in the 19th Century. The Town of Castlebar is incorporated into 7 different townlands such as Carrowncurry, Curragh, Garryduff, Gorteendrunagh, Knockacroghery, Knockaphunta and Knockthomas. These 7 Townlands that compose the core of the Townland of Castlebar are all clustered together in the south-central part of Aglish Civil Parish.

  1. Aghalusky
  2. Annalecka
  3. Antigua - also known as Lisnageeha
  4. Ardvarney
  5. Ballinvilla
  6. Ballymacrah
  7. Ballynaboll North
  8. Ballynaboll South
  9. Ballynacarriga
  10. Ballyneggin
  11. Ballynew
  12. Burren
  13. Cappagh
  14. Carrowbrinoge
  15. Carrownaltore
  16. Carrowncurry
  17. Castlebar (This is the Town of Castlebar, part of 7 different Townlands).
  18. Cloonagh
  19. Cloonkeen
  20. Coarsepark
  21. Corradrish
  22. Curragh
  23. Derreenmanus
  24. Derrycoosh
  25. Derrylea
  26. Derrynadivva
  27. Drumask
  28. Drumconlan
  29. Drumnacarta
  30. Drumneen
  31. Drumshinnagh
  32. Garryduff
  33. Gorteendrunagh
  34. Knockacroghery
  35. Knockaphunta
  36. Knockaskibbole
  37. Knockthomas
  38. Largnavaddoge
  39. Lenanavea
  40. Liscromwell
  41. Lisnaskirka - also known as Milebush
  42. Loughrusheen
  43. Moneenbradagh
  44. Mountgregory
  45. Newantrim
  46. Pheasanthill
  47. Rathbaun
  48. Saleen
  49. Sarnaght
  50. Snugborough
  51. Springfield
  52. Struan
  53. Tawnycoolawee
  54. Tawnylaheen
  55. Tully
  56. Tully Commons

(Griffith, 1847-1864; 2003, Aglish)..